EXCLUSIVE: Le Guen Gets $50k-Per-Month Super Eagles Job

nko
SE Manager job

Post by nko »

Looks like Le Guen. I don't think he is the answer given his track record as a national team manager.
http://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ex ... agles-job/
Re: SE Manager job

Wouldn't be my pick but much better than SSS and Yusuf. At least he knows what to do when you're up 1-0 with 4mins left in a CAF qualifier. Btw, why live on Lagos when 100% of the players you need are in Europe? I'd rather he even starts living in Russia for acclamation instead of our custom made hell hole.
nko

Post by nko »

I understand he is a no-nonsense Coach. Hope the NFF know what they are getting into.

nko wrote:I understand he is a no-nonsense Coach. Hope the NFF know what they are getting into.
Wait until they submit a list of players to choose from or they change his player selections. :laugh:

Well lets ensure they support the team.. I don tire for who be coach... The WCQs are going to be very difficult, Lets qualify for the BigBoss

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Wouldn't be my pick but much better than SSS and Yusuf. At least he knows what to do when you're up 1-0 with 4mins left in a CAF qualifier. Btw, why live on Lagos when 100% of the players you need are in Europe? I'd rather he even starts living in Russia for acclamation instead of our custom made hell hole.
Bros,

The NFF had picked Le Guen as far back as March or maybe even before then. They eventually got Dalung to agree with the choice pending a convincing plan to pay the man. Dalung's reported agreement was back in April. If there is anything new here it must be that the NFF has somewhat satisfied Dalung's request for a reliable source of payment for the coach. Let's wait and see.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I don't care whether he is perfect or not, he is far better than the recent coaches we have had. Let us get this deal done and support team coach and team. Salisu and SSS should work with him in the transition process. In fact Le Guen should be in the dugout with SSS in Brazil if we are serious.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Wouldn't be my pick but much better than SSS and Yusuf. At least he knows what to do when you're up 1-0 with 4mins left in a CAF qualifier. Btw, why live on Lagos when 100% of the players you need are in Europe? I'd rather he even starts living in Russia for acclamation instead of our custom made hell hole.
Bros,

The NFF had picked Le Guen as far back as March or maybe even before then. They eventually got Dalung to agree with the choice pending a convincing plan to pay the man. Dalung's reported agreement was back in April. If there is anything new here it must be that the NFF has somewhat satisfied Dalung's request for a reliable source of payment for the coach. Let's wait and see.
Why does Dalung have to approve if the govt is not paying and NFF is not a govt agency?

Bros,

Why does Dalung have to approve if the govt is not paying and NFF is not a govt agency?
because the FA has a bad rep of paying coaches

on another note, just maybe Enyeama could come out of retirement ..because we need this bobo

Bros,

Good question. For me it is only for political reasons. I believe Pinnick goes to get the approval (Better to use the word "Support") because he still depends on Fed funds as well as the Feds pull the strings on giving the coach a work permit.Note that Dalung warned that NFF cannot use the fed allocated funds to pay any foreign coach. If such funds are used then Pinnick be better prepared to face fraud charges.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Bros,

Good question. For me it is only for political reasons. I believe Pinnick goes to get the approval (Better to use the word "Support") because he still depends on Fed funds as well as the Feds pull the strings on giving the coach a work permit.Note that Dalung warned that NFF cannot use the fed allocated funds to pay any foreign coach. If such funds are used then Pinnick be better prepared to face fraud charges.
Because there are also work permit issues involved.

Anyway, just like a kid asking for a puppy... it ends up being your dog. The NFF will tell you and assure you that they can pay and in no time at all they won't be able to pay and you have to bail them out from yet again another National embarrassment.

The reality is that the NFF better have an actionable contract with the sponsoring bank. If not, Pinnick will have to source for the money because there are those waiting to roast him if he dare dip into FGN money (Allocated to NFF) to pay for the foreign coach that he hires.

Beyond that, Le Guen has achieved as a coach. If Pinnick goes ahead to name him then he must provide the ALL IMPORTANT enabling environment if Le Guen is to be successful. That should start with having the guy start in a good enough time before the game against Tanzania in September. IMHO, the NFF should schedule a second game that week so that the coach is able to meet his players and then manage them for those two games, a month before the WCQs begin in October.
Chimex101

Post by Chimex101 »

Apart from Keshi(may his soul RIP) no local manager that comes to mind has made a notable mark on the NT, our best highlight till date is the winning of the AFCON 2013. So at this point...I wouldn't mind we try the foreign coaching route, Le guen may not be the answer to our probing issues, but what have we got to loose at this point? anything different is worth a try.

And guys thanks for the condolence wishes for my dad who passed away same day as did the Big boss...may we never suffer pestilence a second time, still hurts though...really does, but my only consolation is that he saw me become the man he always wanted me to be before he departed.

Chimex101 wrote:Apart from Keshi(may his soul RIP) no local manager that comes to mind has made a notable mark on the NT, our best highlight till date is the winning of the AFCON 2013. So at this point...I wouldn't mind we try the foreign coaching route, Le guen may not be the answer to our probing issues, but what have we got to loose at this point? anything different is worth a try.

And guys thanks for the condolence wishes for my dad who passed away same day as did the Big boss...may we never suffer pestilence a second time, still hurts though...really does, but my only consolation is that he saw me become the man he always wanted me to be before he departed.

Amodu didn't leave a notable mark? What do you call his achievements with the SE? Onigbinde didn't? Heck even Eguavoen led a team that went to North Africa and thumped a North Affrican team in a way most Nigerians never dreamt the SE could do up there.

If no local coach has left a notable mark then which foreigner(s) have? Otto Gloria? Westerhof?

We can't simply say it's worth a try. That's a cop-out. We need to develop our own and give them chances. We don't have money, we don't have a plan, we literally have ZERO going on yet we're eyeing these 'messiahs'. Nothing wrong with a foreigner by the way....but you can't say he's the best for the job when there are no sane parameters for judgement, it's bizarre.

Again, condolences on your father's passing. That's one of the toughest things anyone can endure. Stay strong.

He seem to have a decent resume. If he is hired, they should give him an enabling environment to do his job. I hope it works out this time. We are due for a break.

Local coaches can, have and will qualify for AFCON and wc when given an enabling environment,but it's those major decisions at the wc that determine whether or not you go home or qualify for the quarters or semis that are more challenging for them.

Making the tactical calls when things are not going your way. Having an effective plan B and C and willing to take calculated risks. Also, team defense,transition game and particularly set pieces all need major attention. If SSS knew all this we'll be talking about what naming AFCON right now.

Cito wrote:He seem to have a decent resume. If he is hired, they should give him an enabling environment to do his job. I hope it works out this time. We are due for a break.
How can you give what you don't have?

Una never too old to believe in Fada Christmas?

Enabling Environment? :lol: :lol: :lol:

TBH,I believe the key to success of an NT manager is the existence of an enabling environment. This includes the following which are by no means exhaustive:

1. Allow the manager time to develop a team. Bear in mind that this means acceptance that the team will lose some games and these losses may come against teams lower ranked than Nigeria is.

2. Allow the manager a free hand on matters that pertain to the team i.e. including player selection, discipline, etc.

3. Monetary compensations made as and when due.

4. Supporting the coach's program FULLY after it has been approved.

If we do the above, an average coach (there are tons of them) whether local or foreign, will be successful when one considers the quality of personnel available in Nigeria. Le Guen is one of those average coaches and there are others in Nigeria. The likes of Keshi, Westerhoff, Gloria, and Amodu that were successful even overcame several of the hurdles mentioned above. I believe each of those would have bee able to achieve more within an enabling environment.

Now, we could compete successfully for even the World Cup if we are able to hire the transformative coaches and there have to be some of those around. My belief is simply based on sampling theory about population normality which theorizes that humans with outstanding ability in an area are often quite few.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Local coaches can, have and will qualify for AFCON and wc when given an enabling environment,but it's those major decisions at the wc that determine whether or not you go home or qualify for the quarters or semis that are more challenging for them.

Making the tactical calls when things are not going your way. Having an effective plan B and C and willing to take calculated risks. Also, team defense,transition game and particularly set pieces all need major attention. If SSS knew all this we'll be talking about what naming AFCON right now.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: enabling environment?

Will he make players drop?

Enugu II wrote:TBH,I believe the key to success of an NT manager is the existence of an enabling environment. This includes the following which are by no means exhaustive:

1. Allow the manager time to develop a team. Bear in mind that this means acceptance that the team will lose some games and these losses may come against teams lower ranked than Nigeria is.

2. Allow the manager a free hand on matters that pertain to the team i.e. including player selection, discipline, etc.

3. Monetary compensations made as and when due.

4. Supporting the coach's program FULLY after it has been approved.

If we do the above, an average coach (there are tons of them) whether local or foreign, will be successful when one considers the quality of personnel available in Nigeria. Le Guen is one of those average coaches and there are others in Nigeria. The likes of Keshi, Westerhoff, Gloria, and Amodu that were successful even overcame several of the hurdles mentioned above. I believe each of those would have bee able to achieve more within an enabling environment.

Now, we could compete successfully for even the World Cup if we are able to hire the transformative coaches and there have to be some of those around. My belief is simply based on sampling theory about population normality which theorizes that humans with outstanding ability in an area are often quite few.
You have to be a circus master (Ring Master).

Ability to work in chaos.

Have coordinated a Chinese Fire Drill.

Master of the Dark Arts.

Trained as an apprentice in the temple of The Many-Faced Gods.

Negotiated with criminals and hoodlums.

Having a coaching experience is not necessary.

Lastly, ability to work for free... worse, pay to work.

I see no reason for Le Guen to live in Nigeria.

The vast majority of our players play in Europe.

What will he be doing living in Nigeria ? It is counter productive and distracting if you ask me. He should be regularly watching players who should be starting for SE, a part of the squad, or on the outskirts of the squad.

99% of these players will be in Europe, so why should he be in Nigeria ?

I mean he can go there and scout the local league at times, but why should he live there when the players he needs to monitor will not be there ? This is not rocket science.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.