Ghana Coach supports Essien decision to take a break...
...from National team.
Rajevac confident of Essien return to Ghana side
by Michael Oti Adjei
BBC Sport, Johannesburg
Essien has been formidable for Chelsea so far this season
Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac is confident Chelsea midfielder Michael Essien will return to international football early next year.
Essien has just returned from a long lay-off after a cruciate ligament injury sustained at the Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.
The midfielder has now asked for time off international football to get back to his best form at club level.
That decision has been heavily criticised in Ghana.
However, Rajevac has a more sympathetic attitude to the player.
"As you know, Michael has had two very serious injuries in the last two years, both with the national team," the 56-year-old told BBC Sport.
"Now he wants to concentrate on his club and I am sure after sometime he will come back to the national team.
"When we need him most, he will be there to lead the team the way he knows."
Rajevac revealed Essien spoke to him before making the announcement public and said there is always room in the national team for the 27-year-old.
"Michael contacted me after I decided on the list for the game against Swaziland and wanted to ask for permission to be excused for a while," he said.
"I understood his thoughts and of course I want to help him to get into his old form, to start playing regularly and I gave that permission.
The Black Stars have gathered in Johannesburg for the start of their 2012 Nations Cup qualifiers on Sunday.
They are without Essien and Stephen Appiah, their captain of seven years who recently retired from international football.
Rajevac paid glowing tribute to the 29-year-old Appiah for his contribution to the Ghana side.
"As I said so many times before, Stephen is a great player who gave so much to Ghana football," he said.
"We need to respect his decision because he's had so many problems recently.
"Maybe at some point he will reconsider his decision, but for now we must respect that because of everything he gave
Rajevac confident of Essien return to Ghana side
by Michael Oti Adjei
BBC Sport, Johannesburg
Essien has been formidable for Chelsea so far this season
Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac is confident Chelsea midfielder Michael Essien will return to international football early next year.
Essien has just returned from a long lay-off after a cruciate ligament injury sustained at the Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.
The midfielder has now asked for time off international football to get back to his best form at club level.
That decision has been heavily criticised in Ghana.
However, Rajevac has a more sympathetic attitude to the player.
"As you know, Michael has had two very serious injuries in the last two years, both with the national team," the 56-year-old told BBC Sport.
"Now he wants to concentrate on his club and I am sure after sometime he will come back to the national team.
"When we need him most, he will be there to lead the team the way he knows."
Rajevac revealed Essien spoke to him before making the announcement public and said there is always room in the national team for the 27-year-old.
"Michael contacted me after I decided on the list for the game against Swaziland and wanted to ask for permission to be excused for a while," he said.
"I understood his thoughts and of course I want to help him to get into his old form, to start playing regularly and I gave that permission.
The Black Stars have gathered in Johannesburg for the start of their 2012 Nations Cup qualifiers on Sunday.
They are without Essien and Stephen Appiah, their captain of seven years who recently retired from international football.
Rajevac paid glowing tribute to the 29-year-old Appiah for his contribution to the Ghana side.
"As I said so many times before, Stephen is a great player who gave so much to Ghana football," he said.
"We need to respect his decision because he's had so many problems recently.
"Maybe at some point he will reconsider his decision, but for now we must respect that because of everything he gave

Re: Ghana Coach supports Essien decision to take a break...
not another midget news.. is ghanaweb so full of juvenille insults, sotey una don dey migrate come here to yarn about the midgets.. well dont blame u eveyone knows ghanaweb is a forum full of midgets with PMS
Bigpokey24 wrote:not another midget news.. is ghanaweb so full of juvenille insults, sotey una don dey migrate come here to yarn about the midgets.. well dont blame u eveyone knows ghanaweb is a forum full of midgets with PMS
I hope this Ghana hate is all a joke because I am started to get concerned about your mental health. I hope you are not as obsessed with Ghana in your real life, like you are on the forums. Sadly you don't seem to realize no one takes you serious, and neither do you ever try to back down. You might want to see a doctor about this

another midget, so why reply this thread?who gives a damn about midgets and their pk=Q-final super power?jinx wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:not another midget news.. is ghanaweb so full of juvenille insults, sotey una don dey migrate come here to yarn about the midgets.. well dont blame u eveyone knows ghanaweb is a forum full of midgets with PMS
I hope this Ghana hate is all a joke because I am started to get concerned about your mental health. I hope you are not as obsessed with Ghana in your real life, like you are on the forums. Sadly you don't seem to realize no one takes you serious, and neither do you ever try to back down. You might want to see a doctor about thisI am curious what Ghana/Ghanaians did to you to set you up like this.
oboy midget ville is that way