MEMORY LANE:WHO REMEMBER EDWARD ANSAH??????????

A brilliant,valiant and versatile goal keeper for Leventis United.I beleive the only thing that prevented him from our national team was because He is Ghanaian.What else do you remember about him, both past and present??????????

The remember him waiting years for a call up to the Eagles and it never happen. He eventually got tired of waiting and played for Ghana instead!
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

Undertaker wrote:The remember him waiting years for a call up to the Eagles and it never happen. He eventually got tired of waiting and played for Ghana instead!
The guy was not a naija citizen by birth, parentage or anything..and I guess we had a lot of up and coming goalies back then too. I was a huge fan of Leventis..I remember also thinking that Leotis Boateng and John Benson were from Ghana because of their names. Leventis was a highly organized, well funded club. This invariably played into their success on the field, no doubt..
Tolu

Post by Tolu »

The best days of Ansa came when he was with Iwuanyanwu national. I rember 1990 challenge cup final when he made rangers pay by saving three pk that gave Iwuanyau the second successive challenge cup trophy.

Jimi wrote:
Undertaker wrote:The remember him waiting years for a call up to the Eagles and it never happen. He eventually got tired of waiting and played for Ghana instead!
The guy was not a naija citizen by birth, parentage or anything..and I guess we had a lot of up and coming goalies back then too. I was a huge fan of Leventis..I remember also thinking that Leotis Boateng and John Benson were from Ghana because of their names. Leventis was a highly organized, well funded club. This invariably played into their success on the field, no doubt..
Jimi, yes he was from Ghana but he would have not been the first to play for the Eagles. Many have played for Nigeria before him. Please name the up and coming goalkeepers Nigeria had coming? Alloy Aguw, Mike Obi, David Ndgodiga. Ansar was far better than all of them!!!!!!!!!!1
Yiba

Post by Yiba »

There was this popular comment by Ernest Okonkwo of blessed memory
"Edward ansah has no answer to the ball"

Yiba wrote:There was this popular comment by Ernest Okonkwo of blessed memory
"Edward ansah has no answer to the ball"
You sure? i thought it was Edward Ansah has The Answer
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

I heard he was still keeping fro Ghana as recently as early this year at age 40 or so..Is he still that good, or is Ghana just not producing anymore goalies?

Ansah was part of the glorious Leventis United team. Their era came too eraly. They went undefeated in Div 3. Clinched the challenge cup as a Div 3 team. Spent a year in all the divisions. Along with Flash Flamingoes, BCC Lions, Julius Berger, Abiola Babes and Rancher Bees they provided stiff opposition for the old established clubs. They actually made the FA cup interesting. They did not respect the big names. They were well organised clubs with wonderful players. What made the whole thing so beautiful was that for these clubs, the whole was stronger than the pieces. This was especially true for Leventis united. Apart from Andrew Uwe, can't remember any of the Leventis guys having a distinguish career in the Senior National team. Many reasons can be adduced for this. I however think that it was mainly because they were not really the best in their individual positions. As a team, they were wonderful. Individually, there were better players.

For Edward Ansah, Peter Rufai was just too good then for him. Add Pat Okala, Wilfred Agbonabasket :P alater Alloy Agu and Christian Obi to the mix then you will see that Edward Ansah had little chance especially with his Ghanian parentage.

Good old days!!!!!!

Edward was great during his prime, as said above part of great Leventis United team. Some wonderful soccer, shame they had to disband

Great goalkeeper and one of the best... Tall and agile and you knew when he was keeping the net was safe...
living

Post by living »

Men I miss the guy sha, I remembered my Uncle and I went to watch a match like that, when the guy was good sha.Who can 4get GK Edward Ansah
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
quickie

Post by quickie »

Tolu wrote:The best days of Ansa came when he was with Iwuanyanwu national. I rember 1990 challenge cup final when he made rangers pay by saving three pk that gave Iwuanyau the second successive challenge cup trophy.
The best days of Ansah were not with Iwuanyanwu, my bro...unless you never knew a team called Leventis United. They were awesome and Ansah was at his prime then. Proper cat.

Leventis rose from div3 new boys to div 1 champions in 3 years and cleaned up FA cups in the process. I seem to remember 17 Leventis players getting invitations to the Eagles squad once. Awesome team.

I still believe they would have won the African Champions Cup if they had 1 or 2 more shots at it.

Q

Quickie, there was a time when many Leventis players were invited to the national team. None of them really became an established regular in the Senior National team.

Can't seem to remember all the players now. Can only remember Edward Ansah, Tunde Adedara, Abdulahi Alausa, John Benson, Leotis Boateng, Andrew Uwe, Sam Pam, Matt Oyeama, Bunmi Adigun, Paul Okoku, Olukanmi Brothers, James Etokebe, Wole Odegbami.

Then if you are a lover of football especially skillful dispay just go and watch Leventis Vs Berger (Flash Flamingoes). That time, stadium will be filled even for Division two matches.

Leventis were so wise. They always avoided IICC so as not to incur the wrath of Ibadan fans.

That era really rpoduced a lot of good, skillful and talented players.

Flash had better individual players (Osaro etc) but as a team, Leventis was the bomb. That they went through the Div 3 campaign undefeated was a Nigeria record.

Forgotten the name of the Greek coach (is it TA now).

If there is one person that should be in the Glass House. It is John Mastouroudes. the guys understanding of football as a sport and business is just amazing.

Sweet memories. What nostalgic feelings
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Ansah.....very solid keeper in his prime. By the way, where is he right now?
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

He always to be on form when keeping against Nigeria.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
somebody

Post by somebody »

Ansah? I have never seen a goallie that rushes out of his goal like that guy.
Why do we struggle to live when we are still going to die anyway?
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Edward Ansah has the answer- especially against Nigeria. He was my favourite during Leventis days but not when playing against Nigeria.
Who remembers the sommersault save?

... and also that Final against Cote D'Ivoire?
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

somebody wrote:Ansah? I have never seen a goallie that rushes out of his goal like that guy.
...and the guy sabi cut! I remember one North African player he uselessed during one rush out.
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
Motown

Post by Motown »

wanaj0 wrote:Quickie, there was a time when many Leventis players were invited to the national team. None of them really became an established regular in the Senior National team.

Can't seem to remember all the players now. Can only remember Edward Ansah, Tunde Adedara, Abdulahi Alausa, John Benson, Leotis Boateng, Andrew Uwe, Sam Pam, Matt Oyeama, Bunmi Adigun, Paul Okoku, Olukanmi Brothers, James Etokebe, Wole Odegbami.

Then if you are a lover of football especially skillful dispay just go and watch Leventis Vs Berger (Flash Flamingoes). That time, stadium will be filled even for Division two matches.

Leventis were so wise. They always avoided IICC so as not to incur the wrath of Ibadan fans.

That era really rpoduced a lot of good, skillful and talented players.

Flash had better individual players (Osaro etc) but as a team, Leventis was the bomb. That they went through the Div 3 campaign undefeated was a Nigeria record.

Forgotten the name of the Greek coach (is it TA now).

If there is one person that should be in the Glass House. It is John Mastouroudes. the guys understanding of football as a sport and business is just amazing.

Sweet memories. What nostalgic feelings
You're very right, I remember Leventis being a solid team. The reason most of their players did not make to Green Eagles was because of the star players of NNB that made the national team.I love watching Leventis vs Flash Flamingoes, the fielad was packed with skillful players like Samson Siasia, Mike Obiku, Osaro Obobaifo, Ndubisi Okesieme for flash and Leventis had the players you mentioned, most of them where successful in the flying Eagles.

Edward Ansah was a Keeper that had a lot of believe in himself. Our current crop of players are idolising the English players, back then it was all about Brazil

Jimi wrote:The guy was not a naija citizen by birth, parentage or anything..and I guess we had a lot of up and coming goalies back then too. I was a huge fan of Leventis..I remember also thinking that Leotis Boateng and John Benson were from Ghana because of their names. Leventis was a highly organized, well funded club. This invariably played into their success on the field, no doubt..
JIMI:
Leotis Boateng is Ghanaian -- and he wasn't the only Ghanaian to have played for Nigeria.

Jimi wrote:The guy was not a naija citizen by birth, parentage or anything..and I guess we had a lot of up and coming goalies back then too. I was a huge fan of Leventis..I remember also thinking that Leotis Boateng and John Benson were from Ghana because of their names. Leventis was a highly organized, well funded club. This invariably played into their success on the field, no doubt..
JIMI:
Leotis Boateng is Ghanaian -- and he wasn't the only Ghanaian to have played for Nigeria.

OLANDODO :lol: :lol: ORLANDO JOHN was one of dem :D

Motown wrote:[
You're very right, I remember Leventis being a solid team. The reason most of their players did not make to Green Eagles was because of the star players of NNB that made the national team.I love watching Leventis vs Flash Flamingoes, the fielad was packed with skillful players like Samson Siasia, Mike Obiku, Osaro Obobaifo, Ndubisi Okesieme for flash and Leventis had the players you mentioned, most of them where successful in the flying Eagles.

Edward Ansah was a Keeper that had a lot of believe in himself. Our current crop of players are idolising the English players, back then it was all about Brazil
I thought Siasia was with Julius Berger.