Nigeria Football Federation Has Been Suspended by FIFA

Maradona
Nigeria Football Federation Has Been Suspended by FIFA

Post by Maradona »

FIFA Emergency Committee suspends Nigeria Football Federation
The FIFA Emergency Committee has decided today, 9 July 2014, to suspend the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) with immediate effect, on account of government interference. Article 13, par. 1 and article 17, par. 1 of the FIFA Statutes oblige member associations to manage their affairs independently and with no influence from third parties.

The decision follows a letter sent by FIFA to the NFF on 4 July 2014, in which it expressed its great concern after the NFF was served with court proceedings and consequently an order preventing the president of the NFF, the NFF Executive Committee members and the NFF Congress from running the affairs of Nigerian football was granted by a High Court of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The said court order compelled the Nigerian Minister of Sports to appoint a senior member of the civil service to manage the NFF until the matter was heard in court, without giving any date for such a hearing. The authorities then appointed a person who decided to convene an extraordinary general assembly on 5 July 2014. This extraordinary general assembly was convened in violation of the NFF statutes.

Originally, an elective congress had been planned by the NFF to take place on 26 August 2014.

The suspension will be lifted once the court actions have been withdrawn and the properly elected NFF Executive Committee, the NFF general assembly and the NFF administration are able to work without any interference in their affairs.

As a result of this decision, no team from Nigeria of any sort (including clubs) can have any international sporting contact (art. 14 par. 3 of the FIFA Statutes). During the period of suspension, the NFF may not be represented in any regional, continental or international competitions, including at club level, or in friendly matches. The most immediate effect is that Nigeria will not be entitled to participate in the upcoming FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (5-24 August 2014) should the suspension not be lifted by 15 July 2014.

In addition, neither the NFF nor any of its members or officials may benefit from any FIFA or CAF development programmes, courses or training during the suspension period.

http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/organisat ... index.html
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..

"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
Re: Nigeria Football Federation Has Been Suspended by FIFA

Just saw same article.

We knew this was coming, lets see how quickly our government backtracks this time....four years on and still clueless on how to take on fifa is my guess. More than one way to skin a cat and we're still using a way that's failed before.

*Amos Adamu who was suspended by fifa for corruption was among those in the NFF delegation sent to fifa to go over this issue. Who is fooling who here? We need to be smart about this. Fifa is a ridiculously corrupt organization, we have ZERO leverage right now, if we want to do something, we need to wait till we have leverage. Of course, we can always say screw fifa and concentrate on the issues that plague our nation.
patrick

Post by patrick »

We saw it coming!!!!! SMH
When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more

:D :D :D :D

Do we ever learn. Watch us fail to qualify for Maroc 2015 now

onwuatuegwu

Post by onwuatuegwu »

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Zee you are a bit quiet

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=251355
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

Great now Keshi can go home

Good. We should stand our ground until the NFF elections in August and then elect new people into these positions. FIFA can eff off for all I care. Why didn't they shout government interference when both Nigeria and Ghana were ferrying millions of $ to Brazil to add extra off the field spectacle to their WC. Like others have said, we saw it coming and are not surprised.

I also hope some animals from the former board are not going and feeding FIFA with all manner of nonsense. If any is found involved in such behaviour, they should have the book thrown at them for treason.

On this I support the government 100%. Time to man up.
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

Nigeria should be looking back on a relatively successful 18 months. Instead they face a ban from international football. Ridiculous.

Sauce
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe
onwuatuegwu

Post by onwuatuegwu »

Time for us to cool off and maybe come back with a bang and win something like in Atlanta 96

onwuatuegwu wrote:Time for us to cool off and maybe come back with a bang and win something like in Atlanta 96
They will been waiting for us

onwuatuegwu wrote:Time for us to cool off and maybe come back with a bang and win something like in Atlanta 96
:lol: :lol: :lol: una tink say una go carry your lawlessness come FIFA?

The crude politricks we play thinking that we are above the law doesn't work internationally.

Chxta wrote:Nigeria should be looking back on a relatively successful 18 months. Instead they face a ban from international football. Ridiculous.

Sauce
Its a suspension, which will be lifted as soon as the NFF congress elects new leadership, which is in August leaving plenty time for the Eagles to prepare for the start of Nations Cup qualifying. Its the U-20 Falconettes I fee sorry for, but we must man up to FIFA on this one, we just must.

The crude politricks we play thinking that we are above the law doesn't work internationally.
Are you saying your uncle GEJ is playing politricks with our soccer?

ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

I thought you are a fan of crude politricks now una realize there are consequences for crude action. Keshi is at fault. Instead of reporting to his employers, he was bypassing them for the presidency and most of you guys were hailing him
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

NGN2.08 billions! That is how much the NFF collected from our government to prosecute the World Cup. It MUST be accounted for.
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

4uk fifa and thier attitude. so if 2 parties genuinely seek court redress hat is suppose to happen? They are taking this football sh't too far. It's about time we develop another sport. No be by force
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

Shownoja wrote:
Chxta wrote:Nigeria should be looking back on a relatively successful 18 months. Instead they face a ban from international football. Ridiculous.

Sauce
Its a suspension, which will be lifted as soon as the NFF congress elects new leadership, which is in August leaving plenty time for the Eagles to prepare for the start of Nations Cup qualifying. Its the U-20 Falconettes I fee sorry for, but we must man up to FIFA on this one, we just must.
I highlighted that bit for other reasons bros.
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

ugly boy wrote:

I thought you are a fan of crude politricks now una realize there are consequences for crude action. Keshi is at fault. Instead of reporting to his employers, he was bypassing them for the presidency and most of you guys were hailing him
Crude politricks is the purview of your party, Alqueda Peoples Congress...

If they wanted to get rid of Maigari team they could have used EFCC and ICPC to tie them up that they wont have time to run for election or re-election...

:clap: :clap: :clap:lovely , now hopefully the contribution from the agents, innercauses, slaps, starting lineups to this forum will help NFF .. i wonder what inner 3rd hand information will be saying of late.. bobo has been very quiet for a while now.. the juicy stories where very helpful in organizing our football :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: smh misplaced priorities ... like given out re-charge cards on twitter :laugh:

hopefully ifoti designer slippers will be awarded to FIFA..I hope the Nigerian government stands firm especially on those slippers
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Bigpokey24 wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:
Don't even think we are going to forget Mikel's horrible display because of FIFA suspension.

toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Shownoja wrote:

Sauce
I doubt that the suspension will be lifted until the Maigari board is reinstated and they can then organise new elections.
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower