Finalists for Gabon 2017 emerge
The 16 teams for next year’s Total Africa Cup of Nations Gabon 2017 are now known.
Besides host Gabon, the list include Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
Uganda, second in Group D with 13 points, and Togo, second in Group A with 11 points qualified as the two best runners-up.
Guinea-Bissau will be the only newcomer at next year’s finals whilst Senegal was the only team to have won all six matches.
Besides host Gabon, the list include Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
Uganda, second in Group D with 13 points, and Togo, second in Group A with 11 points qualified as the two best runners-up.
Guinea-Bissau will be the only newcomer at next year’s finals whilst Senegal was the only team to have won all six matches.
Last edited by Rawlings on Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
Re: Finalists for Gabon 2017 emerge
UGANDA END 38-YEAR WAIT
Uganda secured an Africa Cup of Nations tournament place for the first time since 1978 and Burkina Faso also qualified from Group D after a dramatic climax Sunday.
Burkina Faso scored nine minutes into stoppage time in Ouagadougou to edge Botswana 2-1 and top the standings on the head-to-head rule after a match in which three players were red-carded.
Uganda defeated the Comoros 1-0 before a capacity 45,000 Kampala crowd to finish second and clinch one of the two places reserved for the best runners-up.
Burkina Faso and Uganda finished with 13 points each in the six-round mini-league, Botswana collected six and the Comoros three.
After 38 years littered with near misses to qualify for the biennial African football showpiece, some Ugandan players raised their arms and others sank to their knees as the final whistle sounded.
Dominant against a limited Comoran team, Uganda took the lead on 35 minutes through Belgium-based teenage midfielder Farouk Miya.
He had a shot parried by outstanding goalkeeper Ali Ahamada in a one-one-one situation, but got a second chance from the rebound and fired into the net from close range.
A tension-easing second goal eluded the home team, however, as they remained on top during the second half at the Mandela National Stadium.
Burkina Faso and Uganda join Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Zimbabwe and hosts Gabon as qualifiers for the 2017 Cup of Nations.
The remaining three places will be filled later Sunday with Benin, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Liberia, Togo and Tunisia the contenders.
Uganda secured an Africa Cup of Nations tournament place for the first time since 1978 and Burkina Faso also qualified from Group D after a dramatic climax Sunday.
Burkina Faso scored nine minutes into stoppage time in Ouagadougou to edge Botswana 2-1 and top the standings on the head-to-head rule after a match in which three players were red-carded.
Uganda defeated the Comoros 1-0 before a capacity 45,000 Kampala crowd to finish second and clinch one of the two places reserved for the best runners-up.
Burkina Faso and Uganda finished with 13 points each in the six-round mini-league, Botswana collected six and the Comoros three.
After 38 years littered with near misses to qualify for the biennial African football showpiece, some Ugandan players raised their arms and others sank to their knees as the final whistle sounded.
Dominant against a limited Comoran team, Uganda took the lead on 35 minutes through Belgium-based teenage midfielder Farouk Miya.
He had a shot parried by outstanding goalkeeper Ali Ahamada in a one-one-one situation, but got a second chance from the rebound and fired into the net from close range.
A tension-easing second goal eluded the home team, however, as they remained on top during the second half at the Mandela National Stadium.
Burkina Faso and Uganda join Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Zimbabwe and hosts Gabon as qualifiers for the 2017 Cup of Nations.
The remaining three places will be filled later Sunday with Benin, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Liberia, Togo and Tunisia the contenders.
Looks like all the traditional top Africa footballing nations made it except Naija
make I no lie not seeing Nigeria hurts, e no go better for NFF if we don't make the world cup, they should just put themselves in order now so this travesty won't reoccur again, never again,tufiakwa...never thought a day will come when missing out on AFCON tournaments will become something Nigerian fans now get used to.
Oga chillChimex101 wrote:make I no lie not seeing Nigeria hurts, e no go better for NFF if we don't make the world cup, they should just put themselves in order now so this travesty won't reoccur again, never again,tufiakwa...never thought a day will come when missing out on AFCON tournaments will become something Nigerian fans now get used to.
Naija has made Africa proud by winning the U-17 WORLD title 5 times
Missing a continental competition should not be a big deal
We have missed 3 out of the last 4 AFCONs, if it was up to me, every member of the NFF from the past 10 years would be permanently banned and key officials from the Sports Ministry would be told to resign.Rawlings wrote:Oga chillChimex101 wrote:make I no lie not seeing Nigeria hurts, e no go better for NFF if we don't make the world cup, they should just put themselves in order now so this travesty won't reoccur again, never again,tufiakwa...never thought a day will come when missing out on AFCON tournaments will become something Nigerian fans now get used to.
3 out of 4 AFCONs missed, when we did not suffer a national civil war? That is atrocious! That is incompetence of the highest order!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Rawlings wrote:UGANDA END 38-YEAR WAIT

- tfco
- Eagle
TBite is this you??Tbite wrote: 3 out of 4 AFCONs missed, when we did not suffer a national civil war? That is atrocious! That is incompetence of the highest order!
Naija is the #1 team in Africa right now o. Give the Chickens 2 weeks to camp, and every team will fear them. don't you agree.
Naira Did We

- tfco
- Eagle
Rawlings wrote:The 16 teams for next year’s Total Africa Cup of Nations Gabon 2017 are now known.

