The Shaibu Amodu interview

ikwerreman
The Shaibu Amodu interview

Post by ikwerreman »

I agree i am an Amodu shriner. i will not deny that.. but when the man talk talks, which has been rare since Mali 2002, he says it all.

http://nigeriasports.com/1210
Re: The Shaibu Amodu interview

I am repeating it here that all who are calling for foreign coaches do not understand the rudiments of the game. They themselves have not even given anything to the game only to sit down somewhere in their houses and say we need a foreign coach. We have had so many foreign coaches and they have all gone. Only the last time we said Bonfrere should go, and they brought in Amodu and Keshi to rescue the country and after these two chaps rescued them, they went to Korea/Japan to flop and come back. They are ready again and you people are supporting it and fanning it that they should go and bring another white man. We are watching. It is our country.
NUFF SAID!
ayomeks

Post by ayomeks »

IK Man,
No matter what you say, Amodu is good is his own right.
To contibute my quota
PapaK

Post by PapaK »

I do believe that Amodu knows what Chuckwu could do better with his team, yet he wont say that to the press. Had it been some agbaya PE master, he would have gone on about how we didnt properly use the wing-play to overrun Algeria.
Those greedy *kindpeople*!
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.

ikwerreman

Amodu should go and sit down in one place. Can he explain how lerthagic we were in Mali 2002 with the way we played? Nonsense... Everyone talks about how Amodu rescued our WC'02 qualifers but the same people seem to forget when the same Amodu didn't know what to do when he was in charge of the team in 1997 for the WCQ's for France'98 and the team was going no where until Phillip Trousier came in and got things back on track after the GREAT AMODU could only get a 1-1 draw in Mombassa, Kenya and later blaming the pitch for the way the team played nonsense...

LC's, IC's are all a joke and are unfit to coach the SE... People should stop deceiving themselves...
Okoro

Post by Okoro »

Amodu lacked leadership perion.. The layers oveeran him. na So so Bonus and money palava. Corruption nko? Abeg make the man go thermokool for one korna.
Mansa Musa

Post by Mansa Musa »

IM,

How bodi? Question, how my pali, Aminu Jubrilla de do for Sharks?
DaNinja

Post by DaNinja »

It is unfortunate that people allow themselves to be fooled by tools of the NFA in the press.
I cant see what is wrong in making sure that players get what is due to them.
The NFA thinks this is the old days when players were essentially dropouts who had to other livelyhood than the national teams.
The fact that someone has a lot of money dosent mean you should steal what is rightly theirs.
We need to be a more honest soceity when it comes to labour relations especially.

As per tactics, i cannot see what is wrong in tightening up the defensive abilities of the team like he did in the ANC after a goals fest in the WC qualifiers.

Any coach who didnt use the opportunity of that tourney to tighten the defense would have gone to get us vigorously Denmarked in 2002.

Amodu is da man and probably still the best candidate for the job....
I come in peace....

MI5 wrote:Amodu should go and sit down in one place. Can he explain how lerthagic we were in Mali 2002 with the way we played? Nonsense... Everyone talks about how Amodu rescued our WC'02 qualifers but the same people seem to forget when the same Amodu didn't know what to do when he was in charge of the team in 1997 for the WCQ's for France'98 and the team was going no where until Phillip Trousier came in and got things back on track after the GREAT AMODU could only get a 1-1 draw in Mombassa, Kenya and later blaming the pitch for the way the team played nonsense...

LC's, IC's are all a joke and are unfit to coach the SE... People should stop deceiving themselves...
Shaibu Amodu may have "only" secured a draw AWAY in Kenya...

But all of the other teams in our qualifying group actually LOST in Kenya (Guinea by 0-1 and Burkina Faso by 3-4)!

The FACT is that Amodu's Eagles were actually UNDEFEATED in the WC qualifiers when he was nudged aside for Philippe Troussier.

ME, I LIKE AMODU FOREVER.

In fact, his firing was one of the most painful events nigerian football has ever given me.
felele
Now I didn't know how stupid you really can get, but you....

Post by felele »

MI5 wrote:ikwerreman

Amodu should go and sit down in one place. Can he explain how lerthagic we were in Mali 2002 with the way we played? Nonsense... Everyone talks about how Amodu rescued our WC'02 qualifers but the same people seem to forget when the same Amodu didn't know what to do when he was in charge of the team in 1997 for the WCQ's for France'98 and the team was going no where until Phillip Trousier came in and got things back on track after the GREAT AMODU could only get a 1-1 draw in Mombassa, Kenya and later blaming the pitch for the way the team played nonsense...

...just had to show us all, didn't you???

Even my wife, who is not a football fan, knows why SE appeared to be lethargic in the sweltering HEAT of Mali, an entire country hotter than Gombe or Gashua, probably the hottest places in Nigeria.

They arrived at the tournament two days to the beginning of the show, having travelled at least 200 miles by road and flown in a rickety plane to the capital. ALL THE OTHER TEAMS HAD BEEN THERE AT LEAST 2 WEEKS, ESPECIALLY THE CAMEROONIANS AND THE SENEGALESE.

So, mr mis road, please stop talking crap on this site about Amodu. At least one thing is for sure:

Where the SE job is concerned, considering all the extraneous circumstances and the environment, he is more qualified to do it than ANY foreign coach.

I boldly say the same for Chukwu.
Bend it like felele
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

Na wa for You sha After all the schooling i don school you you still no sabi soccer..

First of all i dont know what you mean by lethargic in Mali afterall the eagles dominated all their matches aand conceeded their frst goal only in the semis? this despite the unholy treatment they were given by the admins?

E be like say you no dey class when i dey school you say 80% of a soccer teams performance isnt based on skill or tactics but on mental strength and fitness. Matter of fact a teams dietician imho is the most important member of a team. Medical sports professionals tell us that a soccer players performance player's can be affected as much as 50% by what he eats before a game and his psychological condition before a game can affect him by almst 90% ... this explains why basketball teams go into streaks when they are playing well and slumps when they arent so the questions post mali should have been :

1:What motivational factors did we fail to give the players to help imoprove there confidence and their concentration

2: what kind of medical/fitness support did we give thm to help acheive their best

3: what tacical changes should have been made in terms of player personnel etc

imho we were one or two players away from being truly world class (he biggest mess up was okocha who did nothing of note)

None of those questions were answered we simply disbanded the team and started pointing fingers and now some of you are demanding a forign coach . well some of our worst defeats have come under a foreign coach

Remember bora and Denmark ? Remember Bonfere and Sierra leopne? what about westerhoff and Italy?

Foreign coaches guarantee nothing if all these issues are dealt with !
If you keep quiet at a time like this, deliverance for the Jews will arise from some other place, but you and your relatives will die. What's more, who can say but that you have been elevated to the palace for just such a time as this?" (Esther 4:14)

The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.. Winston Churchill
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote..Ben Franklin
Lowen Brau

Post by Lowen Brau »

I have a lot of respect for Amodu for his comportment during this interview. Gone are the days when IC will stab IC in the back to get the job at any cost. Ask backstabber Onigbinde.

Amodu correctly identifed that the problem is colonial mentality. NFA will give FCs what they are not prepared to gives ICs. And the FCs we have called in have been financial mercenaries, allegedly colluding with 419ers at the NFA. This all sucks. :( :( :( :(
He beats Christian Chukwu, he beats Christian Madu, He beats Christian Nwokocha. This man must be a moslem. Yes he is. His name is Baba Mohammed.

Once again, I say Amodu is the best of the IC's.

felele,

Unlike you and others who continue to make excuses and talk crap and nonsense about how good this so called useless coaches like Amodu is he is nothing but a useless coach and part of the mess and rot all this useless IC's bring to the SE when they come to coach. The problem with guys like you is you can never come to terms with reality the usual typical naija way and will always look for an escape route to justify the mediocrity coaches like Amodu bring to the SE....

If all that you listed was happening to the team before they got to Mali why didn't he leave the team or resign? No as usual he decided to go along for the ride when the journey came to an abrupt end he looks to blame someone else for everything. This is coming from a coach who had been hired and fired 5-times by the same crooks he taught will make his life easier by figuring everything is okay.

Amodu is a joke and will continue to be including all other IC's who sit down, don't say anything and accept whatever nonsense the useless NFA throws at them and yet people like you will come and write nonsense that it's okay for him to accept it because he wants to coach the SE by force. What a shame and writing from peeps like you and the way you think shows why things will never work because everyone is only there to seek their interest.

Ba Prophet,

I know you are a hardcore Amodu shriner and no matter what you say you will always try and spin things around to justify Amodu as the best IC Naija ever had. Everyone have their own favourite coaches and there is nothing wrong with that. We see it on this site everyday the way CCC is hailed as the next best thing since slice bread by the CCC insurgents...

