Kazan end Martins' Blues spell
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport
Russian side Rubin Kazan have recalled Nigerian forward Obafemi Martins from relegated English Premier League side Birmingham City.
The 26-year-old joined the Blues on loan in January, but underwent surgery for a stress fracture in April.
Martins made six appearances for the club, scoring two goals before injury ended his season.
He will be remembered for scoring City's winner in their 2-1 Carling Cup final victory over Arsenal in February.
"My time here at Birmingham City will stay with me, forever," Martins told BBC Sport.
"The club, fans, coaching staff and board treated me good unfortunately the campaign ended in relegation.
"But we only need to dwell on the positives and a remarkable time here was well spent with passionate fans and a thoroughly professional side."
The Nigerian international returns to Rubin Kazan, whom he is contracted to until 2013, with mixed feelings about his time with Alex McLeish's side.
"The Carling Cup win was obviously the biggest success but my injury, surgery and then relegation were a bitter pill to swallow."
"I wish I could do more because this club deserves to be playing in the Premier League, it is where it truly belongs.
"It was a time well spent and there was not much I could do [about extending the deal] but respect Rubin Kazan's demand for a return."
Martins wrote his name into Birmingham folklore in February as his last-minute goal against Arsenal won the club's first major silverware since 1963.
The diminutive Nigerian took advantage of a fatal communication breakdown in the Gunners defence to clinch victory for the Blues and send their supporters into ecstasy.
Martins, who has also played for former Italian champions Inter Milan, had a previous spell in England with Newcastle United before joining German outfit Wolfsburg.
Martins joined Rubin after the 2010 World Cup in South Africa but failed to settle after his big-money move from Wolfsburg.
Rubin currently lie 10th in the ongoing Russian league, with their next match against FC Tom Tomsk on Friday.
Martins is not expected to return to action until July at the earliest.
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport
Russian side Rubin Kazan have recalled Nigerian forward Obafemi Martins from relegated English Premier League side Birmingham City.
The 26-year-old joined the Blues on loan in January, but underwent surgery for a stress fracture in April.
Martins made six appearances for the club, scoring two goals before injury ended his season.
He will be remembered for scoring City's winner in their 2-1 Carling Cup final victory over Arsenal in February.
"My time here at Birmingham City will stay with me, forever," Martins told BBC Sport.
"The club, fans, coaching staff and board treated me good unfortunately the campaign ended in relegation.
"But we only need to dwell on the positives and a remarkable time here was well spent with passionate fans and a thoroughly professional side."
The Nigerian international returns to Rubin Kazan, whom he is contracted to until 2013, with mixed feelings about his time with Alex McLeish's side.
"The Carling Cup win was obviously the biggest success but my injury, surgery and then relegation were a bitter pill to swallow."
"I wish I could do more because this club deserves to be playing in the Premier League, it is where it truly belongs.
"It was a time well spent and there was not much I could do [about extending the deal] but respect Rubin Kazan's demand for a return."
Martins wrote his name into Birmingham folklore in February as his last-minute goal against Arsenal won the club's first major silverware since 1963.
The diminutive Nigerian took advantage of a fatal communication breakdown in the Gunners defence to clinch victory for the Blues and send their supporters into ecstasy.
Martins, who has also played for former Italian champions Inter Milan, had a previous spell in England with Newcastle United before joining German outfit Wolfsburg.
Martins joined Rubin after the 2010 World Cup in South Africa but failed to settle after his big-money move from Wolfsburg.
Rubin currently lie 10th in the ongoing Russian league, with their next match against FC Tom Tomsk on Friday.
Martins is not expected to return to action until July at the earliest.
Welcome to CE: A place where an average man can tell a legend how to run his family. A place where an internet coach think he is beta team than an international coach. A place where a "four one nine" artist and Cab Driver can call a professional player a wastepipe. A Place where a wanna be agent can tell a professional player what club to join and what country to earn his money.A place where a simple debate can turn into an insult towards your mama and papa. Once again welcome to CE.
Re: Kazan end Martins' Blues spell
Another finished Nigerian player. Talk about an extremely overhyped player... and you will find Martins!
There is nothing to learn from someone who already agrees with you.
kudos to Martins, hope he gets fit ASAP .. we have a nations cup in 7-8 months
- Field Marshall Ogolo
Penarity wrote:Another finished Nigerian player. Talk about an extremely overhyped player... and you will find Martins!
He was short on talent . Only knew how to capitalize of defensive blunders of the opposing teams. May he be relegated to Siberia of Russian football. He messed up our chances of qualifying for ANC last year.
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
For Newcastle he had a good run, considering it was Newcastle and he was injured at the end. For Wolfsburg he played well, but that team didn't really work with him. Rubin Kazan too early too tell, for Birmingham he won the FA Cup with them but got injured soon after.Colonel Adamu wrote:Penarity wrote:Another finished Nigerian player. Talk about an extremely overhyped player... and you will find Martins!
He was short on talent . Only knew how to capitalize of defensive blunders of the opposing teams. May he be relegated to Siberia of Russian football. He messed up our chances of qualifying for ANC last year.
So really ever since he left Inter there isn't really anything that has pointed to him being Sub Par.
For Nigeria it was his heroics at the end that got us over the line to the World Cup.
He is not overhyped and he does have talent, but he just needs more stability in his life in all aspects, personal and on the pitch. And he needs to improve his workrate.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Correction, he won the Carling Cup with B'ham not the FA cup. Man S****y won the FA cup.
Veni, Vidi, Vici
- maceo4
This bobo making a habit of relegating teams lol
- maceo4
Why are you replying this Kenyan bobo?Tbite wrote:For Newcastle he had a good run, considering it was Newcastle and he was injured at the end. For Wolfsburg he played well, but that team didn't really work with him. Rubin Kazan too early too tell, for Birmingham he won the FA Cup with them but got injured soon after.Colonel Adamu wrote:Penarity wrote:Another finished Nigerian player. Talk about an extremely overhyped player... and you will find Martins!
So really ever since he left Inter there isn't really anything that has pointed to him being Sub Par.
For Nigeria it was his heroics at the end that got us over the line to the World Cup.
He is not overhyped and he does have talent, but he just needs more stability in his life in all aspects, personal and on the pitch. And he needs to improve his workrate.

goodluck to him... I hope he stays in Russia

Black Stars of Ghana
IMO, Martins inspite of injuries gave his all for Nigeria. Good luck to him.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Enugu II wrote:IMO, Martins inspite of injuries gave his all for Nigeria. Good luck to him.
KPOM!! i will always appreciate his efforts to save us from another worldcup less year. I hope he gets well soon, starts banging in the goals again and claws his way back to a NT shirt.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
And when you open CE and see extreme opaks yarner you will see Penarity...Penarity wrote:Another finished Nigerian player. Talk about an extremely overhyped player... and you will find Martins!
- Undertaker
Without him, we would have missed South Africa 2010! Obafemi Martins is a legend in my book!

Martins has actually done very well for Nigeria scoring crucial goals...good luck to him. He still has a great run left in him.

Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
maceo4 wrote:This bobo making a habit of relegating teams lol

You dey mind the yeye man? I remember how he used to make yanga whenever the SE invited him during his prime playing days. Now he remembers where he came from. Nonsense! I wish him rapid recovery sha.
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.

since when Rubin Kazan relegated?maceo4 wrote:This bobo making a habit of relegating teams lol
for most of us he @ least gave us something to look forward to in WC 2010
#3 in goals scored
#1 in goals per match