Lagerbeer embarrasses Onigbinde

Posted: 2010-03-01 13:48

New Super Eagles coach Lars Lagerback inadvertently embarrassed one of his predecessors, Adegboyega Onigbinde, during his presentation to the panel interviewing him.

During the course of his presentation, Lagerback spoke about the 2002 World Cup and how Sweden upstaged Argentina, England and Nigeria to win the group.

An insider at the meeting tells KickOffNigeria.com that Lagerback explained that his team scouting identified the strengths and weaknesses of each of the team in the group and Nigeria’s major weaknesses was a lack of tactical depth from the sidelines, despite having more top-class players at the time than Sweden.

Lagerback said they discovered during their scouting that out of 23 players, Argentina had 20 top class players, England had 15, Nigeria had 10 and Sweden had 5.

So he said their best chance was to target a win against Nigeria, and take points off the other two. They identified that Nigeria had great, skilful and strong players, but lacked tactical organisation and the coaches did not respond to tactical changes on the field.”

Lagerback was unaware that the man who ‘did not respond to tactical changes on the field’ at the time was one of his interviewers.

He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.

“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”

Colin Udoh

http://www.kickoff.com/static/news/article.php?id=14135

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: now that was funny, onigbide nah reall mogu.. who remembers that move he did when he screen.. taribo, taribo then made a hand gesture , i nearly laugh die

realtrouble
Re: Lagerbeer embarrasses Onigbinde

Post by realtrouble »

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: This ish is hilarious. Kai.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

my belle o

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: @ Pa Oni jab
omk

Post by omk »

What goes around, comes around.

Jesu Kristi !! Based on this alone, I am throwing my full support behind Lager Beer

now his amala go sweet am well well

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
kenmega

Post by kenmega »

Lagerback owned Pa Oni in an interview. :rotf: :rotf:
Lagerback is the man! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

:lol: This Mr Lager Man no dey fear oh! How can he embarrass a whole Modakeke High Chief like this? A whole Fifa instructor lacked tactical organisation and did not respond to tactical changes! Does he know how many tactical reports Baba Oni has written?
folem

Post by folem »

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Why does this surprise anyone? A division three Swedish coach will embarass any Nigerian IC. That is a fact!

cic old boy wrote::lol: This Mr Lager Man no dey fear oh! How can he embarrass a whole Modakeke High Chief like this? A whole Fifa instructor lacked tactical organisation and did not respond to tactical changes! Does he know how many tactical reports Baba Oni has written?

nanijoe wrote:Jesu Kristi !! Based on this alone, I am throwing my full support behind Lager Beer
:lol: :lol: I knew there will be a lot people Lager-backing b/c of this.

cic old boy wrote::lol: This Mr Lager Man no dey fear oh! How can he embarrass a whole Modakeke High Chief like this? A whole Fifa instructor lacked tactical organisation and did not respond to tactical changes! Does he know how many tactical reports Baba Oni has written?
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Lagos Bobo

Post by Lagos Bobo »

Shebi I told y'all that Pa Oni is not a real coach. He's a fraud of a coach....a PE teacher masqurading as a coach.

Wow, I think I'm gonna like this Lagerback guy sef :rotf:
My Amodu is a Clown Realization Moment (Amodu had been asked how he intends to fix the Eagles' wobbly midfield and he said):
“Midfield does not win matches. If it does, then Nigeria had no business beating Kenya because the Eagles' midfield failed against Harambee Stars.
“Midfield is just a bridge between the attack and the defence. ...”
folem

Post by folem »

“Lagerback said they discovered during their scouting that out of 23 players, Argentina had 20 top class players, England had 15, Nigeria had 10 and Sweden had 5.

Group F

Argentina

Head coach: Marcelo Bielsa

No. Pos. Player DoB/Age Caps Club
1 GK Germán Burgos 16 April 1969 (aged 33) 35 Atlético Madrid
2 DF Roberto Ayala 14 April 1973 (aged 29) 74 Valencia
3 DF Juan Pablo Sorín 5 May 1976 (aged 26) 35 Cruzeiro
4 DF Mauricio Pochettino 2 March 1972 (aged 30) 16 Paris Saint-Germain
5 MF Matías Almeyda 21 December 1973 (aged 28) 33 Parma
6 DF Walter Samuel 23 March 1978 (aged 24) 30 Roma
7 FW Claudio López 17 July 1974 (aged 27) 49 Lazio
8 DF Javier Zanetti 10 August 1973 (aged 28) 66 Internazionale
9 FW Gabriel Batistuta 1 February 1969 (aged 33) 75 Roma
10 MF Ariel Ortega 4 March 1974 (aged 28) 81 River Plate
11 MF Juan Sebastián Verón (c) 9 March 1975 (aged 27) 47 Manchester United
12 GK Pablo Cavallero 13 April 1974 (aged 28) 8 Celta Vigo
13 DF Diego Placente 24 April 1977 (aged 25) 6 Bayer Leverkusen
14 MF Diego Simeone 28 April 1970 (aged 32) 104 Lazio
15 MF Claudio Husaín 20 November 1974 (aged 27) 14 River Plate
16 MF Pablo Aimar 3 November 1979 (aged 22) 18 Valencia
17 MF Gustavo López 13 April 1973 (aged 29) 31 Celta Vigo
18 MF Kily González 4 August 1974 (aged 27) 30 Valencia
19 FW Hernán Crespo 5 July 1975 (aged 26) 33 Lazio
20 MF Marcelo Gallardo 18 January 1976 (aged 26) 42 Monaco
21 FW Claudio Caniggia 9 January 1967 (aged 35) 50 Rangers
22 DF José Chamot 17 May 1969 (aged 33) 42 Milan
23 GK Roberto Bonano 24 January 1970 (aged 32) 13 Barcelona

England

Head coach: Sven Göran Eriksson

1 GK David Seaman 19 September 1963 (aged 38) 68 Arsenal
2 DF Danny Mills 18 May 1977 (aged 25) 7 Leeds United
3 DF Ashley Cole 20 December 1980 (aged 21) 8 Arsenal
4 MF Trevor Sinclair 2 March 1973 (aged 29) 5 West Ham United
5 DF Rio Ferdinand 7 November 1978 (aged 23) 21 Leeds United
6 DF Sol Campbell 18 September 1974 (aged 27) 45 Arsenal
7 MF David Beckham (c) 2 May 1975 (aged 27) 49 Manchester United
8 MF Paul Scholes 16 November 1974 (aged 27) 43 Manchester United
9 FW Robbie Fowler 9 April 1975 (aged 27) 24 Leeds United
10 FW Michael Owen 14 December 1979 (aged 22) 35 Liverpool
11 FW Emile Heskey 11 January 1978 (aged 24) 23 Liverpool
12 DF Wes Brown 13 October 1979 (aged 22) 6 Manchester United
13 GK Nigel Martyn 11 August 1966 (aged 35) 22 Leeds United
14 DF Wayne Bridge 5 August 1980 (aged 21) 5 Southampton
15 DF Martin Keown 24 July 1966 (aged 35) 42 Arsenal
16 DF Gareth Southgate 3 September 1970 (aged 31) 48 Middlesbrough
17 FW Teddy Sheringham 2 April 1966 (aged 36) 46 Tottenham Hotspur
18 MF Owen Hargreaves 20 January 1981 (aged 21) 6 Bayern Munich
19 MF Joe Cole 8 November 1981 (aged 20) 6 West Ham United
20 FW Darius Vassell 13 June 1980 (aged 21) 5 Aston Villa
21 MF Nicky Butt 21 January 1975 (aged 27) 18 Manchester United
22 GK David James 1 August 1970 (aged 31) 9 West Ham United
23 MF Kieron Dyer 29 December 1978 (aged 23) 9 Newcastle United

Nigeria

Head coach: Festus Onigbinde

1 GK Ike Shorunmu 16 October 1967 (aged 34) 34 Lucerne
2 DF Joseph Yobo 6 September 1980 (aged 21) 14 Marseille
3 DF Celestine Babayaro 29 August 1978 (aged 23) 24 Chelsea
4 FW Nwankwo Kanu 1 August 1976 (aged 25) 33 Arsenal
5 DF Isaac Okoronkwo 1 May 1978 (aged 24) 12 Shakhtar Donetsk
6 DF Taribo West 26 March 1974 (aged 28) 38 Kaiserslautern
7 MF Pius Ikedia 11 July 1980 (aged 21) 9 Ajax
8 MF Mutiu Adepoju 22 December 1970 (aged 31) 49 Salamanca
9 FW Bartholomew Ogbeche 1 October 1984 (aged 17) 4 Paris Saint-Germain
10 MF Jay-Jay Okocha (c) 14 August 1973 (aged 28) 56 Paris Saint-Germain
11 MF Garba Lawal 22 May 1974 (aged 28) 34 Roda JC
12 GK Austin Ejide 8 April 1984 (aged 18) 3 Gabros International
13 DF Rabiu Afolabi 18 April 1980 (aged 22) 5 Standard Liège
14 DF Ifeanyi Udeze 21 July 1980 (aged 21) 15 PAOK
15 MF Justice Christopher 24 December 1981 (aged 20) 7 Royal Antwerp
16 DF Efe Sodje 5 October 1972 (aged 29) 7 Crewe Alexandra
17 FW Julius Aghahowa 12 February 1982 (aged 20) 17 Shakhtar Donetsk
18 FW Benedict Akwuegbu 3 November 1974 (aged 27) 16 Shenyang Haishi
19 DF Eric Ejiofor 21 July 1979 (aged 22) 12 Maccabi Haifa
20 MF James Obiorah 24 August 1978 (aged 23) 2 Lokomotiv Moscow
21 FW John Utaka 8 January 1982 (aged 20) 4 Al-Sadd
22 GK Vincent Enyeama 29 August 1982 (aged 19) 2 Enyimba
23 FW Femi Opabunmi 3 March 1985 (aged 17) 2 Ibadan

