Pro FC, PRO IC Debate
- African Star
Pro FC, PRO IC Debate
While the debate goes on and on and on, with Pro FC’s saying IC’s are not qualified, tested or well trained to succeed at the highest level of world competition and Pro IC's insist on nationalistic and Afrocentric reasons dismissing the arguments of Pro FC’s as inferiority complex gone astray, the simple and readily apparent solution continues to be ignored.
Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Belgium, Denmark, Sweden and many other third world countries and second rate soccer nations have had indegenous coaches succeed because their FA’s have a strong system and academy for developing the indegenous coach and preparing them to compete at the highest level.
This IC vs FC debate has been going on for donkey years and I know of no African country that has instituted a strong coaching academy.
I believe that until indegenous coaches are developed locally, no African nation will win the world cup. The IC’s will not be up to the challenge and the second rate FC’s will not know how to properly harness the talent at their disposal but the biggest problem with FC’s is that they do not have the vison or belief that an African team can win the world cup, for most of them making it to the second round with an African team is an outstanding victory, while we have moved way beyound that point.
If we do not develop our institutions and infrastructure, we will continue to lag behind the rest of the world. Can anybody tell me how much progress and development has resulted from the many FC’s that have been hired in almost every aspect of our economic development. The economists, mining experts, financial and banking experts, industrail experts have all come and made their fat salaries and underhanded deals and left us where we we were at the bottom of the totem pole.
So IC or FC does not matter, if we don’t develop our youth and coaching systems nothing worthwhile will be accomplished.
Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Belgium, Denmark, Sweden and many other third world countries and second rate soccer nations have had indegenous coaches succeed because their FA’s have a strong system and academy for developing the indegenous coach and preparing them to compete at the highest level.
This IC vs FC debate has been going on for donkey years and I know of no African country that has instituted a strong coaching academy.
I believe that until indegenous coaches are developed locally, no African nation will win the world cup. The IC’s will not be up to the challenge and the second rate FC’s will not know how to properly harness the talent at their disposal but the biggest problem with FC’s is that they do not have the vison or belief that an African team can win the world cup, for most of them making it to the second round with an African team is an outstanding victory, while we have moved way beyound that point.
If we do not develop our institutions and infrastructure, we will continue to lag behind the rest of the world. Can anybody tell me how much progress and development has resulted from the many FC’s that have been hired in almost every aspect of our economic development. The economists, mining experts, financial and banking experts, industrail experts have all come and made their fat salaries and underhanded deals and left us where we we were at the bottom of the totem pole.
So IC or FC does not matter, if we don’t develop our youth and coaching systems nothing worthwhile will be accomplished.
african star, PLEASE REFER TO PREVIOUS POSTS OF MINE
I've used every opportunity to call for the establishment of a coaching institute. Originally, I intended it to be a Nigerian soccer affair but more thinking made me think it should be a collaborative effort of several African nations or even beyond. And there aspects of it that non-soccer coaches can benefit from.
African Star:
This is exactly the point I've been making; ie that the solution to the coaching issue is not the FC. The solution lies in developing strong institutions where coaches can learn the trade. If ultimately it has to come down to the FC, then whatever FA appoints him must insist that he help develop a foundation for coaching and footballing academies! I think this is just fair considering the outrageous amounts of money the average FC is paid.
yujam, THE PROBLEM WITH THAT IDEA IS THAT...
...the FC (hope he never shows up) may not be suited to the job of developing "a foundation for coaching and footballing academies!". Most coaches simply want to come to handle the operations, not the planning or strategy. If Nigeria apply themselves, they shouldn't need anybody to do this for them.
- Jiggerman21
yeah,
I've heard it all before. You want to establish an institution to develop indigenous coaches and your primary choice of training material is none other than the national team itself!!
Now you want to hire a Foreign Coach to be a Superman and in addition to coaching the team and scouting, he should aslo "develop a coaching foundation"
In other words, you want the FC to be coach, scout, sports minister, NFA administrator all in one. Na wa for una!
I've heard it all before. You want to establish an institution to develop indigenous coaches and your primary choice of training material is none other than the national team itself!!

Now you want to hire a Foreign Coach to be a Superman and in addition to coaching the team and scouting, he should aslo "develop a coaching foundation"

In other words, you want the FC to be coach, scout, sports minister, NFA administrator all in one. Na wa for una!
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
Nigerians are very talented people. We would benefit immensely from a coaching institute just like we would benefit immensely from top-class universities & top class government,
still there are many Nigerians who have never lived outside Nigeria who would be world-class in their profession if given the opportunity, They only need an adjustment period,
Nigerians has proved all around the world beyond any doubt that we are supremely self-driven, motivated & capable of strong results.
the coaching problem in Nigeria is negative-politics & colo-mentality primarily. Chukwu is getting a much better chance that any indigenous coach in Nigerias history. and I support him & hope he makes the most of it.
But there are many other coaches who are very capable of leading Nigeria to greatness if Chukwu does not perform. Amodu is a good example & he would do much better if given another chance. He would hopefully have benefitted in wisdom from his last experience as eagus coach.
even as we are building our coaching institute we should be dismantling the negative-politics & colo-mentalism that hinders not just soccer but all of Nigerias instituitions.
still there are many Nigerians who have never lived outside Nigeria who would be world-class in their profession if given the opportunity, They only need an adjustment period,
Nigerians has proved all around the world beyond any doubt that we are supremely self-driven, motivated & capable of strong results.
the coaching problem in Nigeria is negative-politics & colo-mentality primarily. Chukwu is getting a much better chance that any indigenous coach in Nigerias history. and I support him & hope he makes the most of it.
But there are many other coaches who are very capable of leading Nigeria to greatness if Chukwu does not perform. Amodu is a good example & he would do much better if given another chance. He would hopefully have benefitted in wisdom from his last experience as eagus coach.
even as we are building our coaching institute we should be dismantling the negative-politics & colo-mentalism that hinders not just soccer but all of Nigerias instituitions.
I thought we had a national institute for sports (NIS). They should expand their football curriculum, employ good teachers and trainers and encourage our own boys to obtain the diplomas. Why do we like to make simple things hard?
He beats Christian Chukwu, he beats Christian Madu, He beats Christian Nwokocha. This man must be a moslem. Yes he is. His name is Baba Mohammed.
Lowen Brau wrote:I thought we had a national institute for sports (NIS). They should expand their football curriculum, employ good teachers and trainers and encourage our own boys to obtain the diplomas. Why do we like to make simple things hard?
Maybe Ekeji should have been thinking about that in his Lagos office instead of carrying thousands of dollars in a "Ghana-must-go" bag to Mali ...only to withold the said monies because the team did not beat Ghana convincingly.

Baxter Onigbinde's second coming is the most disingenious stint ever in Nigerian coaching history.
- Jiggerman21
NFA gulps more money from the Sports Ministry than the NIS (which covers many more sports).Lowen Brau wrote:I thought we had a national institute for sports (NIS). They should expand their football curriculum, employ good teachers and trainers and encourage our own boys to obtain the diplomas. Why do we like to make simple things hard?
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.