We can win World Cup – Keshi

on May 20, 2014 / in Sports 12:47 am / Comments

By Tony Ubani
Super Eagles coach Stephen Keshi said yesterday that Nigeria can win the World Cup.

‘’Yes, Nigeria can win the World Cup. Those who win the World Cup, do they have two heads?’’, Keshi asked yesterday after collecting his award as the best Nigerian coach presented to him by Chief Executive Officer of Matchmakers Consult, Shina Philips at the Ibis Hotel, off International Airport road, Lagos.

Super Eagles coach Stephen Keshi(m), Paul Bassey(L) and referee Jelili Ogunmyiwa after collecting their awards yesterday from Matchmakers Consult.
.Keshi was reacting to a question on whether he thinks his Eagles could win the World Cup as predicted by Sports Minister Tamuno Danagogo. He did not hesitate to answer in the affirmative. ‘’We can win the World Cup. Those who win the World Cup do not have two heads.

If the Minister said so, I pray to God that it is so. All we need to do to win is to concentrate, be free from injuries and take the matches as they come’’.

Keshi also said that the prayers of Nigerians for his team have been a motivation and asked Nigerians to rally behind the team to do well in Brazil.

‘’The Super Eagles of 1994 is still regarded as the best team ever for Nigeria. The team was made up of men and above all, they had the support of Nigerians.

That is what I want. The support of Nigerians. We’re getting to that level. The players also appreciate the support of Nigerians. We need it because as they say, united we stand, divided we fall’’, he said to a rapturous applause.

On the Matchmakers Award, Keshi said that the award would spur him to greater heights. ‘’I thank Nigerians for the overwhelming support they have been giving to me. I also thank the Media because they have been supportive.

My goal is to bring joy to Nigerians. I know how Nigerians react when the Super Eagles win. There is still a lot of work to be done. This award(looking at the gold-plated award) will push me to do more for Nigeria and for Africa. “Abeg, make we come together”, he said in his usual whimsical smile.
http://www.vanguardngr.com/2014/05/can- ... QiF1I.dpuf
Re: We can win World Cup – Keshi

I believe Naija can win the world cup if they can get rod of the French division III playerS
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

Any coach that goes to the world cup and does not think his team can win the cup has no business in the world cup.

Rawlings wrote:I believe Naija can win the world cup if they can get rod of the French division III playerS
Now where is that anti-midget spray?

Now you can

back to Ghanaweb :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

jungle-jawara wrote:Any coach that goes to the world cup and does not think his team can win the cup has no business in the world cup.
There is a difference between hoping and thinking.
Every coach should have hope that his team can go all the way because in football anything can happen.
But it is also important to know your own level well and be realistic about your chances.
Over and over again in Nigeria's WC history have nigerian coaches or players talked (too big for their boots) about winning the WC each time instead of doing the business on the pitch.
I wish Keshi could talk less and train earlier and spent more energy in player selection and tactics.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:
jungle-jawara wrote:Any coach that goes to the world cup and does not think his team can win the cup has no business in the world cup.
There is a difference between hoping and thinking.
Every coach should have hope that his team can go all the way because in football anything can happen.
But it is also important to know your own level well and be realistic about your chances.
Over and over again in Nigeria's WC history have nigerian coaches or players talked (too big for their boots) about winning the WC each time instead of doing the business on the pitch.
I wish Keshi could talk less and train earlier and spent more energy in player selection and tactics.
Dude, the WC is like most European Leagues. The usual suspects will always win it. Once in a while you might have the Atletico Madrid, Blackburn etc that is the hope the likes of Nigeria ill be banking on, hoping and thinking aside

Any of the 32 teams CAN win the World Cup. Whether we WILL win it is another question altogether.

Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

I'll love to see us go one better than we've done in previous WCs.
A quarter-final place will be massive for me. Anything further is
gravy.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Why has the trophy got a man falling over ?

