Etim Esin: "Sad to see ex-soccer stars die in penury"

Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Etim Esin: Sad to see ex-soccer stars die in penury

Sep 28, 2014Our CorrespondentSports0

What is your greatest moment in football?

My greatest moment in football was when I wore the Nigerian jersey playing for the Super Eagles. That was my happiest moment that my dream came true playing for my fatherland. It was the match against Gabon in 1988 at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu.

Do you have any regret playing for Nigeria?

The regret is when you see the treatment meted out to Sam Okwaraji who died playing for Nigeria at the National Stadium, Lagos in 1989 against Angola. They just put one Statue in front of the stadium, no Foundation and the federal government has done nothing to remember him. And the poor treatments they are meting out to ex-internationals always make me sad. It so sad seeing soccer stars who played side-by-side with me in the national team of Nigeria die in penury, players like Thompson Oliha, Chris Anigala and so many more. It is very painful; I think we need a leader in the NFF that would bring NANF and APFON together so that they can plan for better life for ex-internationals and ex-players generally.

In the next few weeks, an Olympic Stadium will be opened in your state Akwa Ibom. Are you in any of the programmes of event?

They say charity begins at home, if they believe that I deserve such recognition so be it and if it is the opposite, no problem life continues. I have already surrendered my life and I don’t need to start pursuing anything, nothing matters to me in life anymore. My focus now is just to see my kids grow and see my family do well that is important to me, but the rest I leave it to God. It’s all good. If they deem it fit that Etim Esin should be recognised one day in Akwa Ibom so be it and if they think otherwise, it is all good. Multi-choice has been doing this Football Legend show; ask me how many Akwa Ibomites have been called to do the legend show, ask me, may be two or three, if not even one except Friday Ekpo. If you want to talk about Akwa Ibom football legends you talk about Etim Esin, Friday Ekpo and others. We lost one of us Uwem Ekarika. How many of us left? We are very few and we can’t even recognise our own it is a very sad situation.

When did you start playing serious football?

I started playing serious football with Calabar Rovers in 1984 when I left Methodist Boys High School, Oron. I joined the club directly from school because of my talent. It was Coach Charles Bassey that picked up from secondary school. After playing for Rovers, I moved to Flash Flamengos of Benin. From here the journey took me to Iwuanyanwu Nationale of Owerri in 1987, it was from here that I moved to Belgium to play professional football in Europe after the U-20 World Cup in Chile. Stephen Keshi had earlier moved to Belgium in 1986 from his former club in Cote d’ Ivoire before we joined him in 1987.

How was the journey like in Belgium?

My journey in Belgium was a mixed fortune as I had some good and not too pleasant at the end of the day. I joined Ghent FC in 1987. That was my first club in Europe. The team had been in Nigeria for a pre-season tour sponsored by Pepsi-Cola then and they picked me from here. We were two who were picked; it was together with Augustine Eguavoen. When I left Ghent I joined Lokeren, from here I moved to S.K Lierse, which was my last club in Belgium before my rape case came up. I was moving to SC Braga of Portugal before that incident happened. I already signed a contract with the club.

What really happened?

I was leaving for Portugal to my new club for a bigger deal, but my white girlfriend who I had no plan to marry framed me up. When I told her I was planning to move to Portugal it was big trouble. I had a very good contract in Belgium as a young man, I was doing well and I had no reason to rape anybody. It was a total frame up more so when they knew I was young immigrant, naive and full of youthful distractions. I paid the price; I thank God that I am alive today.

While playing in Nigeria did you win any club laurel?

Yes, I did. I won the FA Cup title with Julius Berger FC of Lagos in 1996 when the late Chief Daniel Idama was the club chairman. This was my only club laurel in Nigeria; I didn’t win any title while at Calabar Rovers, Flash Flamingos and Iwuanyanwu Nationale. The best level I got was the finals of the FA Cup. I also won bronze with Flash Flamingos.

http://newtelegraphonline.com/etim-esin ... in-penury/
Last edited by Toxicarrow on Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Re: Etim Esin: Sad to see ex-soccer stars die in penury

Your thread title is misleading and even very alarming. Its as if Etim Esin just died. :shock:
I know you simply cut and pasted from the original article, but its better you teach the so-called journalist a lesson in the basics by putting the Etim Esin statement in quotes.
Biko. Save a few heart attacks. :idea:
goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

Etim Esin, experience is indeed the best teacher. Good luck
Goldenera94
goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

I remember in the Main Bowl, 1991, Agboola's first warm-up for Eagles against ACB. Etim and Siasia refused to play. Etim walked into the Arena half time, hear the crowd go crazy and he briefly spoke with Siasia on the side and left the Main Bowl. Then, Coach Tunde Disu went and talked Siasia into dressing up, and he subsequently came on in the second half. These crew of Keshi's era were full of dramas.
Goldenera94

What a sensational thread title, mods :roll:

The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

Damunk wrote:Your thread title is misleading and even very alarming. Its as if Etim Esin just died. :shock:
I know you simply cut and pasted from the original article, but its better you teach the so-called journalist a lesson in the basics by putting the Etim Esin statement in quotes.

well you as a moderator can change the title. why haven't one of you (including the thread starter) done this?

