CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

Seeing from @BBCVK: Morocco will not host 2015 Cup of Nations according to CAF – also disqualified from the 2015 tournament. @BBCAfrica
Last edited by Purity on Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: BREAKING: CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

A reliable source says, Gabon will host the 2015 AFCON.
Re: CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

Good disqualification. I doubt the Moroccans care but CAF had to do this, it may not be heavy enough a punishment even.

A very beautiful action by CAF. I applaud the action taken against Morocco

They should ban them from more ANCs

YUJAM wrote:They should ban them from more ANCs
they will not . Kenya wasn't banned when they pulled out from hosting 2000 AFCON

Kenya didn't pull out less then 2 months before the tournament proper...

i agree with Morocco's decisions, but I am confused by the fact they will host a tournament next month

Bigpokey24 wrote:i agree with Morocco's decisions, but I am confused by the fact they will host a tournament next month
I do not agree with their decision especially when they have hosted all Guinea's qualification games...Why host Guinea if you have a problem hosting the continent? Ol'boy e no make no sense

My thought as well. Minimum 2 tournaments.

Post by Super Eagle »

CAF should disqualify them from the 2017 edition too.

They are more interested in the Arabic version anyway :roll:
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Kenya didn't pull out less then 2 months before the tournament proper...
What you meant to tell Bigpokey is Kenya didn't withdraw in 2000. They withdrew in 1996.

It was Zimbabwe in 2000, and I don't think they deliberately wanted to withdraw.

PS: Side fact .... if Kenya had not withdrawn as hosts, the Eagles would have defended their 1994 trophy, and we would currently have 4 (or 5 counting 1998 :twisted: ) trophies instead of 3.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

Bigpokey24 wrote:i agree with Morocco's decisions, but I am confused by the fact they will host a tournament next month
I do not agree with their decision especially when they have hosted all Guinea's qualification games...Why host Guinea if you have a problem hosting the continent? Ol'boy e no make no sense
KPOM. That decision to host Guinea and then turn around to refuse the AFCON that may well not even have Guinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia is difficult to understand -- Where is the logic? CAF has to set an example with Morocco. Kudos.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: BREAKING: CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

papparassi Sport wrote:A reliable source says, Gabon will host the 2015 AFCON.
May be we no go go this Gabon again.
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

I can't make sense of Morocco's decision at all. I can't even accuse them of not wanting Black Africans stomping all over their territory because they agreed to host Guinea, one of the worst Ebola-affected countries. And they are hosting a global event to boot. I think they should be banned from at least two ANC editions. They would probably prefer to play in Arab Championships anyway.

I think CAF should have waited till after the qualifiers.. Morocco could easily host since fans from Liberia and Guinea won't be attending cos they are not likely to qualify. African teams hardly travel out. I can not imagine a Liberian fan traveling to Monrovia to spend thousand dollars in Morocco.

KPOM. That decision to host Guinea and then turn around to refuse the AFCON that may well not even have Guinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia is difficult to understand -- Where is the logic? CAF has to set an example with Morocco. Kudos.
this is head scratching to be honest. do not get them..anyways, their football team hasn't been top notch for a long time

The only point I've read so far that made any kind of sense was the tourism aspect. Tourism is one of the key economic activities of that country and they were possibly worried about how hosting an ANC (not much financial benefit to that) would affect the flow of tourists to Morocco. i.e. loss of tourists becuse tourists wouldn't want to come to a country bringing all those Africans 'with' ebola.

Gabon will make great hosts
I suspect they will be one of the tournament favourites
Morocco should be suspended from African football indefinitely
MOROCCO NATIONAL TEAM BANNEN FROM AFCON

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

My Naija Brodas
It's all about the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Morocco's economy is very dependent upon tourism(about 20% of GDP).
In 2013, she attracted over 10 million "RICH" international tourists. (= $7.5 BILLION)
AFCON can bring in something like 100,000 "POOR" tourist (= $3 MILLION), who might not even want to go back home :laugh:

Now, if the perception of the RICH tourists is that the POOR tourist infested the country with Ebola
They will stay home, which will cost Morocco ($3 MILLION - $7.5 BILLION)

It was a no brainer for Morocco
Last edited by Rawlings on Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

papparassi Sport wrote:Seeing from @BBCVK: Morocco will not host 2015 Cup of Nations according to CAF – also disqualified from the 2015 tournament. @BBCAfrica
It would have been nice if they were also suspended from CAF...

ghana_cia

Post by ghana_cia »

good for the Moroccans, i applaud them, Ebola is too serious to joke with