Lionel Messi, Xavi and Cristiano Ronaldo named as final 3

calico.chuks
Lionel Messi, Xavi and Cristiano Ronaldo named as final 3

Post by calico.chuks »

Barcelona's Lionel Messi, Xavi and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo named as the finalists for 2011 FIFA Ballon d'Or award.

FIFA Secretary General Jerome Valcke and France Football director Francois Moriniere have announced the final three candidates for the 2011 Fifa Ballon d'Or.

Title holder and Barcelona star Lionel Messi is one of the remaining three players still in the race to win the trophy. The Argentina international previously won the prestigious individual award in 2009 and 2010, and can become the first player since Michel Platini to win the accolade three times in a row.

Real Madrid attacker Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the Ballon d'Or in 2008, is also still in the race to win the trophy for a second time in his career.

The third remaining candidate is Spain international and Barcelona midfielder Xavi, who finished third in both 2009 and 2010.

Messi is also one of the three nominees to win the Puskas Award for Goal of the Year for his strike in the Champions League against Arsenal, while Manchester United's Wayne Rooney (winning goal against Manchester City) and Santos forward Neymar (goal against Flamengo) have also been nominated.

The three candidates for the title of Coach of the Year were also announced at the gathering at France Football's headquarters, with Barcelona's Pep Guardiola, Manchester United's Sir Alex Ferguson and Real Madrid's Jose Mourinho making the final three.

In the women's section, reigning Ballon d'Or winner and Brazil star Marta, Japan's Homare Sawa and USA veteran Abby Wambach are in contention for the title of Female Player of the Year, while Bruno Bini (France), Norio Sasaki (Japan) and Pia Sundhage (USA) are the candidates for the Coach of the Year title.

FIFA BALLON D'OR
Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
Xavi Spain Barcelona

Who gets your vote?
Re: Lionel Messi, Xavi and Cristiano Ronaldo named as final 3

Xavi for me
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

So as usual.. no south american league player ? :mad:
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

what about suarez ? :)

Post by Super Eagle »

Lager-back wrote:So as usual.. no south american league player ? :mad:
Euw, what about Messi. Or is Argentina in North Australia??? :roll:

And by the way, the Ballon d'Or is Messi. It shouldn't even be a contest sef.
Messi has been the best player in the world in the past 3 years....by far!
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

Super Eagle wrote:

oboy you no fit read ? I specifically said south american league player.. doesnt that mean a player playing in the south american leagues ?
calico.chuks

Post by calico.chuks »

Is there any player plying his trade in any south American league that deserved to be in final three? Even in final 10 you will not see any.For me Messi deserves it because of what Barca won last season and his personal performances and 2nd again will be Ronaldo and Xavi respectively.

why does C Ron keep getting nominated?
What has he done lately?

calico.chuks

Post by calico.chuks »

is it easy to score over 5o goals a season in all competition?

C7 deserves a mention, but it has to be Leo Messi.
tfco wrote:why does C Ron keep getting nominated?
What has he done lately?

My final take:

Messi- winner
Ronaldo- runner up
Xavi- 3rd
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Lager-back wrote:
Super Eagle wrote:

oboy you no fit read ? I specifically said south american league player.. doesnt that mean a player playing in the south american leagues ?
... it can also mean a south american player playing in a league :sneaky: .
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Messi for me
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
gypsylady

Post by gypsylady »

papparassi Sport wrote:My final take:

Messi- winner
Ronaldo- runner up
Xavi- 3rd
Kpom!
Silence is often misinterpreted but never misquoted.
There is no key to happiness. The door is always open.

After all is said and done, a lot more will be said than done!

YUJAM wrote:Xavi for me
It should be SUAREZ :tic:

Messi did not deserve this award last year in 2010.The boy was poor in 2010 did not win anything in Europe or even take Argentina far in World cup.
But this year he deserve it though was poor in Copa America.
Xavi was injured most of this year and should not make the top 3 to start with

Xavi.
It is about time they give it to him. Barca won't be Barca without Xavi, although he does not score many and he is not flashy, Xavi makes Barca click. He does it for team and country. If Xavi does not win it then the world watches football with its heart not with its eyes and brain.

Wetin? The man that stabbed the whole of one continent in the heart with that dastardly move. No way my brother

My top 3 WPOY
1 . Suarez
2. Mikel
3 Rooney/Xavi/Messi

Nothing dastardly about the act. He committed a foul and was punished. He did not injure anyone. Henry handled the ball twice in quick succession and was not punished for it.

As per stabbing the WHOLE continent, I'm sure BigPokey will beg to disagree. He sure made him and PaJ very happy :tic:

Moreover that was 2010. In 2011, he made a whole continent happy showcasing his skill at the Copa America.

Cant think of anyone more deserving. Guess this is European award and not WORLD award.
YUJAM wrote:Wetin? The man that stabbed the whole of one continent in the heart with that dastardly move. No way my brother

Well, Lil Messi should win this again. I mean if CR wins this I'd out of pity. Xavi shouldn't have been on that list.

Post by Super Eagle »

joplass wrote:Xavi.
It is about time they give it to him. Barca won't be Barca without Xavi, although he does not score many and he is not flashy, Xavi makes Barca click. He does it for team and country. If Xavi does not win it then the world watches football with its heart not with its eyes and brain.
Omo, I think you've been drinking too much cool aid from Ray Hudson and Phil Shoen. Xavi is a great player but definitely not in the class of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. Barca can win without Xavi, but it's unthinkable to imagine Barca winning without Lionel Messi. Anyway, just learn to make independent evaluation of the game you're watching instead of taking certain things from the commentators as gospel.
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer