Page 3 of 5

Re: What happened to that Arab Guy with his Guitar????

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:50 am
by ANC
RIP.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:30 am
by sarkin doya
What a shame.

He did not just travel to the Nations Cup.

He was in Canada for the U20 World cup in 2007.
TonyStarks wrote:Alright, I finally found the info. His name was Ali Siba3i and he was indeed Egyptian. He passed in June of 2009:

http://www.mbc.net/portal/site/mbc/menu ... mbcArticle

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:52 am
by TonyStarks
sarkin doya wrote:What a shame.

Oh yeah? What cities what he in?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:54 am
by BabaNaija
sarkin doya wrote:What a shame.

TonyStarks wrote:Alright, I finally found the info. His name was Ali Siba3i and he was indeed Egyptian. He passed in June of 2009:

That's sad.

I met this man in WYC 2005 (Holland) in person while he was supporting Nigeria with his famous guitar and took pics with him as well. It was the final match versus Argentina and the man was outside the Utrecht stadium blasting away his tunes (singing Naijas praises) while Oyibos looked on. Then comes in the Chairman of the Naija Supporters Club; he was selling the tickets meant for the Naija supporters for 50 Euros :shock:

The fans outside protested but later bought them but everyone insisted that Ali must go in as a Naija supporter with free ticket and the clueless chairman had to cave in. We all cheered him on as he got the ticket and walked into the stadium.

May his soul RIP.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:27 am
by General Trousers

This is sad news. I have a video of him in Paris. Ali Siba3i is an engineer. He came to the USA on a visa to see the World Cup in 1994 and he stayed. He became a taxi driver and had other jobs and made some good money and left. The video I have shows him in the streets of Paris entertaining some Gulf Arabs of whose patronage he enjoyed.

Yes he is from Egypt and he is an Engineer and he was always given free tickets to the FIFA games by the FIFA brass who saw him as an ambassador.

x

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:51 am
by YUJAM
RIP Ali.

General Trousers wrote:

This is sad news. I have a video of him in Paris. Ali Siba3i is an engineer. He came to the USA on a visa to see the World Cup in 1994 and he stayed. He became a taxi driver and had other jobs and made some good money and left. The video I have shows him in the streets of Paris entertaining some Gulf Arabs of whose patronage he enjoyed.

Yes he is from Egypt and he is an Engineer and he was always given free tickets to the FIFA games by the FIFA brass who saw him as an ambassador.

x

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:00 am
by jette1
The image of him in the stands with his guitar regardless of which African nation is playing was priceless and missed already. He deserves a moment of silence in one of Egypt's games in Angola but they will have to push for it.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:05 am
by Sir V
YUJAM wrote:RIP Ali.

General Trousers wrote:

x
RIP

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:54 am
by General Trousers
Sir V wrote:

General Trousers wrote:

x
RIP

He shared his story ... after 1994 he stayed and he became a US citizen ... he tired of life in the US and returned to Egypt ... the video I have is unique, first hand footage of him wandering through Paris entertaining throngs of Parisian Arab youths and the elite.

x

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:24 am
by MI5
May his soul rest in perfect peace. I met him some year ago at Giants Stadium. A great guy and a wonderful person to meet.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:14 am
by DAgrin
GT and others, could you share those footages and pictures here to honour the man and pay tribute.
Also I'm quite curious wether he really played on this guitar cause it looks like as if he did not really play on it...but I know better now.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:22 pm
by Prince
RIP :( :(
He really needs to be honoured....I hope the players are aware of him.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:28 pm
by gypsylady
:( :(
really sad. A true fan.
R. I. P :(

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:58 pm
by cruxifixoy2k
papparassi Sport wrote:Met him in African Nations Cup in Tunisia 2004. There is another big man from Cameroun with a fat tummy. The two of them have become international ICONS of thier supporters club.

anointed wrote:
papparassi Sport wrote:Na that chap is Morrocan. Morroco failed to qualify for this African Nations cup (Angola 2010) that is why he is not here. There is another Camerounian chap, with very fat bellie that moves around the Lions. He should be somewhere in the crowd tonite when Cameroun takes on Zambia.
I could have sworn he was Moroccoan too especially with his Fez cap.
I thought you said u met him before. people dey lie for this forum sha.lol :lol: :lol:

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:02 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
R.I.P... can the man be honored in some way by CAF? can CE guns try to push for this?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:29 pm
by fahl
WOW didn't know he passed away :atc:

This man is a legend in Egypt

Allah yer7amoh (RIP) :sad:

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:45 pm
by imehjunior
:cry: :cry: just got shivers down my spine when i saw his picture. Even a female colleague of mine just saw his picture and said she knows him that he is Nigerian number fan . She almost broke down when i told her he has passed on.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:47 pm
by Robbynice
RIP Ali... :(

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:49 pm
by 2drama
TonyStarks wrote:He was Tunisian and I believed he passed away sometime last year
R.I.P :atc:
R.I.P

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:00 pm
by cyrilndo
Sir V wrote:

General Trousers wrote:

x
RIP
RIP Ali.
We all miss you.
Any thoughts of nations cup fans always have this guy's face in the back of my mind.

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:07 pm
by truemamamia
RIP

Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:01 am
by General Trousers
The World Cup is in Africa and we are missing Ali Sibai ... I pray that some fans can unfurl a banner remembering him ...

x

Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:09 am
by Jaidi
General Trousers wrote:The World Cup is in Africa and we are missing Ali Sibai ... I pray that some fans can unfurl a banner remembering him ...

x
Great Idea I hope some picks up on honoring one of the greatest fans Africa has ever seen. Wonderful man I met him for the first time in the beginning of the decade, a true supporter of African football no matter what nation was playing.

Allah Yerham Ali Sibai :atc: