Man, I just can't wait for Xavi and Iniesta to retire...

Soccerfan00
Man, I just can't wait for Xavi and Iniesta to retire...

Post by Soccerfan00 »

....from the game, I will be so glad. :thumb:

These two midfield players always bore me to death with their style of play (pass, pass, pass, take the ball back, pass, pass pass again etc) while strolling on the pitch at pedestrian pace playing "fool" with their opponents, that stuff just makes me sick and puts me to sleep, GOSH.

They are just too boring for my liking, they got no swag, no personality, no excitement. They don't even smile, those two midgets just irritate the hell out of me every time.

I miss the good ol' days of entertaining exciting midfielders with lots of swag and personality like Diego Maradona, Austin Okocha, Ariel Ortega, Ronaldinho, Juninho Paulista (Middlesbrough, Atletico), Carlos Valderrama, Gheorghe Hagi, Riquelme, etc.

I can't wait for players of this calibre to come back into the game. I would rather watch Kaka than those two boring midgets and I'm not even a fan of the Brazilian.

Even Seedorf is more exciting than those two leprechauns.

When they are both gone from the game, I will celebrate. :clap:
Last edited by Soccerfan00 on Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Man, I just can't wait for Xavi and Iniesta to retire...

Soccerfan00 wrote:their style of play (pass, pass, pass, take the ball back, pass, pass pass again etc) while strolling on the pitch at pedestrian pace playing "fool" with their opponents,
this is the part I admire about their game.

while the opponent is huffing and puffing, these guys are leisurely enjoying the game....you try doing the same pass pass on a football field THEN you'll appreciate their game

Soccerfan00 wrote:their style of play (pass, pass, pass, take the ball back, pass, pass pass again etc) while strolling on the pitch at pedestrian pace playing "fool" with their opponents,

while the opponent is huffing and puffing, these guys are leisurely enjoying the game....you try doing the same pass pass on a football field THEN you'll appreciate their game

Kpom.. nah people wey no get clue dey run around like wild animal for field. Let the ball do all the running for you!.

Leisurely strolling. They could play all day, not a bead of sweat. And when they pass over, there will be heirs ready to take up the mantle. The same thing is happening on the age grade circuit. Spain are dominating. Something meteorological must've happened off the radar, how the fook did a nation renowned for its failure become so dominant? T'is not just about the past 5 years, but looking 5 years from now, look at what they're doing in the under X,Y,Z! How did this happen?

That may be true but I much prefer guys with swagger like Ronaldinho, Valderama, Zidane, Hagi etc. I get what soccerfan is trying to say, a lot of midfielders nowadays are pure zombies; even Brazilian players are playing like Euro zombies, football has gone a bit stale, every player plays the exact same way and innovation is discouraged.

I'd remove Iniesta from the list though; he's exciting when he wants to be; Alonso, Xavi and Busquets on the other hand, I wouldn't go to watch them if they paid me; dem dry no be small.
Last edited by airwolex on Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Soccerfan00

Post by Soccerfan00 »

airwolex wrote:

That may be true but I much prefer guys with swagger like Ronaldinho, Valderama, Zidane, Hagi etc.

I'd remove Iniesta from the list though; Alonso, Xavi and Busquets on the other hand, I wouldn't go to watch them if they paid me.
Thank you. I forgot about Zinedine Zidane...

:agree: :agree: :agree:

I long concluded that those 2 fellas, Xavi Hernades and Andres Iniesta, are bad for modern day football. While you cannot deny them of their accolades and achievements, they are vermin as far as I am concerned. Players are afraid to get close to them because they will fall and trick the ref into giving the opponent yellow/red cards. Those 2 are the principal reasons for opponents standing off Spain's players. It is just a shame as far as I am concerned because Spain has INMHO one of the most excellent rugged and totally effective players of all time in Sergio Ramos. Also, in Cesc Fabregas, they have one of the best off-the-ball runners with a deadly finish (placement and power) to match.

If you study that match yesterday, on some occasions in particular Andres Iniesta was doing something I found disgusting and unsportsmanly. He was using the ref to create a block for a pass. He passed the ball across the ref to another spanish player such that the opponent in wanting to retrieve the ball will then find his path blocked by the ref. Some may argue Iniesta's antics as clever and perhaps most will argue that being wily is part of seeking advantage over an opposition. Alas, however, such players can only be irritating and their exit can only be applauded by true purists of the game. Iniesta has no pace, no powerful shot and only dribbles in short spaces. His strength is in finding the through pass. As for Xavi Hernandes, apart from his those boring short passes, he has scored a few freekicks. Like Iniesta, Xavi has no pace, no powerful short and can only dribble in short spaces. When those 2 guys don't play, Spain employ more variety to their game.
Last edited by Goldleaf on Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thiago Alcantara, Isco, and Iker Munierz are coming...Spain are just starting... :D

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Goldleaf wrote::agree: :agree: :agree:

I long concluded that those 2 fellas, Xavi Hernades and Andres Iniesta, are bad for modern day football. While you cannot deny them of their accolades and achievements, they are vermin as far as I am concerned. Players are afraid to get close to them because they will fall and trick the ref into giving the opponent yellow/red cards. Those 2 are the principal reasons for opponents standing off Spain's players. It is just a shame as far as I am concerned because Spain has INMHO one of the most excellent rugged and totally effective players of all time in Sergio Ramos. Also, Cesc Fabregas, they have one of the best off-the-ball runners with a deadly finish to match.

If you study that match yesterday, on some occasions in particular Andres Iniesta was doing something I found disgusting and unsportsmanly. He was using the ref to create a block for a pass. He passed the ball across the ref to another spanish player such that the opponent in wanting to retrieve the ball will then find his path blocked by the ref. Some may argue that Iniesta's antics as clever and perhaps most will argue that being wily is part of seeking advantage over an opposition. Alas, however, such players can only be irritating and their exit can only be applauded by true purists of the game. Iniesta has no pace, no powerful shot and only dribbles in short spaces. His strength is in finding the through pass. As for Xavi Hernandes, apart from his those boring short passes, he has scored a few freekicks. Like Iniesta, Xavi has no pace, no powerful short and can only dribble in short spaces. When those 2 guys don't play, Spain employ more variety to their game.
Anderes Iniesta is wizard, if he were Brazilian he'd be allowed to really express himself; I suspect that he downplays his style to suit Spain. A lot of time he drifts pass players effortless and you can see him slowing down instead of going all the way.

They are an incredibly patient team and a lot of people feel that this is great football, me on the other hand yearn for the time we had true mavericks like Ronaldo De Lima, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Kaka etc. When they had the ball they weren't fooling around.

PS: As beautiful as it is to watch, t'is painful when its your own team being toyed with. Seeing players walk around in a competitive match is ridiculous. So casual and that is why Nigel must be sanctified. If the ball rolls so easily for the Spanish, then the man must kick much harder and teach their torsos a lesson bitterer than Mama Calabr's finest ofe onugbu.

#let them try that sh*t at the Britannia.
imprivata

Post by imprivata »

gotta love it... we r now whining about celebrated world class players who can't be stopped or slowed down at their game, obviously they must be doing something right.

airwolex wrote:

I long concluded that those 2 fellas, Xavi Hernades and Andres Iniesta, are bad for modern day football. While you cannot deny them of their accolades and achievements, they are vermin as far as I am concerned. Players are afraid to get close to them because they will fall and trick the ref into giving the opponent yellow/red cards. Those 2 are the principal reasons for opponents standing off Spain's players. It is just a shame as far as I am concerned because Spain has INMHO one of the most excellent rugged and totally effective players of all time in Sergio Ramos. Also, Cesc Fabregas, they have one of the best off-the-ball runners with a deadly finish to match.

If you study that match yesterday, on some occasions in particular Andres Iniesta was doing something I found disgusting and unsportsmanly. He was using the ref to create a block for a pass. He passed the ball across the ref to another spanish player such that the opponent in wanting to retrieve the ball will then find his path blocked by the ref. Some may argue that Iniesta's antics as clever and perhaps most will argue that being wily is part of seeking advantage over an opposition. Alas, however, such players can only be irritating and their exit can only be applauded by true purists of the game. Iniesta has no pace, no powerful shot and only dribbles in short spaces. His strength is in finding the through pass. As for Xavi Hernandes, apart from his those boring short passes, he has scored a few freekicks. Like Iniesta, Xavi has no pace, no powerful short and can only dribble in short spaces. When those 2 guys don't play, Spain employ more variety to their game.
Anderes Iniesta is wizard, if he were Brazilian he'd be allowed to really express himself; I suspect that he downplays his style to suit Spain. A lot of time he drifts pass players effortless and you can see him slowing down instead of going all the way.

They are an incredibly patient team and a lot of people feel that this is great football, me on the other hand yearn for the time we had true mavericks like Ronaldo De Lima, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Kaka etc. When they had the ball they weren't fooling around.
Wolex,

I get you. We actually played a better brand of tiki-taka yesterday than Spain. At our defensive end, Ambrose will exchange multiple passes with Egwuekwe and Enyeama. More passes will then follow through the middle involving Mikel, Ogude, Echiejile etc and a through pass will be put through to Musa (on the wing) who will then glide the ball across to an Ideye or a Gambo. Alas, however, Ideye and Gambo just could not finish. It is the same build-up play that we played in 1994 (against Bulgaria) involving Siasia, Oliseh, Amunike, Finidi, Amokachi ending up with a glide across to Yekini to score. I applaud that that rather than the rubbish served by Iniesta and Xavi.
Soccerfan00

Post by Soccerfan00 »

imprivata wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

gotta love it... we r now whining about celebrated world class players who can't be stopped or slowed down at their game, obviously they must be doing something right.
football is about running not walking.

Cally wrote:Thiago Alcantara, Isco, and Iker Munierz are coming...Spain are just starting... :D
Pls study the pattern of the young spanish teams and you will see the difference. No one is arguing a spanish domination. The argument is only against domination of a sterile type. Isco is a very clever and direct player.
imprivata

Post by imprivata »

isnt it a shame that the guy doing all the running has nothing on the guy walking? spain currently has some working formula, perhaps the rest of the world need to catch on, forget sexy football.

Soccerfan00 wrote:
imprivata wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

football is about running not walking.

I am glad I am not alone. You are indeed a fan of soccer!

They call it "sabi",notice that they stroll but when its time for pace,they have it,movement off the ball?shots? Oh boy if Nigeria had both those guys,life will be so sweeet!!!

Gerard Houllier once told Steven Gerrard that he runs too much. Ultimately, football is about winning, if you have perfected a way to maintain peak performance levels throughout the full ninety then you deserve the accolades that follow. Football is not about running just as boxing isn't about the hardest punch. The runner is the one who tires first, loses concentration and loses the game.

As for the Spain Under 21s etc, youthful exuberance has them running more than the seniors, this was be taken out of their game in due time.

Coach wrote:Gerard Houllier once told Steven Gerrard that he runs too much. Ultimately, football is about winning, if you have perfected a way to maintain peak performance levels throughout the full ninety then you deserve the accolades that follow. Football is not about running just as boxing isn't about the hardest punch. The runner is the one who tires first, loses concentration and loses the game.

As for the Spain Under 21s etc, youthful exuberance has them running more than the seniors, this was be taken out of their game in due time.
Chei Japan has suffered cuz they run for 90 mins lol

Okocha10

Post by Okocha10 »

I long concluded that those 2 fellas, Xavi Hernades and Andres Iniesta, are bad for modern day football. While you cannot deny them of their accolades and achievements, they are vermin as far as I am concerned. Players are afraid to get close to them because they will fall and trick the ref into giving the opponent yellow/red cards. Those 2 are the principal reasons for opponents standing off Spain's players. It is just a shame as far as I am concerned because Spain has INMHO one of the most excellent rugged and totally effective players of all time in Sergio Ramos. Also, in Cesc Fabregas, they have one of the best off-the-ball runners with a deadly finish (placement and power) to match.

If you study that match yesterday, on some occasions in particular Andres Iniesta was doing something I found disgusting and unsportsmanly. He was using the ref to create a block for a pass. He passed the ball across the ref to another spanish player such that the opponent in wanting to retrieve the ball will then find his path blocked by the ref. Some may argue Iniesta's antics as clever and perhaps most will argue that being wily is part of seeking advantage over an opposition. Alas, however, such players can only be irritating and their exit can only be applauded by true purists of the game. Iniesta has no pace, no powerful shot and only dribbles in short spaces. His strength is in finding the through pass. As for Xavi Hernandes, apart from his those boring short passes, he has scored a few freekicks. Like Iniesta, Xavi has no pace, no powerful short and can only dribble in short spaces. When those 2 guys don't play, Spain employ more variety to their game.
arrant rubbish, this doesnt even make sense.
<b> EGBON MEKUS OF CYBEREAGUS</b>

@Omey, they [Japan] even ran to the airport.

Okocha10 wrote:

arrant rubbish, this doesnt even make sense.
Sorry I cannot simplify my english below that. It is either you comprehend or you don't. This is not KG.
Okocha10

Post by Okocha10 »

For those that Call iniesta boring to watch, i dont know what to say about you guys, whether na just plain ol bad belly or you guys just like lieing to yourself and actually believing yourself, which is even worst.
Iniesta is one of the most Skillful Midfielders playing today, i repeat "SKILLFUL"............. just because he doesn't hold on to the ball unnecessarily or do the same Leg over dribble every time, doesnt make him boring, abeg go ask Ambrose wetin happen to am for egde of 18 yard box last Game.

<b> EGBON MEKUS OF CYBEREAGUS</b>