TRIBUTE TO STEPHEN KESHI:ICONIC MEMORIES OF KESHI

FATHER TIKO
TRIBUTE TO STEPHEN KESHI:ICONIC MEMORIES OF KESHI

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Ever a student of history, I once kept a diary ("CHRONICLES OF A FOOTBALL FAN") chronicling my varied experiences as a follower of football beginning from my early teenage years.
While that diary existed, every accomplished footballer whose exploits enriched my football experience adorned its pages.
None moreso than Stephen Okechukwu Keshi.

Never summoned the courage to publish that diary.
Sadly, I lost that diary years ago...

But I shall never forget the page I penned 8.30p.m 14 March 1984:
From 0-2 down, we drew 2-2. The miracle was all Keshi.
Never gave up, even when the likes of Abouzeid were destroying us; Keshi kept the team together.
Scored the penalty for 1-2. Was a rock in the defence after 2-2.
And the shoot-out? Oh my God! See confidence: first penalty; stroked the ball into the net, turned and blew kisses to the crowd...
8-7 Nigeria for final!! Keshi played like a man possessed. What a captain!

Later, it would be revealed the kisses Keshi blew to the crowd was actually directed at the TV cameras, to his wife, Kate...

What are your iconic memories of Keshi?
Lets pay tribute to a man whose influence on Nigeria football is probably unmatched.
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
Re: TRIBUTE TO STEPHEN KESHI:ICONIC MEMORIES OF KESHI

I have got many and they are not always happy because I am a Bendel Insurance man. :D :D

But for me it has to be that moment when he lifted the ANC trophy in Egypt. Boy, it took an age to win it again but i could think of no one better to lift that trophy as Captain in Nigeria's great triumph. I know he lifted it as a Coach but to me, it was the victory as Captain that remains my iconic memory of Keshi.

Many forget that ANC was not easy, who can forget that epic contest with that very good and dangerous Ivory Coast team.

Forgive me folks, I said Egypt, it should be Tunisia.

I had mentioned mine in another thread - the Senegal Nigeria game in 1992.

aruako1 wrote:I had mentioned mine in another thread - the Senegal Nigeria game in 1992.
Yeah! I remember that. :D :D :D :D

This was a TRUE LEADER in all aspects of Nigerian football. No one else has been able to match that. He led the migration of multitude of our players to professional football in Europe which later became the catalyst for Nigeria's qualification to its first ever World Cup. Then as Coach he restored Nigeria's glory by winning the Continental Cup that had eluded Nigeria for close to two decades, led Togo to an implausible World Cup qualification. In winning the Nations Cup as Coach, he became the second person to ever win the Cup as both player and Coach. Then he became the first African Coach to take a country to the last 16 of a World Cup. This is a true legend. Goodbye, the Big Boss. It may just be difficult to find one to match your deeds. You gave us all you had and more.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Mine was him marshaling that defense for the last 15mins against the Algerians to qualify for our first World World cup.
Still remember him ballooning every ball that came his way into the stands and away from our danger area.

His goal against Senegal easily comes to mind.

Football says goodbye to Nigeria's Big Boss
(FIFA.com) 08 Jun 2016
http://www.fifa.com/news/y=2016/m=6/new ... odule_news
© Getty Images
"My dream is to build a strong team for Nigerians and give these players a reason to be footballers. And to show the many players that are coming up behind that they can become somebody in football. That's my dream,"

Those words came from Nigeria legend Stephen Keshi two years ago, as he prepared the Super Eagles to take flight in Brazil. Throughout his stellar playing and managerial career, 'Big Boss' certainly allowed fans, team-mates and his own players themselves to dream. Tributes from around the footballing world have poured in for Keshi, after his tragic and sudden passing at the age of 54.

Keshi was a born leader. An imposing central defender, he took games by the scruff of the neck and dictated matches from his position of influence as captain throughout much of his Super Eagles career. He marshalled a miserly Nigeria defence to the 1994 CAF Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) title, conceding just three goals on the path to victory. He then coached his nation to the same title almost two decades later - the side conceding four goals this time - becoming only the second man to win the AFCON as player and coach.

His influence on the pitch cannot be underestimated. He enjoyed a successful club career in his home continent before exporting his talents to Europe, starring in cup and league-winning Anderlecht sides and endearing himself to Strasbourg fans in France with a stunning long range goal against Rennes that helped promote Le Racing to Ligue 1.

