Page 1 of 2

THE LAST TIME LIBERIA CAME TO CALABAR .....

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:53 am
by Obong
They lost by 3-0 in a friendly match ahead of the 1980 Nations Cup. This time around, the result will not be much different. Calabar is a fortress. NO NIGERIAN NATIONAL TEAM HAS EVER FAILED TO WIN IN CALABAR. From Under-17 to the Super Eagles, it's been wins all the way. Only last week, the Golden Eaglets white-washed Niger by 6-0. Liberia had better not bother about taking the trip. WE GUARANTEE NIGERIAN WINS IN CALABAR!!!

Re: THE LAST TIME LIBERIA CAME TO CALABAR .....

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:10 am
by Catalyst
Calabar is indeed a fortress.

Also, Calabar is the best city in Nigeria (clean, beautiful, well sculptured landscape, good people, descent economy, great weather, road networks, trees/greenery, etc)

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:21 am
by Tbite
They better build a bigger stadium in Calabar, I know that Uyo are building one. Calabar fans are really supportive.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:30 am
by maceo4
Catalyst wrote:Calabar is indeed a fortress.

Also, Calabar is the best city in Nigeria (clean, beautiful, well sculptured landscape, good people, descent economy, great weather, road networks, trees/greenery, etc)
+1 check what Akpabio has been doing in near by Akwa Ibom :thumbs: :thumbs:

Im cautious about this Liberia game sef not so confident but expect us to scrape thru.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:48 am
by Tbite

+1 check what Akpabio has been doing in near by Akwa Ibom :thumbs: :thumbs:

Im cautious about this Liberia game sef not so confident but expect us to scrape thru.
We should just go in with all our best talents. No....experiments. If we do that I guarantee qualification.

from experience, even when the team fails and everything fails to work, cohesiveness breaks down, passing is terrible etc....we can always count on one thing....individual talent finding a way to try and scrape through.

Even at the 2010 World Cup, the likes of Martins & Nsofor came close to scraping through.

So We really should go in heavy and loaded. worse comes to worst in the last 15 minutes we will just rely in individual talent.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:12 am
by Sir V

In addition, they have lovely women. :) :)

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:22 am
by fobi
Calabar is indeed our fortress!!!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:04 am
by Damunk

They should keep it up. Once they continue to invest sensibly in a tourist-friendly environment, they will surely get their returns. Similarly Akwa Ibom. Lovely places.
Sport and Entertainment seem to be 'seeing the light' already. :thumb:

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:48 am
by Prince
Sir V wrote:

What do you think he was talking about, na smoke screen him dey use

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:16 pm
by Cito
Never been to Calabar. Will make it a priority to go see this city whenever I enter Naija.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:38 pm
by metalalloy
Prince wrote:
Sir V wrote:

What do you think he was talking about, na smoke screen him dey use

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:12 pm
by Tebelleh King
Charles Taylor left a lot of Liberians in Calabar.....We have already advance team behind the lines..the fotress is compromised

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:23 pm
by Damunk
Tebelleh King wrote:Charles Taylor left a lot of Liberians in Calabar.....We have already advance team behind the lines..the fotress is compromised
More likely the 'advence team' has been severely compromised ....by the beautiful Calabar women.
You ignore them at your peril!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:30 pm
by chendosplastic
Tebelleh King wrote:Charles Taylor left a lot of Liberians in Calabar.....We have already advance team behind the lines..the fotress is compromised
More likely the 'advence team' has been severely compromised ....by the beautiful Calabar women.
You ignore them at your peril!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:59 pm
by oloye
cito us wrote:Never been to Calabar. Will make it a priority to go see this city whenever I enter Naija.
You don't know what you are missing. There is something about the city hmmmm let me just say it is refreshing!!!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:14 pm
by Cito
cito us wrote:Never been to Calabar. Will make it a priority to go see this city whenever I enter Naija.
You don't know what you are missing. There is something about the city hmmmm let me just say it is refreshing!!!
I will make it a priority to go there. I am missing out based on the talks about the city.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:26 pm
by maceo4
When was this? Ive never met a Liberian in Calabar...

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:11 pm
by Robbynice
In other words, the last time Liberia came to Calabar, they heard wen!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:41 pm
by maceo4
Robbynice wrote:In other words, the last time Liberia came to Calabar, they heard wen!
Whats the prediction for this meeting?

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:12 pm
by Robbynice
Robbynice wrote:In other words, the last time Liberia came to Calabar, they heard wen!
Whats the prediction for this meeting?
E go do somebody like film trick... :D

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:04 pm
by balo

Plus good food!

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:55 am
by omey2k4
I remember when Ronaldinho was a 20 year old and Brazil played Honduras in Calabar the stadium was live!!!!

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:14 am
by liberiansoccer
Obong wrote:They lost by 3-0 in a friendly match ahead of the 1980 Nations Cup. This time around, the result will not be much different. Calabar is a fortress. NO NIGERIAN NATIONAL TEAM HAS EVER FAILED TO WIN IN CALABAR. From Under-17 to the Super Eagles, it's been wins all the way. Only last week, the Golden Eaglets white-washed Niger by 6-0. Liberia had better not bother about taking the trip. WE GUARANTEE NIGERIAN WINS IN CALABAR!!!
Liberia has never play against Nigeria in Calabar. The only other time Nigeria was able to secure a 3 nil victory against Liberia was during the 1986 world cup qualifier. that game was played in Lagos.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/09/liberia-vs-nigeria/

this link details all the games involving Liberia and Nigeria.

http://www.liberiansoccer.com/Liberia_h ... 122112.htm