The SE WC Delusion...

Lately, I've found myself wondering, esp in the light of the S/Final target for the SE, what is wrong with us...

Is this simply arrogance or sheer stupidity?

2. Ninety-five percent or more of the teams going to the WC started building their teams four years ago. Many of them completed the squad building exercise thru the qualifiers, a regional tournament and/or the confederations cup, and regularly scheduled friendlies.

3. Those whose teams stumbled along the way, or showed persistent vulnerabilities thru these games, were able to make corrections or simply changed managers.

4. By February this year, most of these teams played their last friendlies and finalized plans for their camping and final preparatory games.

5. In spite of all this meticulous planning, many of the teams have set themselves modest targets, either in terms of points haul or 2nd round appearance.

6. But not Nigeria! We go to the WC the least prepared team, but yet have the audacity to set and actually expect a s/final finish. I mean, what am I missing here? Is it that football is that simple or that we have some secret formula?

7. We spent two locust years monkeying about with a coach we knew was not improving the team, in spite of the results. We spent two years f00ling around with a coach whose three previous stints had repeatedly delivered the same weaknesses in team organization, the same lack of in depth knowledge of tactics...

8. Then we had the ANC, which gifts African teams a chance to finalize preparations in a world cup year. We had a chance to take decisive action on the coaching personnel and begin the process of making amends. But No! We were told by the NFF that they had the coach they wanted and that he would lead the team to the WC...

9. Lo and behold, after the ignominy of losing to the Ghana U-21 team, we have made a u-turn by hiring Lagerback as the NFF officials look to save their collective arses, with Eguavoen as assistant and thus the next man to be recycled in the unending game of coaching carousel!

10. We may yet succeed in spite of ourselves in SA, and frankly I hope we do not, for the sake of our football long term..I have one regret and one joy though. I regret that we did not allow Amodu take us to the illogical conclusion of this farce. But I am joyful that we did not pass this poisoned chalice on Siasia and destroy a budding coaching career. I'll happily take a swede!

11. I look forward to the world cup. But sadly, Nigeria is only an insignificant part of it...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: The SE WC Delusion...

rubbish post as usually.. u need to hush .. real talk.. now u dey open ya mouth and at the same time throwing some cheap shots.. hush .. clueless being

Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

I can agree with this "analysis" :taunt: :taunt: . We are not making it out of that group. The previous WCs in which our performance belied our shambolic preparations occured because we had players with some transcendent abilities. We do not have such a luxury in this bunch. I have long made the mental and psychological adjustment.

I am hoping that Essien is fit so Ghana can show the world what African soccer is up to these days 8-) .

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

So why sack the coach if the new one is not an upgrade?

Well we were promised a SF ticket so no excuse now. Lagerback should deliver on promise. He should meet the target set for him
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

We all knew that it was delusional target, but when you have illiterates running your football what do you expect, you employ a coach that was sacked three times and then re-employ him only to sack him three months to the WC., if that is not madness what is.

I have given up on Nigeria and will be supporting the other African countries.
sabb

Post by sabb »

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

Is that all u can takeaway from the piece?

wanaj0 wrote:So why sack the coach if the new one is not an upgrade?

Well we were promised a SF ticket so no excuse now. Lagerback should deliver on promise. He should meet the target set for him

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

txj wrote:Is that all u can takeaway from the piece?

Methinks that's a valuable and legit "takeaway". We are paying oodles more for the same quality. Amodu would have been the only black coach there (I am prepared to sacrifice that for higher quatity but NOT for Lagerback) which sends a message of presumed competence for black coaches and of leadership for Nigeria. The disruption, wasted time and lack of continuity showcased by that decision is a seminal microcosm of the colossal ineptitude of our football administrators.

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Abeg, what else is there to take away from the piece? When Amodu was fired, most folks on this site threw a massive owambe and slaughtered untold fat lambs & cows praising their creator for finally solving our problems. There will be better organization - on & off the field - we were promised. The white man will see to it that our preparations will be 1st class while someone like Amodu would not have dared open mouth. With our personnel + top class white coach, we were promised that a WC semi final appearance is the least we should expect. These are targets that we were sold. I am in siddon look mode. I upgraded my telly and finally replaced my cheesy arse charchoal grill with one of those fancy multi burner gas grills in preparation of multiple barbaques this summer to celebrate the whupping the SEs will lay down on all comers. All hail Coach Lars & NFF. A marriage made in heaven! :thumbs: :thumbs:

it's so funny how fickle minded folks like txj , has the audacity to open such a thread. i just dont understand some folksoooooooooo 2 years ago we hired an Fc ? and folks went bonkers about how rubbish they are.. now mugu enter market come begin mis yarn.. look you opened your mouth , yelled based on feelings, but not facts .. a typical example of lack of knowledge followed the constant rants about changing coaches 3 months to the worldcup.. we have 5 weeks to the mundial and we went back 20 years..

you should be ashamed of yourself opening such a useless thread

The most pathetic aspect of this farce is perhaps the conclusion by u Amodu supporters that, in spite of the evidence of our lying eyes, Nigeria was due a successful WC campaign with Amodu in charge, yet we could not get past a Ghana U-20 team!

The issue is not what targets we were sold, if indeed anyone did. There is nowhere that the NFF claimed that having hired LB, we could now get to the s/final. That is a fundamental misunderstanding or obfuscation or both...They simply set him a target after hiring him!

The hiring of LB and the so-called s/final target, is a clear 'cover your arse' move by the NFF to deflect from a disastrous strategic mistake in not only hiring, but retaining a cleless coach for as long as they did.

green4life wrote:Abeg, what else is there to take away from the piece? When Amodu was fired, most folks on this site threw a massive owambe and slaughtered untold fat lambs & cows praising their creator for finally solving our problems. There will be better organization - on & off the field - we were promised. The white man will see to it that our preparations will be 1st class while someone like Amodu would not have dared open mouth. With our personnel + top class white coach, we were promised that a WC semi final appearance is the least we should expect. These are targets that we were sold. I am in siddon look mode. I upgraded my telly and finally replaced my cheesy arse charchoal grill with one of those fancy multi burner gas grills in preparation of multiple barbaques this summer to celebrate the whupping the SEs will lay down on all comers. All hail Coach Lars & NFF. A marriage made in heaven! :thumbs: :thumbs:

Ghana u 21? another clueless rant from a joke on the WWW.

Code: Select all

Richard Kingson, Samuel Inkoom, Hans Adu Sarpei/I Ayew, Lee Addy, Isaac Vorsah, Emmanuel Agyeman-Badu, Andre Ayew, Anthony Annan, Asamoah Gyan/M. Amoah, Kwadwo Asamoah, Opoku Agyemang/Dramani 

Nigeria Line-Up: Enyeama, Yusuf, Nwaneri, Shittu, Echiejile, Ayila, Kaita, Mikel, Obasi, Martins, Osaze

Unless u are Ms. Cleo, there is no evidence to support the underlined claim below. Only time will adjudicate that.

Ebyboy wrote:

Methinks that's a valuable and legit "takeaway". We are paying oodles more for the same quality. Amodu would have been the only black coach there (I am prepared to sacrifice that for higher quatity but NOT for Lagerback) which sends a message of presumed competence for black coaches and of leadership for Nigeria. The disruption, wasted time and lack of continuity showcased by that decision is a seminal microcosm of the colossal ineptitude of our football administrators.

yaya

Post by yaya »

Great write up! TXJ! wonderful analysis and beautifully written under the sunlight of florence..well put together and absolutely , slendid and unarguably written with poise and unparralled intelligence! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

All this fire u dey spit is nonsense onyinbo. We were promised that our white man coach will do a better job of selecting players and will not over rely on overrated foreign based bench warmers. We were promised that ballers from Aba to Ajegunle will be dusted off in time to give hungry fans the joga bonito they craved for. Lars will monitor the local league and foreign alike. All the ballers who refused to drop and were unfairly left out by Amodu will be called up on merit. Such will be the turnaround that super eagle faithfuls will not recognize the new team Lars will unleash on the world come June 12th. Bros Txj, abeg no spoil my fun b/c I am looking forward to no less than semi final finish this WC. Lars & NFF, a marriage made in heaven!! ... pass the barbaque sauce while I flip the burger. Just relax. Everything is under full control - Naija style. We got this. Trust me bro! :thumbs:
txj wrote:The most pathetic aspect of this farce is perhaps the conclusion by u Amodu supporters that, in spite of the evidence of our lying eyes, Nigeria was due a successful WC campaign with Amodu in charge, yet we could not get past a Ghana U-20 team!

The issue is not what targets we were sold, if indeed anyone did. There is nowhere that the NFF claimed that having hired LB, we could now get to the s/final. That is a fundamental misunderstanding or obfuscation or both...They simply set him a target after hiring him!

The hiring of LB and the so-called s/final target, is a clear 'cover your arse' move by the NFF to deflect from a disastrous strategic mistake in not only hiring, but retaining a cleless coach for as long as they did.

txj wrote:Lately, I've found myself wondering, esp in the light of the S/Final target for the SE, what is wrong with us...

2. Ninety-five percent or more of the teams going to the WC started building their teams four years ago. Many of them completed the squad building exercise thru the qualifiers, a regional tournament and/or the confederations cup, and regularly scheduled friendlies.

3. Those whose teams stumbled along the way, or showed persistent vulnerabilities thru these games, were able to make corrections or simply changed managers.

4. By February this year, most of these teams played their last friendlies and finalized plans for their camping and final preparatory games.

5. In spite of all this meticulous planning, many of the teams have set themselves modest targets, either in terms of points haul or 2nd round appearance.

6. But not Nigeria! We go to the WC the least prepared team, but yet have the audacity to set and actually expect a s/final finish. I mean, what am I missing here? Is it that football is that simple or that we have some secret formula?

7. We spent two locust years monkeying about with a coach we knew was not improving the team, in spite of the results. We spent two years f00ling around with a coach whose three previous stints had repeatedly delivered the same weaknesses in team organization, the same lack of in depth knowledge of tactics...

8. Then we had the ANC, which gifts African teams a chance to finalize preparations in a world cup year. We had a chance to take decisive action on the coaching personnel and begin the process of making amends. But No! We were told by the NFF that they had the coach they wanted and that he would lead the team to the WC...

9. Lo and behold, after the ignominy of losing to the Ghana U-21 team, we have made a u-turn by hiring Lagerback as the NFF officials look to save their collective arses, with Eguavoen as assistant and thus the next man to be recycled in the unending game of coaching carousel!

10. We may yet succeed in spite of ourselves in SA, and frankly I hope we do not, for the sake of our football long term..I have one regret and one joy though. I regret that we did not allow Amodu take us to the illogical conclusion of this farce. But I am joyful that we did not pass this poisoned chalice on Siasia and destroy a budding coaching career. I'll happily take a swede!

11. I look forward to the world cup. But sadly, Nigeria is only an insignificant part of it...
It is arrogance and sheer stupidity.

Sadly, it is not the first time. We are Farked.

txj wrote:Lately, I've found myself wondering, esp in the light of the S/Final target for the SE, what is wrong with us...

Abeg spare me the balony and use your panties to wipe your tears while passing to txj to keep his sobing from gushing out like a river.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

TXJ....KPOM X 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000!!!!!!

some people here just do not have a clue.......they rely on dreams, prayers, God, juju, superstition....

For Nigerian football to move forward, we need to be humilated in Africa WC2010
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Abeg spare me the balony and use your panties to wipe your tears while passing to txj to keep his sobing from gushing out like a river.
Who cares. You are not happy Amodu is not going. I could not be bothered about who the Coach is. Therein lies the difference. Whoever the Coach is, I will be hoping and wishing for the best of my team, unlike many here who are bitter and twisted to the extent that they want to cut their noses to spite their faces. As for Amodu's faith, I could not careless. Do I believe getting rid of him was the right thing. YES! I do. Because he and his team were complete and utter shyte.

