Emenike opts to fly with Eagles

AJ Guru

Post by AJ Guru »

By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Lagos

Emmanuel Emenike has ruled out playing for Turkey, saying his international future lies with Nigeria instead.

The 23-year-old, who plays for Turkish side Karabükspor, had also been approached to represent Turkey.

Emenike had vowed not to play for the Super Eagles after the Nigeria Football Federation almost scuttled his first professional contract in South Africa.

But a recent meeting with coach Samson Siasia in Turkey has swayed the opinion of the in-form Nigerian striker.

"We had a lovely and positive discussion, and he [Siasia] spoke passionately about his plans and made me bury the past," Emenike told BBC Sport.

"After speaking to him and my family, I conclude that there is only one national team for me - Nigeria."

He added of the Nigeria coach: "He has a strong charisma, knows what he wants and the meeting alongside his assistant [Dutchman Simon Kalika] was interesting."

Relatively unknown back home, Emenike starred in South Africa for Mpumalanga Black Aces and FC Cape Town, before joining Kardemir Karabükspor in the Turkish second division in 2009.

On the back of last season's 16 goals, Karabükspor won promotion to the top flight and his 12 strikes in 16 matches this season have triggered interest in the player from the Turkish Football Federation.

Nigeria are in need of a prolific goalscorer and the local media has continued to suggest the names of Emenike, the Turkish League's top scorer, and Denmark-based Peter Utaka as a solution.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/footbal ... 310391.stm
Welcome to CE: A place where an average man can tell a legend how to run his family. A place where an internet coach think he is beta team than an international coach. A place where a "four one nine" artist and Cab Driver can call a professional player a wastepipe. A Place where a wanna be agent can tell a professional player what club to join and what country to earn his money.A place where a simple debate can turn into an insult towards your mama and papa. Once again welcome to CE.
Re: Emenike opts to fly with Eagles

God bless him
kaysalaw

Post by kaysalaw »

Gone are the days when people jumped at the opportunity of doning the GWG, nowadays players are being coaxed and carjoled to represent Nigeria. Abeg where has patriotism gone?
bakana

Post by bakana »

kaysalaw wrote:Gone are the days when people jumped at the opportunity of doning the GWG, nowadays players are being coaxed and carjoled to represent Nigeria. Abeg where has patriotism gone?
olboyno offence but na patriotism we go chop? he can be unpatriotic as he wants as long as he delivers in the GWG

Post by GUEST »

bakana wrote:
kaysalaw wrote:Gone are the days when people jumped at the opportunity of doning the GWG, nowadays players are being coaxed and carjoled to represent Nigeria. Abeg where has patriotism gone?
olboyno offence but na patriotism we go chop? he can be unpatriotic as he wants as long as he delivers in the GWG
Don,t You think that should come First--I mean Patriotism...
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

GUEST wrote:
bakana wrote:
Tell that to our lawmakers.
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

What would you rather have? An unpatriotic Drogba or a patriotic Yakubu?
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:What would you rather have? An unpatriotic Drogba or a patriotic Yakubu?

none. I'd rather have troublesome Adebayor for comic relief :tic:

GUEST wrote:
bakana wrote:
Don,t You think that should come First--I mean Patriotism...[/quote

NO. competency and lack of bribery on the NFF part should come first..

CMS

Post by CMS »

Ehmn! Sorry tobust una bubbles.. and so?
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
bakana

Post by bakana »

GUEST wrote:
bakana wrote:
I want a player that's good and will leave it all on the pitch, that to me is the only patriotism we should seek in our players that he runs his mouth or sleeps with a yankee or turkish flag blanket is irrelivant.
Last edited by bakana on Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

Ipe Grams wrote:
GUEST wrote:
bakana wrote:
YOU ARE VERY CORRECT 120%
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.
kaylord

Post by kaylord »

AJ Guru, how body? still expecting feedback on my emails o.
AJ Guru wrote:Emenike opts to fly with Eagles
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Lagos

Emmanuel Emenike has ruled out playing for Turkey, saying his international future lies with Nigeria instead.

The 23-year-old, who plays for Turkish side Karabükspor, had also been approached to represent Turkey.

Emenike had vowed not to play for the Super Eagles after the Nigeria Football Federation almost scuttled his first professional contract in South Africa.

But a recent meeting with coach Samson Siasia in Turkey has swayed the opinion of the in-form Nigerian striker.

"We had a lovely and positive discussion, and he [Siasia] spoke passionately about his plans and made me bury the past," Emenike told BBC Sport.

"After speaking to him and my family, I conclude that there is only one national team for me - Nigeria."

He added of the Nigeria coach: "He has a strong charisma, knows what he wants and the meeting alongside his assistant [Dutchman Simon Kalika] was interesting."

Relatively unknown back home, Emenike starred in South Africa for Mpumalanga Black Aces and FC Cape Town, before joining Kardemir Karabükspor in the Turkish second division in 2009.

On the back of last season's 16 goals, Karabükspor won promotion to the top flight and his 12 strikes in 16 matches this season have triggered interest in the player from the Turkish Football Federation.

Nigeria are in need of a prolific goalscorer and the local media has continued to suggest the names of Emenike, the Turkish League's top scorer, and Denmark-based Peter Utaka as a solution.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/footbal ... 310391.stm
Am Designed For Destiny...
http://www.youtube.com/v/SmLhyPjHVes

shows that SIASIA has the capability to negotiate emotional alliance with all the players whom until now were uninterested in playing for Nigeria

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Jmal

Post by Jmal »

jette1 wrote:shows that SIASIA has the capability to negotiate emotional alliance with all the players whom until now were uninterested in playing for Nigeria
I like Siasia his team allways plays with style :thumbs:

Why do I get the feeling that all this will end in tears?

Good luck to Siasia though, with great hope comes great expectations.
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

And that is all she wrote. Kudos SiaOne.

Patriotism my a$$. The bobo said the NFF tried to sabotage his transfer to SA and some hypocrites are here asking for patriotism? :o
Next time, just tell our civil servants that the government will be paying them with patriot fake naira.
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.

Ipe Grams wrote:
GUEST wrote:
bakana wrote:
Good response :lol: