I said it in the 1st leg Barcelona missed Etoo

kamerun

Post by kamerun »

I said it in the 1st leg Barcelona missed Etoo or any decent striker with movement and fininishing like Villa for that matter. For all their beautiful football they need a direct poacher up there ...and I dont mean the Ibrahimovitch that slows their game but a direct, movement prone, hustler pocher up there. Villa did it for them last year and this year they missed just that. it boils down to that and only that because in the final stages (semis, final) when push comes to shove it is those little details that make the difference. You can dominate your opponent for days but without a serious poacher you will be punished. End of story
goat no fi eat where dey no tie am
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

or any decent striker with movement and fininishing like Villa for that matter. For all their beautiful football they need a direct poacher up there ...and I dont mean the Ibrahimovitch that slows their game but a direct, movement prone, hustler pocher up there. Villa did it for them last year and this year they missed just that. it boils down to that and only that because in the final stages (semis, final) when push comes to shove it is those little details that make the difference. You can dominate your opponent for days but without a serious poacher you will be punished. End of story
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

or any decent striker with movement and fininishing like Villa for that matter. For all their beautiful football they need a direct poacher up there ...and I dont mean the Ibrahimovitch that slows their game but a direct, movement prone, hustler pocher up there. Villa did it for them last year and this year they missed just that. it boils down to that and only that because in the final stages (semis, final) when push comes to shove it is those little details that make the difference. You can dominate your opponent for days but without a serious poacher you will be punished. End of story
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

kamerun
I said it here after the 1st leg that Barcelona missed Eto'o

Post by kamerun »

or any decent striker with movement and fininishing like Villa for that matter. For all their beautiful football they need a direct poacher up there ...and I dont mean the Ibrahimovitch that slows their game but a direct, movement prone, hustler pocher up there. Villa did it for them last year and this year they missed just that. it boils down to that and only that because in the final stages (semis, final) when push comes to shove it is those little details that make the difference. You can dominate your opponent for days or till kingdom come but without a serious poacher you will be punished. End of story
cyrilndo
Re: I said it in the 1st leg Barcelona missed Etoo

Post by cyrilndo »

" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "

This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

No Barca miss David Villa.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
femibyte

Post by femibyte »

What Barca missed was someone who could feed off crosses in the air from the wings, when Chelski parked the bus and clogged up the middle. Sometimes a direct approach is needed when pretty passing is not working for you. There are some pluses to the English-type center forward style, and in this game Barca cried out for that kind of player.
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com
ceejay22

Post by ceejay22 »

Why the hell couldnt they shoot from outside the box. They became very predictable, more like Arsenal n we easily contained them!!!

i didn't understand the first time, but after the 5th time i got it.

Molue Conductor wrote:i didn't understand the first time, but after the 5th time i got it.
They did this against Inter, agains Madrid and now against Chelsea...
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

chopachop

Post by chopachop »

kamerun wrote:or any decent striker with movement and fininishing like Villa for that matter. For all their beautiful football they need a direct poacher up there ...and I dont mean the Ibrahimovitch that slows their game but a direct, movement prone, hustler pocher up there. Villa did it for them last year and this year they missed just that. it boils down to that and only that because in the final stages (semis, final) when push comes to shove it is those little details that make the difference. You can dominate your opponent for days but without a serious poacher you will be punished. End of story
Shame no dey you.
where you not singing how Ibrahimovich was better than Etoo
maybe you are suffering from eating so many humble pies.
galoise

Post by galoise »

femibyte wrote:What Barca missed was someone who could feed off crosses in the air from the wings, when Chelski parked the bus and clogged up the middle. Sometimes a direct approach is needed when pretty passing is not working for you. There are some pluses to the English-type center forward style, and in this game Barca cried out for that kind of player.
Barca played a 3-4-3 formation, with Messi at the trequar. basically Pep's idea seemed to go through the middle. Dribble your way in. So with or without someone direct as u guys say, the outcome would have been the same thing. Next thing is Cuenca... who the heck is that? The kid is a hot prospect no doubt, but to have him play Real & Chelski inside 4 days?!? Not even Messi when he first started had that much pressure, dammit!
... I have asked time without #: why cant he play his traditional 4-3-3, with Masche & Pique at CB; Puyol & Alves as full backs? Or in the case of a Pique injury like today: Masche-Busquets, Alves/Puyol.
phantomjournalist
The Barca team with Henry, Eto'o and Yaya was better

