MESSI in Gabon to lay foundation stone of CAN venue

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ogasir
Re: MESSI in Gabon to lay foundation stone of CAN venue

Post by ogasir »

Really? I swear some of these African countries are dumb. I wonder how much they paid him
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

ogasir wrote:Really? I swear some of these African countries are dumb. I wonder how much they paid him
Gabon leaders have no self pride, I am pleased that Messi treated them with the disdain that they deserve , wore only t-shirt and shorts
opine

Post by opine »

realtrouble wrote:
ogasir wrote:Really? I swear some of these African countries are dumb. I wonder how much they paid him
Gabon leaders have no self pride, I am pleased that Messi treated them with the disdain that they deserve , wore only t-shirt and shorts
Damn :scared:
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?

Kim Khadashain was paid $500K to spend 45 minutes in Naija
(http://saharareporters.com/2013/02/18/k ... ria-photos)

at least Gabon invited somebody with a lot of talent (outside the bedroom) :laugh:

Rawlings wrote:Kim Khadashain was paid $500K to spend 45 minutes in Naija

at least Gabon invited somebody with a lot of talent (outside the bedroom) :laugh:
Africans are not ready Obama went to Ghana just to make them dance & the USA will benefit from the real reason he visited!
eyan

Post by eyan »

Ratlings, I guess you can't differentiate with private (showbiz) and public fund.

Enugu II wrote:Image
The idiocy of these moos. Goodness. :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

Just look at that picture. It is a disgrace. :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

Total disrespect for the Gabonese by Messi. But some of you are OK with it.

The KK was bad but it was down to private individuals trying to make some money. it is not different from inviting a singer or any other type of performer to a function. Nigerians do this all the time, for example I have been to New Year's Eve Parties at Ikoyi Club in Lagos where American singers perform alongside Nigerian artistes.

But this Messi thing is a Govt initiative, sanctioned by the state. He is given red carpet (albeit a dirty carpet) treatment reserved for state dignitaries and he Messi not used to such occasions dresses in a manner which exposes the idiocy and stupidity of the Gabon officials. Of course, we all know this is a ruse. Another chop chop scheme in Africa. :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

ohsee wrote:Total disrespect for the Gabonese by Messi. But some of you are OK with it.
I hear you my broda but I nor blame am. Messi is a footballer, it is only in African countries with idiotic dumb corrupt leaders that he will be invited and given such attention state officials. The guy is just a footballer, what does he know about official state etiquette?
yannick

Post by yannick »

African legends like Etoo, DD , Abedi, Weah, JJ or Kanu etc would have been more befitting for this sort of thing..my own tuppence. But hey, that's what the Gabon govt wanted...their call their money; and Messi looks way too informal and disinterested in that pic, all for some wholesome amount of cash he will get paid for just "showing up"
jb

Post by jb »

T-shirt and some cheap shorts. I guess he showcasing his tattoo a thing of honor and glory in Ghana. I'm sure they have picked it up already. Messi's next stop is..........Gold Coast.

If they wanted him in formal wear they should have told him so.

Enugu II wrote:Image
...sad, but oyinbo na oyinbo.
If an African player had dressed like that, a ruffian, motor park tout, to an official function come see outrage.

yannick wrote:African legends like Etoo, DD , Abedi, Weah, JJ or Kanu etc would have been more befitting for this sort of thing..my own tuppence. But hey, that's what the Gabon govt wanted...their call their money; and Messi looks way too informal and disinterested in that pic, all for some wholesome amount of cash he will get paid for just "showing up"
...probably was wearing a breathing mask till that picture...reminds of Kim Kardashian $$$ 'coup' against inferiority complex Nigerians. Oyinbo na oyinbo :sad:

realtrouble wrote:
...by extension, African leadership. I won't be surprised Picknic do such thing or similar, as he has compared Oliseh to Pep.
jb

Post by jb »

Messi himself is surprised that he is getting that type of reception. The look on his face is suggestive of.... "Why me, even red carpet sef.....and I never win world cup o. Wetin dem go come do if I come win world cup? Why did they even call me, dem no see Gyan, abi dem don tire for azonto?"

Make una do research before una attack oh! He was fulfilling a promise he made to Eto'o
Lionel Messi and Deco are on their way to Gabon, where they will help lay the first stones in the building of the Port-Genil stadium, which is expected to host matches at the 2017 Afican Cup of Nations.

The Argentine star and the former Portuguese international, who have maintained a good relationship since they played together at Barcelona, posed together for a photo on the plane, which was later posted by Samuel Eto'o on social media sites.

Eto'o, who wasn't with them on the plane, has had a training centre in Gabon for the last three years and has thanked Messi and Deco for keeping their word and visiting the African country.

"I wish you @leomessi a safe journey to my other country Gabon," Eto'o wrote, alongside the image. "There, you will discover warm and welcoming people.

"Thank you for keeping your promise! I couldn't be there with you because my agenda didn't allow for it, but enjoy your stay. As agreed, after Libreville, it will be Yaoundw. See you soon! SEF."
http://www.sport-english.com/en/noticia ... oo-4365784

The arrival of Messi in Gabon provoked a great deal of expectation and he was met by crowds of people at the airport. He is in Gabon at the request of his former teammate Samuel Eto'o, who does a lot of work in the country and owns several football schools.
http://www.sport-english.com/en/news/ba ... nt-4367605

metalalloy wrote:Make una do research before una attack oh! He was fulfilling a promise he made to Eto'o
Bros metal,
Wedda-wedda he made promise or not, this is how a young, aware and respectful sports star dresses when he visits an African country.

I don't mind his coming but he should have dressed more formal eg wearing traditional African attire or suit and tie. Heck wearing the Gabonese Jersey would have been ok. instead he dressed like that bum from Canada Bieber or whatever the fuuk his name is. Shame on the him and the Gabonese officials. If Messi was attending a dinner organized by Barca, he would not dress like this. :boo:

ohsee wrote:
metalalloy wrote:Make una do research before una attack oh! He was fulfilling a promise he made to Eto'o
Bros metal,
Wedda-wedda he made promise or not, this is how a young, aware and respectful sports star dresses when he visits an African country.
Stop this, if the people who had him there wanted him in certain attire they should have made it clear or even better yet they would have made it clear before hand.

No be block dem talk say make him come carry? No be like bricklayer him suppose dress?