Arsene Wenger says England need Arsenal's Frimpong

rasdb
Arsene Wenger says England need Arsenal's Frimpong

Post by rasdb »

Arsene Wenger has urged the Football Association to act quickly to persuade Arsenal's young midfielder Emmanuel Frimpong to play for England.

The 18-year-old, who was born in Accra but moved to London in 2000, played for England Under-16 and Under-18s, but has indicated he wishes to play for Ghana.

Wenger said: "Here you have a boy who can choose between England and Ghana.

"So if I was in your place, I would have no hesitation and invite him to play very quickly for England."

I've seen what I wanted to see, that two new players can fit in well

Arsene Wenger
The Arsenal manager's praise followed his side's 3-2 victory over Celtic, which ensured the Gunners clinched the pre-season Emirates Cup.

Carlos Vela, Bacary Sagna and Samir Nasri were on the scoresheet for Arsenal, but it was Frimpong's former England Under-18 teammate Jack Wilshere who impressed the Gunners boss and won the man-of-the-match accolade.

"I believe he is stronger than last year, physically, and the few months he played (on loan) at Bolton has given him something," Wenger continued.

"He will be used at the club, of course. The problem at that age is to be patient. If you look at the number of good players we have in midfield, nobody can guarantee a position to anybody."

Frimpong in action for England Under-16's against Germany in 2008
And comparing his two midfielders, Wenger added: "Frimpong is a bit less of a dribbler but he's a fighter and a winner."

Arsenal were held to a 1-1 draw on Saturday with AC Milan, but the Frenchman said his side's performances had impressed him.

"I am pleased, because we had good opponents against teams who didn't give up.

"I've seen what I wanted to see, that two new players can fit in well. And I'm pleased with the fact that the young players who have played in the two games have done really well.

"And you will be pleased with the fact that they are English - so we are all happy," Wenger added.

The Arsenal boss added that winger Theo Walcott, who set up two of the Gunners goals, is "highly determined" to impress.

To the surprise of many, the winger was not picked as part of Fabio Capello's England World Cup squad in South Africa.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/footbal ... 875644.stm
Re: Arsene Wenger says England need Arsenal's Frimpong

Ghana needs him too, the boy wants to play for Ghana, Abeg Wenger don't mess this up for AFrica. YOu are my boy Wenger, but don't go there.

jinx

Post by jinx »

ohenhen1 wrote:Ghana needs him too, the boy wants to play for Ghana, Abeg Wenger don't mess this up for AFrica. YOu are my boy Wenger, but don't go there.

Absolutely agree. Wenger should just concentrate on mending the woes of Arsenal and leave Frimpong to forge his international future. We are trying to groom a future Essien so he shouldn't try to mess with the boy's mind, since he said he now wants to play for Ghana.

Post by GUEST »

The article full story was not told by this Reporting--Wenger also said there is no need of him Buying any DM since these Young Players are available to him..

Directly telling Assnal Fan--I no go buy this season again

I have always suspected that fool doesnt care much for african football :curse: :curse: Why is he not promoting the Ghana angle instead :boo: :boo:

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

He doesnt want to lose another player when the 2012 ACN rolls around :lol:

Delusional Arsenal fans will show up in a bit to say that Frimpong is the answer to all of Arsenal's problems! The club is almost done paying the stadium debt! Prosperous times await! What Chelsea and Man City are doing is unsustainable!
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Samora Moises Machel wrote:I have always suspected that fool doesnt care much for african football :curse: :curse: Why is he not promoting the Ghana angle instead :boo: :boo:
Lets not get too carried away.

Wenger has been a supporter of African football for YEARS now. Not only has he scouted and brought in many young African talent over the years (can you say the same about clubs like Liverpool and Man Utd?) but he also supported Angola back in January when Europeans were calling for the tournament to be canceled after the Togo bus incident.

GUEST wrote:The article full story was not told by this Reporting--Wenger also said there is no need of him Buying any DM since these Young Players are available to him..

Frimpong is the truth, no need to buy another midfielder, we have enough fire power to score with anyone, what we need are defenders, we need atleast 1 new Central defender and a GK. Worse case scenario atleast 1 more Central defender.

ohenhen1 wrote:Ghana needs him too, the boy wants to play for Ghana, Abeg Wenger don't mess this up for AFrica. YOu are my boy Wenger, but don't go there.
The angel* doesnt know when to mind his business. STFU Arsene Wenger... geez :curse:
remrem

Post by remrem »

Can Frimpong step on the big stage? Is he there yet? Time will tell. Wenger has to buy rugged players and stop relying on young talents. The EPL, La Liga, Bundes, Bonds, Ser A, etc are for tested legs not young ones emerging from the crib
GUEST wrote:The article full story was not told by this Reporting--Wenger also said there is no need of him Buying any DM since these Young Players are available to him..

Frimpong is the truth, no need to buy another midfielder, we have enough fire power to score with anyone, what we need are defenders, we need atleast 1 new Central defender and a GK. Worse case scenario atleast 1 more Central defender.
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

Heliopolis wrote:
Samora Moises Machel wrote:I have always suspected that fool doesnt care much for african football :curse: :curse: Why is he not promoting the Ghana angle instead :boo: :boo:
Lets not get too carried away.