I have said many a time here I am not in favour of the Coach conditions of employment. For me, it is a waste of scarce resources which could have been better served in the development of our game. For me, any Coach, other than the hopeless and clueless Amodu, willing to accept far less terms as condition of employment would have been better and there were many out there in Nigeria and abroad.

Green4life, Wanjo, BigPokey and other people wey their heads dey house wey respond this thread, God bless una. Me I go just siddon for corner and watch how Mr. ATF will spin this one. Ofcourse we all know his track record. When he is cornered he results to insults. Yeye dey smell... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

txj wrote:Unless u are Ms. Cleo, there is no evidence to support the underlined claim below. Only time will adjudicate that.

Ebyboy wrote:

See...... this is what bothers me about your reasoning. You have written up a set of valuables pointing to the real possibility of an unsuccessful outing at the WC. To quote you....
"9. Lo and behold, after the ignominy of losing to the Ghana U-21 team, we have made a u-turn by hiring Lagerback as the NFF officials look to save their collective arses, with Eguavoen as assistant and thus the next man to be recycled in the unending game of coaching carousel!"
I contend that we have indeed wasted money by hiring Lagerback to whom you refer as just another man in a coaching carousel and I'm Ms. Cleo? Is it that the fact is so obvious you have overlooked it? Since he has been on the job what has he DONE that is a cut above the quality of coaching we had before? Would it be agreeing with Amodu that our players are average? Or cancelling the supposed "summit" with the players? Or downgrading our "target" from the semis (to which he acquiesced when he was signing the "deal" :evil: :twisted: )? Or prunning his initial list of players before having an opportunity to see them train?

Maybe he really did succeed in getting Onuoha to play for us after spending a reported three hours trying to convince him. Or rather the seminal pronouncement that players active for their clubsides are preferred for the WC. What the f*ck has changed substantively or qualitatively since we engaged him? If as I contend NOTHING has, then at least so far we have wasted money.

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

What has he done? Nothing yet (apart from mostly desktop stuff), and thats just the point...
How can u determine that he is not an upgrade at this stage? Until he plays in a competitive game, that determination cannot be made. All the stuff u cited are irrelevant in making a definitive call, one way or the other..unless of course u can tell the future- a la Ms. Cleo!

Ebyboy wrote:
txj wrote:Unless u are Ms. Cleo, there is no evidence to support the underlined claim below. Only time will adjudicate that.

Ebyboy wrote:

See...... this is what bothers me about your reasoning. You have written up a set of valuables pointing to the real possibility of an unsuccessful outing at the WC. To quote you....
"9. Lo and behold, after the ignominy of losing to the Ghana U-21 team, we have made a u-turn by hiring Lagerback as the NFF officials look to save their collective arses, with Eguavoen as assistant and thus the next man to be recycled in the unending game of coaching carousel!"
I contend that we have indeed wasted money by hiring Lagerback to whom you refer as just another man in a coaching carousel and I'm Ms. Cleo? Is it that the fact is so obvious you have overlooked it? Since he has been on the job what has he DONE that is a cut above the quality of coaching we had before? Would it be agreeing with Amodu that our players are average? Or cancelling the supposed "summit" with the players? Or downgrading our "target" from the semis (to which he acquiesced when he was signing the "deal" :evil: :twisted: )? Or prunning his initial list of players before having an opportunity to see them train?

Maybe he really did succeed in getting Onuoha to play for us after spending a reported three hours trying to convince him. Or rather the seminal pronouncement that players active for their clubsides are preferred for the WC. What the f*ck has changed substantively or qualitatively since we engaged him? If as I contend NOTHING has, then at least so far we have wasted money.

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

95% means all the 31 teams started building there team 4 years ago and more than half of our team was also being built then. im sure that is not wot u meant