10 things I have to say about the Italy game yesterday

[1] First of all, here is my match report: Super Eagles begin their World Cup preparations with 2-2 draw against Italy in London - See more at: http://www.nigerianwatch.com/news/3178- ... 0YW2k.dpuf
[2] Secondly, it was great to see several CE's like Ayo Odumade, Larry Ashagbe, Shina Okeleji, etc
[3] This was a great etst for the boys and in my opinion, they passed it. Italy are one of the most physical teams in the world and believe you me, having to fight for the ball with them was one hell of a battle. Those Azzurri will blow most teams away with their physical presence alone
[4] For me, the two fullbacks Solomon Kwambe and benjamin Francis were the two brightest spots of the day. they offered us width going forward, delivered crosses and forced the Italian forwards to track back in a way that Ambrose and Echeijile cannot
[5] Kwambe took all our corners on the night and Francis delivered a pin-point cross for Ameobi to put Nigeria ahead in the 39th minute. I put it to you all that we would have lost that game had Ambrose and Echiejile been our two fullbacks
[6] Ogenyi Onazi is now our best player. he has overtaken Mikel as our midfield maestro. In the last three games, Mikel has stank the place up. In a team with better options, he would have been dropped by now but alas, we have no replacement
[7] Victor moses was in sparkling form on the night. We need to see a bit more consistency from him though. We want to see him play like this week in week out
[8] Andre Pirlo and Mario Balotelli are in a league of their own. Take those two out and this Italian team does not scare me. Once Pirlo came on, the match became one-sided with our goal living a charmed life. As per Balotelli, I am sure Egwuekwe is now on the physio's table. He did his best, so I will not criticise him for being turned a few times as Balotelli is no ordinary player. My only criticism of Egwuekwe on the night is that he needs to learn how to distribute the ball better as Oboabona does
[9] It is time for Keshi to let go of Brown Ideye and Nnamdi Oduamadi. I fail to see what they bring to the team. They cannot hack it with the big boys
[10] Dike and Ameobi had good games but I do not believe they will make the final 23 for Brazil. For me, the likes of Nwofor, Aluko and Anichebe are better options to play alongside Emenike and Moses. Funny that after the game, Italian manager Prandelli singled out Ahmed Musa as one player who caused his team all sorts of problems with his pace. I will take six strikers to Brazil 2014 - For me, Emenike, Moses and Aluko are already on the plane. Who will the other three be?
Re: 10 things I have to say about the Italy game yesterday

People are starting to play themselves into and out of the team. Mikel might need to go back to been a DM and leave the cm to onazi and ogu.

most of your ten points are incorrect it was Dike who scored the equaliser with Sola delivering the cross (assist) I suggest you go and watch the game again and amend your write up
Last edited by Flex Swift on Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ayo Akinfe wrote: [10] Dike and Ameobi had good games but I do not believe they will make the final 23 for Brazil. For me, the likes of Nwofor, Aluko and Anichebe are better options to play alongside Emenike and Moses.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Think it was Dolly Patton who sang a song about dream! Dream! Dream!!!
proclaimjesus01

Post by proclaimjesus01 »

I support this.

hence my strikers going to the worldcup are: Emenike, Amoebi, Musa, Nworfor/aluko, Dike, Nsorfor

my midfielders are: MIkel, Onazi, Nosa, Haruna, Ogu, Moses

Dropped players: Mba (tops the list), Oduamadi, Ideye

Ayo it was Sola who scored the second goal. On what grounds are the likes of Nwofor, Aluko & Anichebe better than Sola and Dike? Aluko in my opinion is a light weight winger very similar to the "Mosquito" Odumadi. I watched Aluko play against Ireland and he wasn't impressive so I don't understand the clamour. How many goals has Anichebe scored for club this season the same question applies to Nwofor. Your suggestions are not better than Sola and Dike they are simply different. In my opinion Ogu is too slow to be the defensive midfielder going forward he is ok but is a liability protecting the back four. We missed Nosa and I would like Joel Obi recalled. I would agree Odumadi is not ready for senior football.

I would like Keshi to have a look at Kelechi the under 17 player who made able to do a creative job in the midfield

Sola had one assist and one goal last night and he showed leadership in voicing his opinion to his coach Steven Keshi concerning tactical play. Once Dike and Sola went off the our power and closing down the Italian back line stopped and Nigeria were on the ropes. Over all good test

Flex Swift wrote:most of your ten points are incorrect it was Dike who scored the equaliser with Sola delivering the cross (assist) I suggest you go and watch the game again and amend your write up
Dike score the first goal @ 35' I suggest you go watch the match.

Playing in Africa against the likes of Malawi and Ethiopia does not help us in raising our game.

You could see the difference yesterday. We've got the players to match these guys but not the incentive to raise our game to their level as standard.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

The right back was awful last night........he was getting carved up like a Christmas turkey
Odumadi and Ideye are crap end of........
Our concentration in the first 5 minutes of a half is annoying, we always put ourselves under unnecessary pressure
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Flex Swift wrote:most of your ten points are incorrect it was Dike who scored the equaliser with Sola delivering the cross (assist) I suggest you go and watch the game again and amend your write up
Where did I say otherwise????????

Shownoja wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote: [10] Dike and Ameobi had good games but I do not believe they will make the final 23 for Brazil. For me, the likes of Nwofor, Aluko and Anichebe are better options to play alongside Emenike and Moses.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Think it was Dolly Patton who sang a song about dream! Dream! Dream!!!
Thank God he isn't the coach.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Can someone please tell me what Solomon Kwambe did wrong yesterday? E be like say some of una watch different match from me.

For me, the two fullbbacks did well. I would like to see others like Musa Mohammed, Leon Balogun, Juwon Oshaniwa and Samuel Okon tried out too. We also need a playmaker and my candidates are:

Lukman Haruna
Musa Yahaya
Rabiu Ibrahim
Nduka Ozokwor

Who gets the nod?
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

Orion wrote:Playing in Africa against the likes of Malawi and Ethiopia does not help us in raising our game.

You could see the difference yesterday. We've got the players to match these guys but not the incentive to raise our game to their level as standard.
What you don't understand is the African game and the African terrain is a difficult place and way to play football, I can assure if Italy were in our qualifying group they might not have qualified for the world cup, Our players feel more comfortable playing against these European teams, they give you more time and space to play the beautiful game. In Africa they will hack you down and might even give you a career ending injury. There are a lot of things involved even the referees the logistics of getting to the football venues, so in conclusion the SE is a superb team that knows how to adjust to two different playing styles and terrain.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
George Bush

Post by George Bush »

10 things about Ayo Akinfe:

1. :taunt:
2. :taunt: :taunt:
3 :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
4. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
5. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
6 :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
7 :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
8 :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
9 :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
10. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Now breada Ayo, if you could please hypothesize about 10 ways to fix Obamacare and republican hypocrisy, that'd be great......
Oti sheleh!!!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Can someone please tell me what Solomon Kwambe did wrong yesterday? E be like say some of una watch different match from me.

For me, the two fullbbacks did well. I would like to see others like Musa Mohammed, Leon Balogun, Juwon Oshaniwa and Samuel Okon tried out too. We also need a playmaker and my candidates are:

Lukman Haruna
Musa Yahaya
Rabiu Ibrahim
Nduka Ozokwor

Who gets the nod?
Did he not run away from the man he was marking before Italy equalized? That decision was a head shocker.

Ayo, did u really write the report? Is it okay to use such flowery language or embellishment for news reporting? How many people were hurt by the fk?
As early as the eighth minute, the Eagles signified their attacking intent when Victor Moses, who was in sparkling form, lashed home a wicked free-kick which just whistled wide with Italian goalkeeper Salvatore Sirigu rooted too the spot.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

George Bush wrote:10 things about Ayo Akinfe:

1. :taunt:
2. :taunt: :taunt:
3. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
4. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
5. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
6. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
7. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
8. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
9. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
10.:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Now breada Ayo, if you could please hypothesize about 10 ways to fix Obamacare and republican hypocrisy, that'd be great......

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Can someone please tell me what Solomon Kwambe did wrong yesterday? E be like say some of una watch different match from me.

Lukman Haruna
Musa Yahaya
Rabiu Ibrahim
Nduka Ozokwor

Who gets the nod?
Did he not run away from the man he was marking before Italy equalized? That decision was a head shocker.
Go and watch it again. He got sucked into the centre to cover the centrebacks Balotelli had taken out with his backheel and Giaccherini was free on the left to slot the ball. I actually think Ejide went down too early for the ball. If he stayed on his feet for a bit longer, he could have saved it.

Italy no be joke oooo. They will be pepper come the world cup as long as Balotelli and Pirlo are fit. if you can mark those two out of the game, you can beat Italy.

Nigeria did well considering the opposition, right now in my estimation, up to 10 places are up for grabs, other nations are coming with 23 world class players, especially the top ones likes Germany, Spain, brazil, Italy, right now nigeria bench is too poor, some players dont cut it at this level, if we are going to brazil to make up the numbers, then fair enough, we have a little teaser of what happened at the confederation cup, please dont mention the absense of onazi or emenike, when you have a good squad, these 2 will not be missed, against the best, we failed woefully, just hope 1 or 2 players in that under 17 squad can sneak into the final squad, my pick will be Yahaya and mohammed

Dike and Amoebi will be going to the WC as long as they remain healthy. That you can take to the bank.

[4] For me, the two fullbacks Solomon Kwambe and benjamin Francis were the two brightest spots of the day. they offered us width going forward, delivered crosses and forced the Italian forwards to track back in a way that Ambrose and Echeijile cannot
THIS HAS TO BE A JOKE!! Of all the crap I have read on CE!!

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Robbynice wrote:Dike and Amoebi will be going to the WC as long as they remain healthy. That you can take to the bank.
I'm not too sure Dike will make the squad.
He was also droped for the Nations Cup Squad when his chances looked very promising.
As for Ameobi, Keshi likes him and his experience - he will most definetly take him to the WC.

Besides I must add that I don't believe that Keshi will introduce new players into the squad (even though I would like to see Haruna and Aluko make it).
If you look at the players and squads Keshi has selected you can easily spot the players he likes and feels comfortable with and they already consist of a full squad + 1 or 2 players.
Keshi is stubborn and he will not let other people force new players on him meaning that he would have to drop players he feels comfortable with.
Therefore, for instance, Keshi will reinvite Ogude in defensive midfield instead of selecting a new prospect to "boost" our midfield.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!