CHRISTAIN CHUKWU!

Post by GUEST »

SOURCE; http://nigeriasports.com/1998

Chukwu to try ‘unknowns’

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Super eagles coach, Christian Chukwu has told Nigeriasports.com that he will give opportunity to some Nigerian players who ply their trade in the lower leagues.
According to the ‘chairman’ the inability of the NFA to get the team friendly games makes it difficult to try out some of these players.

“Thanks to the last Kick Off magazine (December/January 2005 edition) I was able to see many names and performances of some Nigerian players in Europe and Africa.

I won’t mind trying some of them out and that’s the reason why I always call for friendlies, without such games we cannot have the opportunity of trying them out.

As the Super Eagles resume qualifiers for the 2006 World Cup in March, the former international skipper insists the door is still open for some invitations.

“As long as they are Nigerians, we will keep encouraging them and try them out. If we didn’t give such opportunity to a player like Makinwa who plays in the Italian Serie B we won’t be able to
kongi the emir

Post by kongi the emir »

tru dat.

Post by GUEST »

THANK YOU KICKOFF!

GUEST:
Do you actually think that anyone at the NFA or any Nigerian coach (or in fact, any Nigerian) knows ALL Nigerian players plying their trade abroad? Just GT's list of players in Malta, Singapore, Albania or Vietnam will suffice to put any rational mind to the test.

Unless and until the NFA develops a database of all Nigerian players (regardless of international prospects) and an institutionalised systemic scouting program, it suffices that Nigerian coaches are aware of the prospects in the most visible leagues.

At the moment, the Nigerian version of "scouting" is frankly a hit-or-miss process is largely effected by sundry journalists and (sometimes planted) news reports, nebulous sources, coaches, agent and the so-called spivs.

Of course, most foreign coaches are even worse. The only "scouting" that they engage in is turning towards the European leagues for players. Or in the case of Bryan 'Relegation Specialist' Robson, to the likes of Ayo Akinfe!

General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

Gotti you forgot India and Malaysia. In India Ranti Martins Soleye is the top scorer, he is a young tall and very athletic striker. In Malaysia there is Duke Effiong and Abdul Razak Mohammed Ekpoki, but I don't think they are Eagles material.

Gotti wrote:GUEST:
Do you actually think that anyone at the NFA or any Nigerian coach (or in fact, any Nigerian) knows ALL Nigerian players plying their trade abroad? Just GT's list of players in Malta, Singapore, Albania or Vietnam will suffice to put any rational mind to the test.

Unless and until the NFA develops a database of all Nigerian players (regardless of international prospects) and an institutionalised systemic scouting program, it suffices that Nigerian coaches are aware of the prospects in the most visible leagues.

At the moment, the Nigerian version of "scouting" is frankly a hit-or-miss process is largely effected by sundry journalists and (sometimes planted) news reports, nebulous sources, coaches, agent and the so-called spivs.

Of course, most foreign coaches are even worse. The only "scouting" that they engage in is turning towards the European leagues for players. Or in the case of Bryan 'Relegation Specialist' Robson, to the likes of Ayo Akinfe!
Last edited by General Trousers on Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
General Trousers
Re: CHRISTAIN CHUKWU!

The only 4 UNKWONWNS that CCC should examine are

1. Precious Emuejeraye
2. Ranti Martins Soleye
(3 and 4) the Two Nigerians in Greece

Of these, it is Precious Emuejeraye that we need to really cap. The guy is a Taribo West style player, but bigger than Taribo. Aside from these I would cap Precious cousin Alfred Omoefe. The guy is the real deal.
GUEST wrote:SOURCE; http://nigeriasports.com/1998

Chukwu to try ‘unknowns’

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Super eagles coach, Christian Chukwu has told Nigeriasports.com that he will give opportunity to some Nigerian players who ply their trade in the lower leagues.
According to the ‘chairman’ the inability of the NFA to get the team friendly games makes it difficult to try out some of these players.

“Thanks to the last Kick Off magazine (December/January 2005 edition) I was able to see many names and performances of some Nigerian players in Europe and Africa.

I won’t mind trying some of them out and that’s the reason why I always call for friendlies, without such games we cannot have the opportunity of trying them out.

As the Super Eagles resume qualifiers for the 2006 World Cup in March, the former international skipper insists the door is still open for some invitations.

“As long as they are Nigerians, we will keep encouraging them and try them out. If we didn’t give such opportunity to a player like Makinwa who plays in the Italian Serie B we won’t be able to

General Trousers wrote:Gotti you forgot India and Malaysia. In India Ranti Martins Soleye is the top scorer, he is a young tall and very athletic striker. In Malaysia there is Duke Effiong and Abdul Razak Mohammed Ekpoki.

Didn't you bring us news of the Nigerian striker in Iran as well?

Anyway, keep up the good work...
Maybe, we will find another Utaka!

