Page 1 of 2

CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:55 pm
by Purity
Seeing from @BBCVK: Morocco will not host 2015 Cup of Nations according to CAF – also disqualified from the 2015 tournament. @BBCAfrica

Re: BREAKING: CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:57 pm
by Purity
A reliable source says, Gabon will host the 2015 AFCON.

Re: CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:36 pm
by platinum
Good disqualification. I doubt the Moroccans care but CAF had to do this, it may not be heavy enough a punishment even.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:38 pm
by Odas
A very beautiful action by CAF. I applaud the action taken against Morocco

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:19 pm
by YUJAM
They should ban them from more ANCs

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm
YUJAM wrote:They should ban them from more ANCs
they will not . Kenya wasn't banned when they pulled out from hosting 2000 AFCON

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:35 pm
by Robbynice
they will not . Kenya wasn't banned when they pulled out from hosting 2000 AFCON
Kenya didn't pull out less then 2 months before the tournament proper...

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:37 pm
i agree with Morocco's decisions, but I am confused by the fact they will host a tournament next month

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:49 pm
by Robbynice
Bigpokey24 wrote:i agree with Morocco's decisions, but I am confused by the fact they will host a tournament next month
I do not agree with their decision especially when they have hosted all Guinea's qualification games...Why host Guinea if you have a problem hosting the continent? Ol'boy e no make no sense

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:22 pm
by platinum

My thought as well. Minimum 2 tournaments.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:40 pm
by Super Eagle
CAF should disqualify them from the 2017 edition too.

They are more interested in the Arabic version anyway :roll:

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:44 pm
by The Eagle
Kenya didn't pull out less then 2 months before the tournament proper...
What you meant to tell Bigpokey is Kenya didn't withdraw in 2000. They withdrew in 1996.

It was Zimbabwe in 2000, and I don't think they deliberately wanted to withdraw.

PS: Side fact .... if Kenya had not withdrawn as hosts, the Eagles would have defended their 1994 trophy, and we would currently have 4 (or 5 counting 1998 :twisted: ) trophies instead of 3.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:07 pm
by Enugu II
Bigpokey24 wrote:i agree with Morocco's decisions, but I am confused by the fact they will host a tournament next month
I do not agree with their decision especially when they have hosted all Guinea's qualification games...Why host Guinea if you have a problem hosting the continent? Ol'boy e no make no sense
KPOM. That decision to host Guinea and then turn around to refuse the AFCON that may well not even have Guinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia is difficult to understand -- Where is the logic? CAF has to set an example with Morocco. Kudos.

Re: BREAKING: CAF disqualifies Morroco from the 2015

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:11 pm
by Sir V
papparassi Sport wrote:A reliable source says, Gabon will host the 2015 AFCON.
May be we no go go this Gabon again.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:13 pm
by ogiso
I can't make sense of Morocco's decision at all. I can't even accuse them of not wanting Black Africans stomping all over their territory because they agreed to host Guinea, one of the worst Ebola-affected countries. And they are hosting a global event to boot. I think they should be banned from at least two ANC editions. They would probably prefer to play in Arab Championships anyway.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:14 pm
by Purity
I think CAF should have waited till after the qualifiers.. Morocco could easily host since fans from Liberia and Guinea won't be attending cos they are not likely to qualify. African teams hardly travel out. I can not imagine a Liberian fan traveling to Monrovia to spend thousand dollars in Morocco.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:19 pm
KPOM. That decision to host Guinea and then turn around to refuse the AFCON that may well not even have Guinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia is difficult to understand -- Where is the logic? CAF has to set an example with Morocco. Kudos.
this is head scratching to be honest. do not get them..anyways, their football team hasn't been top notch for a long time

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:30 pm
by platinum
this is head scratching to be honest. do not get them..anyways, their football team hasn't been top notch for a long time

The only point I've read so far that made any kind of sense was the tourism aspect. Tourism is one of the key economic activities of that country and they were possibly worried about how hosting an ANC (not much financial benefit to that) would affect the flow of tourists to Morocco. i.e. loss of tourists becuse tourists wouldn't want to come to a country bringing all those Africans 'with' ebola.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:33 pm
by smartbrother
Gabon will make great hosts
I suspect they will be one of the tournament favourites
Morocco should be suspended from African football indefinitely

MOROCCO NATIONAL TEAM BANNEN FROM AFCON

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:59 pm
by jette1

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:38 pm
by Rawlings
My Naija Brodas
It's all about the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Morocco's economy is very dependent upon tourism(about 20% of GDP).
In 2013, she attracted over 10 million "RICH" international tourists. (= $7.5 BILLION)
AFCON can bring in something like 100,000 "POOR" tourist (= $3 MILLION), who might not even want to go back home :laugh:

Now, if the perception of the RICH tourists is that the POOR tourist infested the country with Ebola
They will stay home, which will cost Morocco ($3 MILLION - $7.5 BILLION)

It was a no brainer for Morocco

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:55 pm
by Cellular
papparassi Sport wrote:Seeing from @BBCVK: Morocco will not host 2015 Cup of Nations according to CAF – also disqualified from the 2015 tournament. @BBCAfrica
It would have been nice if they were also suspended from CAF...

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:23 am
by ghana_cia
good for the Moroccans, i applaud them, Ebola is too serious to joke with