Razak picks Elephants over Eagles

fobi
Razak picks Elephants over Eagles

Post by fobi »

06 September 2012, 20:59
http://www.supersport.com/football/afri ... ver_Eagles

Manchester City 19-year-old midfielder Abdul Razak was born in Ivory Coast to Nigerian parents. He has opted to play for the Elephants and has been called up twice by coach Sabri Lamouchi.

At a press conference on Wednesday in Abidjan, he explained why he chose to don the Ivorian jersey instead of the Super Eagles’ green and white, despite intense persuasion from the Nigerian Football Federation to switch allegiance.

“It’s a great pleasure and honour to play with the Elephants. To me, it’s a dream come true. I’ve always wanted to rub shoulders with the big stars in the team and here I am,” Razak said.

“Also, it will give me the opportunity to learn my art while playing in such a reputable team, which is Africa’s number one at the moment. I’ve always wanted to play for Ivory Coast and nowhere else,” he added.

Asked why he refused to cede to pressures from the Nigerian football officials to join the Super Eagles, Razak said his whole life was in Ivory Coast.

“I did all my studies here. My childhood took place here. My friends and acquaintances are all here. There is no affinity between me and Nigeria, so why should I go there to play. I feel home here in Abidjan and I feel very comfortable wearing the Orange-White-Green jersey,” he said.

Razak figures on the list of players summoned to face Senegal on Saturday in Abidjan in the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations first leg final qualifying round.

wow never knew this kid was born to Nigerian parents.
Re: Razak picks Elephants over Eagles

Well can't blame him.

The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong

WHO CARES!!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Good luck to the boy

He is right. It is morally wrong to play for a nation whose national anthem you cannot sing. It is like asking me to play for Wales. I have no contact with the country whatsoever!

Good Luck to the boy - if he does not feel Nigeria no point in forcing it.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:He is right. It is morally wrong to play for a nation whose national anthem you cannot sing. It is like asking me to play for Wales. I have no contact with the country whatsoever!
:rotf: That aint ever gonna happen Ayo. Except maybe for the 'Gastrolympics'.
No fool yasef!
papilo

Post by papilo »

End of story. Let us move on. Looks a good player. Did not even know his parents were Nigerian.
yes o

You learn something new everyday.

never knew he was naija,,thought he was a ghana man

Ayo Akinfe wrote:He is right. It is morally wrong to play for a nation whose national anthem you cannot sing. It is like asking me to play for Wales. I have no contact with the country whatsoever!
No fool yasef!
I know Wales is crap at footy but even dem no go call Ayo even if he can sing the Anthem in 20 different languages. They just don't have the jersey that would fit him. Besides Ayo would be running in slow motion and if TV try to play him in slow motion na freeze frame dem go get :tic:

Post by GUEST »

Hmmmmmm, The Question is "CAN YOU EVEN TAP THE ROUND LEATHER BALL"?

Please Play for England :lol: :lol: :lol: ...

Did we really ask this guy to play for us? I seriously doubt it.

Dammy wrote:Did we really ask this guy to play for us? I seriously doubt it.
he plays in the EPL so probably...

I didn't know he was Nigerian, I knew his name didn't sound Ivorian but I didn't want to bring up the Ivority thing :taunt:

..bros U mean Whales...cause I hear U have a waistline like one.. :taunt:

paj wrote:
..bros U mean Whales...cause I hear U have a waistline like one.. :taunt:

ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

Bigpokey24 wrote:never knew he was naija,,thought he was a ghana man
You're thinking of Ibrahim or Karim, not Abdul.
bully

Post by bully »

No fool yasef!
My God.What did Ayo do to you to deserve such scornful derision.I thought you know better you can not be that impertinent to your elders. You need to apologize instantly to Ayo and pledge henceforth
will be forever polite and respectful

Why would he play for Nigeria when Keshi would just ignore him for some hey you homebased player. Expect us to lose even more talents because of the criminal way our football is being run.

Bigpokey24 wrote:never knew he was naija,,thought he was a ghana man
The famous Abdul Razak of Ghana in the 80s is said to have Nigerian roots if I'm not mistaken.

I don't think Nigeria ever asked this chap to play for the SE tho so the story must be bogus. I've not seen his name mentioned ever re the SE and he has always been listed as an Ivorian national. I'm sorry I don't think our FA is good enough to find out he has Nigerian roots through further investigation. On top of that I don't think he would have made the SE team as things stand.
maddock

Post by maddock »

Morals for the where?
This is pro sports we are talking about nowadays. Morals and conviction left the building a long time ago. It simply boils down to personal interest. Else how can you explain someone who grew up and spent almost all of their lives in one country only to represent another? Have you not seen how Qatar buy's sportsmen and women? You think they care about 'morally wrong' when they take up citizenship for a big pay day?
I can tell you now. If Nigeria was the strongest team on the African continent and looking to win major trophies and CIV was languishing in the football wilderness you think he wouldn't recall his original roots and that he is Nigerian?
Sports people nowadays for the most part are going to look at it from what do I gain from it point of view and no one can blame them for that as it's their careers. But That's all it is personal interest, even if it may coincidentally align with the fact that it seems natural to feel that way.

Who??? :?