- Scipio Africanus
Liverpool's first black player turns down MBE
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... -liverpool
Howard Gayle turns down MBE because it would be ‘betrayal of Africans’
• Liverpool’s first black player says ‘ancestors would turn in graves’
• ‘Empire and colonialism had enslaved them’ he adds
Liverpool’s first black player, Howard Gayle, has said he turned down a nomination for an MBE because it would be a betrayal of all the Africans who had suffered under the British empire.
The Toxteth-born footballer, 58, who also played for Blackburn Rovers, Fulham, Birmingham City, Halifax Town, Sunderland, Newcastle United and Stoke City, posted the decision on his Facebook page.
He wrote: “Most of you who are on my FB page are aware of the work that I do tackling racism and the work I do for Show Racism A Red Card. And for that work yesterday I was nominated for a MBE. Which unfortunately I had to decline the nomination for the reason that my ancestors would be turning in their graves after how empire and colonialism had enslaved them.
“This is a decision that I have had to make and there will be others who may feel different and would enjoy the attraction of being a Member of the British Empire and those three letters after their name, but I feel that it would be a betrayal to all of the Africans who have lost their lives, or who have suffered as a result of empire.”
Howard Gayle turns down MBE because it would be ‘betrayal of Africans’
• Liverpool’s first black player says ‘ancestors would turn in graves’
• ‘Empire and colonialism had enslaved them’ he adds
Liverpool’s first black player, Howard Gayle, has said he turned down a nomination for an MBE because it would be a betrayal of all the Africans who had suffered under the British empire.
The Toxteth-born footballer, 58, who also played for Blackburn Rovers, Fulham, Birmingham City, Halifax Town, Sunderland, Newcastle United and Stoke City, posted the decision on his Facebook page.
He wrote: “Most of you who are on my FB page are aware of the work that I do tackling racism and the work I do for Show Racism A Red Card. And for that work yesterday I was nominated for a MBE. Which unfortunately I had to decline the nomination for the reason that my ancestors would be turning in their graves after how empire and colonialism had enslaved them.
“This is a decision that I have had to make and there will be others who may feel different and would enjoy the attraction of being a Member of the British Empire and those three letters after their name, but I feel that it would be a betrayal to all of the Africans who have lost their lives, or who have suffered as a result of empire.”
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

- danfo driver
Re: Liverpool's first black player turns down MBE
I red it as- Liverpools first black player, Turndown Mbe
i was coming in to find out whether he played for the eagles with that first name

- Chimurenga Rebel
Re: Liverpool's first black player turns down MBE
Respect to Howard Gayle

"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube