Neymar out of World Cup
That knee to his back fractured his vertebra, he is done according to espnfc.
What is your recommended punishment for Zuniga who applied the knee so brutally?
http://au.eurosport.com/football/world- ... tory.shtml
What is your recommended punishment for Zuniga who applied the knee so brutally?
http://au.eurosport.com/football/world- ... tory.shtml
Brazil's World Cup hopes received a crushing blow when the host nation's team doctor announced the news Neymar is out of the finals with a fractured vertebrae.
Rodrigo Lasmar told Brazil's SportTV: "It's not serious in the sense that it doesn't need surgery, but he'll need to immobilize it to recover. "Unfortunately, he's not going to be able to play," said Lasmar, adding that he expected the recovery period to take at least a few weeks. Brazil face Germany in Belo Horizonte on Tuesday. Brazil manager Luiz Felipe Scolari had stated that Neymar will miss the World Cup semi-final against Germany after suffering a back injury during the last-eight clash against Colombia. Neymar was involved in a heavy collision with Colombia's Juan Camilo Zuniga during the final minutes of their 2-1 victory in Fortaleza - the striker appearing to take a knee in the lower back. Neymar was stretchered off the pitch, looking visibly distressed as he was carried down the tunnel. Brazilian television channel Globo, along with Spanish media outlets, instantly reported that the striker had been taken to a local hospital for tests. However, coach Scolari has since moved to rule Neymar out of the semi-final against Germany. "We lost Neymar on that play, and based on what I've seen, I think it's going to be tough for him to play," Scolari told reporters. "He was kneed in his lower back and he was crying out in pain and I can guarantee it won't be easy for him to recover based on what the doctor told us, and the pain he is in and as it is lower back. I don't know. Let's hope everything goes well." The host nation are already without captain Thiago Silva for the semi-final on Tuesday after the defender picked up another yellow card, and now face an even bigger challenge in the knowledge that their talisman looks set to miss out.
Re: Neymar out of World Cup
ban him for 9 games. this is worse than Suarez bite!
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
- Heliopolis
Neymar out of the World Cup
Horrible news. No shaking though, Fred go pick up the loadNeymar fractures vertebrae, out of World Cup
Brazil will be without star striker Neymar for the remainder of the FIFA World Cup, after he fractured his vertebrae late in the team's 2-1 quarter-final win over Colombia on Friday.
Neymar was carried off the pitch on a stretcher and appeared to be in considerable pain.
http://www.cbc.ca/sports/soccer/brazil2 ... -1.2697032

This one is on the ref. He was at least 3 yellow cards shy of that incidence.
Same punishment as Matuidi got for his horror tackle on Onazi - nothing.
Amen wrote:This one is on the ref. He was at least 3 yellow cards shy of that incidence.
The ref was awful. He condoned a lot of reckless fouls. Had stamped his authority on the game early, that foul might not have occurred.
mystic wrote:Amen wrote:This one is on the ref. He was at least 3 yellow cards shy of that incidence.
The ref was awful. He condoned a lot of reckless fouls. Had he stamped his authority on the game early, that foul might not have occurred.
- African Star
Re: Neymar out of the World Cup
That Columbia player who fouled him should be banned for life, it was a deliberate foul and i told people the moment it happened that Neymar's world cup was over and possibly his career. It was a vicious and deliberate knee to his spinal cord that could have paralyzed him for life. The most vicious foul I have seen for a very long time.
“Whoever invented football should be worshiped as a God.” Hugo Sanchez, Mexican soccer player and coach
- African Star
That Columbia player who fouled him should be banned for life, it was a deliberate foul and i told people the moment it happened that Neymar's world cup was over and possibly his career. It was a vicious and deliberate knee to his spinal cord that could have paralyzed him for life. The most deliberate and vicious foul I have seen for a very long time.
“Whoever invented football should be worshiped as a God.” Hugo Sanchez, Mexican soccer player and coach
...no thread for awful tackle on Nigerian Onazi, na Brazil Neymar u dey worry about, naija people sha.
Abeg let the kid stay home fix himself for him club season.
Re: Neymar out of the World Cup
That was as dirty and vicious a match as I have seen for some time. It rivaled that Portugal v Holland battle of 2006. Except for 1 thing...the referee in that match handed out the cards, actually protecting them.
In this game, it didn't happen. Players like Neymar were not protected. Football lost. The official let it devolve into a farcical rugby match.
Yeah, Brazil won. Hardly in convincing fashion. Colombia absolutely was robbed on that denied goal. But Colombia also was more interested in rugby and football. Brazil obliged. So did the referee.
BS game. My joy in this WC is seriously diminished. This game left a really bad taste in my mouth.
Cheers, Mate
In this game, it didn't happen. Players like Neymar were not protected. Football lost. The official let it devolve into a farcical rugby match.
Yeah, Brazil won. Hardly in convincing fashion. Colombia absolutely was robbed on that denied goal. But Colombia also was more interested in rugby and football. Brazil obliged. So did the referee.
BS game. My joy in this WC is seriously diminished. This game left a really bad taste in my mouth.
Cheers, Mate
...and the stamping on Onazi is what, accident?African Star wrote:That Columbia player who fouled him should be banned for life, it was a deliberate foul and i told people the moment it happened that Neymar's world cup was over and possibly his career. It was a vicious and deliberate knee to his spinal cord that could have paralyzed him for life. The most deliberate and vicious foul I have seen for a very long time.
Amen wrote:This one is on the ref. He was at least 3 yellow cards shy of that incidence.
KPOM. He lost control in what was a farce of a match. Colombia didn't come to play football. Brazil obliged.
Now a great player is out, whom could have suffered a career ending injury. There was nothing but malice on that play. In a match that was growing more malicious.
FIFA again has to seriously look at how games are officiated.
Personally, in its zeal to tilt officiating towards Brazil, ironically it backfired on them with the Neymar injury. Horrible.
Cheers, Mate
mcal wrote:...and the stamping on Onazi is what, accident?African Star wrote:That Columbia player who fouled him should be banned for life, it was a deliberate foul and i told people the moment it happened that Neymar's world cup was over and possibly his career. It was a vicious and deliberate knee to his spinal cord that could have paralyzed him for life. The most deliberate and vicious foul I have seen for a very long time.
Actually, yes. France still should have gotten a red card. That challenge was reckless, not born of malicious intent.
In contrast, this Brazil v Colombia game was downright savage and farcical. Both teams were fouling with intent to disrupt. Some were clearly fouling to injure.
The referee, under the pretext of promoting the flow of the game, didn't use his cards to control the match.
Cheers, Mate
mcal, are you blind or you cant read? Have you not seen the NUMEROUS threads on the onazi incident or you're playing the village 1d1ot here? Come on guy, think or read before you speak.mcal wrote:...no thread for awful tackle on Nigerian Onazi, na Brazil Neymar u dey worry about, naija people sha.
mystic wrote:Amen wrote:This one is on the ref. He was at least 3 yellow cards shy of that incidence.
The ref was awful. He condoned a lot of reckless fouls. Had stamped his authority on the game early, that foul might not have occurred.
Ref was in over his head as la liga refs have a tendency of being.
On the incident, if we bring in the suarez deal once again, the uruayan attempted a bite that barely connected and he's got a 9gm/4mth ban, zuniga just fractured this kid's back ON PURPOSE (matuidi's tackle on onazi was rough but definitely looked like a mistake) and he's going to go scot free??
I believe Brazil started the whole thing. Fernandinho kicked James around the whole game. They were just paid back in their own coin.
"The man died in him who keep silent in the face of tyranny" Wole Soyinka
GreenEagle wrote:I believe Brazil started the whole thing. Fernandinho kicked James around the whole game. They were just paid back in their own coin.
Fernandinho has been playing the hatchet man role for brazil for a few games now.
Fernandinho started this rubbish, too bad neymar paid the priceplatinum wrote:GreenEagle wrote:I believe Brazil started the whole thing. Fernandinho kicked James around the whole game. They were just paid back in their own coin.
Fernandinho has been playing the hatchet man role for brazil for a few games now.
mystic wrote:Same punishment as Matuidi got for his horror tackle on Onazi - nothing.

100%Naija wrote:mystic wrote:Same punishment as Matuidi got for his horror tackle on Onazi - nothing.
one was a mistake, the other was straight up brutality.
- Naija4lyfe
Soccer needs to start looking at video reviews and dish out punishment accordingly
Naija4lyfe
- nanijoe
- Site Admin
Which one was a mistake abeg?
platinum wrote:100%Naija wrote:mystic wrote:Same punishment as Matuidi got for his horror tackle on Onazi - nothing.
one was a mistake, the other was straight up brutality.