Keshi clears Omeruo for opening game

COOKING SPOON
Keshi clears Omeruo for opening game

Post by COOKING SPOON »

http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/sport/16 ... ening-game

MONACO defender, Elderson Echiejile, was dropped from the Super Eagles team to the Brazil 2014 World Cup because three weeks was a long time to wait for the former Braga star’s injury to heal, Coach Stephen Keshi has explained.
He also talked on Kenneth Omeruo, who has been carrying a knock for a while.
Speaking on the state of the team at the weekend, Keshi said he had to drop Echiejile for Ejike Uzoenyi because he needed as quick fix ahead of the World Cup, which begins on Thursday.
On Omeruo, Keshi said the Chelsea defender would be fit and ready for Nigeria’s opening game against Iran following the injury he copped in training four days ago.
Omeruo’s clearance is coming after he went for a scan on his ankle on Saturday morning.
“Doctors have said Echiejile will need up to three weeks to recover from the muscle tear but we don’t have that type of time to play with so we have to replace him,” Keshi said.
Already Enugu Rangers winger, Ejike Uzoenyi, have been told to get ready to travel to Brazil to link up with his teammates for the Mundial as Echejile’s replacement.
Uzoenyi was one of the seven players originally dropped from the 30-man provisional World Cup list drawn up by Keshi and his crew.
The NFF leadership and world soccer governing body, FIFA, have already been informed of the change and are expected to effect it immediately.
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon
Al B Sure
Re: Keshi clears Omeruo for opening game

Post by Al B Sure »

ok Now lets go and win the 'dang' thing :)

how can Uzoenyi be Uwa's replacement? :shock:

paj wrote:how can Uzoenyi be Uwa's replacement? :shock:

Why are you shocked ooo? Where have you been since 3 or 4 days?
Uzoenyi has played LB before in the NPL.
That's what we heard. 8-)

Really? Can someone confirm this? Where Patrick when you need him? :twisted:
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

xinity

Post by xinity »

Confirmed.Ejike has played left back for Enugu rangers a number of times. John Obuh used to play him there and he did very well.

xinity wrote:

Confirmed.Ejike has played left back for Enugu rangers a number of times. John Obuh used to play him there and he did very well.
Thanks Xinity. The dude is short though.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Keshi figured he needs more help upfront than at the backfield.
I believe this is a great choice.

xinity wrote:

Thanks Xinity. The dude is short though.
So is Roberto Carlos, Ashley Cole, Mobi Oparaku, etc :mrgreen:

Guys, Uzoenyi will NOT be playing left back nah!
Like we have been debating ever since the Elderson's injury, like-for-like (or what someone called 'kobo-for-kobo') replacements are not necessarily what happens in ANY squad in these kind of circumstances.
Its why its a squad, and squad flexibility allows for various computations. I can almost guarantee he will not be playing left back.

This is his chance to shine and God willing, the short man will use this opportunity to rise to great heights.
He brings a bit more flair and shooting power to the team.
In short, Diaris God!

Go Eagles! :thumbs:

Damunk wrote:Guys, Uzoenyi will NOT be playing left back nah!
Like we have been debating ever since the Elderson's injury, like-for-like (or what someone called 'kobo-for-kobo') replacements are not necessarily what happens in ANY squad in these kind of circumstances.
Its why its a squad, and squad flexibility allows for various computations I can guarantee he will not be playing left back.
This is his chance to shine and God willing, the short man will use this opportunity to rise to great heights.
He brings a bit more flair and shooting power to the team. In short, Diaris God!
Go Eagles!
Obviously like for like is not usually necessary..the reason why people called for it...is that we have no depth at the back! When you have no cover..IT MUST BE like for like!

The only argument is that maybe we are lacking moreso up top than we are in the back.......to be honest I think it is about the same! Actually I think we are lacking depth EVERYWHERE...except for the goalkeeper duo of Ejide and Enyeama!

DAMMN! Keshi!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
Its why its a squad, and squad flexibility allows for various computations I can guarantee he will not be playing left back.
He brings a bit more flair and shooting power to the team. In short, Diaris God!
Go Eagles!
Obviously like for like is not usually necessary..the reason why people called for it...is that we have no depth at the back! When you have no cover..IT MUST BE like for like!

The only argument is that maybe we are lacking moreso up top than we are in the back.......to be honest I think it is about the same! Actually I think we are lacking depth EVERYWHERE...except for the goalkeeper duo of Ejide and Enyeama!

DAMMN! Keshi!
Nigeria will be okay. Calm yourself down and just support the team. They will make us proud, trust me on that.

Post by Super Eagle »

My brother, only Keshi can answer that one. I mean, I can understand if we have a reliable LB on the current squad but we don't!

Oshaniwa was piss poor against the US. And this is the guy we plan to rely on against the likes of Argentina and Bosnia? Unbelievable!
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer

Its why its a squad, and squad flexibility allows for various computations. I can almost guarantee he will not be playing left back.

In short, Diaris God!

If he was brought in then surely its a replacement for the defender we are missing due to injury. No?

I'm a bit confused here. It doesn't make sense.

Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

In short, Diaris God!

If he was brought in then surely its a replacement for the defender we are missing due to injury. No?

...bros no worry...make I quote Robbynice, "Nigeria will be okay. Calm yourself down and just support the team. They will make us proud, trust me on that."
...make una trust Robby...he don talk am...

In short, Diaris God!

How short is the guy compared to Azeez and Emenike?

In short, Diaris God!

Emenike is short? :???:

In short, Diaris God!

Not short. But he probably is the shortest of our strikers. It just never occurred to me that Uzo was a short guy. I thought of him around 5'9 - 5'11.

Emenike is probably around 5' 9 ..Moses is pretty short too..Ejike Uzoenyo may be 5'5 when he wears high heels :)

In short, Diaris God!

Not short. But he probably is the shortest of our strikers. It just never occurred to me that Uzo was a short guy. I thought of him around 5'9 - 5'11.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

In short, Diaris God!

It should not confuse you if you understand the concept of depth chart.

So before I go spilling, do you understand the basic principles that governs depth chats, at least from a sports team perspective?
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

nanijoe wrote:Emenike is probably around 5' 9 ..Moses is pretty short too..Ejike Uzoenyo may be 5'5 when he wears high heels :)

In short, Diaris God!

I think his wife may have tampered with Wikipedia :)
Height 1.82 m (5 ft 11 1⁄2 in)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emmanuel_Emenike

But gaddemit!! You were right on the money on Ejike.

Height 1.68 m (5 ft 6 in)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ejike_Uzoenyi

nanijoe wrote:Emenike is probably around 5' 9 ..Moses is pretty short too..Ejike Uzoenyo may be 5'5 when he wears high heels :)

In short, Diaris God!

So you missed the photos from philly where Uzoenyi stood infront of an NFL player who looked like a giant compared to him? The guy is very short...

In short, Diaris God!

So you missed the photos from philly where Uzoenyi stood infront of an NFL player who looked like a giant compared to him? The guy is very short...

I did.