Post by phantomjournalist »

That team was the absolute pinnacle of Barca despite Messi being better now. We are talking a front line that boasted three of the best forwards of this modern era of football, not to mention the defensive steel, athleticism and power than Yaya gave you in the middle of the park. This version of Barca is devoid of predatory finishing outside of Messi. It was folly of them not adding another striker to back up Villa.
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.
Re: The Barca team with Henry, Eto'o and Yaya was better

Another one of those ridiculous statements, when Barca destroyed everything last year including Real and ManU to win the CL, i guess those two were there. When they lost to Inter and ManU in the preceding years were they not there. People need to scrutinise their write ups with history before posting o jare.

phantomjournalist wrote:That team was the absolute pinnacle of Barca despite Messi being better now. We are talking a front line that boasted three of the best forwards of this modern era of football, not to mention the defensive steel, athleticism and power than Yaya gave you in the middle of the park. This version of Barca is devoid of predatory finishing outside of Messi. It was folly of them not adding another striker to back up Villa.

I have said this many here before :clap: :clap: That team had it all, speed, fancy flicks, power when needed and top it off was representing with our brothers :taunt: :taunt:

oloye wrote:Another one of those ridiculous statements, when Barca destroyed everything last year including Real and ManU to win the CL, i guess those two were there. When they lost to Inter and ManU in the preceding years were they not there. People need to scrutinise their write ups with history before posting o jare.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: always comes up once barca loses one match. all of a sudden the critics come out of the woodworks. When dem dey destroy teams 6, 7-0 , they keep quite. One losing spree then they suddenly no good.

oloye wrote:Another one of those ridiculous statements, when Barca destroyed everything last year including Real and ManU to win the CL, i guess those two were there. When they lost to Inter and ManU in the preceding years were they not there. People need to scrutinise their write ups with history before posting o jare.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: always comes up once barca loses one match. all of a sudden the critics come out of the woodworks. When dem dey destroy teams 6, 7-0 , they keep quite. One losing spree then they suddenly no good.
they get to take the bitter and the sweet, the useless one trick pony :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
*goes back into the woodwork*

Emm...Oloye, when Barca lost to Inter Eto'o wasn't there, well he was but wearing Inter's shirt. I don't know when they lost to Man U though. I thought they defeated Man U in two champions league finals.

Anyway, the truth of the matter is the Barca team, post-Eto'o, developed a diva tactic. Seriously, they are very good at possesing the ball but when they face a team that brings it to them they start to cry to referees and flop all over the place. That to me is a disgrace to football.

phantomjournalist

Post by phantomjournalist »

Actually, the very next season Eto'o was traded to Inter (and won the Champions League with them) with Henry and Yaya seeing diminished roles to Pedro and Busquets respectively. Get your facts right. That was the first ever Spanish side to win the treble....note that they haven't won the treble since.

That team may not have been as fluid as today's team, but they were definitely more clinical with more offensive weapons, while being a lot more athletic.
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.
galoise

Post by galoise »

kolinzo wrote:
Emm...Oloye, when Barca lost to Inter Eto'o wasn't there, well he was but wearing Inter's shirt. I don't know when they lost to Man U though. I thought they defeated Man U in two champions league finals.

Anyway, the truth of the matter is the Barca team, post-Eto'o, developed a diva tactic. Seriously, they are very good at possesing the ball but when they face a team that brings it to them they start to cry to referees and flop all over the place. That to me is a disgrace to football.
the last time Manure won it, Eto'o was with Barca & Manure disqualified them at the semis or quarters (dont remember)... Both Eto'o & Messi were coming off of long injuries to play in those game & both put up miserable performances that night... but even though Barca had been struggling all season due to injuries to Eto'o & Messi ; Dinho, Deco being out of form & favour, Manure only manged 1-0 victory over 2 legs.
Last edited by galoise on Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Eto Worshippers are shameless. Where was Eto when Barca destroyed everything in its path last season? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

bret- hart wrote:Eto Worshippers are shameless. Where was Eto when Barca destroyed everything in its path last season? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

one team won two champions leagues and six out of six competitions in a single year. That is the better team in my opinion. Barca was just unfortunate to miss two key players in Villa and Abidal.