50% and rising ^^^
This team has not peaked at all.
Currently, I will rate them @ 50% of their full potential up to this point. The hope is to be make the knock-out stage and be at 80% of your potential @ the quarter final stage.
This team reminds me of the 1990 team....
2 March 1990 Algeria 5 – 1 Nigeria (Madjer Goal 36', 58', Menad Goal 69', 72', Amani Goal 88') (82' Okocha)
5 March 1990 Nigeria 1 – 0 Egypt (Yekini Goal 8')
8 March 1990 Nigeria 1 – 0 Côte d'Ivoire (Yekini Goal 3')
That was a young team like this made up of a mix of pros from domestic league and diaspora.
With each game they grew stronger and stronger.
1) They had a savior (in Yeking) who kept nicking key goals for them like we have in Emenike
2) They had the prodigious Okocha. We have Mikel or Nosa who can fill the same role.
3) They had a young gentle CB who was coming into his own in Okechukwu. We have Omeruo
4) They had a coach who had a great plan - and not afraid to incorporate the young and old, domestic and diaspora. Against the advise of many.
5) They were one - in spirit and heart and soul.
This current 2013 will get better with each game.
Currently, I will rate them @ 50% of their full potential up to this point. The hope is to be make the knock-out stage and be at 80% of your potential @ the quarter final stage.
2 March 1990 Algeria 5 – 1 Nigeria (Madjer Goal 36', 58', Menad Goal 69', 72', Amani Goal 88') (82' Okocha)
That was a young team like this made up of a mix of pros from domestic league and diaspora.
1) They had a savior (in Yeking) who kept nicking key goals for them like we have in Emenike
2) They had the prodigious Okocha. We have Mikel or Nosa who can fill the same role.
3) They had a young gentle CB who was coming into his own in Okechukwu. We have Omeruo
4) They had a coach who had a great plan - and not afraid to incorporate the young and old, domestic and diaspora. Against the advise of many.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Re: 50% and rising ^^^
More
1) We have prophet Moses who is just playing his first match tournament match. He is rising
2) We have Musa, who though has not done well so far, is a wildcard and joker for us
3) We have Youth and athleticism on our side. Teams cannot overwhelm us with hustle or athleticism (like Zambia learned today)
4) Our boys are gaining experience and valuable lessons - in staying discipline in tight games (see game against BUR), be ruthless in front of goal (see BUR game), work on PKs, be mindful of refs that could have brain freeze, etc.
Go Super Eagles!
1) We have prophet Moses who is just playing his first match tournament match. He is rising
2) We have Musa, who though has not done well so far, is a wildcard and joker for us
3) We have Youth and athleticism on our side. Teams cannot overwhelm us with hustle or athleticism (like Zambia learned today)
4) Our boys are gaining experience and valuable lessons - in staying discipline in tight games (see game against BUR), be ruthless in front of goal (see BUR game), work on PKs, be mindful of refs that could have brain freeze, etc.
Go Super Eagles!
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
I dont usually agree with Catalyst but....

"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
Tell me one thing you like about this team?Player wrote:I dont usually agree with Catalyst but....![]()
For example, what I saw in Moses today got me salivating.
Moses is going to be huuuuugggee as the games come along. That is just one.
I still have faith in Nosa and Musa.
We are barely scratching the surface folks.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
I don't like players that hide from the ball... MANY times I saw the dude refusing to show for the ball...Catalyst wrote:Tell me one thing you like about this team?Player wrote:I dont usually agree with Catalyst but....![]()
Tufiakwa! When I dey play, I demanded the ball... play it to my feet e no matter even if na 12 kungfu fighters (from Cameroon or Senegal)... I no go flinch. They should play Moses in that role....
Each time Mikel and Moses were on the same side with the ball, I could feel their football intelligence... and I know neither will shy away from the ball. Nosa has been a HUGE disappointment.
Chief,
In times like these, I tend to look back at when a player has done things well. Nosa has had many good games for Nigeria. So it is in him. The coaches know this. Maybe he just needs a little confidence booster - like a goal. Maybe he is not adjusting well to the itch conditions.
One thing I know is this - the boy is good. He will come good.
In times like these, I tend to look back at when a player has done things well. Nosa has had many good games for Nigeria. So it is in him. The coaches know this. Maybe he just needs a little confidence booster - like a goal. Maybe he is not adjusting well to the itch conditions.
One thing I know is this - the boy is good. He will come good.
Cellular wrote:I don't like players that hide from the ball... MANY times I saw the dude refusing to show for the ball...Catalyst wrote:Tell me one thing you like about this team?Player wrote:I dont usually agree with Catalyst but....![]()
Tufiakwa! When I dey play, I demanded the ball... play it to my feet e no matter even if na 12 kungfu fighters (from Cameroon or Senegal)... I no go flinch. They should play Moses in that role....
Each time Mikel and Moses were on the same side with the ball, I could feel their football intelligence... and I know neither will shy away from the ball. Nosa has been a HUGE disappointment.
Happy I am not the only one who noticed this.
It seemed as if guys just stood still and expected magic to happen. I hope the coach points this out. We are too static. We do not move as a unit.
Pass - move - pass - move... None of that.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna
In all honesty the eagles have not played badd in either of their games... Burkino faso dismantled ethiopia earlier to day, and we made that team look very ordinary
KPOM. That is exactly the simple question the ddefense kept asking of NOsa... PUhlease show up for a pass and yet he kept going MIA.Cellular wrote:I don't like players that hide from the ball... MANY times I saw the dude refusing to show for the ball...Catalyst wrote:Tell me one thing you like about this team?Player wrote:I dont usually agree with Catalyst but....![]()
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
The Okocha you refer to was Emma, and not Austin JJ, he played wide right, not center mid a la Mikel/Nosa
I have to say this team is due a big performance and maybe playing on a better pitch in Rustenburg for the final group game will allow the likes of Igiebor to show up. He has been anonymous but I saw what he did against Venezuela and though form is temporary, class is permanent.....this team needs a confidence booster, the ability is no doubt there....
Catalyst wrote:This team has not peaked at all.
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB
Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.
- Lager-back
the important thing is the experience but they have to learn from the first 2 games.. giving up a late equalizer against burkina faso and the penalty miss by mikel.
Hope by this time next year, we fans are booking our flights to Brazil.
Funny enough i have the same feeling, they really played well today
- Schillachi
Storyyyyyy....
Catalyst, Keshi is inept. He is a fraud. He is reaping what he sowed.
According to my sources, NFF is already discussing with Siasia, to take over the SE on an interim basis after the ANC...
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
Schillachi wrote:Storyyyyyy....

Emmanuel Okocha?

I know sir. I know I was talking about Emma.tedder89 wrote:The Okocha you refer to was Emma, and not Austin JJ, he played wide right, not center mid a la Mikel/Nosa
And he played as a utility player down the middle.
Emma was prodigious and special. Emma was on his way to greatness (damn you injuries). If only he stayed healthy.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Try watching the game again and focusing on Nosa, you will even be more disappointed. Dude just refused to drop back to collect ball or offer himself as an outlet for passes.Enugu II wrote:KPOM. That is exactly the simple question the ddefense kept asking of NOsa... PUhlease show up for a pass and yet he kept going MIA.Cellular wrote:I don't like players that hide from the ball... MANY times I saw the dude refusing to show for the ball...Catalyst wrote:Tell me one thing you like about this team?Player wrote:I dont usually agree with Catalyst but....![]()
I wonder if Keshi and the rest of the staff review game tapes. Because first game you can excuse it, second game, it becomes a pattern.
Catalyst you are right, this team is operating well below its potential, and I would say the main reason for this is Keshi.
After that unfair penalty, I have decided not to criticise the Eagles. Eagles even earned the sympathy of an English commentator. The penalty was beyond the pale. It was glaringly not penalty. They say every profession is a conspiracy against the laity however, the referee cannot full us, the lay people, that we do not know what a penalty is.
The lads need a good win to give them the necessary shot of confidence. Looking forward to the Ethiopia game.
- furiously frank
The only thing I would add, is that 2-3 years before that Algeria AFCON, we had Manfred Hoerner introduced serious endurance training to SE. Suddenly every SE coach after him saw the fact that talent, skills and dexterity on the field is not good enough and you need to be able to play the full 90 mins with big lungs to win. Westerhoff understand that and make the team go thru the paces. He once said the most vulnerable moment for every Naija team is immediately after a goal or towards the end of the match.
They will be home just in time to reach 100%