I’m ready for Eagles job, says Siasia
2010 World Cup Special Jul 5, 2010
By Ben Efe
Beijing 2008 Olympics soccer silver winning coach, Samson Siasia has declared his interest to take over the management of the Eagles if given the job.
Siasia is a member of the caretaker committee appointed by President Goodluck Jonathan to oversee the affairs of Nigeria football after the President ordered all the national teams to withdraw from all FIFA events last week.
Siasia said that he was more than ready to work and bring success to the country, like he did with the Flying Eagles in 2005 and the Olympic team in 2008.
“Why not? If Nigeria calls upon me to take over the saddle I will be more than ready. I have all it takes and I’m ready to go out of my way to make things work, just like I did with the Under-20 when I have to source for funds to keep the team going,”Siasia said at the weekend.
The former Eagles’ striker welcomed the government’s action on the Nigeria Football Federation, which will make the national teams not to taste international football action for two years. Siasia said that if it was a necessary sacrifice that will bring back the glory days of Nigeria football then the sacking of the NFF executive committee was a welcome development.
Siasia was a victim of the unprofessional conducted of those in Nigeria football administration. He was favorite to replace German coach, Berti Vogts in 2008 when he was sacked following poor results.
Siaisia and Keshi were Nigerians choice to lead the Eagles to the 2010 National Cup in Angola, but the NFF board thought otherwise. Coach Shuaibu Amodu was hired instead and he was ultimately sacked last February, due to unsatisfactory technical approach of the Eagles
2010 World Cup Special Jul 5, 2010
By Ben Efe
Beijing 2008 Olympics soccer silver winning coach, Samson Siasia has declared his interest to take over the management of the Eagles if given the job.
Siasia is a member of the caretaker committee appointed by President Goodluck Jonathan to oversee the affairs of Nigeria football after the President ordered all the national teams to withdraw from all FIFA events last week.
Siasia said that he was more than ready to work and bring success to the country, like he did with the Flying Eagles in 2005 and the Olympic team in 2008.
“Why not? If Nigeria calls upon me to take over the saddle I will be more than ready. I have all it takes and I’m ready to go out of my way to make things work, just like I did with the Under-20 when I have to source for funds to keep the team going,”Siasia said at the weekend.
The former Eagles’ striker welcomed the government’s action on the Nigeria Football Federation, which will make the national teams not to taste international football action for two years. Siasia said that if it was a necessary sacrifice that will bring back the glory days of Nigeria football then the sacking of the NFF executive committee was a welcome development.
Siasia was a victim of the unprofessional conducted of those in Nigeria football administration. He was favorite to replace German coach, Berti Vogts in 2008 when he was sacked following poor results.
Siaisia and Keshi were Nigerians choice to lead the Eagles to the 2010 National Cup in Angola, but the NFF board thought otherwise. Coach Shuaibu Amodu was hired instead and he was ultimately sacked last February, due to unsatisfactory technical approach of the Eagles
Re: I’m ready for Eagles job, says Siasia
What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??
Are we ready to reward based on Merit? What type of changes is Goodluck going to bring. I hope transparency and merit are part of it. Sellas Tetteh even did better than Siasia at the under 20 world cup so, should we interview him if we are going to interview Siasia?
The type of coach we get depends on what we are looking for... If we want to win the world cup we need to hire many coaches for the vast areas we are weak in. That is real change.
Are we ready to reward based on Merit? What type of changes is Goodluck going to bring. I hope transparency and merit are part of it. Sellas Tetteh even did better than Siasia at the under 20 world cup so, should we interview him if we are going to interview Siasia?
The type of coach we get depends on what we are looking for... If we want to win the world cup we need to hire many coaches for the vast areas we are weak in. That is real change.

http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.

....is he the highest bidder because the prospective incomers go wan know?
Here we go again
Are we sure this is NOT another JJ ?

If I can't express my opinion, I have no reason to be part of this union."
Co Adriaanse - AZ Coach
We’re not rated on the Continent,” said Toshack. “British managers are not, coaches are not, players are not. It’s all 4-4-2, hit the front man, get on the second ball. It hasn’t changed. It frustrates me at times, it really does.”
- John Toshack (British Wales Coach viewtopic.php?t=111511 ).

Co Adriaanse - AZ Coach
We’re not rated on the Continent,” said Toshack. “British managers are not, coaches are not, players are not. It’s all 4-4-2, hit the front man, get on the second ball. It hasn’t changed. It frustrates me at times, it really does.”
- John Toshack (British Wales Coach viewtopic.php?t=111511 ).

This has JJ written all over it.
How many times did Amodu Coach SE before qualifying the team for WC?Tunde84 wrote:What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??
What did Keshi achieve as a Coach before being given the Togo job and subsequently qualifying the team for WC?
Spicyee wrote:How many times did Amodu Coach SE before qualifying the team for WC?Tunde84 wrote:What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??
What did Keshi achieve as a Coach before being given the Togo job and subsequently qualifying the team for WC?
@Spicyee,u no go leave that Tunde84 alone?..he has forgotten so soon that it was Stellah Teteh who was the coach of Ghana U23 team that SiaOne defeated enroute Olympics 2008.If Ghana had thrown Teteh awy,would Ghana have won U20 ?
Dey don take Oyibo na Oyibo swear for some Naija..!
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
JJ
low grade JJ
Tunde had just put together some incoherent rubbish.......
dhoney wrote:Spicyee wrote:How many times did Amodu Coach SE before qualifying the team for WC?Tunde84 wrote:What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??
@Spicyee,u no go leave that Tunde84 alone?..he has forgotten so soon that it was Stellah Teteh who was the coach of Ghana U23 team that SiaOne defeated enroute Olympics 2008.If Ghana had thrown Teteh awy,would Ghana have won U20 ?
Tunde
We don't need a rocket scientist. Since we intend to rebuild, all we need is a coach that has the ability to work with young players and introduce them into the national level. Siasia is the best fit for the job because he has done it before with the U23. The U23 is more or less at the seniour level and can replace the seniour players at anytime. Look at the just concluded WC, a lot players are about that age.
Tunde84 wrote:What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.
mapet wrote:Tunde had just put together some incoherent rubbish.......
dhoney wrote:Spicyee wrote:How many times did Amodu Coach SE before qualifying the team for WC?Tunde84 wrote:What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??

"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
ogasmooth na ogasmooth no matter how many times he changes his nameIpe Grams wrote:mapet wrote:Tunde had just put together some incoherent rubbish.......
Dey don take Oyibo na Oyibo swear for some Naija..!![]()

Nigeria ia truly a sick country. What is a man who wants the job doing seating in Committee that will oversee the so called re-construction of Nigerian football? How can he act for any interest but his own? Are we sure Siasia's interest is in the best interest for our football? Does Siasia presence allow for an objective and transparent process of change?CMS wrote:![]()
Remember, it is well know that when he was VP he wanted to give Siasia the SE job. This is a very disturbing development. But I have said hefor a few weeks now, that Siasia will be the new SE coach because of the President. Let us wait and see if my prediction comes true.
Like I said, this whole exercise is being run by people who do not know what they are doing. I am still waiting for some one to come up with a plan or program for rejuvenating our football from the grassroots. All I see are sycophants and shysters looking to reap where they have not sown.
This whole saga is already beginning to have that feeling of deja-vu written all over it.

Siasia is the logical person to take the job and I have no doubt he will get it.
If being in the board will be a problem, they can tell him to resign. Even if there is concern about his agent role, they can easily tell him to cut that off if he wants the job. Lets not allow petty concern to blind us from seeing the bigger picture. We seem to be always looking for perfection. There is nothing like that in the real world. Lets just focus on the koko and cut out the attachment.
We just need someone that is able to bring players from youth level to the senior level and build a team.
Siasia is the logical person to take the job and I have no doubt he will get it.
If being in the board will be a problem, they can tell him to resign. Even if there is concern about his agent role, they can easily tell him to cut that off if he wants the job. Lets not allow petty concern to blind us from seeing the bigger picture. We seem to be always looking for perfection. There is nothing like that in the real world. Lets just focus on the koko and cut out the attachment.
We just need someone that is able to bring players from youth level to the senior level and build a team.
Waffiman,Waffiman wrote:Nigeria ia truly a sick country. What is a man who wants the job doing seating in Committee that will oversee the so called re-construction of Nigerian football? How can he act for any interest but his own? Are we sure Siasia's interest is in the best interest for our football? Does Siasia presence allow for an objective and transparent process of change?CMS wrote:![]()
Remember, it is well know that when he was VP he wanted to give Siasia the SE job. This is a very disturbing development. But I have said hefor a few weeks now, that Siasia will be the new SE coach because of the President. Let us wait and see if my prediction comes true.
Like I said, this whole exercise is being run by people who do not know what they are doing. I am still waiting for some one to come up with a plan or program for rejuvenating our football from the grassroots. All I see are sycophants and shysters looking to reap where they have not sown.
This whole saga is already beginning to have that feeling of deja-vu written all over it.![]()
A disturbing development is being qualified and not given the chance. I believe Siasia is committed and he is determined to succeed. I know he has a couple of issues but he will make it.
Here is a Nigerian who is willing to get his hands dirty and be involved....
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
No coach is going to be appointed until the new board is elected in September. That is the plan for now.
You still want your oyinbo?Ayo Akinfe wrote:No coach is going to be appointed until the new board is elected in September. That is the plan for now.

Talk IT wrote:Tunde
We don't need a rocket scientist. Since we intend to rebuild, all we need is a coach that has the ability to work with young players and introduce them into the national level. Siasia is the best fit for the job because he has done it before with the U23. The U23 is more or less at the seniour level and can replace the seniour players at anytime. Look at the just concluded WC, a lot players are about that age.Tunde84 wrote:What makes him think he is qualified. Just because he has a cult following? Khesi actually qualified for the world cup before and, so did Amodu... What has Siasia done to merit jumping over these guys??
Winning an underage competition with Nigerian coaches does not make one qualified to coach Eagles, when we know all his players were older than the competition at those tournaments.
If you give me a bunch of 27 year olds, I too can coach Nigeria to the finals of U-17 and U-20.
While Siasia is not my first choice for the job,I will take him any day over a foreign coach irrespective of the latter's world stature.
Incidentally,why was it that none of all the pious ever discovered psycho-analysis?Why did it have to wait for a completely godless Jew?
Sigmund Freud
- Its a Goal
I guess in your mind, age determines success. If that was case how come Germany and Ghana who have relatively young players fared better than Nigeria with a bunch of older players?[color=brown]Ohaneze[/color] wrote: Winning an underage competition with Nigerian coaches does not make one qualified to coach Eagles, when we know all his players were older than the competition at those tournaments.
If you give me a bunch of 27 year olds, I too can coach Nigeria to the finals of U-17 and U-20.
Please stop insulting our intelligence with your far reaching conclusions to discredit SSS for the SE job.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Its a Goal wrote:I guess in your mind, age determines success. If that was case how come Germany and Ghana who have relatively young players fared better than Nigeria with a bunch of older players?[color=brown]Ohaneze[/color] wrote: Winning an underage competition with Nigerian coaches does not make one qualified to coach Eagles, when we know all his players were older than the competition at those tournaments.
Please stop insulting our intelligence with your far reaching conclusions to discredit SSS for the SE job.
Did Siasia get to those two finals using U20 and U23 players?
Prince wrote:Waffiman,Waffiman wrote:Nigeria ia truly a sick country. What is a man who wants the job doing seating in Committee that will oversee the so called re-construction of Nigerian football? How can he act for any interest but his own? Are we sure Siasia's interest is in the best interest for our football? Does Siasia presence allow for an objective and transparent process of change?CMS wrote:![]()
This whole saga is already beginning to have that feeling of deja-vu written all over it.![]()
A disturbing development is being qualified and not given the chance. I believe Siasia is committed and he is determined to succeed. I know he has a couple of issues but he will make it.
Here is a Nigerian who is willing to get his hands dirty and be involved....

Prince, che na because you snap picture with the bobo for SA you dey talk like dis???? If SiaSia wants to get his hands dirty, let him go and help the Lagos State government clearout all those dump yards that are littered all over Lagos!

Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.