Sweden

Head coaches: Lars Lagerbäck and Tommy Söderberg

1 GK Magnus Hedman 19 March 1973 (aged 29) 44 Coventry City
2 DF Olof Mellberg 3 September 1977 (aged 24) 21 Aston Villa
3 DF Patrik Andersson (c) 18 August 1971 (aged 30) 95 Barcelona
4 DF Johan Mjällby 9 February 1971 (aged 31) 35 Celtic
5 DF Michael Svensson 25 November 1975 (aged 26) 11 Troyes
6 MF Tobias Linderoth 21 April 1979 (aged 23) 19 Everton
7 MF Niclas Alexandersson 29 December 1971 (aged 30) 58 Everton
8 MF Anders Svensson 17 July 1976 (aged 25) 24 Southampton
9 MF Fredrik Ljungberg 16 April 1977 (aged 25) 31 Arsenal
10 FW Marcus Allbäck 5 July 1973 (aged 28) 18 Heerenveen
11 FW Henrik Larsson 20 September 1971 (aged 30) 67 Celtic
12 GK Magnus Kihlstedt 29 February 1972 (aged 30) 12 Copenhagen
13 DF Tomas Antonelius 7 May 1973 (aged 29) 6 Copenhagen
14 DF Erik Edman 11 November 1978 (aged 23) 5 Heerenveen
15 DF Andreas Jakobsson 6 October 1972 (aged 29) 12 Hansa Rostock
16 DF Teddy Lucic 15 April 1973 (aged 29) 41 AIK
17 MF Magnus Svensson 10 March 1969 (aged 33) 24 Brøndby
18 MF Mattias Jonson 16 January 1974 (aged 28) 23 Brøndby
19 MF Pontus Farnerud 4 June 1980 (aged 21) 2 Monaco
20 MF Daniel Andersson 28 August 1977 (aged 24) 38 Venezia
21 FW Zlatan Ibrahimović 3 October 1981 (aged 20) 9 Ajax
22 FW Andreas Andersson 10 April 1974 (aged 28) 32 AIK
23 GK Andreas Isaksson 3 October 1981 (aged 20) 1 Djurgården
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.
“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”
It took Lagerback to explain it to him? it seem its only Nigerian coaches who don't know this lack of tatical input. :?
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.

U guys are idiots that enjoy sweet talk.This guy is just talking the talk,i know peopel with vicious mouth piece liek him.Talk those dumb foks into giving him a job.Nothing funny about this bullcrap,this is not fun :boo: :boo: :boo: :evil:

Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

oloye wrote:I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.
Do what? he doesn't have to do anything, he's on holiday for 5 months. :lol:
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

Ipe Grams wrote:
It took Lagerback to explain it to him? it seem its only Nigerian coaches who don't know this lack of tatical input. :?
Man mi i may not agree with AO on many issues, but that reply is what you will expect from a man who for once allowed maturity to preceed his response. That was a diplomatic answer , the kind of answer an oyinbo would give to avert an ugly situation. We may not like AO, but i am not sure Lagerback making those kind of remarks is helping himself. But make i fod my hands the next 5 months would bve very very interesting.

Ipe Grams wrote:
oloye wrote:I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.
Do what? he doesn't have to do anything, he's on holiday for 5 months. :lol:
You are damn right about that, that is why i even find it hard to laugh, really. The man is pissing on us and we are lapping it up.

KPOM. I wonder what Lagerback did with his tactics in the games that he lost or the T & T game when he supposedly had the better players. Nevermind that Lagerback had a set team and AO was working with several new players.

I think using one-off examples like the above is dangerous and indicate very little. Lagerback is better judged by showing us what he can do with he has control of the team instead of making noise about how he beat a half strength Nigerian team.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics