Enyeama's post match interview

DAgrin
Enyeama's post match interview

Post by DAgrin »

His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and inadequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
I watched it in german so I will give you my translation hoping that somebody will post the video.

Enyeama (serious): "It was a 50/50 match. Nigeria could have won the match.
But now it's over and going home is not bad at all,too (smiling heavily)"

He seemed more relieved than disappointed. I had that same feeling about other established players.
Emenike did not look disappointed at all - he looked calm as if he expected Nigeria will be out today.

Is this the kind of attitude that can take you far at a WC? I doubt it.
I know that I can't look in the head of the players - but making jokes after you just made a crucial mistake in a game you just lost is disrespectful to all the fans/Nigerians who cheered for the SE with much commitment.
Last edited by DAgrin on Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
Re: Enyeama's post match interview

DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
I watched it in german so I will give you my translation hoping that somebody will post the video.

He seemed more relieved than disappointed. I had that same feeling about other established players.
Emenike did not look disappointed at all - he looked calm as if he expected Nigeria will be out today.

I know that I can't look in the head of the players - but making jokes after you just made a crucial mistake in a game you just lost is disrespectful to all the fans/Nigerians who cheered for the SE with much commitment.
Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.

On a more serious note, the lad Emenike really disappointed. He just looked so out of sorts and moody. Compare him to the Algerian striker - Hungry and determined.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Lolly wrote:
DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.

On a more serious note, the lad Emenike really disappointed. He just looked so out of sorts and moody. Compare him to the Algerian striker - Hungry and determined.
It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.
These players earn enough for the clubs and playing for the national team at the WC actually should be honour enough. I'm not saying they should not be paid for playing and succeeding at the WC but when getting money is the main priority ahead of crucial games there is something basically wrong with the attitude of the players.
We have a serious culture problem here among African teams.
I don't get how our players always want to be paid in advance when the job is still to be done.
And taking that cash suitcase to the hotel for the players is mafia style and nothing proffesssional players and officials should do.

Actually there is much more to be done than just exchange the coach.
But I doubt you can change mentality or inhibiting cultural "traditions".

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.
These players earn enough for the clubs and playing for the national team at the WC actually should be honour enough. I'm not saying they should not be paid for playing and succeeding at the WC but when getting money is the main priority ahead of crucial games there is something basically wrong with the attitude of the players.
I don't get how our players always want to be paid in advance when the job is still to be done.
And taking that cash suitcase to the hotel for the players is mafia style and nothing proffesssional players and officials should do.

While I don't begrudge the guys earning bonuses for winning and participating but the manner and timing is just wrong. You don't miss training because you want an advance on your prize money. Those guys already feel that they had over-achieved and knew that loosing to France won't damage their careers. No ambition.

You think the players don't know that the coach is also looking after himself? The players know what is going on with the Ruben and Uchebo business.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

You know, when they say the Nigerian problem is nation wide and generation deep, people still do not get it.

Corruption is not something you simply point at and murmur about to 'fulfil all righteousness' and then move on. Corruption should actually disgust you so much that you can be pushed to extraordinary lengths to repulse it, like a bug in your system, or contaminated food.

Y'all keep going on about selfish players earning a fortune and putting themselves before Nigeria. In short, despite it being the nation's best kept secret that players' and coaches' money and bonuses do not get paid because a bunch of corrupt, shameless and despicable officials want to pocket the money -somebody else's money - you guys STILL insist that the players should do and say nothing about this 'tradition' of corruption.

It has become a tradition because peeps like some of you guys would rather blame the protesting victim than go for the jugular of the armed robber. The fact that they insisted on receiving their money in cash to have it all on record in front of everyone to see; insisted on sharing it even amongst those who didn't even make the final squad, but helped qualify, including the poorly paid home-based players; and the fact that many of these players abroad actually donate to Nigerian charities does not matter at all. For most Nigerians, they have spoilt our World Cup. Finito. Nothing else matters.
It's all about now, not the future.

Corruption can be both by acts of commission and omission. By saying and doing nothing, or encouraging it either directly or indirectly, you are part of the problem. You blame the players for taking a stance. Too many Nigerians remain silent when their Ogas are chopping a percentage of their salaries every freaking month in bogus 'insurance' and 'pension' schemes, or some other sick scam. It's everywhere, but people just remain quiet because they are powerless. The sad thing is that Nigerians will blame the lone vocal Nigerian that dares to speak up against it. Why? Because he is 'spoiling show' for the rest that are happy with the status quo, or simply grateful, or think it is 'normal'.
Normal as in, tradition. They will probably do the same thing one day when they 'reach there'.

Yeah, we want to win the World Cup, but nobody is willing to take the lead in taking action against this corrupt 'tradition'. It's much easier to blame the players for refusing to take the crap, using the only means they have to achieve it.

When you have given your all on the field..ain't no need pretending. They equaled the record of those before them..perhaps they are contented with that..the truth be told they improved on our last two previous appearances in the WC..they have something to be contented with.

heavyd

Post by heavyd »

oloye wrote:When you have given your all on the field..ain't no need pretending. They equaled the record of those before them..perhaps they are contented with that..the truth be told they improved on our last two previous appearances in the WC..they have something to be contented with.
Thats what i said in the other thread... they lacked the desire and hunger to make history... they were content with what they had achieved. Thats really disappointing. Many of them will not play in the World cup again... why not seize your chance and if you have to go out go out fighting.
Contrast their attitude with that of the Algerian players and the sadness on the face their coach when they lost to Germany. :thumb: Thats how to do yourself, and your Nation proud, give your all and see where it takes you.

I think it is quite obvious to everyone now why the 1994 Super Eagles are still held so high in the estimation of Nigerian fans and many fans all around the world.
YNWA

heavyd wrote:
oloye wrote:When you have given your all on the field..ain't no need pretending. They equaled the record of those before them..perhaps they are contented with that..the truth be told they improved on our last two previous appearances in the WC..they have something to be contented with.
Thats what i said in the other thread... they lacked the desire and hunger to make history... they were content with what they had achieved. Thats really disappointing. Many of them will not play in the World cup again... why not seize your chance and if you have to go out go out fighting.
Contrast their attitude with that of the Algerian players and the sadness on the face their coach when they lost to Germany. :thumb: Thats how to do yourself, and your Nation proud, give your all and see where it takes you.

I think it is quite obvious to everyone now why the 1994 Super Eagles are still held so high in the estimation of Nigerian fans and many fans all around the world.
The Algerians should be sad, they had greater opportunities to win the game, all the commentaries i listened to agreed that the Algerians were the better team and deserved to win. We cannot even compare the two...not by any stretch. Losing they had under control would always leave them with a bitter feeling in their mouth. It does not mean we have lesser desire some players handle a loss more than others. When you have been in a WC 3 times and a veteran at major tournaments, you learn how to handle setbacks better than those who are just coming there. It does not mean the desire is less, they are just equiped to handle the set backs more.

Larry Ashagbe 1

Post by Larry Ashagbe 1 »

Here is a link to a video clip talking about his future and considering retirement.

He does not seem sure what he wants to do next regarding SE.

Knowing Enyeama, I would say he is NOT 100% retiring.

It was probably the heat of the moment after the defeat by France.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Larry Ashagbe 1 wrote:

Here is a link to a video clip talking about his future and considering retirement.

He does not seem sure what he wants to do next regarding SE.

Knowing Enyeama, I would say he is NOT 100% retiring.

It was probably the heat of the moment after the defeat by France.
I guess much will depend on our new coach and how hard he tries to convince Enyeama to stay.
If Enyeama feels well appeciated by a new hopeful coach I doubt Enyeama will turn Nigeria down.

Naija 4 life!
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

Not all the players, and nothing sad about it.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
Chief Bambostic

Post by Chief Bambostic »

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

You know, when they say the Nigerian problem is nation wide and generation deep, people still do not get it.

Corruption is not something you simply point at and murmur about to 'fulfil all righteousness' and then move on. Corruption should actually disgust you so much that you can be pushed to extraordinary lengths to repulse it, like a bug in your system, or contaminated food.

Y'all keep going on about selfish players earning a fortune and putting themselves before Nigeria. In short, despite it being the nation's best kept secret that players' and coaches' money and bonuses do not get paid because a bunch of corrupt, shameless and despicable officials want to pocket the money -somebody else's money - you guys STILL insist that the players should do and say nothing about this 'tradition' of corruption.

It has become a tradition because peeps like some of you guys would rather blame the protesting victim than go for the jugular of the armed robber. The fact that they insisted on receiving their money in cash to have it all on record in front of everyone to see; insisted on sharing it even amongst those who didn't even make the final squad, but helped qualify, including the poorly paid home-based players; and the fact that many of these players abroad actually donate to Nigerian charities does not matter at all. For most Nigerians, they have spoilt our World Cup. Finito. Nothing else matters.

Corruption can be both by acts of commission and omission. By saying and doing nothing, or encouraging it either directly or indirectly, you are part of the problem. You blame the players for taking a stance. Too many Nigerians remain silent when their Ogas are chopping a percentage of their salaries every freaking month in bogus 'insurance' and 'pension' schemes, or some other sick scam. It's everywhere, but people just remain quiet because they are powerless. The sad thing is that Nigerians will blame the lone vocal Nigerian that dares to speak up against it. Why? Because he is 'spoiling show' for the rest that are happy with the status quo, or simply grateful, or think it is 'normal'.
Normal as in, tradition. They will probably do the same thing one day when they 'reach there'.

Yeah, we want to win the World Cup, but nobody is willing to take the lead in taking action against this corrupt 'tradition'. It's much easier to blame the players for refusing to take the crap, using the only means they have to achieve it.
KPOM, KPOM, KPOM X 10 - these guys just don't get it. You said it all. Nothing further to add...
brigadoon

Post by brigadoon »

Lolly wrote:

I cannot blame Emenike. Keshi's player selection really screwed him. Previously he relied on his partner in the attack Ideye Brown to feed him the ball. Without Ideye, we had the situation where Emenike now had to venture out to the wings to fetch the ball himself.

I appreciate all that the big boss has done but I will never understand his player selection for this tournament from now till eternity.

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

How about u put your money where ur big mouth is!

How about you donate your next month's salary to building the road in ur village?

You want players to stand by and be screwed of their rights, so you can sit back on ur fat butt, odeku in hand, and watch football!

It is disgraceful that we have fans like you and Lolly...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
kzz5joa

Post by kzz5joa »

They gave their all and did their best. They had nothing to be ashamed of. I still have the picture of Moses goal line clearance in my mind - that is the definition of heart. I'm not sure why anyone would want to question the boys heart, motives or what they should be feeling. They did their best and had Nigerians believing for about 80 mins. I'm sorry, but 2014 feels very much better than 2010.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

kzz5joa wrote:
They gave their all and did their best. They had nothing to be ashamed of. I still have the picture of Moses goal line clearance in my mind - that is the definition of heart. I'm not sure why anyone would want to question the boys heart, motives or what they should be feeling. They did their best and had Nigerians believing for about 80 mins. I'm sorry, but 2014 feels very much better than 2010.
You can surely say that again bro most definitely...
just that i was hoping to feel a bit like i did in 1994...
YNWA

...what we outsiders (fans) don't see is the psychological state of mind for these players. If you baby a baby the baby will be happy. Same thing if you take care of soldiers going into battle they well do well.
I don't believe these players were psychic and ready for the match and the torture of condemnation after.
Simple as that, they are only human and Yes, can't wait to go home.

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

...may be fifa and government should stop giving money to federations, let each and everyone 'germinate' their own funds :???:

heavyd wrote:

I have since learnt not to judge a player's disappointment by how they react in the immediate aftermath of a loss as yesterday

As an example, I found out one of my cousins passed away a long time ago, I burst out laughing profusely (of course people thought me mad and didn't expect the reaction), but when I had time to soak it in, I cried for days up to three months upon the realisation I wont see him again

So you can never judge why a person react the way they do...listen to what they say as well, and chances are by the time they leave Brazil, they will rue the chances missed in the realisation that they will not be part of World Cup 2014 again, in some cases any world cup

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

How about you donate your next month's salary to building the road in ur village?

You want players to stand by and be screwed of their rights, so you can sit back on ur fat butt, odeku in hand, and watch football!

Too funny. You don yoyo for head finish txj.

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.

You are not a fan. Just a mercenary supporter like most people who support players protesting and not training because they want to be paid in advance. Let me help you - A Mercenary is a person motivated solely by a desire for monetary or material gain. That is what our players are. Am sorry, I won't support such. They got paid their match bonuses plus a bit extra but refused to train because they wanted an advance from the FIFA prize money. They even threatened not to travel to Brasilia unless they got their money. They only agreed to play against France after they were paid in cash. What sort of sportsmen are these representing our country.

You want to know what support is? I have spent my cash travelling to many countries supporting the SE and was a founding member of the UK charter of the Nigerian Supporters club. In my decades of supporting the Eagles, the one thing I have noticed is that there is a big difference between the youth players who do it with pride for serving their country, love for the game and for their career compared to those who just want to get paid for a day in the office. I have been supporting the SE since the days of Haruna Ilerika, Victor Oduah, Olayombo, Okalla, Ekeji and the team of the early 70s and those guys earned peanuts but gave their all on the pitch. I support my country not some greedy player who will hold the country to ransom because he wants the government to go and borrow money so that he can be paid in advance. Players come, players go. But SE remains.

blueangel

Post by blueangel »

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:

Oshe O
Well Said Damunk.
NFF also made bonus promises that should be kept to the players.

Had the bonuses not been paid before the French match & Nigeria got knocked out of the World Cup, would they still have paid the bonuses ?