Nigeria: midfield questions…
- The YeyeMan
Nigeria: midfield questions…
Zonal Marking
http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... questions/
Nigeria won the Africa Cup of Nations last year, despite the fact they never found the perfect balance in midfield, and this is again their major issue.
Two men are assured of their place in the midfield, but not their actual role. John Obi Mikel, who plays a much more cultured, inventive role for Nigeria than for Chelsea, is the key midfielder. He won’t play in the deep-lying holding position, but instead as the ’second’ midfielder in this triangle, to the left, from where he can spread play to the flanks and dart forward to join attacks.
There’s an argument, however, that should be at the top of the midfield trio, because Nigeria have struggled to find someone suited to that position. In the 0-0 draw against Greece last week, Keshi tried to play forward Peter Odemwingie as the number ten, but he performed quite disastrously in that unfamiliar role, positioning himself poorly and unable to receive the ball on the run. For the next friendly, a 2-1 defeat against the United States, Keshi took the opposite approach, and played Ramos Azeez, a simple central midfielder who struggled to link midfield and attack.
Possible Nigerian XI - although it's tough to say who will be at the top of the midfield triangle
There’s no obvious solution, and Keshi might consider moving Mikel forward and bringing in Reuben Gabriel as the deepest of the three midfielders. A more unorthodox solution would be to bring Victor Moses inside to play as the number ten, where he has played at club level, although he’s accustomed to a wide role.
The problem isn’t solely about creativity, either. With Mikel as the second midfielder in the trio, it means Ogenyi Onzai is forced to act as the deepest midfielder, which doesn’t suit his skillset – he’s more energetic and likes to cover lots of ground. This means he’s bypassed easily, and the defence can be exposed readily.
Onazi could do with someone behind him, and it’s odd that Keshi seems so determined to field a midfield in this format – with two deep and one ahead, when the two don’t look comfortable together deep, and there’s no obvious candidate to play just ahead. It’s hard to see Nigeria dominating matches with these problems, although their usual approach is to sit deep anyway.
Counter-attacking front three
That’s because their attackers are best playing quick, ruthless counter-attacking football. Moses starts from the left but drifts inside and tries to link midfield and attack – no-one else is doing so – by dribbling directly with the ball. He’s become more of a goal threat recently, although he rarely makes off-the-ball runs past the striker.
On the opposite side, Ahmed Musa as a pure speedster and stays much wider. He’s capable of solo runs by picking up the ball in deep positions, then simply roaring past the opposition left-back – his speed is incredible, but it’s his acceleration that causes most problems. He should score more goals, but is a brilliant ball-carrier.
Upfront will be Emmanuel Emenike, who runs the channels manfully and is capable of cool finishes – he was top goalscorer at last year’s Africa Cup of Nations. He might not last 90 minutes often, though, and Keshi has Shola Ameobi if he wants to play more of a long ball game. Alternative, Odemwingie can appear as a second striker in a 4-4-2 if Nigeria are chasing matches – that will solve the problem with the third midfielder.
Basic backline
The defence is unconvincing. Elderson Echiejile was a late withdrawal from the squad which means Juwon Oshaniwa should start at left-back – he’s physically imposing but average on the ball. Right-sided Efe Ambrose is similar – a converted centre-back and a willing runner.
Joseph Yobo is an option in the centre, but it seems more likely to be a partnership between Kenneth Omeruo and Godfrey Oboabona, who offer much more mobility. However, they need to be protected, and this is once again a great worry because of the problematic midfield format. In goal, however, Vincent Enyeama is genuinely excellent – by far the best of the African goalkeepers at this competition.
This will be a fairly simple counter-attacking team, playing into the hands of their speedy wide players, and hopefully hiding the lack of creativity and the structural concerns in the midfield zone. There’s a worry about where the goals will come from, though.
Conclusion
It feels like Nigeria should be in a better position – they have a core of good footballers and last year’s Africa Cup of Nations victory shows they have a winning mentality. But, not dislike Cameroon, there’s a question mark about the midfield trio, and a worry they might not play their best midfielder, Mikel, in the role that suits the side.
Their performance is really dependent upon the qualities of the transitions, and the decision-making of Moses and Musa on the break. The latter, in particular, could enjoy a very good tournament – the left-backs in Group F are weak, and his speed could cause real problems.
Quick guide
Coach: Stephen Keshi – won the Africa Cup of Nations last year, seems to have the side united but questions remain about his tactical ability
Formation: Some form of 4-3-3, although the midfield trio remains to be seen, so could shift to 4-2-3-1.
Key player: Musa needs to carry the ball forward quickly
Strength: Counter-attacking speed
Weakness: Lack of goalscorers, problematic structure
Key tactical question: Who is the third midfielder?
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Re: Nigeria: midfield questions…
very good analysis
A damn good analysis. Italy against Nigeria simply noticed our weak midfield and overloaded their midfield in the second half and had 7 or 8 goal scoring chances. Nigeria has to plan for the possibility of a repeat of this tactic and its either you have your wingers defend and counter attack from deep or you get steam rolled.
Frankly Keshi's problem is a midfield that leaves lots of room for opponents to operate at the back and wingers who do not defend. Consider that the 1994 team traded the shake-and-bake play of Okocha in the middle for the defensive solidity of Mutiu Adepoju. Oliseh and Adepoju never ventured too far forward and always broke down attacks through the middle. On the wings, Amunike and Finidi without the ball got back and ensured they defended.
With this Nigerian team, Mikel and Onazi like to stray far away from their duties leaving the team vulnerable to the counter (as Klinsmann noticed). Moses and Musa like to bomb forward and when they lose the ball do very little to win the ball back or foul to stop the play. It is why the back four are always under serious pressure.
Keshi needs to either curtail
Frankly Keshi's problem is a midfield that leaves lots of room for opponents to operate at the back and wingers who do not defend. Consider that the 1994 team traded the shake-and-bake play of Okocha in the middle for the defensive solidity of Mutiu Adepoju. Oliseh and Adepoju never ventured too far forward and always broke down attacks through the middle. On the wings, Amunike and Finidi without the ball got back and ensured they defended.
With this Nigerian team, Mikel and Onazi like to stray far away from their duties leaving the team vulnerable to the counter (as Klinsmann noticed). Moses and Musa like to bomb forward and when they lose the ball do very little to win the ball back or foul to stop the play. It is why the back four are always under serious pressure.
Keshi needs to either curtail
O na-abu ife na-eme ufodu e ekolopu anyi adi elota n’ife obuna nwelu mbido ga enwelili njedebe - Celestine Ukwu
“The sun will shine on those who stand before it shines on those who kneel under them." -- Chinua Achebe
Largely accurate assessment. My only fear is the use of Musa on the right. He has the speed and ability to get past his man, into danger zones but then the final ball into the box is not the best. If the balls is played down the middle to him, I believe he'd be more effective.
Few more days to see how the team is deployed.
I wrote here:
I told you guys that Onazi cannot play at the base of a double pivot, in other words, he is not a DM. The space he concedes in front of the defence at this level is ridiculous
http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... questions/Ogenyi Onzai is forced to act as the deepest midfielder, which doesn’t suit his skillset – he’s more energetic and likes to cover lots of ground. This means he’s bypassed easily, and the defence can be exposed readily.
When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more
- The YeyeMan
The analyses of Nigeria's opponents make good reading too:
Iran - http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... 4-preview/
Bosnia - http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... 0-preview/
Argentina - http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... 4-preview/
Iran - http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... 4-preview/
Bosnia - http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... 0-preview/
Argentina - http://www.zonalmarking.net/2014/06/10/ ... 4-preview/
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
© The YeyeMan 2025
Very good analysis but he hasn't said anything that I haven't said several times before here in the forum. Nigeria's mistake (because Siasia made the same mistake too) is not willing to play Mikel as a DM. The solution to our midfield problem is simple: play Mikel as DM and use Onazi as your playmaker and everything else would fall into place.
O pari
O pari
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
The Zonal Marking guy knows his stuff. If i only have to nitpick, it would be his limitation of Enyeama as the best African keeper. He is one of the best keeper in the tourney period.
but that's just reaching for something to criticize.
Solace wrote the stuff, that boy is a wizardmetalalloy wrote:The Zonal Marking guy knows his stuff.

When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more
- The YeyeMan
Conclusion on Iran:
Iran’s organisation will make them tricky opponents, and their group might suit them. For example, they could frustrate Nigeria, a talented side who have problems breaking down packed defences.
It’s easy to imagine Iran frustrating opponents in the first half before eventually being defeated late on as, fitness levels come into play – it’s tough to see them progressing, but they shouldn’t be embarrassed.
Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025

Last edited by Man Ataye on Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.
I think the issue is is the passing range which Mikel has over everyone on the team. Moses would have made a good playmaker with his skill set but not sure if he'd fit in this late hour and there's also the early Liverpool experiment that points to him not being so suitable for the role.Super Eagle wrote:Very good analysis but he hasn't said anything that I haven't said several times before here in the forum. Nigeria's mistake (because Siasia made the same mistake too) is not willing to play Mikel as a DM. The solution to our midfield problem is simple: play Mikel as DM and use Onazi as your playmaker and everything else would fall into place.
O pari
GeniusSuper Eagle wrote:Very good analysis but he hasn't said anything that I haven't said several times before here in the forum. Nigeria's mistake (because Siasia made the same mistake too) is not willing to play Mikel as a DM. The solution to our midfield problem is simple: play Mikel as DM and use Onazi as your playmaker and everything else would fall into place.
O pari

Trophy after 19 'cupless' years..........................Anyway, you dey lucky say you no dey in front of me dey parrot this nonsense, I for cut you betta SLAP

Last edited by zee on Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
Correct. Till nostalgia stops dressing Obiesta as a rose-tinted Okocha, Nigeria will forever see the fabulous fictions of her desperation induced mirage. Block, tackle, pass, shape-keeping, anti-Transformer, La Maverica aka Kaiser Obi is best deployed in his most familiar pursuit fot optimal reward and the world to marvel. Chai, e go sweet pass yansh wey chop bebee oiyul! Chai! Diariss God o!
Yea, I wrote off that experiment after watching Moses in the #10 role at Liverpool. I think our best option is to use him as a wide forward and the hardworker, Onazi, as a playmaking CM. But then where does Osaze play? Should Musa start on the bench?uglyoneiamagain wrote:I think the issue is is the passing range which Mikel has over everyone on the team. Moses would have made a good playmaker with his skill set but not sure if he'd fit in this late hour and there's also the early Liverpool experiment that points to him not being so suitable for the role.Super Eagle wrote:Very good analysis but he hasn't said anything that I haven't said several times before here in the forum. Nigeria's mistake (because Siasia made the same mistake too) is not willing to play Mikel as a DM. The solution to our midfield problem is simple: play Mikel as DM and use Onazi as your playmaker and everything else would fall into place.
O pari
Lots of questions with this Stephen Keshi's experiment. Keshi definitely need a real technical adviser to assist him. Unfortunately, he isn't willing to ask for help....that's another area where Siasia is better than Keshi. Sia1 knows his limitations.
O pari
Last edited by Super Eagle on Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
The question then is why don't we just play Mikel as the deeper of the central midfielders. It seems like a simple "no brainer" solution considering the fact that that's the role Mikel plays at his club.
We can have 2 CMs in Azeez and Onazi; we can then rely on wing play and speedy counter-attacks. Another option is to play Onazi as the furthest forward of the CMs (Azeez isn't suited to the CAM role).
Omo, the ANC was like a mock exam. The World Cup is the real thing. Do you ever ask yourself why the likes of Zambia, Mali and Bukina Faso couldn't qualify for the world cup? Bottom line, we're talking about a different level here.zee wrote:GeniusSuper Eagle wrote:Very good analysis but he hasn't said anything that I haven't said several times before here in the forum. Nigeria's mistake (because Siasia made the same mistake too) is not willing to play Mikel as a DM. The solution to our midfield problem is simple: play Mikel as DM and use Onazi as your playmaker and everything else would fall into place.
O pari![]()
.......I forgot that you are the coach that gave us this......................
Trophy after 19 'cupless' years..........................Anyway, you dey lucky say you no dey in front of me dey parrot this nonsense, I for cut you betta SLAP![]()
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
I got to the highlighted and it 're-confirmed' my suspicion that a silly 'I-learnt-football-watching-it-on-telly' clownCoach: Stephen Keshi – won the Africa Cup of Nations last year, seems to have the side united but questions remain about his tactical ability

As a teenage, I was dropping more advanced analysis in my Coal City neighbourhood

"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
niyi wrote:The question then is why don't we just play Mikel as the deeper of the central midfielders. It seems like a simple "no brainer" solution considering the fact that that's the role Mikel plays at his club.
Is Onazi suited for the CAM role?
I just don't buy this play Mikel deep thing...its crap...the best midfield creator Nigeria has is Mikel...not Onazi, not Azeez, not Moses etc....if we push him back, frustration will pull him forward because his mates wouldnt do the business creating....and then we'll get exposed.
Our midfield got overrun against USA because Reuben is a poor poor poor sub for Mikel. I have never seen the Mikel (AM/CM)-Onazi (DM) combination get overrun by any opposition....For the first half, we won the midfield battle over 5 midfield player-USA....we folded when Keshi started mindless experimentation with Reuben.
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
I agree that Mikel is the best midfielder we have wrt creating chances. He does it over and over again but our strikers flub chances and thru balls he sends (check out the through ball he gave Ameobi in the 5th min against the US).deanotito wrote:I just don't buy this play Mikel deep thing...its crap...the best midfield creator Nigeria has is Mikel...not Onazi, not Azeez, not Moses etc....if we push him back, frustration will pull him forward because his mates aren't wouldnt do the business creating....and then we'll get exposed.
As for the highlighted, was it really a mindless experiment? Friendlies are the exact spot to try out players, Reuben is there as a DM abi? Testing him against a decent team like the US was very informative as it showed he was not up to the task in such an important role.
metalalloy wrote:I agree that Mikel is the best midfielder we have wrt creating chances. He does it over and over again but our strikers flub chances and thru balls he sends (check out the through ball he gave Ameobi in the 5th min against the US).deanotito wrote:I just don't buy this play Mikel deep thing...its crap...the best midfield creator Nigeria has is Mikel...not Onazi, not Azeez, not Moses etc....if we push him back, frustration will pull him forward because his mates aren't wouldnt do the business creating....and then we'll get exposed.
As for the highlighted, was it really a mindless experiment? Friendlies are the exact spot to try out players, Reuben is there as a DM abi? Testing him against a decent team like the US was very informative as it showed he was not up to the task in such an important role.
Metal, its mindless because Reuben isn't supposed to be there in the first place, that's why. I hope Keshi learned the lesson though
I don't know but ... he's energetic, passes well and shoots well. We can afford trying him in that position against Iran.metalalloy wrote:niyi wrote:The question then is why don't we just play Mikel as the deeper of the central midfielders. It seems like a simple "no brainer" solution considering the fact that that's the role Mikel plays at his club.
Is Onazi suited for the CAM role?
EDIT: http://www.whoscored.com/Players/113905 ... enyi-Onazi
He's played there (at least once) before and he was rated well in that particular game.