I have a feeling the thread starter wanted to create this ambiguity...
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

The Notorious B!GGESTMAN wrote:
Damunk wrote:Your thread title is misleading and even very alarming. Its as if Etim Esin just died. :shock:

well you as a moderator can change the title. why haven't one of you (including the thread starter) done this?

I have a feeling the thread starter wanted to create this ambiguity...
I did not write the headline. It was taken directly from the source. More importantly, if you had paid attention, the "ex-soccer stars" line was in plural form. Henceforth, it cannot directly or indirectly imply that Etim Esim has died.
Last edited by Toxicarrow on Sun Sep 28, 2014 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Why do people do this..i opened this thread with my heart in my mouth afraid that Etim had passed...

opine

Post by opine »

I no go lie, this thread title gave me heart attack
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Damunk: Good that you noticed that the headline came directly from the source. While the headlines are often written to grab people's attention, I agreed that the quotation marks can be put around statement to avoid confusion. Personally, I think that it might still achieve the same effect that the editors aimed for.

Anyways, as you suggested, I have put "quotation marks" on the statement from Etim that the editors wanted to highlight from the interview, without making any major editorial change to the headline.
The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

oloye wrote:Why do people do this..i opened this thread with my heart in my mouth afraid that Etim had passed...

you dey mind am? The thread starter is still making excuses! Trust me, he knew what he was doing!
Last edited by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN on Sun Sep 28, 2014 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
Re: Etim Esin: "Sad to see ex-soccer stars die in penury"

Did not know that Ekarika and Idama are dead. RIP to both of them.

Now to the issues raised by Etim, seems he and his likes are suffering from entitlement mentality. What really have they done? They represented Nigeria and they got PAID handsomely for it. They got paid more than what most other nations pay their representatives.

No reason for the ex internationals (after the 1980 ANC trophy) to die in penury! What did they do with the money they earned during their playing career? At a point, people need to own up to their mistakes instead of blaming others everytime.

How much did Nigeria give our Nobel Laureute? How much do we give National Merit Award winners? How much do we give to the teachers all over the nation? How much do we give the military men defending the nation? How have we honoured those that sacrificed their lives for the unity of Nigeria? The ex internationals had and lived a life that only FEW Nigerians caan dream about YET they whine all the time!

What are the so called ex international given to the nation that provided a platform for them to be what they are to day. God bless people like Kanu Nwankwo :thumbs:

I hope the current stars are learning from the mistakes of the 'ex internationals'.

Toxicarrow wrote:
Damunk: Good that you noticed that the headline came directly from the source. While the headlines are often written to grab people's attention, I agreed that the quotation marks can be put around statement to avoid confusion. Personally, I think that it might still achieve the same effect that the editors aimed for.

Anyways, as you suggested, I have put "quotation marks" on the statement from Etim that the editors wanted to highlight from the interview, without making any major editorial change to the headline.
Thanks Toxicarrow. :thumb:

toxic, sincerely your head no dey house
tsoolo

Post by tsoolo »

The last time I checked, dead men and women do not speak/talk. There is nothing misleading about the thread title.
Etim Esin is speaking his mind and it presupposes that he is alive and well.
The greatset gift of life is the gift of learning, that gift is incomplete unless it is passed on - Annonymous

wanaj0 wrote:Did not know that Ekarika and Idama are dead. RIP to both of them.

Now to the issues raised by Etim, seems he and his likes are suffering from entitlement mentality. What really have they done? They represented Nigeria and they got PAID handsomely for it. They got paid more than what most other nations pay their representatives.

No reason for the ex internationals (after the 1980 ANC trophy) to die in penury! What did they do with the money they earned during their playing career? At a point, people need to own up to their mistakes instead of blaming others everytime.

How much did Nigeria give our Nobel Laureute? How much do we give National Merit Award winners? How much do we give to the teachers all over the nation? How much do we give the military men defending the nation? How have we honoured those that sacrificed their lives for the unity of Nigeria? The ex internationals had and lived a life that only FEW Nigerians caan dream about YET they whine all the time!

What are the so called ex international given to the nation that provided a platform for them to be what they are to day. God bless people like Kanu Nwankwo :thumbs:

I hope the current stars are learning from the mistakes of the 'ex internationals'.
...government hand outs is addictive. Pay a naija journo then lament your case for money. Just a shame reading that.

tsoolo wrote:

The last time I checked, dead men and women do not speak/talk. There is nothing misleading about the thread title.
Etim Esin is speaking his mind and it presupposes that he is alive and well.
I think you joined the discussion a little late - after the quotes had been inserted. :idea:

P.Diddy,

There wasn't any need to modify the title. The colon makes it obvious that the quote was from Etim. But you can't help it since you're the one and only PDD (power-drunk Damunk).

na joke I dey joke o. Thanks for your service to the website

Some of you didn't read Awe's english books. :mrgreen:

Is as clear as day that Esin was the one making the comment and did not die.

balo wrote:Some of you didn't read Awe's english books. :mrgreen:

Did you see the original thread title? You are running commentary on a match you didn't watch.
Na wa.

Did you see the original thread title? You are running commentary on a match you didn't watch.
Na wa.

I commented on the match I watched. Most likely you saw the game in black and white. :mrgreen:

Na wa.

I commented on the match I watched. Most likely you saw the game in black and white. :mrgreen:
I did, and it was originally stated in ....'black and white'. Very clear. :taunt:
gmoni1

Post by gmoni1 »

I thought Etim passed on going by the title..