It is Keshi's international career that will perhaps evoke the strongest memories though. As well as playing his part in that memorable AFCON title in 1994, he helped guide the Super Eagles to their first FIFA World Cup™, playing five games on the road to the USA before featuring just once at the finals (as captain) due to injury.

I would like to express my deepest sympathy on hearing the news of the loss of the Nigeria great Stephen Keshi.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

With many African countries looking for coaching experience from outside the continent to lead their countries at major tournaments, Keshi was a beacon of hope for coaches from the mother continent. Not only was he the first Nigerian to lead his country to the AFCON title, he was the first African coach to lead a team to the Round of 16 at a World Cup, achieving that feat at Brazil 2014.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino wrote a letter of condolence to the President of the Nigeria Football Federation Amaju Pinnick upon hearing the tragic news.

“I would like to express my deepest sympathy on hearing the news of the loss of the Nigeria great Stephen Keshi," FIFA President Infantino wrote. “On behalf of the international football community, please allow me to extend my deepest condolences to the football community of Nigeria and, most importantly, to Stephen’s family, friends and love ones. We hope that, in some way, our words of support may help bring a little bit of peace and solace in this time of sadness."

Messages of sympathy have also flooded social media after news of Keshi's death stunned the global footballing community.

"Horrible news and a sad day. We lost an iconic hero today," Sunday Oliseh, a former Nigeria coach who played alongside Keshi reflected. while former Zambia international Kalusha Bwalya noted: "I can't believe it. I am in shock. Football legend."

"Keshi was a superhero," Nigeria Football Federation President Pinnick said. "His death is a big loss to Nigeria as a nation, not only to Nigeria football."
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

WhaT?!? Okechukwu Keshi is Dead?

Oh no no no. Rest in Peace Big Boss. The loss of a spouse is truly devastating.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

http://www.channelstv.com/2016/06/08/fo ... ies-at-54/

Nigeria’s football legend, Stephen Okechukwu Chinedu Keshi, has died at the age of 54.

Keshi passed on in the early hours of Wednesday, June 8 in Benin City, the Edo State capital.

A statement by his manager, Emmanuel Ado, confirmed the death of the former Super Eagles captain.

“With thanksgiving to God, the Ogbuenyi Fredrick Keshi family of Illah in Oshimili North Local Government Area of Delta State, announces the death of Mr Stephen Okechukwu Chinedu Keshi.

“Our son, brother, father, father-in-law, brother-in-law, has gone to be with his wife of 35 years (Nkem), Mrs Kate Keshi, who passed on on the 9th December 2015.

“Since her death, Keshi has been in mourning. He came back to Nigeria to be with her.

“He had planned to fly back today Wednesday, before he suffered a cardiac arrest. He has found rest.

“We thank God for his life.

“We want to ask for understanding in this very difficult time for the family,” the statement said.

Keshi’s corpse has been deposited at the Idahosa hospital in Benin City.

He is survived by four children.

Keshi, the only Nigerian coach to have won the Africa Cup of Nations, achieved a rare feat in 2013 by becoming only the second person to win the trophy both as a player and a coach after Mahmoud El-Gohary of Egypt.

He started his playing career at ACB Football Club, and later played for New Nigeria Bank, Stade d’Abidjan, Africa Sports, Lokeren, Anderlecht, RC Strasbourg, and a host of other clubs around the world.

The football legend represented Nigeria from 1982, at age 20, till 1994, most of the time captaining the Super Eagles and scoring vital goals from his position as a central defender.

He also coached Togo and Nigeria at the World Cup, as well as Mali.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Enugu II wrote:This was a TRUE LEADER in all aspects of Nigerian football. No one else has been able to match that. He led the migration of multitude of our players to professional football in Europe which later became the catalyst for Nigeria's qualification to its first ever World Cup. Then as Coach he restored Nigeria's glory by winning the Continental Cup that had eluded Nigeria for close to two decades, led Togo to an implausible World Cup qualification. In winning the Nations Cup as Coach, he became the second person to ever win the Cup as both player and Coach. Then he became the first African Coach to take a country to the last 16 of a World Cup. This is a true legend. Goodbye, the Big Boss. It may just be difficult to find one to match your deeds. You gave us all you had and more.

Only black African coach to go to a World Cup. We complain and complain about being subjugated by others yet when given opportunities, you'll find some tin headed numbskulls running their mouths about how the super eagles needs a foreigner in charge....the very same yahoos who will complain about how our talent level is sinking. People complain that our local coaches are dunces and they're corrupt, those people never stop for five minutes to contemplate WHY.