Based on our many and numerous discussions we've had and we both watched Mali 2002 together along with other CE's and TD included our performance in that tournament was pitiful and sad to watch and you know it, but since Amodu is your top coach you won't blame him for it and will look for the ways to blame others for what happened. Yes the team was in a state of crisis and all actors like Ekeji, baba Oni, Ogunjobi, and other brass within the NFA and sports ministry had a role to play with the way they distabalized the team from the day they got to Mali and the wahala they were all causing behind the scenes...If i was the coach i would have stepped down right before the tournament and walked away. As much as you guys support Amodu you guys always seem to forget one thing about him is why did he continue to put himself through that agony when the same people stabbed him in the back after he was removed from the team when our WCQ for France'98 didn't start off well after 1-1 draw against Kenya and his fighting with Jim Nwobodo at that time? Hmm i can see some of you guys can't deal with the reality of things and will continue to see things from your own eyes and nothing else because of your support for Amodu.

You know my stand and it's clear for all to see, i am not a fan of LC's/IC's because as much you guys look the other way and make it seem they are the best thing to happen, they are also part of the nonsense, the mess, backbiting and rot that has plaqued our futbol as a whole and are only there to justify their pockets, interests and other things and nothing else...They can't speak up or fight for what they believe in except continuing to look the other way and accept whatever trash the NFA throws at them everytime they coach the team don't they have any pride or dignity in them?

You guys can say what you want but you will accept Naija coaches back home don't have a voice or a platform to speak to demand better treatment, respect, good working conditions, ammenities, and tools they need to succeed and make their jobs a better a fit for all to see. The only thing they do best is trying to undermine their fellow colleagues or trying hard to get two steps ahead of the guy to get a better deal than the others... such a shame...

Yes BAP, Evereyone on this site always like to compare results of FC's and all but when IC's lose all it's excuses galore i read up in here to justify mediocrity and the way they coach. I am yet to see a Naija coach take full responsibility for his teams loss except trying to blame the players instead... For example-CCC, Amodu, Ikhana, Baba Oni and others...

baprophet wrote:

Na wa for You sha After all the schooling i don school you you still no sabi soccer..

First of all i dont know what you mean by lethargic in Mali afterall the eagles dominated all their matches aand conceeded their frst goal only in the semis? this despite the unholy treatment they were given by the admins?

E be like say you no dey class when i dey school you say 80% of a soccer teams performance isnt based on skill or tactics but on mental strength and fitness. Matter of fact a teams dietician imho is the most important member of a team. Medical sports professionals tell us that a soccer players performance player's can be affected as much as 50% by what he eats before a game and his psychological condition before a game can affect him by almst 90% ... this explains why basketball teams go into streaks when they are playing well and slumps when they arent so the questions post mali should have been :

1:What motivational factors did we fail to give the players to help imoprove there confidence and their concentration

2: what kind of medical/fitness support did we give thm to help acheive their best

3: what tacical changes should have been made in terms of player personnel etc

imho we were one or two players away from being truly world class (he biggest mess up was okocha who did nothing of note)

None of those questions were answered we simply disbanded the team and started pointing fingers and now some of you are demanding a forign coach . well some of our worst defeats have come under a foreign coach

Remember bora and Denmark ? Remember Bonfere and Sierra leopne? what about westerhoff and Italy?

Foreign coaches guarantee nothing if all these issues are dealt with !
DaNinja

Post by DaNinja »

It seems like many people on this forum forget that the ANC was a rehearsal ground for WC 2002.
Amodu had way too many extraneous factors affecting his team in the ANC. Despite all these mixups, the only goals they conceeded were against Senegal the same team that disciplened the almight FRANCE a few weeks later.
Come on let us keep it real.
Cameroon got flogged in Algeria before a great performance at the WC 90 by the same Algeria.
NFA should really confess that they made a retarded move changing the coach so close to the WC. Write a letter of apoligy to the nation and the AKE3 and then resign so that we can have an oyibo FA.
Shikena!
I come in peace....

Though I agree that events in and around Mali were rather unfortunate, Amodu remains to me the best thing Nigeria has to offer. And the records speaks in his favor too.
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Mansa Musa wrote:IM,

How bodi? Question, how my pali, Aminu Jubrilla de do for Sharks?

The guy turned out to be the seasons disappoint ment o.
After all the noise of bringing plateau united's captain to sharks he was unable to find his feet...abi na the port harcourt girls