Best Final We Could Have Asked For..

is this one btwn CIV and Ghana

It is an all W African finals between two neighboring countries.

They are arguably the two best sides in the continent at the moment, having both beaten the supposed favorites.

They also represent the best footballing region on the continent

Both sides are loaded with quality players from top leagues

The last time one of these sides won the tourney was over two decades ago
aykwes8
Re: Best Final We Could Have Asked For..

Post by aykwes8 »

YUJAM wrote:is this one btwn CIV and Ghana

They are arguably the two best sides in the continent at the moment, having both beaten the supposed favorites.

Not!! They do we don't

Yeah right. We saw what Wakaso did in La Liga. Celtic is decent team even by Euro standards

Acquaye at Parma

Rahman at Augsburg

Ayew at Marseille

Mensah at Evian

John Boye Rennes

Wakaso at Celtic

Astu at Everton

It aint as if these sides are in the lower rungs of Euro football
aykwes8 wrote:

Not!! They do we don't
mardingobob

Post by mardingobob »

Acquah sealed a move to sampdoria 2 days. Most Scouts will record this game. :D

Ghana is playing Team B

Imagine this same Ghana team with the following players on the bench
Asamoah(Juventus)
Muntari (Milan)
Boateng (Schalke)
Schlupp (Leicester)
Duncan(Sampdoria)
Essien (Milan)

Kpom. I agree 100%. This is the final that AFrican football lovers have been dreaming of for the past 3 or 4 Editions.

Who do you think has the upper edge ? I myself cannot call it at all.

Rawlings wrote:Ghana is playing Team B

Asamoah(Juventus)
Muntari (Milan)
Boateng (Schalke)
Schlupp (Leicester)
Duncan(Sampdoria)
Essien (Milan)

Stop this team B nonsense. Yes we know you are missing a lot of players but the majority of your first team is there.

CIV on the other hand have no absentees what so ever.

Midgets coming up with their excuses already. You had your A team at the World Cup and still could not beat useless teams like USA and Portugal. Cant wait for Bony and co deal with your whack stars on sunday.

Asamoah(Juventus)
Muntari (Milan)
Boateng (Schalke)
Schlupp (Leicester)
Duncan(Sampdoria)
Essien (Milan)

Stop this team B nonsense. Yes we know you are missing a lot of players but the majority of your first team is there.

CIV on the other hand have no absentees what so ever.
what will u say if u went into a game without: Enyeama, Obi, Ambrose, Omeruo, Onazi ?
In Naija you call it the Dream team.
In Ghana, it's our B team

Absolute BS. Who do you think you are talking to?

Essien - Finished
Boateng - No big shakes.. Probably never play for Ghana again
Schlupp - Useless.
Duncan - Better at U23
Muntari - Over the hill

The only true world class player you are currently missing is Asamoah. So stop the B team BS..

Asamoah(Juventus)
Muntari (Milan)
Boateng (Schalke)
Schlupp (Leicester)
Duncan(Sampdoria)
Essien (Milan)
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

bret- hart wrote:Midgets coming up with their excuses already. You had your A team at the World Cup and still could not beat useless teams like USA and Portugal. Cant wait for Bony and co deal with your whack stars on sunday.
They should seriously stop the B-team nonsense.
Ghana finally plays as a TEAM and leaving out so called superstars might play a major part in it.
I'm quite convinced Ghana wouldn't have been more successful if all these potential troublemakers had been on board.
To me the only truely missing name who could have further stabilized the team is Kwadwo Asamoah - the rest is past his prime,replaceable or trouble-making material preventing to create a good team chemistry.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

My pt exactly.. Essien, Schlupp, Duncan? :rotf:

DAgrin wrote:
bret- hart wrote:Midgets coming up with their excuses already. You had your A team at the World Cup and still could not beat useless teams like USA and Portugal. Cant wait for Bony and co deal with your whack stars on sunday.
They should seriously stop the B-team nonsense.
Ghana finally plays as a TEAM and leaving out so called superstars might play a major part in it.
I'm quite convinced Ghana wouldn't have been more successful if all these potential troublemakers had been on board.
To me the only truely missing name who could have further stabilized the team is Kwadwo Asamoah - the rest is past his prime,replaceable or trouble-making material preventing to create a good team chemistry.
DADA BOAT

Post by DADA BOAT »

Asamoah(Juventus)
Muntari (Milan)
Boateng (Schalke)
Schlupp (Leicester)
Duncan(Sampdoria)
Essien (Milan)

What is with Ghanaians and this team B nonsense...........Schlupp was part of the qualifying team and was consistently benched by Baba who is Mileeeeeeeeessssssssss ahead of him

Boateng and Essien are past it and are not part of the team period and will never be part of the team

Yes we are missing 2 of our best midfielders Asamoah (injury) and Muntari (suspension) but that does not qualify this as a B team
femibyte

Post by femibyte »

I remember the classic AFCON final between CIV and Ghana in 1992. It was a hard-fought match, with CIV eventually winning 11-10 on penalties. Abedi Pele spurned so many chances to win it for Ghana.
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com
DADA BOAT

Post by DADA BOAT »

femibyte wrote:I remember the classic AFCON final between CIV and Ghana in 1992. It was a hard-fought match, with CIV eventually winning 11-10 on penalties. Abedi Pele spurned so many chances to win it for Ghana.

Abedi did not play in that game..........he was suspended after picking up his second yellow of the tournament in the semi final against Nigeria

it was Tony Yeboah who missed chance after chance

Rubbish from yujam ..no no La liga players

femibyte

Post by femibyte »

DADA BOAT wrote:
femibyte wrote:I remember the classic AFCON final between CIV and Ghana in 1992. It was a hard-fought match, with CIV eventually winning 11-10 on penalties. Abedi Pele spurned so many chances to win it for Ghana.

Abedi did not play in that game..........he was suspended after picking up his second yellow of the tournament in the semi final against Nigeria

Yep, you're right, my bad... :o
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Altobelli

Post by Altobelli »

DADA BOAT wrote:

Yep, Abedi Pele was suspended after he got booked by the Tunisian ref in that semi-final game versus Nigeria. Yeboah missed chances in the final but it was Prince Polley (the chap who scored the winner against Nigeria) that missed an open goal. Joel Tiehi also missed a 1 v 1 with Edward Ansah in the final seconds of extra-time.
Bonita Applebum, say you gotta put me on........
DADA BOAT

Post by DADA BOAT »

Altobelli wrote:
DADA BOAT wrote:

Yep, Abedi Pele was suspended after he got booked by the Tunisian ref in that semi-final game versus Nigeria. Yeboah missed chances in the final but it was Prince Polley (the chap who scored the winner against Nigeria) that missed an open goal. Joel Tiehi also missed a 1 v 1 with Edward Ansah in the final seconds of extra-time.

I will never forgive Prince Polley for that ........but this game was made for Yeboah to finally redeem himself to Ghanaian fans

...with the absence of SE the dogs went to war and the long starving ones finally getting a piece of the pie.
Hope Ghana don't choke.
Hope Ivory Coast do something for their old work horses, finally.
tsoolo

Post by tsoolo »

Ghana has been playing below her (its) potential since time was created. The problem with Ghana is that you cannot mention her (its) problems without being considered the enemy.

If there is a real travesty of justice it is simply that Ghana has never won the world cup - not even once.....and that is sad!!!
The greatset gift of life is the gift of learning, that gift is incomplete unless it is passed on - Annonymous
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

tsoolo wrote:Ghana has been playing below her (its) potential since time was created. The problem with Ghana is that you cannot mention her (its) problems without being considered the enemy.

If there is a real travesty of justice it is simply that Ghana has never won the world cup - not even once.....and that is sad!!!
Ok let's stop reaching so high
When did ghana start qualifying for the world