As the days go, tongues will be loosened. Keshi went through A LOT. He wasn't perfect mind you....no one is but when it comes to combining ability plus politics plus charm etc etc. Only Westerhof comes close.

Enugu II wrote:This was a TRUE LEADER in all aspects of Nigerian football. No one else has been able to match that. He led the migration of multitude of our players to professional football in Europe which later became the catalyst for Nigeria's qualification to its first ever World Cup. Then as Coach he restored Nigeria's glory by winning the Continental Cup that had eluded Nigeria for close to two decades, led Togo to an implausible World Cup qualification. In winning the Nations Cup as Coach, he became the second person to ever win the Cup as both player and Coach. Then he became the first African Coach to take a country to the last 16 of a World Cup. This is a true legend. Goodbye, the Big Boss. It may just be difficult to find one to match your deeds. You gave us all you had and more.

Only black African coach to go to a World Cup. We complain and complain about being subjugated by others yet when given opportunities, you'll find some tin headed numbskulls running their mouths about how the super eagles needs a foreigner in charge....the very same yahoos who will complain about how our talent level is sinking. People complain that our local coaches are dunces and they're corrupt, those people never stop for five minutes to contemplate WHY.

As the days go, tongues will be loosened. Keshi went through A LOT. He wasn't perfect mind you....no one is but when it comes to combining ability plus politics plus charm etc etc. Only Westerhof comes close.
Agree with you but Jomo Sono, Luis Goncalves De Oliveira and Kwesi Appiah were also black African coaches who took teams to the world cup. However, Keshi is the only one to take a team to the last 16.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Further memories:

Two other crucial games involving SEagles epitomised Stephen Keshi:

Angola v Nigeria 1990 WCup Qualifier in Luanda (1989)
Angola was leading 2-1. 2nd half. SEagles were floundering, searching for redemption.
Keshi received the ball in the centre-circle. Surveyed the field in front of him, took one touch; blasted a 45 yards rocket into the bottom corner of the net. Redemption.
Final score: 2-2. (vital 1 point)

Nigeria v Angola 1990 WCup Qualifier in Lagos (12 Aug 1989)
0-0 deadlock. Tension. Time running out.
70 min. Keshi nods the ball into the net from a throw-in.
Redemption.
Final score: 1-0. (vital 2 points)
(Okwaraji would later slump and die in this game)

To think Keshi was a central defender.
- Bill Shankly

Waffiman wrote:I have got many and they are not always happy because I am a Bendel Insurance man. :D :D

But for me it has to be that moment when he lifted the ANC trophy in Egypt. Boy, it took an age to win it again but i could think of no one better to lift that trophy as Captain in Nigeria's great triumph. I know he lifted it as a Coach but to me, it was the victory as Captain that remains my iconic memory of Keshi.

Many forget that ANC was not easy, who can forget that epic contest with that very good and dangerous Ivory Coast team.
Was it in Egypt or in Tunisia? I can't remember where, but I think it was in Tunisia

I didn't want to click into this thread because I didn't want to be sad. Man, this is heartbreaking.

2016, you absolute sonofabitch.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

aruako1 wrote:I had mentioned mine in another thread - the Senegal Nigeria game in 1992.
In the WC qualifier in Lagos, the match in which the unfortunate happened to Okwaraji, Keshi missed a penalty, but thereafter played like a demon possessed and finally scored our only goal, the only goal of of the match. Never say die!
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

aruako1 wrote:

Agree with you but Jomo Sono, Luis Goncalves De Oliveira and Kwesi Appiah were also black African coaches who took teams to the world cup. However, Keshi is the only one to take a team to the last 16.

Very correct. It's so sad. When I read this news this morning, I started to think of those who simply never appreciated his work.

It's tough in Africa. Immensely tough. FAs that are constantly looking to make coaches fail because it enriches them. I get the feeling many times that our fans don't understand how hard it is for coaches especially local ones. Anyone who's spent a little time with the teams knows better. We will never go anywhere without learning to uplift our own.
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Waffiman wrote:I have got many and they are not always happy because I am a Bendel Insurance man. :D :D

You mean Tunisia in '94 ?

Roll back the time to 1981 it has to be,during the qualifiers for 82 WC, a young Keshi was on the bench while a retired CCC was brought back from retirement due to pressure going way up to Shagari the president at the time.

We were down to the Algerians, CCC was not up to it and should not have featured. He was yanked off at half time and in came Stephen Keshi, still with ACB at the time...you could not have written a better script..it was like baton being exchanged from one great centerhalf to another both of whom dominated the position for many years.

