1998 Jay Jay Okocha vs Denmark

Re: 1998 Jay Jay Okocha vs Denmark

Take nothing away from the effort expended by the man, as a team, twas on this display that the term naive was coined. Big Ron had a field day in the commentary box.

he killed Naija with those useless shots to nowhere
cyrilndo

Post by cyrilndo »

I have respect for Jay Jay but to say that Ronaldihno did learn from Jay Jay is an abuse.
Look at the failed passes, unnecessary dribbles and show booting with no end product on display in this game by Jay Jay.
I rest my case.
" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "

This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.

Why, Why Massa? JJ is a failure!! :woot: I almost slap Okocha that day!! aboafunu!! :oops:

okocha became a much better footballer after the 2002 worldcup....

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

From that clip he distributed the ball very well and his passes were great. His effort were fluffed by the likes of Kanu.
What are you guys watching?
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

I find it impossible to watch that game. Kanu was absolutely useless that afternoon!! Atrocious!!
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

Everything about Denmark was better - Their coach, their cohesiveness, their goalkeeper, their tactics. We played pick-up soccer, they played Championship football.

<<

Bigpokey24 wrote:okocha became a much better footballer after the 2002 worldcup....

Okay, I have to clap for you. You have just made your FIRST sensible post on the CE. CONGRATS! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

papilo

Post by papilo »

Mudi E wrote:From that clip he distributed the ball very well and his passes were great. His effort were fluffed by the likes of Kanu.
Bros, he kept giving the ball away.
yes o

papilo wrote:
Mudi E wrote:From that clip he distributed the ball very well and his passes were great. His effort were fluffed by the likes of Kanu.
Bros, he kept giving the ball away.

I remember I was nearly lynched on this very forum in 1998 for stating what you guys are now saying.

kali

Post by kali »

Jay Jay did not play soccer against Denmark. He was on a marketing campaign to advertize his skills to all the coaches out there. He was successful because PSG paid 17 million pounds the highest ever paid for an African player for Jay Jay immediately after the World Cup in 1998.

About Bigpokey's statement. Did he become a better player? Lets see. With JJ in a leading role Nigeria never got past the semi-final of the African Nations Cup. JJ never won Africa's Best Player Award. As captain JJ failed to qualify Nigeria for the World Cup in Germany in 2006 while absconding from several games.

JJ at the national level was overrated. Great repetoire of skills but a poor team player and captain. Just goes to show who the true ballers were of the 1994-2000 set that carried the Super Eagles:

- Emmanuel Amuneke
- Rasheed "goalsfather" Yekini
- Finidi George
- Daniel Amokachi

Once those players were gone, Nigeria was no longer a team that struck fear in the hearts of opposing teams.
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

kali wrote:Jay Jay did not play soccer against Denmark. He was on a marketing campaign to advertize his skills to all the coaches out there. He was successful because PSG paid 17 million pounds the highest ever paid for an African player for Jay Jay immediately after the World Cup in 1998.

About Bigpokey's statement. Did he become a better player? Lets see. With JJ in a leading role Nigeria never got past the semi-final of the African Nations Cup. JJ never won Africa's Best Player Award. As captain JJ failed to qualify Nigeria for the World Cup in Germany in 2006 while absconding from several games.

JJ at the national level was overrated. Great repetoire of skills but a poor team player and captain. Just goes to show who the true ballers were of the 1994-2000 set that carried the Super Eagles:

- Emmanuel Amuneke
- Rasheed "goalsfather" Yekini
- Finidi George
- Daniel Amokachi

Once those players were gone, Nigeria was no longer a team that struck fear in the hearts of opposing teams.
U started out yarning correct talk then u messed it up with opak, according to your logic towards the end Ryan giggs must be overrated too with the Welsh team.
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.

^^
My guy, stop talking nonsense! What was Giggs supporting cast at Wales? Did he have the caliber of Finidi, Amuneke, Yekini, Kanu and all around him? With the quality we had around him, Okocha wasted it!! He underutilized the potential at his disposal. A player like Okocha should make those around him better. But he made them worse. His mantra was "useless dribbling first, pass later" Mschewwwww!!!!
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

Okacha was the only thing good in that game for Naija. Okocha took boyscout of 10 men to the war against 11 SEALs, no way Naija was gonna win that game. Okocha fought and fought but his boyscouts were just inept to fight. God bless Okocha for putting up a fight. What a legend! Greatest Naija soccer player of all time. Will be forever loved.

All I will say is that today Nigeria would kill to have a player exert that much influence and danger to the opposition in a match as Okocha did that day.

Watching this video...I have to admit, it does look like in the 90s...Okocha may have been playing for himself at times.

There were some instances in this video, where he would have been far better of making the pass...yet he kept hogging the ball.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

kolinzo wrote:Okacha was the only thing good in that game for Naija. Okocha took boyscout of 10 men to the war against 11 SEALs, no way Naija was gonna win that game. Okocha fought and fought but his boyscouts were just inept to fight. God bless Okocha for putting up a fight. What a legend! Greatest Naija soccer player of all time. Will be forever loved.
:thumb:
vancity eagle wrote:All I will say is that today Nigeria would kill to have a player exert that much influence and danger to the opposition in a match as Okocha did that day.
:rotf: :clap:
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
fledy

Post by fledy »

Kali you are so spot on it is not funny! Don't get me wrong Okocha was tremendously skilled but was not a winner. To him it was entertainment galore to market himself. Not impressed at all
miky

Post by miky »

There is only one OGA!! why do you think only he represents nigeria when the likes of legends such as Zidane, Ronaldo, Cafu have their exhibition games? he matured into a better footballer no doubt, but don't confuse ball hog with desire to play and influence... If only we can extend that desire to a few players we parade now
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)
miky

Post by miky »

fledy wrote:Kali you are so spot on it is not funny! Don't get me wrong Okocha was tremendously skilled but was not a winner. To him it was entertainment galore to market himself. Not impressed at all
You must be high bro? he was just surrounded by junk players in 2002 thats it. A winner to me is someone who develops his game, tell me how many nigerian midfielders present or past can take a penalty and score freekicks as much as Oga? respected by his club to earn the captainship band?
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Wasn't this the game he re-spelt TEAM to include "I", just for a contract at lowly PSG that even Musa Yahaya would not accept?