Page 1 of 2
Can you believe SE beat Spain (World Champion) few years ago
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:04 pm
by doctorollie
While they progressed, we have massively retrogressed!
Re: Can you believe SE beat Spain (World Champion) few years ago
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:07 pm
by Zelex
That was not a few years ago.

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:08 pm
by Eagle Winged
12 is not a few. Get over it and stop living in the past.
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:15 pm
by GUEST
Eagle Winged wrote:12 is not a few. Get over it and stop living in the past.
Kpom!
You dey mind am--Few Yrs ko---Many yrs ni.....
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:19 pm
by Eaglezbeak
he means men against boys (2007 world youth cup)

,serious contenders are counted at full international level!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:19 pm
by maceo4
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:35 pm
by Altobelli
doctorollie wrote:While they progressed, we have massively retrogressed!
When did Naija's senior team beat Spain a few years ago?

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:38 pm
by Chingo Bling
Yeah! Ok Switzerland beat them a few weeks ago.....add the rest!
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:39 pm
by Penarity
Doctor, actually, I had the exact same thoughts. In the 1998 WC, Nigeria defeated Spain. Indeed. Nigeria's football is DEAD and I don't see it coming back alive!!
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:41 pm
by anaedo1
My 12yo nephew is now a 7th grader and he was born in 1998 when Sunday Oliseh and co beat the Spanairds.Long time ago my brother, the current Spanish side will massacre our current troupe of jokers.
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:43 pm
by Vincent.
Xavi and Casillas were in the Spanish team that won the U-20 World Cup in Nigeria several years ago (now they have won the real thing in Africa)
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:49 pm
by mate
I find the 12 year gap interesting, as it should be a lesson for Nigeria on what it takes to become a champion. Moreover, it is actually many more years than that for Spain. The Spanish have been enduring failure after failure, across many generations of players. But they never gave up and accepted being perpetual losers. They kept investing in their academies, clubs, league, and the NT.
Every failure simply was studied and lessons learned were applied. It was a slow, methodical process, but look at the fruit yielded. You just can't give up. Spain didn't and now is champion of the world.
Nigeria too must build anew, applying the most basic lessons first, setting the foundations for a viable and progressively strong NT program. If there is one thing I have observed on CE all these years, it's that the NFA doesn't learn much nor adopts anything that is learned. I've learned the hard way here that Nigeria is indeed the fire brigade approach, doing this late and often without a sense of cohesion.
I don't know what to tell you anymore. We all debated this to the nth degree. The powers that be in Nigeria know what must be done, but none of us have confidence it will be done, do we? Can Nigerians even begin to accept that NT success is something that probably wouldn't happen in the next 2 WCs, assuming the right things are undertaken? It seems like Nigeria must, in order to start a real process of rebuilding.
Make no mistake about it, the experience of Spain is instructive. It is testimony to what dedication, organization, and discipline can do.
Cheers, Mate
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:50 pm
by hurricaneeddy
tell am abeg
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:13 pm
by Eaglezbeak
mate wrote:I find the 12 year gap interesting, as it should be a lesson for Nigeria on what it takes to become a champion. Moreover, it is actually many more years than that for Spain. The Spanish have been enduring failure after failure, across many generations of players. But they never gave up and accepted being perpetual losers. They kept investing in their academies, clubs, league, and the NT.
Every failure simply was studied and lessons learned were applied. It was a slow, methodical process, but look at the fruit yielded. You just can't give up. Spain didn't and now is champion of the world.
Nigeria too must build anew, applying the most basic lessons first, setting the foundations for a viable and progressively strong NT program. If there is one thing I have observed on CE all these years, it's that the NFA doesn't learn much nor adopts anything that is learned. I've learned the hard way here that Nigeria is indeed the fire brigade approach, doing this late and often without a sense of cohesion.
I don't know what to tell you anymore. We all debated this to the nth degree. The powers that be in Nigeria know what must be done, but none of us have confidence it will be done, do we? Can Nigerians even begin to accept that NT success is something that probably wouldn't happen in the next 2 WCs, assuming the right things are undertaken? It seems like Nigeria must, in order to start a real process of rebuilding.
Make no mistake about it, the experience of Spain is instructive. It is testimony to what dedication, organization, and discipline can do.
Cheers, Mate
I agree but Nigerians lack patience & many are fantasists,Nigeria will drop a whole youth team for coming second in the WYC such a bunch can never be compared to Spain!
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:15 pm
by stargazer
few cannot be more than three...................
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:23 pm
by Igugu
That was history now.

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:29 pm
by bret- hart
i was in Jss3 when we beat Spain in 1998. that is NOT a few yrs ago.
Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:31 pm
by Killa Adjei
Only on CE is 12 years a few years...

Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:06 am
bret- hart wrote:i was in Jss3 when we beat Spain in 1998. that is NOT a few yrs ago.
u be small boy kai
Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:20 am
by Coeur-d'Ivoire
Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:32 am
by mcal
...if ur talking of '98, well they went back and planned and came back winning. Can Nigeria do such? Nah, not with thieves with wives and houseboys running show.
Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:46 am
by mate
Spain also hosted the WC in 1982. Their loss to Germany in the quarterfinal playoffs was devastating to them. Again, they didn't get down and out and kept at it. Think of what Spanish fans have been going through since the 1950s, when their club teams started storming through Europe. It is much worse than what Nigeria has endured.
Look at the silver lining and start over, learning lessons from teams like Spain. It's not rocket science. I can't say it any more plainly, but Nigeria will never make an impact at the WC unless the rebuilding process starts in earnest.
Here's hoping to a return to performance for the SE...and perhaps an ascendancy to glory.
Cheers, Mate
Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:00 am
by Man Ataye
sheesh abi oohh....what is he trying to get at??/