CAPE VERDE 0-0 NIGERIA: FT
http://thenationonlineng.net/new/sports ... -for-yobo/NIGERIA VS CAPE VERDE: Judgment day for Yobo
Posted by: Our ReporterPosted date: January 09, 2013
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has revealed that the Super Eagles’ AFCON list will be released today in Faro, Portugal.
The list will, however, only be made public after the Nigeria versus Cape Verde friendly later tonight, which is the last game that the Stephen Keshi-led technical crew will use to make up its mind on the fitness level of some players.
One such player who is under close scrutiny is Joseph Yobo.
Super Eagles captain, Joseph Yobo recently suffered a knee injury which kept him out of Nigeria’s final 2013 Africa Cup of Nation’s qualifier against Liberia on October 13, 2012.
Executive committee member of the NFF, Barrister Chris Green revealed that Keshi would be closely monitoring the fitness of the Fenerbahce defender in the game against the Blue Sharks on Wednesday.
“I can confirm to you that Joseph Yobo will play in Wednesday’s game against Cape Verde and the coach (Keshi) will use that game to ascertain his (Yobo’s) fitness level as well as the other hopefuls in the list. The good news is that so far, there are no injury worries in the team,” he stated.
Three players, Rabiu Ibrahim, Henry Uche and Papa Idris were dropped by Keshi on Monday while striker, Kalu Uche pulled out of the squad after failing to recover from a groin injury.
Keshi will drop four more players when he announces the final 23-man list today. The deadline for the submission of team sheets of participating teams for the 2013 AFCON is today.
The NFF also had to clarify the situation about the final 23-man list of the national team, the Super Eagles, for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa.
Media chief of the Super Eagles, Ben Alaiya had announced this week that the final list would be released yesterday by head coach, Stephen Keshi.
Green explained that the date was chosen “so as to make clarifications about several issues.”
“We need to make clarifications about several issues. The Super Eagles have a game against Cape Verde on Wednesday and it is only after that game that the list will be announced,” Green exclusively told supersport.com.
Re: NIGERIA VS CAPE VERDE: Judgment day for Yobo
“We need to make clarifications about several issues. The Super Eagles have a game against Cape Verde on Wednesday and it is only after that game that the list will be announced,”
This is nothing less than an euphemism to express that NFF will interfere in the coach's decision which player are to be nominated.
I hate dis unselessness but here we go again.
This is nothing less than an euphemism to express that NFF will interfere in the coach's decision which player are to be nominated.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
You see what you want to see.DAgrin wrote:“We need to make clarifications about several issues. The Super Eagles have a game against Cape Verde on Wednesday and it is only after that game that the list will be announced,”
What I see is a consultation process. Which is perfectly fine with me - checks and balances.
No coach on earth - Spain, England, Brasil, Germany, wherever - submits a lists without the local FA/Technical committee vetting it. Keshi's list will be vetted, and rightfully so. Again; checks and balances.
Clarification checks must me made. These are for all intents procedural; due diligence.
It is well.
PS. Yobo is going. Full stop.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
If Yobo is injured, why take him?
I Will like to see a lineup this tonight against Cape Verde
Enyeama
Omeruo Yobo Ambrose Echiejile
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche
Enyeama
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche
Yobo will be there... Enjoying this cliff hanger...

- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Do you really think Rueben is better than Onazi and Ogude?walesvilla wrote:I Will like to see a lineup this tonight against Cape Verde
Enyeama
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche
Do you also think that Uche is a targetman? We have Ideye, Emenike and Dike who are all better equipped to play that position.
your questions are what we can find out in the friendly tonight.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Do you really think Rueben is better than Onazi and Ogude?walesvilla wrote:I Will like to see a lineup this tonight against Cape Verde
Enyeama
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche
Do you also think that Uche is a targetman? We have Ideye, Emenike and Dike who are all better equipped to play that position.
cant wait to see Rueben play
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
10 questions Keshi needs to resolve today:
[1] Whop starts in goal? Enyeama or Ejide?
[2] Who plays at rightback?
[3] Does he start with Echiejile or Juwon
[4] Is Omeruo going to play as a rightback or centreback?
[5] Which of this quartet is his best centreback pairing - Yobo, Ambrose, Egwueke, Omeruo?
[6] Who plays alongside Mikel in central midfield? Onazi or Ogude
[7] Who is his best targetman? Emenike, Ideye or Dike?
[8] Does he stick to his 4-3-3 formation?
[9] Who starts out of Ike Uche and Ahmed Musa?
[10] If Yobo is injured, should he be included in the final 23 or not?
[5] Which of this quartet is his best centreback pairing - Yobo, Ambrose, Egwueke, Omeruo?
walesvilla wrote:I Will like to see a lineup this tonight against Cape Verde
Enyeama
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche

yes o
Ayo Akinfe wrote:10 questions Keshi needs to resolve today:
1) Ejide
2) Kwambe - To decide whether he stays or goes
3) Echiejile
4) CB - He is much better there
5) Yobo and Egwueke ( Egwueke covers well for other's defensive mistake)
6) Onazi - lot of energy and can switch btw DM and CM
7) Emenike - skillful and maybe as a target man he will be much composed than playing from the wings
8) 4-3-3 has been good so far
9) Ike Uche, Musa has been useful from the bench esp in qualifiers
10) Depends on the injury, if major, exclude but if minor carry go
Mehn 10 pointer no easy o, Ayo how do you do it
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Cape Verde 2 vs 1 Nigeria
good luck for both teams at CAN2013!! we will meet again in the semifinals...hehehe

Why are we Nigerians so fond of creating false justifications for abuse of power by people in authority?
What Chris Green and his fellow travellers are doing in Faro is disgraceful. What is more, they would not have the guts to try it even with journeymen FCs!
What is Green's qualification on technical matters that qualifies him to be consulted on team selection?
What Chris Green and his fellow travellers are doing in Faro is disgraceful. What is more, they would not have the guts to try it even with journeymen FCs!
What is Green's qualification on technical matters that qualifies him to be consulted on team selection?
Catalyst wrote:You see what you want to see.DAgrin wrote:“We need to make clarifications about several issues. The Super Eagles have a game against Cape Verde on Wednesday and it is only after that game that the list will be announced,”
What I see is a consultation process. Which is perfectly fine with me - checks and balances.
No coach on earth - Spain, England, Brasil, Germany, wherever - submits a lists without the local FA/Technical committee vetting it. Keshi's list will be vetted, and rightfully so. Again; checks and balances.
Clarification checks must me made. These are for all intents procedural; due diligence.
It is well.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
I thought this game is to eliminate the few fringe players and not avenge for Camel-ruin?walesvilla wrote:I Will like to see a lineup this tonight against Cape Verde
Enyeama
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche
But we need to start with our strongest and best 11 in first half fringe players can come on second half.Ekorian wrote:I thought this game is to eliminate the few fringe players and not avenge for Camel-ruin?walesvilla wrote:I Will like to see a lineup this tonight against Cape Verde
Enyeama
Mikel Reuben
Igiebor
Moses Musa
Uche
Cabo Verde beat the cameroon but, fail to beat Ghana 2nd team. I wonder if they beat Nigeria. then not the bad team and possible they beat South Africa and Angola not the Morocco.
I do not get your point.txj wrote:Why are we Nigerians so fond of creating false justifications for abuse of power by people in authority?
Catalyst wrote:You see what you want to see.DAgrin wrote:“We need to make clarifications about several issues. The Super Eagles have a game against Cape Verde on Wednesday and it is only after that game that the list will be announced,”
It is well.
Please come again.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
Who vetted Westerhof's list when he decided to take a less than 100% Steven Keshi to USA 94 or a clubless Uche Okafor?
Or when he dropped Ugbade, Ekpo and Owubokiri?
And who vetted Capello's list when he decided to drop Walcott from SA2010?
Who vetted Del Bosque's list to the Euros when he decided to take an off form Torres instead of the in form Soldado?
And while we are it, have u ever heard or read of the name of the Technical Committee Chair of the English, Spanish or German FA?
Who vetted Del Bosque's list to the Euros when he decided to take an off form Torres instead of the in form Soldado?
And while we are it, have u ever heard or read of the name of the Technical Committee Chair of the English, Spanish or German FA?
Catalyst wrote:I do not get your point.txj wrote:Why are we Nigerians so fond of creating false justifications for abuse of power by people in authority?
It is well.
Please come again.
Their local FAs.txj wrote:Who vetted Westerhof's list when he decided to take a less than 100% Steven Keshi to USA 94 or a clubless Uche Okafor?
Every one of those coaches submitted their list to their FA, and due process was followed.
Then the FA submitted the list to governing body.
Catalyst wrote:Their local FAs.txj wrote:Who vetted Westerhof's list when he decided to take a less than 100% Steven Keshi to USA 94 or a clubless Uche Okafor?
Every one of those coaches submitted their list to their FA, and due process was followed.
Crap! Stop sounding like u know what u are talking about! Its false rationalizations like urs that give aid and comfort to Nigerian officials to abuse their power...
The role of the FA in the submission of lists is an administrative thing; its not for their technical input or review...
Last edited by txj on Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TXJ the ITK... I hail ooohhh
The last thing an enemy would want to see is a couple of million pissed
off old farts with attitudes and automatic weapons who know that their
best years are already behind them.
off old farts with attitudes and automatic weapons who know that their
best years are already behind them.
On the contrary [to your jibe], I actually do know.txj wrote:Catalyst wrote:Their local FAs.txj wrote:Who vetted Westerhof's list when he decided to take a less than 100% Steven Keshi to USA 94 or a clubless Uche Okafor?
Crap! Stop sounding like u know what u are talking about! Its false rationalizations like urs that give aid and comfort to Nigerian officials to abuse their power...
The role of the FA in the submission of lists is an administrative thing; its not for their technical input or review...
Sooth sayer, why don't you just keep quiet and enjoy the game.marco soares wrote:Cape Verde 2 vs 1 Nigeriagood luck for both teams at CAN2013!! we will meet again in the semifinals...hehehe