26 Eaglets Fail MRI
EXCLUSIVE: Staggering 26 fail Eaglets MRI test, first-team wiped out - NigeEXCLUSIVE: Staggering 26 fail Eaglets MRI test, first-team wiped out - Nigerug 03, 2016. 13:55
Nigeria will be hugely depleted for Saturday’s U17 AFCON qualifier at home against Niger after a staggering 26 players out of 60 failed the mandatory MRI screening conducted last week.
READ: CAF take charge of MRI screening
A top official told only AfricanFootball.com that what is disturbing is not only the high number of those who failed the age test, but the quality of those who will not be eligible as the Eaglets starting XI have been completely wiped out with only two surviving players.
“It is a disaster,” exclaimed one devastated official.
“Virtually the first team the coaches have been working on have been disqualified. It’s a serious problem.”
We have exclusively gathered that top NFF officials have now gone into panic mode with blames being traded over “this mass failure”.
Several of the players were in tears and total shock when the final results came through this morning.
The affected players have since quit the team’s training camp in Abuja for their various bases.
Among those who flung the age test was a star striker, who came through the national U15 team and has been outstanding in training leading up to Saturday’s AFCON qualifier.
Another promising player disqualified only recently forced his way into the starting XI of coach Manu Garba’s team after a late call-up.
As first reported only by AfricanFootball.com, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) have moved swiftly to ensure a much more transparent management of this MRI test by deploying independent doctors to the various member-associations.
In the case of Nigeria, an Egyptian doctor supervised the screening exercise last week.
Nigeria have won the FIFA U17 World Cup a record five times – 1985, 1993, 2007, 2013 and 2015.
http://africanfootball.com/news/635461/ ... -wiped-out
Nigeria will be hugely depleted for Saturday’s U17 AFCON qualifier at home against Niger after a staggering 26 players out of 60 failed the mandatory MRI screening conducted last week.
A top official told only AfricanFootball.com that what is disturbing is not only the high number of those who failed the age test, but the quality of those who will not be eligible as the Eaglets starting XI have been completely wiped out with only two surviving players.
“Virtually the first team the coaches have been working on have been disqualified. It’s a serious problem.”
We have exclusively gathered that top NFF officials have now gone into panic mode with blames being traded over “this mass failure”.
Several of the players were in tears and total shock when the final results came through this morning.
The affected players have since quit the team’s training camp in Abuja for their various bases.
Among those who flung the age test was a star striker, who came through the national U15 team and has been outstanding in training leading up to Saturday’s AFCON qualifier.
Another promising player disqualified only recently forced his way into the starting XI of coach Manu Garba’s team after a late call-up.
As first reported only by AfricanFootball.com, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) have moved swiftly to ensure a much more transparent management of this MRI test by deploying independent doctors to the various member-associations.
In the case of Nigeria, an Egyptian doctor supervised the screening exercise last week.
Nigeria have won the FIFA U17 World Cup a record five times – 1985, 1993, 2007, 2013 and 2015.
Re: 26 Eaglets Fail MRI
"
Pinnick is having an awful time. I do hope CAF applies this treatment to all African teams that participate in the tourney or qualifiers
In moments like this, let me revert to our old anthem
Nigeria we hail thee,
Our own dear native land,
Though tribe and tongue may differ,
In brotherhood we stand,
Nigerians all, and proud to serve
Our sovereign Motherland.
Never a better time to employ the "Siddon, look" moment 'cod dis gonna be good
The 1d10ts were hoping for everything to be alright a few days before a crucial game.
Once again

Nigeria we hail thee,
Our own dear native land,
Though tribe and tongue may differ,
In brotherhood we stand,
Nigerians all, and proud to serve
Our sovereign Motherland.
Never a better time to employ the "Siddon, look" moment 'cod dis gonna be good

The 1d10ts were hoping for everything to be alright a few days before a crucial game.
Once again

Excellent news! I want only those who are truly within the limit to represent Nigeria.
Panic is a lorry tout. He can't even organize a pi$$up in a brewery talk less of the NFFYUJAM wrote:Pinnick is having an awful time. I do hope CAF applies this treatment to all African teams that participate in the tourney or qualifiers
With his gorimapa head. I would like to tattoo Spurs crest on that bald egg, gooners head of his

- Cristao II
Imagine someone catching hypertension over this!! ROTFMAO!! Pinnick is fast becoming a by word for chronic incompetence.
Think both may still be banned for chronic cheatingpajimoh wrote:Now, any news on Gambia and Ghana?![]()
Rawlings in 1..2..3.... 

- FATHER TIKO
26 failures out of 60 shouldn't be catastrophic by any stretch of the imagination.
Garba cannot tell us he cannot raise a decent XI from the remaining 36 (which, after all, still comprises the final selection after the multiple screening camps)
So what, if the new starting XI isn't as good as the preferred XI...
This is a development programme, abeg
Garba cannot tell us he cannot raise a decent XI from the remaining 36 (which, after all, still comprises the final selection after the multiple screening camps)
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
This is very good news... 26 out of 60 ?? Honestly, I expected it to be 45 out of 60.
I have said Nigeria is the biggest beneficiary of this MRI regime. Just watch as the other countries are severely weakened too. Weakened way beyond Nigeria.
The sad thing is that we will have mainly those who passed the MRI scan as our team and not necessarily because they are U-17. The perplexing thing is that kids in the age bracket will have graduated from primary school around 2010-2012 and we cannot just verify the primary school records as a precondition to camping. Since they should be in secondary school at the moment, long term camping that we use as a trump card to nudge ahead of our competitors will no longer be possible.aruako wrote:Excellent news! I want only those who are truly within the limit to represent Nigeria.
Thank you Jare...same thing I am saying...FATHER TIKO wrote:26 failures out of 60 shouldn't be catastrophic by any stretch of the imagination.
We want a 2nd opinion 

- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
folem wrote:The sad thing is that we will have mainly those who passed the MRI scan as our team and not necessarily because they are U-17. The perplexing thing is that kids in the age bracket will have graduated from primary school around 2010-2012 and we cannot just verify the primary school records as a precondition to camping. Since they should be in secondary school at the moment, long term camping that we use as a trump card to nudge ahead of our competitors will no longer be possible.aruako wrote:Excellent news! I want only those who are truly within the limit to represent Nigeria.
This. Oh well. Manu has more than enough to work with.
I just got numbers from the test carried out on Ghana u17.
63 out of 60 failed. All the 60 players failed so they decided to test a few bystanders just to get one good news - they all failed too

26 out of 60 is a very decent figure. Now Manu has 4 teams (44 players) that are within the desired bracket to work with.
Win-win-win situation for Nigeria.
Dr Prince Pamboe supervises MRI scans of Niger U17 players
Published on: 01 August 2016
https://ghanasoccernet.com/dr-prince-pa ... 17-players NEWS0PrintfacebookTwitterG+
Dr Prince Pamboe
GHANASoccernet.com can confirm that Dr Prince Pamboe was in Niger as a CAF Sports Medicine instructor to supervise the country MRI scans for its U17 players.
His presence in the West African country was to ensure the right thing and right players were screened to decide who were eligible to play in the African Junior Championships which starts this weekend.
Niger presented 34 players but 25 passed the age-cheating test.
Pamboe is a member of the Ghana Football Association medical committee and a Doping Control Officer.
The decision to appoint independent supervisors by CAF is a move to stop age-cheating in the juvenile competition.
Last year, Ghana were banned from playing in the African Junior Championship finals after Cameroon over the eligibility of Isaac Twum.
Twum had passed previous tests but a later one proved he was not within the age category.
- maceo4
Check your calculator again...Polly wrote:26 out of 60 is a very decent figure. Now Manu has 4 teams (44 players) that are within the desired bracket to work with.
YUJAM wrote:EXCLUSIVE: Staggering 26 fail Eaglets MRI test, first-team wiped out - NigeEXCLUSIVE: Staggering 26 fail Eaglets MRI test, first-team wiped out - Nigerug 03, 2016. 13:55
Several of the players were in tears and total shock when the final results came through this morning
Excuse me??
Why were they in shock, they dont know their own ages?
Or they were shocked that the tests were so accurate

Nigerians are funny...
YNWA
26 wow
heavyd wrote:YUJAM wrote:EXCLUSIVE: Staggering 26 fail Eaglets MRI test, first-team wiped out - NigeEXCLUSIVE: Staggering 26 fail Eaglets MRI test, first-team wiped out - Nigerug 03, 2016. 13:55
Several of the players were in tears and total shock when the final results came through this morning
Excuse me??
Why were they in shock, they dont know their own ages?
Or they were shocked that the tests were so accurate![]()
Nigerians are funny...
More likely they had paid a heavy fee to some agent who guaranteed them they would pass the test.