Amaju: Keshi's Future To Be Decided After Sudan Clash
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 7:31 pm
by Bobo Dan
Amaju: Keshi's Future To Be Decided After Sudan Clash
http://www.sl10.ng/news/articles/catego ... tch/178263?
Newly elected President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Pinnick has spoken about the very controversial issue of renewing Stephen Keshi's contract as the Super Eagles coach.
Speaking during his inaugural speech, Pinick said the focus now should be on the games against Sudan, before his board can then look at Keshi's issue.
"I think the focus now should really be on the games against Sudan because we haven't started well.
"Of course we will look at the situation afterwards but at the moment those games should come first. We have to qualify for the Africa Cup of Nations next year," he said.
The issue of retaining Keshi or not has been a very topical issue in the country's football, with the previous board seemingly unwilling to renew Keshi's contract, but it remains to be seen what the new board will decide when they finally stabilise.
Keshi will lead the country to the two games against Sudan this month on an interim basis and it is believed that his future with the Super Eagles is contingent upon the outcome of those games.
An improvement in fortunes could see the 52-year old offered a new deal but anything short of that could be the end of him as the Super Eagles manager.
Re: Amaju: Keshi's Future To Be Decided After Sudan Clash
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 7:34 pm
by Bobo Dan
AF.com EXCLUSIVE: Keshi may not get New Contract
http://africanfootball.com//news/464817 ... w-contract?
Wednesday Oct 01, 2014. 12:33
Coach Stephen Keshi is not likely to be given a new contract by the newly elected NFF executive committee, AfricanFootball.com has scooped.
A majority of the new NFF leadership does not believe in the coach and even though he will supervise the two AFCON qualifiers against Sudan later this month, he will not be offered a new deal.
“Most members of the old board under Aminu Maigari have been returned, including Chris Green, who was technical committee chairman, and that can only mean bad news for Keshi,” a top source informed AfricanFootball.com
“But most importantly even the newly elected executives, the very top officials, do not support Keshi continuing as coach.”
It is believed that Keshi will only be left in charge of the team for the matches against Sudan home and away and thereafter a decision will be taken especially if by then Nigeria have mathematically lost out on qualifying for the Nations Cup in Morocco.
Keshi has become increasingly nervous since after the NFF elections in Warri on Tuesday because he is seriously in danger of losing the plum job now.
Recently some of his highly-placed backers had put pressure on the NFF secretariat to give the coach a contract, but that could not come through because only the executive committee has the power to appoint a coach.
Keshi’s problems have been further compounded by the renewed interest of former Eagles coach Samson Siasia in the job.
Siasia has publicly said he will be interested in returning to his former post if he is offered the chance again after he was fired three years ago when Nigeria failed to qualify for the 2012 AFCON.
“Keshi took the job from me and if I’m given the job again, I will take it,” he said in a radio interview.
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:13 pm
by smartbrother
Bobo Dan wrote:Amaju: Keshi's Future To Be Decided After Sudan Clash
see the smile on his ugly thieving face
Amaju's tenure as President hinges on how decisively he deals with this buffoon
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:55 pm
by JACKAL
He is going to fire him anyway..... He just doesn't want to say it so Keshi is not distracted from the Sudan match.
If I were keshi, I would resign now and tell them I was just waiting for the management team to be picked before I left.
Its a lose-lose situation for Keshi regardless of whether he wins the game or not. If he loses then they are going to say that's why the didn't give him a contract, if he wins they will say the previous performances have been too bad to continue. Keshi can save face by just leaving now so he can come back in the future. Total failure now condemns him forever from coaching the eagles ever again.
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:16 pm
by anointed
The eventual election of Pinnick or the NFF Board in general is down to Jonathan displeasure and tongue lashing (so I heard) of Dagogo especially with Dagogo's intention to use his PA as NFF Gen Sec. Jonathan, who said he was embarrassed by the yo-yo situation in NFF, was said to have ordered Dagogo to hands off NFF. You could almost say Pinnick was Jonathan's candidate though not directly (when Jonathan asked Dagogo to hands off, the person whom Jonathan asked to sort out the NFF presented Pinnick to Jonathan)
The point is that since Keshi's only godfather has been Dagogo, it is likely that he's toast now that he has been asked to hands off. I'm sure Dagogo will stage a comeback sha as soon as NFF makes its first error or if Keshi sees Naija thru to afcon 2015. We wait and see.
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:17 pm
by anointed
Solowe wrote:He is going to fire him anyway..... He just doesn't want to say it so Keshi is not distracted from the Sudan match.
If I were keshi, I would resign now and tell them I was just waiting for the management team to be picked before I left.
Its a lose-lose situation for Keshi regardless of whether he wins the game or not. If he loses then they are going to say that's why the didn't give him a contract, if he wins they will say the previous performances have been too bad to continue. Keshi can save face by just leaving now so he can come back in the future. Total failure now condemns him forever from coaching the eagles ever again.
He should have taken the Angolan job.
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:26 pm
by 1naija
anointed wrote:The eventual election of Pinnick or the NFF Board in general is down to Jonathan displeasure and tongue lashing (so I heard) of Dagogo especially with Dagogo's intention to use his PA as NFF Gen Sec. Jonathan, who said he was embarrassed by the yo-yo situation in NFF, was said to have ordered Dagogo to hands off NFF. You could almost say Pinnick was Jonathan's candidate though not directly (when Jonathan asked Dagogo to hands off, the person whom Jonathan asked to sort out the NFF presented Pinnick to Jonathan)
The point is that since Keshi's only godfather has been Dagogo, it is likely that he's toast now that he has been asked to hands off. I'm sure Dagogo will stage a comeback sha as soon as NFF makes its first error or if Keshi sees Naija thru to afcon 2015. We wait and see.
Which Pepper soup joint this jist dey flow from so? Their Nkwobi look like this make I no whether make I hit the joint next time I dey town.

Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:27 pm
by JACKAL
anointed wrote:Solowe wrote:He is going to fire him anyway..... He just doesn't want to say it so Keshi is not distracted from the Sudan match.
I don't think there was an Angolan job... seems like to a rouse for negotiations.
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:35 pm
by anointed
Solowe wrote:anointed wrote:Solowe wrote:He is going to fire him anyway..... He just doesn't want to say it so Keshi is not distracted from the Sudan match.
I don't think there was an Angolan job... seems like to a rouse for negotiations.

Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:37 pm
by anointed
1naija wrote:anointed wrote:The eventual election of Pinnick or the NFF Board in general is down to Jonathan displeasure and tongue lashing (so I heard) of Dagogo especially with Dagogo's intention to use his PA as NFF Gen Sec. Jonathan, who said he was embarrassed by the yo-yo situation in NFF, was said to have ordered Dagogo to hands off NFF. You could almost say Pinnick was Jonathan's candidate though not directly (when Jonathan asked Dagogo to hands off, the person whom Jonathan asked to sort out the NFF presented Pinnick to Jonathan)
Which Pepper soup joint this jist dey flow from so? Their Nkwobi look like this make I no whether make I hit the joint next time I dey town.
Not a pepper soup joint but a beer parlour
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:50 pm
by Odas
Solowe wrote:He is going to fire him anyway..... He just doesn't want to say it so Keshi is not distracted from the Sudan match.
Keshi dug his own GRAVE and he may as well walk into it and bury himself alive. His continued invitation of some "useless" players did him-in and he should blame himself. It appears he either does not want to learn from his past mistakes.
Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:31 pm
by Goldleaf
KPOM!
You read the situation well.

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:55 am
by monkeypost
Keshi will remain as our National Manager with Pinnick in charge.
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:05 pm
by Lolly
The Amaju guy was on Supersport's Monday Night Football tonight where he more or less said they will ensure Keshi gets all the help he needs before they decide if he is not going to take us forward. He acknowledged Keshi's hero status and seems keen to give Keshi as much time as possible to fix what is wrong. He also said they will look into having guidelines for player selection that would make it difficult from shock invitations such as the guy plying his trade in China to be invited above others who are playing well in better leagues. To be honest, I think the guy was just being diplomatic. Keshi is on his last legs.
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:23 am
by Goldleaf
Win or lose against Sudan, I believe Amaju Pinnick will sack Stephen Keshi.