Cristao II wrote:Any of the 32 teams CAN win the World Cup. Whether we WILL win it is another question altogether.
Na Lie. :laugh: Some teams are just there as participants and only hope is to have a good showing. As for winning it- reality check

Cristao II wrote:Any of the 32 teams CAN win the World Cup. Whether we WILL win it is another question altogether.
But whether the WC can and will be won is 'another question' for ANY of the 32 teams.
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

Na Lie. :laugh: Some teams are just there as participants and only hope is to have a good showing. As for winning it- reality check
Any of the 32 can win. WILL is a totally different ball game. You want us to do a game scenario?
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

this guy needs to take a leaf out of hodgson's book
cautious humility trumps dumb hubris any day
GIN

Post by GIN »

Rawlings wrote:I believe Naija can win the world cup if they can get rod of the French division III playerS
At least French 3 player have made it possible for us not to wait for over 3 decades to win the ANC.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

if we play with the same mentality as our u17 did in UAE, we can the quater finals target. -

Then there are so many coaches who have no business in the world cup. There are many reasons why countries participate in the world cup especially in these day and age where the game is about money. Anyone is free to dream nevertheless! I guess Iran can dream of winning the World cup as well or does Queroz have no business being at the world cup?

Abeg tell these jokers some home truth..admitting your limitations does not make you weak, it is a form of strength on its own. When you make such outlandish statement you put pressure , unnecessary pressure on your team and himself, especially the team. It is funny when people even compare U-17 to this. There is a reason in life why at the phase of teenagers we have all manner of friends from different background, but as you grow up and the experience of life begins to sift and create a separation that leaves some far behind. There is a reason why the WC champions have been dominated by certain countries..there is a certain reality here that cannot be wished away and i don't see anything in this current team to challenge that position. Hey but since we like gas bagging such outlandish statement is in order.

smartbrother wrote:this guy needs to take a leaf out of hodgson's book
cautious humility trumps dumb hubris any day
Inflated egos and vainglories are put in check by realism. Please tell that to marines we will win World Cup with Musa, Oduamadi and Babatunde. If that happens it will be miracle of biblical proportion . If Keshi believes that he should come and buy my mansion on ocean drive with pennies.

Yes they can win by parading third division players, injured players, bench warmers, reserve team players, and strikers without a single goal all season. Dummy.

Is he talking about his PlayStation or what ?

Abeg tell these jokers some home truth..admitting your limitations does not make you weak, it is a form of strength on its own. When you make such outlandish statement you put pressure , unnecessary pressure on your team and himself, especially the team. It is funny when people even compare U-17 to this. There is a reason in life why at the phase of teenagers we have all manner of friends from different background, but as you grow up and the experience of life begins to sift and create a separation that leaves some far behind. There is a reason why the WC champions have been dominated by certain countries..there is a certain reality here that cannot be wished away and i don't see anything in this current team to challenge that position. Hey but since we like gas bagging such outlandish statement is in order.
i disagree Mazi Oloye, those statement by big boss will push his players to know what he expect to be champion and if semi finals is the best they will know they try.You dont expect African Champs to say we can't win it.You think Holland is saying they cant win it?
oga99

Post by oga99 »

vancity eagle wrote:Yes they can win by parading third division players, injured players, bench warmers, reserve team players, and strikers without a single goal all season. Dummy.

Is he talking about his PlayStation or what ?
Nigeria is not winning this world cup and even "big boss" Keshi knows that. His response is to always stay positive, I mean he never says anything bad about Agbim and keeps inviting the fellow even though we all know he flat out sucks.

He is in the position to do his thing with this team so he is doing whatever he wants. Trying to proof a point that makes no sense for this type of competition. YOU NEED THE BEST PERIOD. Unless you are a team like France that can afford to cut a player like Nasri, then you can parade other options but if not...GET OFF YOUR HIGH HORSE. This competition comes around once every 4 years and we are lucky to be in a group with a high chance of qualifying if we have a good team. Invite the best, if they mess up then cut them from provisional list after the up coming friendly matches or bench them if they act up at the big stage, shebi you are the big boss? He had at least a year to do this after the nations cup.

Now if he had invited the BEST players maybe we would have a strong shot at the quarter finals and could be the cinderella team that could reach the semi's. Turkey made it to the semi in 2002 and croatia made it to the semi in 1998 as a new team so anything can happen. But as per winning it all, even with our best, i doubt it, the so called "Big Boss" knows that too so why stress himself. He can use this as an avenue to pimp players and show european based player who the "Big (Bull $#%) Boss" is.

Unless God chooses naija to win which will be the miracle. Dat one na different story.

VE abeg continue speaking the truth.
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

Now where is that anti-midget spray?

Now you can

back to Ghanaweb :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:
...wow...need to place order for this...I need it for wRonglings in particular bcos he kept coming regardless how you try to put him in the net...
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

onuku(oluku) a biko commot form hia. Na by force to post?
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.