Page 1 of 2
The best way to enjoy the World Cup
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:27 pm
by oloye
Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
A couple of weeks ago, there is no Super Eagles without Mikel, after today drop him to the bench he is past it.
After Argentina a host of the fans had a Thanksgiving singing Ose Ose o, Ose O , Ose Baba.....their reason for Thanksgiving...Brian Idowu the much awaited left back has arrived. After the match today...they have changed their tune....this Idowu nor be am.
A couple of days ago after Aina committed the penalty in the Congo match.....Aina should be dropped, he adds nothing to the team was the chorus. After today...the fans were wondering why he was dropped. Suddenly he is that missing link,who can do no wrong.
Only Nigerian fans expect a 19 year old keeper not to parry a shot that came at him from close range the way he did when seasoned keepers have done worse.
I don't know what expectations these fans have set for themselves, I don't know what they expect from a team with hardly any world class players, a team with mostly average but hard working players. I don't know what these fans are expecting, but geez I expect to watch the World Cup in peace, so I have stumbled upon the best formula...stay away!
Re: The best way to enjoy the World Cup
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:29 pm
by green4life
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:11 pm
by elerineye
oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
A couple of weeks ago, there is no Super Eagles without Mikel, after today drop him to the bench he is past it.
After Argentina a host of the fans had a Thanksgiving singing Ose Ose o, Ose O , Ose Baba.....their reason for Thanksgiving...Brian Idowu the much awaited left back has arrived. After the match today...they have changed their tune....this Idowu nor be am.
A couple of days ago after Aina committed the penalty in the Congo match.....Aina should be dropped, he adds nothing to the team was the chorus. After today...the fans were wondering why he was dropped. Suddenly he is that missing link,who can do no wrong.
Only Nigerian fans expect a 19 year old keeper not to parry a shot that came at him from close range the way he did when seasoned keepers have done worse.
I don't know what expectations these fans have set for themselves, I don't know what they expect from a team with hardly any world class players, a team with mostly average but hard working players. I don't know what these fans are expecting, but geez I expect to watch the World Cup in peace, so I have stumbled upon the best formula...stay away!
Ore, I was 100% certain that the prophets of doom will be out in full force after the loss today, and they didn’t disappoint.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:13 pm
by Cellular
oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
If you stayed away who will be here to calm them down?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:13 pm
by Cally
Nigerians! a peculiar breed. I just don't bother. Where do you even start sef?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:15 pm
by metalalloy

Chief, you should know by now which forumers posts you should stop and read, and which one you should just scroll past unless you want to laugh for the day.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:22 pm
by Enugu II
Oloye,
It's up to you on who to take seriously. That is a fact.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:22 pm
by zee
Dean Oloye, there are a couple of folks I take their posts on CE serious..............the rest are just your regular FOOTBALL-KNOW-NOTHINGS.
The few forumers that I take their football posts serious....................Dean Oloye, cicob, Cellular, Waka-man, Enugu11,coachito ...........and yes EVEN Txj knows his football when he decides not to play silly.
But the rest I read sometimes for ........comic relief.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:25 pm
by 9jaMan
Dem nor sabi ball

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:28 pm
by oloye

I may lose my mind just being here for the WC
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:33 pm
by kolinzo
There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:42 pm
by platinum
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:52 pm
by oloye
kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.
Depends on the expectations you have set for yourself. My take on the team is simple....this is a team for the future. I am excited looking at the players coming through and those waiting on the wings to join. This team is not ready to take on the world yet.
So whatever happens in Russia , it will be a bonus for me.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:58 pm
by Obong
Man Mi,
One has to use the selective reading approach when it is the present-day Cyberegles. There are the must-read contributors, those in-between, then there are the other extreme contributors that should carry warning labels. The truth is that friendlies are meant to fine-tune the team ahead of the main dance. Who'll want to be the winner of all friendly matches and yet, lose all the group matches? Though there's some cause for concern, I believe that indomitable Nigerian spirit will be awakened once the World Cup starts. I can't wait...
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:47 pm
oloye wrote:kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.
Depends on the expectations you have set for yourself. My take on the team is simple....t
his is a team for the future. I am excited looking at the players coming through and those waiting on the wings to join. This team is not ready to take on the world yet.
do not make me laugh.. future and NFF..abeg..once this team jaboor, Buhari go ban them alias Goodluck.. they said the same thing in 2002, this is the team for the future another torey of the youngest team, they sure gave us the future like ogbeche...

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:11 pm
by highbury
You are not doing a good job staying away

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:35 pm
by Kneedeep
If Nigerians can follow Arsenal for 14 years in the wilderness they can follow SE without the drama.

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:40 pm
by mcal
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:40 pm
by Rawlings
The best way is to not qualify ... then there is no pressure
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:48 pm
by maceo4
Mouth go change after we start demolishing at the World Cup

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:50 pm
by Rawlings
maceo4 wrote:Mouth go change after we start demolishing at the World Cup

I put $2 on Naija to win
I will get a return of $500
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:59 pm
by Sir V
oloye wrote:kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.
Depends on the expectations you have set for yourself. My take on the team is simple....this is a team for the future. I am excited looking at the players coming through and those waiting on the wings to join. This team is not ready to take on the world yet.
I don't think the eagles would fly beyond the cloud of Russia. I wish them all the best.
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:43 pm
by cchinukw
My brother at least some of us are realistic. No need to raise hopes unnecessarily.
We need to protect our emotions.
Personally, I'm okay with them touring the 3 towns for the group stages. Looking forward to the selfies.