WAFU: U17

WAFU: U17

so wetin hapun? we beat Mali and no more news after that
Idika
Re: WAFU: U17

Post by Idika »

We lost to Republic of Benin in the semi final match.

oh no! what was the score please?

pajimoh wrote:oh no! what was the score please?
penalty shootout.

Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

Those boys are young, so it is expected however amunike just set up this team about 4 months ago. they need to play lots of friendly and stay in one location e.g calabar or Uyo.

thanks Osita, Sir V

osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

Those boys are young, so it is expected however amunike just set up this team about 4 months ago. they need to play lots of friendly and stay in one location e.g calabar or Uyo.
Were Manu's boys not also young? I am worried that Amunike's personal interests might end up costing this team. He only selects boys who agree to have hi as their agent.

bushboy wrote:Were Manu's boys not also young? I am worried that Amunike's personal interests might end up costing this team. He only selects boys who agree to have hi as their agent.
Quit regurgitating nonsense...
And btw, were Manu's boys unbeaten?

Unfortunately, this is the sort of mentality that leads Nigeria to cheat...
A PK shootout loss in a meaningless subregional friendly youth tourney, and the knives are already out.

bushboy wrote:Were Manu's boys not also young? I am worried that Amunike's personal interests might end up costing this team. He only selects boys who agree to have hi as their agent.
Quit regurgitating nonsense...
And btw, were Manu's boys unbeaten?

Unfortunately, this is the sort of mentality that leads Nigeria to cheat...
A PK shootout loss in a meaningless subregional friendly youth tourney, and the knives are already out.
Gotti,

It never ceases to amaze. Nigeria must win it all! There cannot be a stage where the team develops. It is just sickening.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

bushboy wrote:
osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

Were Manu's boys not also young? I am worried that Amunike's personal interests might end up costing this team. He only selects boys who agree to have hi as their agent.

What am saying is that manu's team played lots of matches, I don't think is the same for amunike's team.

I don't think they have played up to 6 to 7 games.

Manu team played over 40 matches.

bushboy wrote:
osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

Do you know this for a fact? Or are you just repeating unsubstantiated nonsense?

Post by GUEST »

bushboy wrote:
osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

Just Curious, Are You the Owner of allnigeriasoccer.com?

Your reasoning so similar and very Shameful..
Celebrity

Post by Celebrity »

bushboy wrote:
osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

What a dumb and moronic thing to say. Grow up!!
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

osita wrote:
bushboy wrote:
osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

What am saying is that manu's team played lots of matches, I don't think is the same for amunike's team.

You need to measure how you throw around accusations, though. We all share the same fears but you don't throw around conspiracies around till you have enough proof.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2014/04/wafu ... p-eaglets/

The Golden Eaglets failed to book their ticket for the Final Match of the WAFU B Tournament on yesterday following a 3-1 penalty shoot-out loss to Republic of Benin-after both neighbours had played out a pulsating 1-1 draw.

Golden Eaglets’ second-half substitute, Suleiman Abdullahi cancelled Benin’s Adaomu Nassiru early minute lead and a winner did not emerge in regulation and extra time.

Golden Eaglets started the game without injured midfielder Kingsley Michael who was replaced by Dayo Femi. But as early as the second minute, Femi was punished for ball-watching when fleet-footed Nasiru ghosted past him to score the opening goal of the match.

Few minutes later, it was the turn of the Eaglets on the other end when Joshua Auta nearly grabbed the equaliser but his shot was cuddled by the Benin’s goalkeeper. The Nigerians were undeterred despite good possession of the ball by the Beninois and about a quarter of an hour, Orji Okonkwo latched on to a through pass from Kehinde Ayinde.

The languid striker out-paced two defenders and shot straight into the net but his joy of grabbing an equalizer was short-lived by Nigerien referee, Lalidia Souleymane who ruled otherwise.Jack Ipalibo also went close in the 37th minute when he drove through the pack but saw his pile driver missing the target. Towards the end of the first half, it was the Nigerians who were on the receiving endand were twice saved by the bar in the 42nd and 4th minute.

In the second half, Coach Emmanuel Amuneke brought in Suleiman Abdullahi for Dayo and his inclusion brought some order to the Nigerian midfield. The Golden Eaglets’ skipper, Kelechi Nwakali was hacked down in the box in the 63rd minute but referee Souleymane did not call for any infringement. But Abdullahi finally got the equalizer for the Eaglets in the 68th minute when he scrambled the ball into the net off a corner kick.

The match could not produce a winner even after 30 minutes of extra-time and the Beninois triumphed in the ensuing penalty shootout; the Golden Eaglets would now face the loser of the second semi-finalmatch between Mali and hosts, Togo on Sunday.

In attendance at the match were Nigeria’s High Commissioner to Togo, Ambassador Mathew Sunday Adoli and his counterpart in Benin, Lawrence Olufemi Obisakin and his wife; Alhaji Yussuf Fresh, a board member of the NFF and Leader of Delegation to Togo; Mr. Patrick Pascal (special assistant to NFF’s President, Alhaji Aminu Maigari) amongst others. - See more at: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2014/04/wafu ... gBc5m.dpuf

Golden Eaglets have a 3rd place match today. Hopefully they clinch the third spot, then it is back to Nigeria for a reboot. Hopefully the coaching staff and players have learned something from this tournament.
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

They won Bronze. Good to see they didn't let the previous loss affect them

http://www.fcnaija.com/wafu-golden-eaglets-grab-bronze

The Golden Eaglets on Sunday claimed the Bronze medal at the WAFU B Under-17 Tournament after an inspired 3-0 win against hosts, Togo in the third-place play off at the Sade Municipal.

Apart from winning the bronze medal, the Golden Eaglets were the only team in the competition that did not lose a match in regulation but were only stopped in the semi-finals on penalties by Benin after a 1-1 draw.

But against Togo, the Eaglets were at their best by scoring three first half goals through Kehinde Ayinde, Orji Okonkwo and Jack Ipalibo.

Right from the blast of the whistle of Ivorian referee, Bievenue Sinko, the Golden Eaglets left no one in doubt about their desire as they showed more hunger and serious in the attack.

Within two minutes of play, they earned two corner kicks and Ayinde profited from the second to get the opening goal as the Eaglets' piled more pressure on their Togolese counterparts. Okonkwo, Suleiman Abdullahi and Kelechi Nwakali all missed the chance to increase the tally thereafter

In the 30th minute, Nwakali's shot bounced off on an opposing defender but Okonkwo was at the right point to push the ball into the net.

Dauda Abdulganiyu also had a shot saved by the Togolese goalkeeper.

With some minutes to spare in the first half, Ipalibo scored Eaglets' third goal off a corner kick by Abdullahi which clearly killed off the resolve of the host team.

The second half did not produce any goal despite frequent pressure on the Togolese end as the game was virtually played in their half through the remaining part of the game.

"We thank God it all ended well," stated Golden Eaglets' coordinator, Prince Udofia. "We can go back home satisfied that the boys gave their best in the final analysis."
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

Post by GUEST »

Very Good Outing...

They can only Get Better.

okidoki wrote:
osita wrote:
bushboy wrote:
osita wrote:
Sir V wrote:
penalty shootout.

You need to measure how you throw around accusations, though. We all share the same fears but you don't throw around conspiracies around till you have enough proof.

:rotf: :rotf: accusations? am saying the team will only improve, they need to play more matches like their predecessors.

i remember we did myt who the African title. We lost on penalties but claimed the world crown. There's a lesson here for the boys. Very good job on their first outing.
onovo

Post by onovo »

Some people can talk crap ! This is a team that went in to a competition, played four matches, won three matches and lost one on penalty, after 1-1 draw on regular play. This team scored a total of eight goals and conceded just one in the competition. What the hell can be more impressive than that ? I think the golden eaglet coaching crew led by Emmanuel Amunike had done a great job and must be commended.