Zambia's FA: Chitalu out-scored Messi in a calendar year

Godfrey "UCAR" Chitalu (October 22, 1947 – April 27, 1993) was a Zambian footballer who is regarded as the greatest Zambian player ever and holds the national team goal-scoring record. Nicknamed 'Ucar', Chitalu was a forceful and often temperamental target man who was Zambian footballer of the year a record five times and in 1972 rewrote the record books by scoring 107 goals in all competitions in a single season.

Upon retirement, Chitalu took to coaching and was in charge of the Zambia national team when the entire squad perished in a plane crash off the coast of Gabon on April 27, 1993.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godfrey_Chitalu
Re: Zambia's Chitalu Scored More Than Messi's In A Calendar

papparassi Sport wrote:Godfrey "UCAR" Chitalu (October 22, 1947 – April 27, 1993) was a Zambian footballer who is regarded as the greatest Zambian player ever and holds the national team goal-scoring record. Nicknamed 'Ucar', Chitalu was a forceful and often temperamental target man who was Zambian footballer of the year a record five times and in 1972 rewrote the record books by scoring 107 goals in all competitions in a single season.

Upon retirement, Chitalu took to coaching and was in charge of the Zambia national team when the entire squad perished in a plane crash off the coast of Gabon on April 27, 1993.

If scored in Asian league or North American league he would be recognized. Chitalu is rated higher than Kalusha B in Zambia..

He was voted Zambia player of the year 5 times..

papparassi Sport wrote:He was voted Zambia player of the year 5 times..
:thumbs:

Messi no break record afterall?? I knew it!

He died in the plane crash that wiped out the Zambian team. I believe he was either the coach of assistant

Can some one forward this to the over hype media?If this guy was white,oh well make i relax
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

Amateur or professional goals?

bouncino wrote:Amateur or professional goals?
Zambia league na amateur league?

wet dat yeye Garri drinking "argentine"? :lol: Now Messi has to score 22 more goals between now and the new year... :rotf: :rotf:
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

papparassi Sport wrote:Godfrey "UCAR" Chitalu (October 22, 1947 – April 27, 1993) was a Zambian footballer who is regarded as the greatest Zambian player ever and holds the national team goal-scoring record. Nicknamed 'Ucar', Chitalu was a forceful and often temperamental target man who was Zambian footballer of the year a record five times and in 1972 rewrote the record books by scoring 107 goals in all competitions in a single season.

When did the season start, in January?
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
kalani

Post by kalani »

Is there any non wikipedia evidence of this?
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

paj wrote:
bouncino wrote:Amateur or professional goals?
Zambia league na amateur league?
In 1972?

Papparasi Sport,

Was Chitalu still active in 1993? If he was, he must have been one of the veterans of the squad and maybe a reserve I would think. This guy was one of the key players of their teams way back in the 1970s! I believe he was in the team that destroyed Nigeria 5-1.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

He was the coach of the Zambian National team in 1993 when thier plane plunged off the coast of Gabon..
Enugu II wrote:Papparasi Sport,

Was Chitalu still active in 1993? If he was, he must have been one of the veterans of the squad and maybe a reserve I would think. This guy was one of the key players of their teams way back in the 1970s! I believe he was in the team that destroyed Nigeria 5-1.

The only Zambian to win the ZPA awards 5 times! He is highly respected in Zambia..
Samora Moises Machel wrote:Image

papparassi Sport wrote:The only Zambian to win the ZPA awards 5 times! He is highly respected in Zambia..

Even FIFA recognised the feat of 107 goals :thumb:

Yeap.
Samora Moises Machel wrote:
papparassi Sport wrote:The only Zambian to win the ZPA awards 5 times! He is highly respected in Zambia..

Even FIFA recognised the feat of 107 goals :thumb:
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

LMAO @ this thread.
Where is the video evidence?
I didn't know people took everything on Wikipedia as the gospel truth.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..

"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
Messi’s new goalscoring record ‘was broken in 1972′

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/wor ... 43536.html

Lionel Messi has been showered with praise after establishing a new world record by scoring 86 goals in a calendar year.

Regardless of what you might think of calendar year as opposed to season-by-season records - our blogger Early Doors certainly did not approve - you can't help doffing your cap to the diminutive Argentine for his goal tally. At the age of just 25 he is already a legend of the game, and even Gerd Mueller - the man whose record he took - has paid homage to him.

Yet it seems that Messi's latest entry in the footballing record books might have to be scrubbed out: the Zambian FA have claimed that one of their own legendary strikers put the Barca star's tally in the shade way back in 1972.

Godfrey 'Ucar' Chitalu scored an astonishing 107 goals for Kitwe United that year, the same year that Mueller hit the previous mark of 85. Yet while Muller was feted for his brilliance, Chitalu was not recognised outside his homeland and it is the German's record that has stood for the last 40 years.

After a glittering career on the pitch, Chitalu was awarded a FIFA special award, and went on to become Zambia coach until he was tragically killed in the 1993 plane crash that wiped out an entire generation of the national team's finest footballers.

The Zambian FA are now trying to bring Chitalu the recognition he deserves for his achievement by trawling their archives for evidence of the 107-goal haul.

"We have this record, which has been recorded in Zambian football, but unfortunately it has not been recorded in world football," a spokesman told the Soccer Laduma website.

"Even as the world has been looking at Lionel Messi's record, breaking Gerd Mueller's, the debate and discussion back here has been why Godfrey's goals are not being recognised.

"What we are doing is, we have commissioned an independent team locally to go back into the archives and record minute by minute each of those goals.

"The team that we have put together is going to calculate all of those goals, recording whichever game or tournament they were scored in, we will then send that to CAF and FIFA so that we can show that, while Messi's record is there, while Mueller's record is there, the actual record holder in terms of goals per calendar year is actually an African, it's actually Godfrey Chitalu."

The Zambian FA have also reportedly contacted FIFA who said they had heard of Chitalu's claim and are "checking on it internally".
Re: Messi’s new goalscoring record ‘was broken in 1972′

Finally some respect for the Black man??