Can you believe SE beat Spain (World Champion) few years ago

doctorollie
Can you believe SE beat Spain (World Champion) few years ago

Post by doctorollie »

While they progressed, we have massively retrogressed!
Zelex
Re: Can you believe SE beat Spain (World Champion) few years ago

Post by Zelex »

That was not a few years ago. :lol: :lol:
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

12 is not a few. Get over it and stop living in the past.

Post by GUEST »

Eagle Winged wrote:12 is not a few. Get over it and stop living in the past.
Kpom!

You dey mind am--Few Yrs ko---Many yrs ni.....

he means men against boys (2007 world youth cup) :thumbs: ,serious contenders are counted at full international level!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Zelex wrote:That was not a few years ago. :lol: :lol:
Imagine someone says 3 world cups ago was a few years.......wooooow! :woot: :woot:

Well, England won the world cup just a few years ago :winking:
Altobelli

Post by Altobelli »

doctorollie wrote:While they progressed, we have massively retrogressed!
When did Naija's senior team beat Spain a few years ago? :roll: :roll: :sneaky:
Bonita Applebum, say you gotta put me on........
Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

Yeah! Ok Switzerland beat them a few weeks ago.....add the rest!
Penarity

Post by Penarity »

Doctor, actually, I had the exact same thoughts. In the 1998 WC, Nigeria defeated Spain. Indeed. Nigeria's football is DEAD and I don't see it coming back alive!!
There is nothing to learn from someone who already agrees with you.
anaedo1

Post by anaedo1 »

My 12yo nephew is now a 7th grader and he was born in 1998 when Sunday Oliseh and co beat the Spanairds.Long time ago my brother, the current Spanish side will massacre our current troupe of jokers.
Incidentally,why was it that none of all the pious ever discovered psycho-analysis?Why did it have to wait for a completely godless Jew?
Sigmund Freud
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Xavi and Casillas were in the Spanish team that won the U-20 World Cup in Nigeria several years ago (now they have won the real thing in Africa)
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

I find the 12 year gap interesting, as it should be a lesson for Nigeria on what it takes to become a champion. Moreover, it is actually many more years than that for Spain. The Spanish have been enduring failure after failure, across many generations of players. But they never gave up and accepted being perpetual losers. They kept investing in their academies, clubs, league, and the NT.

Every failure simply was studied and lessons learned were applied. It was a slow, methodical process, but look at the fruit yielded. You just can't give up. Spain didn't and now is champion of the world.

Nigeria too must build anew, applying the most basic lessons first, setting the foundations for a viable and progressively strong NT program. If there is one thing I have observed on CE all these years, it's that the NFA doesn't learn much nor adopts anything that is learned. I've learned the hard way here that Nigeria is indeed the fire brigade approach, doing this late and often without a sense of cohesion.

I don't know what to tell you anymore. We all debated this to the nth degree. The powers that be in Nigeria know what must be done, but none of us have confidence it will be done, do we? Can Nigerians even begin to accept that NT success is something that probably wouldn't happen in the next 2 WCs, assuming the right things are undertaken? It seems like Nigeria must, in order to start a real process of rebuilding.

Make no mistake about it, the experience of Spain is instructive. It is testimony to what dedication, organization, and discipline can do.

Cheers, Mate
hurricaneeddy

Post by hurricaneeddy »

tell am abeg
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

"He took a lot of punishment and fought until the end," said Klitschko. "But from round two, it was clear that his game plan wasn't working. lol. september 11 klitschko vs peter

mate wrote:I find the 12 year gap interesting, as it should be a lesson for Nigeria on what it takes to become a champion. Moreover, it is actually many more years than that for Spain. The Spanish have been enduring failure after failure, across many generations of players. But they never gave up and accepted being perpetual losers. They kept investing in their academies, clubs, league, and the NT.

Every failure simply was studied and lessons learned were applied. It was a slow, methodical process, but look at the fruit yielded. You just can't give up. Spain didn't and now is champion of the world.

Nigeria too must build anew, applying the most basic lessons first, setting the foundations for a viable and progressively strong NT program. If there is one thing I have observed on CE all these years, it's that the NFA doesn't learn much nor adopts anything that is learned. I've learned the hard way here that Nigeria is indeed the fire brigade approach, doing this late and often without a sense of cohesion.

I don't know what to tell you anymore. We all debated this to the nth degree. The powers that be in Nigeria know what must be done, but none of us have confidence it will be done, do we? Can Nigerians even begin to accept that NT success is something that probably wouldn't happen in the next 2 WCs, assuming the right things are undertaken? It seems like Nigeria must, in order to start a real process of rebuilding.

Make no mistake about it, the experience of Spain is instructive. It is testimony to what dedication, organization, and discipline can do.

Cheers, Mate
I agree but Nigerians lack patience & many are fantasists,Nigeria will drop a whole youth team for coming second in the WYC such a bunch can never be compared to Spain!
stargazer

Post by stargazer »

few cannot be more than three...................
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

That was history now. :sad: :sad: :sad:

i was in Jss3 when we beat Spain in 1998. that is NOT a few yrs ago.

Killa Adjei

Post by Killa Adjei »

Only on CE is 12 years a few years... :taunt:
We are the centre of the pitch, we are precise, we are our effort, we are attackers who defend, we are defenders who attack, we are respected by our rivals, we are recognised by our rivals, we are every goal that we score, we are those who always look for our opponent's goal, WE ARE ONE.

Pep Guardiola To Barca Before CL Final

bret- hart wrote:i was in Jss3 when we beat Spain in 1998. that is NOT a few yrs ago.
u be small boy kai

Coeur-d'Ivoire

Post by Coeur-d'Ivoire »

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

when I read a few i was thinking a couple of years and was trying to remember when the SE had met Spain... lol

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
FREE TFCO NOW !!!!! - CAMPAIGN FOR TFCO'S EMANCIPATION (CTE)
Mouvement International de la Defense des Gnomes et pour l'Emancipation de Tfco (M.I.D.G.E.T)

Have you visited The Village Hall this week?

...if ur talking of '98, well they went back and planned and came back winning. Can Nigeria do such? Nah, not with thieves with wives and houseboys running show.

Spain also hosted the WC in 1982. Their loss to Germany in the quarterfinal playoffs was devastating to them. Again, they didn't get down and out and kept at it. Think of what Spanish fans have been going through since the 1950s, when their club teams started storming through Europe. It is much worse than what Nigeria has endured.

Look at the silver lining and start over, learning lessons from teams like Spain. It's not rocket science. I can't say it any more plainly, but Nigeria will never make an impact at the WC unless the rebuilding process starts in earnest.

Here's hoping to a return to performance for the SE...and perhaps an ascendancy to glory.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Cheers, Mate
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

sheesh abi oohh....what is he trying to get at??/ :roll: :roll: