Is Mauritania really an African nation?

201 Mauritius 13 -1
203 Brunei Darussalam 5 -1
204 Anguilla 4 -1
205 Mauritania 3 -1
206 Timor-Leste 2 -1
207 Bhutan 0 -1
207 San Marino 0 -1
207 Turks and Caicos Islands 0 -1

[1] Can someone please tell me if Mauritanians are really Africans?
[2] This is the bottom of the Fifa rankings table. Look at where they are
[3] No African nation despises football this much
[4] Mauritania frequently pull out of African Cup of Nations and World Cup qualifiers
[5] They have never been to an African Cup of Nations before
[6] How can an African nation of 3m people have zero interest in football?
[7] Mauritania is bordered by Algeria, Mali and Senegal, all which take their football very seriously
[8] Mauritania is made up of Arabs and a minority African population. Both people like football
[9] In 2010, Mauritania pulled out of the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign because of financial incapability. Are they really that poor?
[10] Mauritania has extensive deposits of iron ore, which account for almost 50% of total exports. With the current rises in metal prices, gold and copper mining companies are opening mines in the interior. The country's first deepwater port opened near Nouakchott in 1986. Oil was discovered in Mauritania in 2001 in the offshore Chinguetti field, so their economy should be expanding.
TonyStarks
Re: Is Mauritania really an African nation?

Post by TonyStarks »

Mauritania is one of the poorest countries in the world with almost no football infrastructure. A number of wars and coup d'etats have really taken their toll on the nation's development and it's no surprise to see their football struggle. They have some decent players but until more resources are put towards the game at the grassroots level, you can expect more of the same.

Also, in terms of demographics, the country is split about 50-50.
http://en.dzfoot.com
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

TonyStarks wrote:Mauritania is one of the poorest countries in the world with almost no football infrastructure. A number of wars and coup d'etats have really taken their toll on the nation's development and it's no surprise to see their football struggle. They have some decent players but until more resources are put towards the game at the grassroots level, you can expect more of the same.

Also, in terms of demographics, the country is split about 50-50.
Actually the so called Arabs are Arabised Berbers. Majority of the population is mixed between Black African, Berbers and Arabs.

Poverty cannot be used as an excuse because Mali is poorer than Mauritania, which has large deposits of mineral wealth.
TonyStarks

Post by TonyStarks »

realtrouble wrote:Actually the so called Arabs are Arabised Berbers. Majority of the population is mixed between Black African, Berbers and Arabs.

Some are but many are originally Arabs that migrated to the area centuries ago. Mauritania has always had a very small Berber population, similar to Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso.
http://en.dzfoot.com
gmoni

Post by gmoni »

very confused nation.
chilling!

They probably prefer goat throwing and camel racing. Those do not require infrastructure, just an open stretch of land.
Seriously, they couldn't be that poor to hate football this much.

They have a Premier league made up of 14 teams predominantly from Nouakchott. National stadium that can hold up to 40000 people. They shouldn't be that bad.
Last edited by Cito on Sat Oct 13, 2012 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

They are the smartest African country. I mean compare to countries that waste money on infrasture by not maintaining them, this Mauritania nation cut its coat according to its size. BTW did they not host AFCON Under-21 tourney ages ago? The one that brought Okocha to limelight?

kolinzo wrote:They are the smartest African country. I mean compare to countries that waste money on infrasture by not maintaining them, this Mauritania nation cut its coat according to its size. BTW did they not host AFCON Under-21 tourney ages ago? The one that brought Okocha to limelight?
I thought it was Mauritius 93.

More Arab than blacks.
Jiddou

Post by Jiddou »

I am half mauritanian and the ethnic make up is :
40% arabized mixed race and blacks
30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

And to answer the question football was never taken seriously by the authorities. This is a country where during colonisation France never build anything. No port, no roads, no universities nothing. So this is a country that had to start from zero also on sports. There also is mismanagement. Its a very very traditional society and the officials don't take football nor any sport seriously. It is not a money issue because Mauritania is poor but not at all the poorest in Africa. There's teams with nice synthetic field and basic facilities. So its not about lack of money. In fact there are tens of thousands of immigrants from all over West-Africa working there doing the jobs the mauritanians dont want to do. And there's plenty of multi-millionaire businessmen who could sponsor any mauritanian team.

I have to say these last two years they are really trying to build a national team for the future with the locals, the u-17 and u-21 team. So its like in Mauritania football is only born now.

The local players are preparing for CHAN:
http://fr.alakhbar.info/5016-0-Les-Mour ... -CHAN.html

The U-17 are playing Mali in a few hours:
http://www.cridem.org/C_Info.php?article=635148

I dont know too much more about it, I never followed the team but I stumble o n articles when reading the press. In football I and most mauritanians support Senegal.

edit: the weekend of 30 november they are playing Liberia for qualification to the AFCOn for local players.

...a Nigerian questioning Mauritania when his country is going backward even with all the available amenities.

Like they say, brother "remove the rod in your own eye" 1st before u question other person.
hangingfire

Post by hangingfire »

Mauritania is in West Africa, digging down in there with the so called almighty Nigeria in the poverty basin of the whole world. This Jakandebites na wa for una. Mauritius is an Island in the Indian Ocean. They are miles apart.

cito us wrote:
kolinzo wrote:They are the smartest African country. I mean compare to countries that waste money on infrasture by not maintaining them, this Mauritania nation cut its coat according to its size. BTW did they not host AFCON Under-21 tourney ages ago? The one that brought Okocha to limelight?
Yes it was Maurituus '93. It is the Mauri that was confusing! Mauritana/Mauritius!lol.

Jiddou wrote:I am half mauritanian and the ethnic make up is :
30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

And to answer the question football was never taken seriously by the authorities. This is a country where during colonisation France never build anything. No port, no roads, no universities nothing. So this is a country that had to start from zero also on sports. There also is mismanagement. Its a very very traditional society and the officials don't take football nor any sport seriously. It is not a money issue because Mauritania is poor but not at all the poorest in Africa. There's teams with nice synthetic field and basic facilities. So its not about lack of money. In fact there are tens of thousands of immigrants from all over West-Africa working there doing the jobs the mauritanians dont want to do. And there's plenty of multi-millionaire businessmen who could sponsor any mauritanian team.

I have to say these last two years they are really trying to build a national team for the future with the locals, the u-17 and u-21 team. So its like in Mauritania football is only born now.

I dont know too much more about it, I never followed the team but I stumble o n articles when reading the press. In football I and most mauritanians support Senegal.

edit: the weekend of 30 november they are playing Liberia for qualification to the AFCOn for local players.
Intersting

Thanks for the info...While you here if you see a forumer called DrogbaLampard please interrogate him. He claims to be from Mauritania but my informants tell me his is a Ghanaian immigrant trapped in Guinea Bissau...
Jiddou

Post by Jiddou »

AreaDaddy wrote: Intersting

Thanks for the info...While you here if you see a forumer called DrogbaLampard please interrogate him. He claims to be from Mauritania but my informants tell me his is a Ghanaian immigrant trapped in Guinea Bissau...
Jiddou wrote:
DrogbaLampard wrote:I am from Mauritania and Algeria is a much sronger country than Nigeria. Why are we back stabber! Who did we stab?We are brave warriors! Moors!!
We also are Koran readers! Good people!!
Mauritania's army is much better than Nigeria's. Please don't insult us!!
enta mauritani min mneyn vi Mouritaan ?
Mauritania is much weaker than Algeria or Nigeria.
Why are u trolling this forum trying to get people to hate on Mauritania ??
As you see in the above quote, I questioned him but he didn't answer.
I don't believe one bit he is mauritanian !!!
Lestatmera1

Post by Lestatmera1 »

AreaDaddy wrote:
30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

Intersting

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

AreaDaddy wrote:
30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

Intersting

30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

cito us wrote:
Geez baba Kolinzo don dey old :lol:

Thx. This is one reason why CE is great.. We have the whole range of the spectrum when it comes to nationalities. Here is a real Mauritanian unlike the fake on DrogbaLampard
30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

I'm impressed indeed that we have a real Mauritanian here. :thumb:
YUJAM wrote:Thx. This is one reason why CE is great.. We have the whole range of the spectrum when it comes to nationalities. Here is a real Mauritanian unlike the fake on DrogbaLampard
30% arab-berbers
30% black africans

cito us wrote:
It was Mauritius.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:201 Mauritius 13 -1
203 Brunei Darussalam 5 -1
204 Anguilla 4 -1
205 Mauritania 3 -1
206 Timor-Leste 2 -1
207 Bhutan 0 -1
207 San Marino 0 -1
207 Turks and Caicos Islands 0 -1

[1] Can someone please tell me if Mauritanians are really Africans?
[2] This is the bottom of the Fifa rankings table. Look at where they are
[3] No African nation despises football this much
[4] Mauritania frequently pull out of African Cup of Nations and World Cup qualifiers
[5] They have never been to an African Cup of Nations before
[6] How can an African nation of 3m people have zero interest in football?
[7] Mauritania is bordered by Algeria, Mali and Senegal, all which take their football very seriously
[8] Mauritania is made up of Arabs and a minority African population. Both people like football
[9] In 2010, Mauritania pulled out of the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign because of financial incapability. Are they really that poor?
[10] Mauritania has extensive deposits of iron ore, which account for almost 50% of total exports. With the current rises in metal prices, gold and copper mining companies are opening mines in the interior. The country's first deepwater port opened near Nouakchott in 1986. Oil was discovered in Mauritania in 2001 in the offshore Chinguetti field, so their economy should be expanding.
The one and only Ayo Akinfe! :thumbs:
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube