African trio target Turkish league title for Fenerbahce
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Istanbul
The African trio of Joseph Yobo, Mamadou Niang and Issiar Dia are hoping to win the Turkish title in only their first season at Istanbul club Fenerbahce.
Fenerbahce and Trabzonspor go into next Sunday's final Turkish Super League fixtures with the championship crown on the line.
Both clubs are equal on points but Fenerbahce lead their Black Sea coast rivals on goal difference.
The trio know that a victory at stubborn Sivasspor on 22 May will earn them the title after a four-year wait.
Nigeria captain Yobo told BBC Sport that he is keen to win his first league crown in club football with the Turkish title chasers.
"It's been a long battle and we have to do all we can to realise the title dream on the last day of the season," he said.
Continue reading the main story
"We respect our final opponents, our rivals [Trabzonspor], and this is a good thing for the Turkish league.
"I've never won a league title before in my career.
"I made the sacrifice to be here and I am happy with the club, team-mates, fans, country and the league."
Like Niang and Dia, Yobo only joined Fenerbahce last summer - on loan from English side Everton.
Senegalese striker Niang, who tasted league success in his final season at French side Olympique Marseille, has put behind a stormy start in Turkey to shoot the club to the top of the table with 16 league goals.
"We just have one big game standing between us and the title. By God's grace we will give our everything to win it," said Niang.
On Sunday, Fenerbahce showed their genuine intention for success by spanking visiting Ankaragucu 6-0 in Istanbul, with Alex grabbing four goals, and Irtegun and Niang scoring one apiece.
With pressure mounting as the title-deciding weekend looms, Senegalese midfielder Dia knows Fenerbahce's final opponents will give his team a run for their money.
"Fight is all we can do now to earn what we desperately desire, because Sivasspor will come out fighting."
Fenerbahce and Trabzonspor are on 79 points each with the former leading on goal difference and head-to-head-record.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13427739.stm
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Istanbul
The African trio of Joseph Yobo, Mamadou Niang and Issiar Dia are hoping to win the Turkish title in only their first season at Istanbul club Fenerbahce.
Fenerbahce and Trabzonspor go into next Sunday's final Turkish Super League fixtures with the championship crown on the line.
Both clubs are equal on points but Fenerbahce lead their Black Sea coast rivals on goal difference.
The trio know that a victory at stubborn Sivasspor on 22 May will earn them the title after a four-year wait.
Nigeria captain Yobo told BBC Sport that he is keen to win his first league crown in club football with the Turkish title chasers.
"It's been a long battle and we have to do all we can to realise the title dream on the last day of the season," he said.
Continue reading the main story
"We respect our final opponents, our rivals [Trabzonspor], and this is a good thing for the Turkish league.
"I've never won a league title before in my career.
"I made the sacrifice to be here and I am happy with the club, team-mates, fans, country and the league."
Like Niang and Dia, Yobo only joined Fenerbahce last summer - on loan from English side Everton.
Senegalese striker Niang, who tasted league success in his final season at French side Olympique Marseille, has put behind a stormy start in Turkey to shoot the club to the top of the table with 16 league goals.
"We just have one big game standing between us and the title. By God's grace we will give our everything to win it," said Niang.
On Sunday, Fenerbahce showed their genuine intention for success by spanking visiting Ankaragucu 6-0 in Istanbul, with Alex grabbing four goals, and Irtegun and Niang scoring one apiece.
With pressure mounting as the title-deciding weekend looms, Senegalese midfielder Dia knows Fenerbahce's final opponents will give his team a run for their money.
"Fight is all we can do now to earn what we desperately desire, because Sivasspor will come out fighting."
Fenerbahce and Trabzonspor are on 79 points each with the former leading on goal difference and head-to-head-record.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13427739.stm
Welcome to CE: A place where an average man can tell a legend how to run his family. A place where an internet coach think he is beta team than an international coach. A place where a "four one nine" artist and Cab Driver can call a professional player a wastepipe. A Place where a wanna be agent can tell a professional player what club to join and what country to earn his money.A place where a simple debate can turn into an insult towards your mama and papa. Once again welcome to CE.
Re: African trio target Turkish league title for Fenerbahce
A champion is always a champion. This proves that one player can move a team from the middle of the league table to champions in one season. Kudos to captain Yobo for making Fenerbahce formidable again.
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Why couldnt he make Everton champions?1naija wrote:A champion is always a champion. This proves that one player can move a team from the middle of the league table to champions in one season. Kudos to captain Yobo for making Fenerbahce formidable again.

metalalloy wrote:Why couldnt he make Everton champions?1naija wrote:A champion is always a champion. This proves that one player can move a team from the middle of the league table to champions in one season. Kudos to captain Yobo for making Fenerbahce formidable again.
He made them Champions League material! There is only so much one person can do.
Murderators, let's send an advance Congratulatory message to the captain for this great feat. At this rate I see him winning the Turkish League, the ANC next year and in 2014 and the WC trophy also in 2014. The WC championship game will double as a testimonial match for his great international career.
you mean Captain Nigeria1naija wrote:A champion is always a champion. This proves that one player can move a team from the middle of the league table to champions in one season. Kudos to captain Yobo for making Fenerbahce formidable again.
or is it Barney Rubble?