German Coach speaks on tactics against Dream team
I still blame Siasia for playing Etebo, Azubuike and even Mikel in an unimportant game against Columbia. I feel with Etebo and Azubuike we should have won the game even with all this tactical nonsense from the German Coach
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2016/08/18/ge ... ull-backs/
Re: German Coach speaks on tactics against Dream team
They kept doing that time and time again, it was obvious and I think Siasia counter it in the secodn half, The players did very well they gave absolutely everything and they were all very talented but I think they were let down by the coaching, I saw a little bit of Harry Rednapp school of coaching, "Just go out there and do your thing" or "Lumping the ball forward to the big fella".
We also need to learn to release the ball quicker to team mates, and gradually build an attack, we did not create proper chances for our forward. Mikel was pure class,
Amuzie was an embarrassment yesterday.nko wrote:I still blame Siasia for playing Etebo, Azubuike and even Mikel in an unimportant game against Columbia. I feel with Etebo and Azubuike we should have won the game even with all this tactical nonsense from the German Coach
I couldn't believe my eyes.
What made them better was not the players we had or did not have. It was the way they set up their team. Etebo and Azubuike could not have had such an influence on that game. They are not that good.nko wrote:I still blame Siasia for playing Etebo, Azubuike and even Mikel in an unimportant game against Columbia. I feel with Etebo and Azubuike we should have won the game even with all this tactical nonsense from the German Coach
yes o
- oluwaseye the 1st.
Abeg make them win Bronze o!! Forget analysis jare!! It wasn't really a good team overall and we knew that on this forum, I believe any medal is a bonus expecting to win it is disingenuous with the number of passengers that boarded the plane with Siasia.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!
COYS
COYS
Some would argue that Siasia himself was a 'passenger'.oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:Abeg make them win Bronze o!! Forget analysis jare!! It wasn't really a good team overall and we knew that on this forum, I believe any medal is a bonus expecting to win it is disingenuous with the number of passengers that boarded the plane with Siasia.

The players did not do to bad not sure one on one the Germans had better players, but football is a team game, you need tactics, Players taking too many touches, then losing the ball. Just two tocuhes and pick a pass to a tema mate in a better position.Damunk wrote:Some would argue that Siasia himself was a 'passenger'.oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:Abeg make them win Bronze o!! Forget analysis jare!! It wasn't really a good team overall and we knew that on this forum, I believe any medal is a bonus expecting to win it is disingenuous with the number of passengers that boarded the plane with Siasia.
You see the Germans with one touch passes and patient in their build up, As oloye called it Kamikazee football, hoping something will fall for you.
We need to teach our boys that sometimes simple is better.
Stanley Amuzie is in the class of Furo Iyenemi. Nuff said!
Funny enough, the Germans exploited our full back weakness but we never exploited theirs to the full. They were weak too with their full backs. Watch Brazil scroe goals from moves from the flanks.

Goldleaf wrote:Stanley Amuzie is in the class of Furo Iyenemi. Nuff said!![]()

yes o
they did the same thing at the under 20s world cup last year, different coach, same ideas!!! same result, almost made nigeria look amateurish in comparison
When did Hrubesch say all this stuff he's being quoted as saying?
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
platinum wrote:When did Hrubesch say all this stuff he's being quoted as saying?

Please this is elementary stuff. Nothing really ground breaking here. We like to spread play when we attack and keep 2 sitting midfielders while the CBs cover for the overlapping full back. That's how we play...right or wrong.
The key for me was the man marking of Mikel. Again, once teams figure out you can nullify Mikel by simply man marking him, we are always in trouble.
- maceo4
But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????
He turned into O'kaformaceo4 wrote:But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????
- maceo4
platinum wrote:He turned into O'kaformaceo4 wrote:But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????

Nothing on it on DFB.de and I could not find the interview on google. Do you have the link to the original interview
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
The tactics would never have worked because the players on tthe field could not pass the ball and Sadiq was having a shocker. Plus the bench was crap.
If the passing game is poor, you are basically limited to long balls. And thats what happened. If we at least had proper fullbacks bombarding forward we could have exposed their flanks. That's what Ghana did vs Germany at the World Cup when the Germans tried the very same tactic. Germany tried to expose Ghana's flanks but ended up being shorthanded vs the very fast counterattack from Ghana. They soon stopped that tactic and started to focus on scoring from setpieces.
Germany was extremely lucky to get a draw out of that game after being thoroughly outplayed by the Ghanaians. Our ball passing was too slow, as was the movement and too many ball hogs trying to run through the defence instead of picking the pass.
If the passing game is poor, you are basically limited to long balls. And thats what happened. If we at least had proper fullbacks bombarding forward we could have exposed their flanks. That's what Ghana did vs Germany at the World Cup when the Germans tried the very same tactic. Germany tried to expose Ghana's flanks but ended up being shorthanded vs the very fast counterattack from Ghana. They soon stopped that tactic and started to focus on scoring from setpieces.
Germany was extremely lucky to get a draw out of that game after being thoroughly outplayed by the Ghanaians. Our ball passing was too slow, as was the movement and too many ball hogs trying to run through the defence instead of picking the pass.
Good luck finding such link.kofi86 wrote:Nothing on it on DFB.de and I could not find the interview on google. Do you have the link to the original interview?
Welcome to 'made-to-fit' JJ. And we wonder why none of our journals are research material.
The writer just plucked the story off the TV screen.
As for the tactics that sank our ship, anyone can see that our teams lack tactical discipline.
Siasia tried, but his team selection 'trickery' did him in.
We may not have won the game, but they would have definitely had a much BIGGER influence...papilo wrote:What made them better was not the players we had or did not have. It was the way they set up their team. Etebo and Azubuike could not have had such an influence on that game. They are not that good.nko wrote:I still blame Siasia for playing Etebo, Azubuike and even Mikel in an unimportant game against Columbia. I feel with Etebo and Azubuike we should have won the game even with all this tactical nonsense from the German Coach
Did the Germans even bother to mark Aminu after the first few minutes? And did Udo even manage to complete one decent pass?
They did a lot more than that. Their passing was quicker and their positional switching was interesting too
Gnabry did a lot of damage in the free role between midfield and attack. Udo didn't do particularly well in the midfield DM slot
maceo4 wrote:platinum wrote:He turned into O'kaformaceo4 wrote:But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????![]()

- The YeyeMan
kajifu wrote:maceo4 wrote:platinum wrote:He turned into O'kaformaceo4 wrote:But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????![]()

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025