AFCON 2017 go sweet o
DNQ no good o
Naira Did We

I think we need a more permanent solution.Tbite wrote:We have missed 3 out of the last 4 AFCONs, if it was up to me, every member of the NFF from the past 10 years would be shot and key officials from the Sports Ministry would be shot too.Rawlings wrote:Oga chillChimex101 wrote:make I no lie not seeing Nigeria hurts, e no go better for NFF if we don't make the world cup, they should just put themselves in order now so this travesty won't reoccur again, never again,tufiakwa...never thought a day will come when missing out on AFCON tournaments will become something Nigerian fans now get used to.
3 out of 4 AFCONs missed, when we did not suffer a national civil war? That is atrocious! That is incompetence of the highest order!
So I have made the necessary changes to fix the problem.
In the present climate, this is the only way.

Tfco, I hope this AFCON go sweet all the way to the final whistle of the final o.tfco wrote:Rawlings wrote:The 16 teams for next year’s Total Africa Cup of Nations Gabon 2017 are now known.
.![]()
AFCON 2017 go sweet o
DNQ no good o
We don't want to see you and Wronglings become wailers any time soon for here.
We have enough as it is!
You better do us proud or you face a 32 year ban from CE. No English go save you.
Ehen.

- chendosplastic
We shall resurrect that thread ....."The last time Ghana won the ANC,..."
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
Damunk wrote:I think we need a more permanent solution.Tbite wrote:We have missed 3 out of the last 4 AFCONs, if it was up to me, every member of the NFF from the past 10 years would be shot and key officials from the Sports Ministry would be shot too.Rawlings wrote:Oga chillChimex101 wrote:make I no lie not seeing Nigeria hurts, e no go better for NFF if we don't make the world cup, they should just put themselves in order now so this travesty won't reoccur again, never again,tufiakwa...never thought a day will come when missing out on AFCON tournaments will become something Nigerian fans now get used to.
So I have made the necessary changes to fix the problem.
In the present climate, this is the only way.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
This is painful, whichever way you slice it. Kai!
Jh8: 34Jesus replied, "I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. 35Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. 36So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.
Ghana has gone from being the Brasil of Africa to the Arsenal of Africa yet these bredas dey make mouff here...all we can get as evidence of existence of any Bredas here since last time Ghana win am came from Sonograms. I mean..since last time Wenger win EPL newbies Man City and Leicester have come and snatched the thing away....just like Ivory Coast and Zambia nicked the trophy away from the Azonto Dancers..folks..sometimes it's ok for the big boys to step aside and see if dwarfs can fill the shoes...so let's just get our cameras ready and watch with glee as Ghana get stumped on like that last scene in Sholay... 

Last edited by paj on Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Available on all major streaming platforms

Pay attention to your brother's posting above yourspaj wrote:Ghana has gone from being the Brasil of Africa to the Arsenal of Africa yet these bredas dey make mouff here...I mean..since last time Wenger win EPL newbies Man City and Leicester have come and snatched the thing away..just like Ivory Coast and Zambia nicked the trophy away from the Azonto Dancers..folks..sometimes it's ok for the big boys to step aside and see if dwarfs can fill the shoes...so let's just get our cameras ready and watch with glee as Ghana get stumped on like that last scene in Sholay...
It'll be a lot more painful for Ghana to miss out on the trophy yet again after a 3 decade wait....mayn that's a long @ss ****ing time ...dude..perspective.in 6 short years it'll be 40 years since U guys won it....then U'd go from the Ghana to the Arsenal and then to the Uruguay of Africa...even when U tell stories your grandkids will find it hard to picture Ghana was once a powerhouse...Rawlings wrote:Pay attention to your brother's posting above yourspaj wrote:Ghana has gone from being the Brasil of Africa to the Arsenal of Africa yet these bredas dey make mouff here...I mean..since last time Wenger win EPL newbies Man City and Leicester have come and snatched the thing away..just like Ivory Coast and Zambia nicked the trophy away from the Azonto Dancers..folks..sometimes it's ok for the big boys to step aside and see if dwarfs can fill the shoes...so let's just get our cameras ready and watch with glee as Ghana get stumped on like that last scene in Sholay...

my guy relax...let the bredas laff...U know..they call themselves the Brasilians of Africa..see Brazil now..almost barren of players and Neymar-dependent...Ghana's even worse..they're Gyan-dependent..now that's as ephed as U can get.. watch them recall him again once kickoff beginJssMan wrote:This is painful, whichever way you slice it. Kai!

Cape Verde will win in Gabon.. Togo and Ghana will impress.. Egypt will win Bronze..
- bret- hart
Purity wrote:Cape Verde will win in Gabon.. Togo and Ghana will impress.. Egypt will win Bronze..
Comrade Oshiomole's inlaws did not make it o.
Pay attentionPurity wrote:Cape Verde will win in Gabon.. Togo and Ghana will impress.. Egypt will win Bronze..
Cape Verde & Naija dey same boat
Cameroon to win it
Nope ... Ghana or burstaykwes8 wrote:Cameroon to win it