Wenger has been a supporter of African football for YEARS now. Not only has he scouted and brought in many young African talent over the years (can you say the same about clubs like Liverpool and Man Utd?) but he also supported Angola back in January when Europeans were calling for the tournament to be canceled after the Togo bus incident.
Of course he is, he has them on slave contracts and sells them for a lot of money in their twilight, why wouldn't he like African players? :mad:
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
Oba

Post by Oba »

Dude, I saw the ENTIRE interview. He said clearly that he intends to get more players although he isn't close to signing anyone as at yet, hence, him not 'promising'. The signings will be defensive.... just probably not in the a CM role. We already have Song, Diaby and Denilson competing for that ONE role. Frimpong is now on the verge too. If Denilson improves further this season, we need no new hands there. What we need are CDs and a new keeper (although Almunia gave an outstanding performance yesterday, in a statement of his intent to fight for his shirt).

Oh as for the heading about England and Frimpong, well he didn't say Frimpong should choose England. He didn't even say England should choose Frimpong. What he said was that if he were in their (i.e. the English) shoes, he'll cap the lad.
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

The boy was born in Accra, wants to play for Ghana and he's pushing him towards England when he could have kept quiet.
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
kalani

Post by kalani »

He did not say Frimpong should play for England, he said if he was the FA he would make sure Frimpong was called up. It would have made little sense to promote the Ghana angle because there was no Ghanaian press present, if he was in Ghana he would have probably done the reverse. All he's doing is bigging up his player.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

O wrote:

Dude, I saw the ENTIRE interview. He said clearly that he intends to get more players although he isn't close to signing anyone as at yet, hence, him not 'promising'. The signings will be defensive.... just probably not in the a CM role. We already have Song, Diaby and Denilson competing for that ONE role. Frimpong is now on the verge too. If Denilson improves further this season, we need no new hands there. What we need are CDs and a new keeper (although Almunia gave an outstanding performance yesterday, in a statement of his intent to fight for his shirt).

Oh as for the heading about England and Frimpong, well he didn't say Frimpong should choose England. He didn't even say England should choose Frimpong. What he said was that if he were in their (i.e. the English) shoes, he'll cap the lad.
Whats the difference....? The end result would mean England get their gribby hands on the player and Ghana don't.
Wenger should shut the hell up about who should cap who
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
PapaK

Post by PapaK »

so Wenger advised England to cap the boy and most of you are up in arms?
Are you for real? Do you know how much grief Arsene has been getting for not buying English players? Do you know how much whinginga has been going on in England about Arsene killing England'sinternational prospects by signing too many foreigners?
Arsene is there to take care of his own interests. Ghanaians should take care of Ghana's interests.
Get real folks!
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.

kalani wrote:He did not say Frimpong should play for England, he said if he was the FA he would make sure Frimpong was called up. It would have made little sense to promote the Ghana angle because there was no Ghanaian press present, if he was in Ghana he would have probably done the reverse. All he's doing is bigging up his player.
Those who cannot comprehend or are anti-Arsenal have their agenda. Ignore the morons.

PapaK wrote:so Wenger advised England to cap the boy and most of you are up in arms?
Are you for real? Do you know how much grief Arsene has been getting for not buying English players? Do you know how much whinginga has been going on in England about Arsene killing England'sinternational prospects by signing too many foreigners?
Arsene is there to take care of his own interests. Ghanaians should take care of Ghana's interests.
Get real folks!
PapaK, do not worry, they will be crying when Wenger says the same about the likes of Chuks Aneke.

I sabi the Arsenal youth Academy well, well, there is great hope for at least 4 talented young Nigerians, including my friends boy. The closest one to making the huge step up to the first team sqaud is Chuks Aneke.

Whilst Ghana has been sending their FA officials to speak to Frimpong and Mensah's family for well over 3 years now, you will not see one Naija FA officials there. This despite the fact that Van Gaal once describe a Nigerian kid at the Academy as the most talented youth player he has seen since Marco Van Basten. I will not name the player for now, when he is of the age where it is legal to name the boy publicly, I will. Everyone in Europe knows about the talent Arsenal have assembled for over 10 since Hale End opened. I see FA officials from different countries at the games of all the kids but never Naija.

Frimpong will play for Ghana, just like Mensah because Ghana FA has worked hard at getting them to represent their country.

So in effect he should sell Ghana down the road for +ive PR from the English...
With Rafa gone, that is a pipe dream. He and Mancini, esp Mancini will now take the full brunt of British media bias and a little wink in the direction of a young Ghanaian player will not help him...

PapaK wrote:so Wenger advised England to cap the boy and most of you are up in arms?
Get real folks!
PapaK, do not worry, they will be crying when Wenger says the same about the likes of Chuks Aneke.

I sabi the Arsenal youth Academy well, well, there is great hope for at least 4 talented young Nigerians, including my friends boy. The closest one to making the huge step up to the first team sqaud is Chuks Aneke.

Whilst Ghana has been sending their FA officials to speak to Frimpong and Mensah's family for well over 3 years now, you will not see one Naija FA officials there. This despite the fact that Van Gaal once describe a Nigerian kid at the Academy as the most talented youth player he has seen since Marco Van Basten. I will not name the player for now, when he is of the age where it is legal to name the boy publicly, I will. Everyone in Europe knows about the talent Arsenal have assembled for over 10 since Hale End opened. I see FA officials from different countries at the games of all the kids but never Naija.

Frimpong will play for Ghana, just like Mensah because Ghana FA has worked hard at getting them to represent their country.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

You should know Wenger does not give a hoot what the English think. His priority is Arsenal.
txj wrote:So in effect he should sell Ghana down the road for +ive PR from the English...
With Rafa gone, that is a pipe dream. He and Mancini, esp Mancini will now take the full brunt of British media bias and a little wink in the direction of a young Ghanaian player will not help him...

Get real folks!

I do not think Wenger has seen this recent quote from Frimpong?

"I have always said that, no matter what, I will always play for Ghana because at the end of the day, from what I believe, I am a Ghanaian.”