For some of us who were sentimentally attached to CCC, it was like what can this small boy do where chairman failed, but all that was quickly consigned to the rubbish heap the first face to face confrontation between Belloumi and Keshi. In a similar situation in the first half the late Tunde Bamidele panicked and made a hasty clearance that was blocked and intercepted by Belloumi which led to the second goal.
Keshi was supreme, he simply flicked the ball over Belloumi's leg, a trick i would later do severally when faced with an attacking bearing down on a 50-50 situation. I clapped while cursing Bamidele a more experienced Green Eagles for lacking the basic skill.

Keshi announced himself that day,he graduated with honors from the junior cadre to the senior. He went on to become a centerhalf that i drew great inspiration from.

While he did wonders with the Super Eagles, i would say i enjoy him more in NNB colours playing the DM role, from where himself and Nwosu terrorised teams with cannons and missiles. Ask all the teams that NNB met on the west african region, those two put the fear of God into keepers with the exocet missiles that brought in unbelievable goals.

oloye wrote:Roll back the time to 1981 it has to be,during the qualifiers for 82 WC, a young Keshi was on the bench while a retired CCC was brought back from retirement due to pressure going way up to Shagari the president at the time.

We were down to the Algerians, CCC was not up to it and should not have featured. He was yanked off at half time and in came Stephen Keshi, still with ACB at the time...you could not have written a better script..it was like baton being exchanged from one great centerhalf to another both of whom dominated the position for many years.

For some of us who were sentimentally attached to CCC, it was like what can this small boy do where chairman failed, but all that was quickly consigned to the rubbish heap the first face to face confrontation between Belloumi and Keshi. In a similar situation in the first half the late Tunde Bamidele panicked and made a hasty clearance that was blocked and intercepted by Belloumi which led to the second goal.
Keshi was supreme, he simply flicked the ball over Belloumi's leg, a trick i would later do severally when faced with an attacking bearing down on a 50-50 situation. I clapped while cursing Bamidele a more experienced Green Eagles for lacking the basic skill.

Keshi announced himself that day,he graduated with honors from the junior cadre to the senior. He went on to become a centerhalf that i drew great inspiration from.

While he did wonders with the Super Eagles, i would say i enjoy him more in NNB colours playing the DM role, from where himself and Nwosu terrorised teams with cannons and missiles. Ask all the teams that NNB met on the west african region, those two put the fear of God into keepers with the exocet missiles that brought in unbelievable goals.

Ditto.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

oloye wrote:Roll back the time to 1981 it has to be,during the qualifiers for 82 WC, a young Keshi was on the bench while a retired CCC was brought back from retirement due to pressure going way up to Shagari the president at the time.

Oga Oloye, I always thought Keshi would have been a world-class DM if the coaches at Anderlecht hadn't continued his transformation into a central defender.

A tale is told of how the French coach at Stella Abidjan took one look at Keshi at the first training session and queried Keshi's mobility (Keshi's thick thighs) for the midfield role - that was before the era of the giant midfield enforcer.
That incident would cement Keshi's career in the CD position.
- Bill Shankly
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

Mine was yhe qualifying match for the 1994 worldcup Eagles vs Ivory Coast in Lagos. Keshi was in bench Naija was leading i think 3.1 but we are not comfortable at the back despite leading. Agbonibavre was our saving grace in the first half. Westerholf had to play Keshi in the second half and i want to believe he played with an injury. But the way he control and organised the defence when he came in put Ivory Coast at bay and we ended up winning 4.1. Leader per excellence
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.
He is still the eternal........MIC...

I love you man for the joy you gave us...................rest in the LORD. :cry: :cry: :cry:
zee wrote:The greatest African Coach that ever walked on earth.
With a new team, formed in less than 10 days, He knocked out the host-nation as Nigeria makes it to the next round.....................only the ...................................

Greatest Coach :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: that ever lived..............can pull this off.
Nigeria may win the 2014 WC :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
He is simply the..............greatest :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

tunde72 wrote:Mine was yhe qualifying match for the 1994 worldcup Eagles vs Ivory Coast in Lagos. Keshi was in bench Naija was leading i think 3.1 but we are not comfortable at the back despite leading. Agbonibavre was our saving grace in the first half. Westerholf had to play Keshi in the second half and i want to believe he played with an injury. But the way he control and organised the defence when he came in put Ivory Coast at bay and we ended up winning 4.1. Leader per excellence
His biggest asset was his ability to organise the defence. A half fit defender with the ability to organise the defence is way better than a 100% fit defender who cannot organise a simple set of dining chairs.