THINK: Debate on Invited Players' List….

What should we really think about in the current debate surrounding the lIst of Invited Players? Click the link below:

http://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2014/04/t ... -list.html
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: THINK: Debate on Invited Players' List….

What is difficult to understand is the need to have more than 30 names on the list. FIFA does not require more than 30 names but would accept a list with less names. Thus, the focus on a list with over 30 invitees raises the question about selfish interests that may be driving the demand for more than 30 invitees. Your guess is as good as mine on what these interests may be
E2, i think the main question should be what is the purpose of the so called "technical committee",and what power do they have? If their role is merely advisory and they dont have any input and/or veto power over decisions that Keshi makes re the players on the world cup shortlist, then why have them in the first place and they are an utter waste of time.

If Keshi has to justify his invites to the committee and they do have input/veto power, then it does make some sense to get a pool larger than 30 at this moment which can be pruned down to 30 for submission by the May 12 deadline. Based on what we have been hearing already from some members of the committee, it is impossible to expect to have consensus between the committee and keshi, so he might as well have more options available for them to meet in the middle.

I personally think this committee is a red herring and a waste of time and funds. The coach should be allowed to pick him team simple and short. Let him swim or drown with his decisions.

Metalalloy,

Your question is a major one that ought to be debated because it does appear that the committee’s role may well be creeping i.e. attempting to diffuse into player selection if not checkmated. However, the blog assumes that the Technical Committee’s existence is not an issue to debate and focuses squarely on the central issues of the Player Invitation List.

One of the things that the FIFA Regulations explains is that rather odd announcement by Keshi that his team will only have one day of camping before the Scotland friendly. This was odd considering that most players will actually be finished with the European leagues. However, FIFA regulation points out that players must be granted a rest period and national associations cannot have the NTs in session until May 26!

What is difficult to understand is the need to have more than 30 names on the list. FIFA does not require more than 30 names but would accept a list with less names. Thus, the focus on a list with over 30 invitees raises the question about selfish interests that may be driving the demand for more than 30 invitees. Your guess is as good as mine on what these interests may be
E2, i think the main question should be what is the purpose of the so called "technical committee",and what power do they have? If their role is merely advisory and they dont have any input and/or veto power over decisions that Keshi makes re the players on the world cup shortlist, then why have them in the first place and they are an utter waste of time.

If Keshi has to justify his invites to the committee and they do have input/veto power, then it does make some sense to get a pool larger than 30 at this moment which can be pruned down to 30 for submission by the May 12 deadline. Based on what we have been hearing already from some members of the committee, it is impossible to expect to have consensus between the committee and keshi, so he might as well have more options available for them to meet in the middle.

I personally think this committee is a red herring and a waste of time and funds. The coach should be allowed to pick him team simple and short. Let him swim or drown with his decisions.
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Prof.,

If you know Naija and have worked in Naija settings you will understand what exactly is going on.

The horse trading and OBT is what is going on. People have collected money to smuggle names into the list... even if there's no hope that they will make the squad. Everybody, even some have asked for help from the presidency to "expand" the list...

At the end, if Keshi wants his funds released as at when due and for them not to mess with him he will agree to accommodate their request...

These folks don't care about winning... especially if it cuts down their sharing formula. The only folks that care about winning are the players and the coaches... because it is tied to their winning bonuses.

Simple math for the NFF/World cup gravy train...
-Budget will be for a month
-Money will be released for a month
-Esta Code will be for a month
-If they advance to the semi-final then they will be forced to spend the full allocated funds.
-If they get knocked out early, they will come back early and share the balance of the funds already allocated.
-So it is in their best interest to make sure the team does not advance.
-And they will find ways to create disharmony and disaffection within the team to ensure that increase the chances of the team coming home early.
-Now you know the racket... it will be easier to see why the officials ALWAYS root against the team.
-Make Keshi no accidentally win (advance)... he must refund dem the money they lost by him winning (advancing).

Cellular, there are no innocent parties here.

Post by GUEST »

38 PLAYERS RIDICULOUS..

If Keshi cannot Select 30 Players after more than 2 yrs on the Job, Then something is wrong here..
I read some saying we don't have a Team.. I am of the Believed that Nigeria have a very Solid Team and THAT TEAM WON ANC 2013. All keshi has to do in my Opinion is to Take a serious Look at that Team he and his Assistance Spent more than a month with and Eliminate those he think does not fit into his Plans..

Since the ANC Triumph, he has invited others.. Which of those met what he is Looking for? He should kmow.
Current Form Should not be Ignore in adding others to make the 30 man List..
The Truth of the Matter is, Nigeria don't have that Many Players doing well anywhere (FACTS NOT FEELING).

The Delima Today won't have been this Serious in my Opinion if Keshi have Told these Knuckleheads at NFF--30 IS THE MAX #, NOT MORE..
Last edited by GUEST on Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Obiagu

Post by Obiagu »

Cellular wrote:Prof.,

If you know Naija and have worked in Naija settings you will understand what exactly is going on.

The horse trading and OBT is what is going on. People have collected money to smuggle names into the list... even if there's no hope that they will make the squad. Everybody, even some have asked for help from the presidency to "expand" the list...

At the end, if Keshi wants his funds released as at when due and for them not to mess with him he will agree to accommodate their request...

These folks don't care about winning... especially if it cuts down their sharing formula. The only folks that care about winning are the players and the coaches... because it is tied to their winning bonuses.

-If they advance to the semi-final then they will be forced to spend the full allocated funds.
-If they get knocked out early, they will come back early and share the balance of the funds already allocated.
-And they will find ways to create disharmony and disaffection within the team to ensure that increase the chances of the team coming home early.
-Now you know the racket... it will be easier to see why the officials ALWAYS root against the team.
-Make Keshi no accidentally win (advance)... he must refund dem the money they lost by him winning (advancing).
Makes a lot of sense! wow what a bunch of selfish idiots!
supereagles all the way
opine

Post by opine »

but how do you factor in that FIFA awards increasing sums of money as you advance starting with around $6 Million for participating in the first round. Aren't they leaving money on the table by sabotaging the team?
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?

The YeyeMan wrote:Cellular, there are no innocent parties here.

No mind Cellular and his Inspector Clousseau routine!

He who comes to equity....I sympathize with him in that no coach should have to go thru this, but there are no innocents here...

And BTW, what in the world stops Keshi from calling a presser and announcing his list; even the final 23 kpa-kpa...

2nd base jare...
Last edited by txj on Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Cell,

Let me tell you a brief story.

As VP in one of Institutes I planned to schedule workshops for Execs in Nigeria thinking that surely this is a way to offer top level quality courses for execs at lower costs closer to home. But guess what? My staff cleverly informed me that the chances of this happening was low because most of the govt execs would prefer to earn estacode by having such workshops way removed from their home cities and preferably oversea. It was lesson learned.

My brother I do understand how personal money making to the detriment of the organization governs the thinking in several cases at home. Na real wa.

opine wrote:

but how do you factor in that FIFA awards increasing sums of money as you advance starting with around $6 Million for participating in the first round. Aren't they leaving money on the table by sabotaging the team?
Yes! They do, but they don't care about that. All they want is the money they will get right now, not later. Remember that "a bird in hand ... in the bush."

But what about your own 30 man list thread displaying 442 :D

Thanks for reminding me, I'll resurrect the thread. You're a good houseboy, I'll dash you 3 extra Naira.

Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

If some people have collected money as you stated.
I find it hard to believe that agents will approach officials without approaching Keshi and his team.
If there is corruption in selection, It will involve all parties!!
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

opine wrote:

They don't all share the money collectively, it's every man or group for himself looking for avenues to get easy money.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
KingLoku

Post by KingLoku »

GUEST wrote:38 PLAYERS RIDICULOUS..

If Keshi cannot Select 30 Players after more than 2 yrs on the Job, Then something is wrong here..
I read some saying we don't have a Team.. I am of the Believed that Nigeria have a very Solid Team and THAT TEAM WON ANC 2013. All keshi has to do in my Opinion is to Take a serious Look at that Team he and his Assistance Spent more than a month with and Eliminate those he think does not fit into his Plans..

Since the ANC Triumph, he has invited others.. Which of those met what he is Looking for? He should kmow.
Current Form Should not be Ignore in adding others to make the 30 man List..
The Truth of the Matter is, Nigeria don't have that Many Players doing well anywhere (FACTS NOT FEELING).

The Delima Today won't have been this Serious in my Opinion if Keshi have Told these Knuckleheads at NFF--30 IS THE MAX #, NOT MORE..
No weapon that is formed against me shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against me in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord. (Isaiah 54:17 KJV)
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Chingo Bling wrote:

I find it hard to believe that agents will approach officials without approaching Keshi and his team.
Of course they would, what's even funnier would be players/agents desperate and willing to pay to get in the team will be milked by many.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Chingo Bling wrote:

The biggest crooks in our football are the coaches. Ask the players and they will tell you.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Chingo Bling wrote:

Naija please!! I've seen Naija policemen fight at a checkpoint, because some were collecting but not sharing...

Guv007 wrote:
opine wrote:

They don't all share the money collectively, it's every man or group for himself looking for avenues to get easy money.

KPOM! Just like I thought...