General Trousers

Well the guy in Iran came and tooted his horn. He said he was going to the Bundesliga and that was the last we heard.

To be fair I think mainly players who have gone through an academy system, or have played the rigorous African Champions League (Utaka, Musa) are the ones that catch my attention. A few others are noticed because of their physique (Layeni and Emuejeraye).
General Trousers wrote:Gotti you forgot India and Malaysia. In India Ranti Martins Soleye is the top scorer, he is a young tall and very athletic striker. In Malaysia there is Duke Effiong and Abdul Razak Mohammed Ekpoki.

Didn't you bring us news of the Nigerian striker in Iran as well?

Anyway, keep up the good work...
Maybe, we will find another Utaka!
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Thanks Gotti for that response because I was going to copntribute something along that line (but not that good I must confess).

I do not hold brief for anyone but I believe GUEST started this thread as a slant towards coach C. But just like it did for me some years ago, I hope it serves as an educational and positively informational thread.

It really does take a village [village's contribution] to "handle" coach C's position well. The best part is that he is humble enough to give credit to whom its due.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

The saga continues. no structure, no planning, no development nothing except sit and wait till something falls out of the sky...

Me sef i dey play for Cybereagles FC 11. I am a utility player but central defence is my best position on the field.. CARETAKER CCC pls cap me too... :o :D :P :)
Last edited by MI5 on Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
mapet

Post by mapet »

MI5 wrote:The saga continues. no structure, no plannint, no development nothing except sit and wait till something falls out of the sky...

Me sef i dey play for Cybereagles FC 11. I am a utility player but central defence is my best position on the field.. CARETAKER CCC pls cap me... :o :D :P :)
No Vision, No focus, tossed by every wave of ideas.......the saga really continues

Mapet,

I don tire for di whole thing oohh.. Me sef i wan play for SE. I sabi play well well and for one league for NYC i dey play for... :) :P

The game against Gabon is a must win to get things back on track for us but who cares this days...Nobody... :( :)

mapet wrote:
MI5 wrote:The saga continues. no structure, no planning, no development nothing except sit and wait till something falls out of the sky...

Me sef i dey play for Cybereagles FC 11. I am a utility player but central defence is my best position on the field.. CARETAKER CCC pls cap me... :o :D :P :)
No Vision, No focus, tossed by every wave of ideas.......the saga really continues

MI5 wrote:Mapet,

I don tire for di whole thing oohh.. Me sef i wan play for SE. I sabi play well well and for one league for NYC i dey play for... :) :P

The game against Gabon is a must win to get things back on track for us but who cares this days...Nobody... :( :)

mapet wrote:
MI5 wrote:The saga continues. no structure, no planning, no development nothing except sit and wait till something falls out of the sky...

IF U WAN PLA, KATCH A PLAN TO NAIJA, NOW NOW, AT LEAST U GO GET UR ALAWANCE

If he wants to pack the squad with unknowns during the qualifiers then he is a sick old man.We need to make sure of qualification then he can play around before the WC if he cant do that then it spells DOOM
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Eaglezbeak wrote:If he wants to pack the squad with unknowns during the qualifiers then he is a sick old man.We need to make sure of qualification then he can play around before the WC if he cant do that then it spells DOOM
Eaglezbeak, Congratulations: You're still in the running to "outstupid" MI5 :x

Another year of trials ??

I want to see the result of the 1000 players we tried in the past 2 years first.

1naija wrote:Another year of trials ??

I want to see the result of the 1000 players we tried in the past 2 years first.
You have to go to Barclays Bank or Union Bank. :lol: :lol: :lol:
But Gotti we cannot be trying out more unkowns at this stage

1naija wrote:I want to see the result of the 1000 players we tried in the past 2 years first.
1NAIJA:
Some of you CEs are truly a funny lot. When a Nigerian coach tries only well-established players (or players in well-established clubs), he is accused of "waiting" for others to "groom" his players for him (and of course it does not matter that that i the established norm with all national team coaches worldwide). And when he tests lesser-known and/or lesser-established players, he is equally harangued.

What exactly is the OPTIMUM number of players to be granted an opportunity for a place in the Eagles squad?! And exactly who established the bona fides of such number?! Should Nigeria with about several times the population of professional players (at home and abroad) test the same number of prospects as Zimbabwe, Malawi or even Gambia?!

Ultimately, whether 100 or 1000 players are given a shot at earning an Eagles' shirt is substantively IRRELEVANT, so long as (1) there are enough friendly games to afford the coach the luxury to so do (and the referenced report clearly indicated that Chukwu was seeking more friendlies to so do) and (2) those players evince a potential deserving of such an opportunity.

Unfortunately, it is with respect to the latter aspect that the shortcoming of practically every Nigerian coach compelled to function under an often spectacularly-inept football federation is aptly illustrated, because the absence of an institutionalized scouting system means that deciphering some players' international potential is regularly reduced to the prevailing hit-or-miss process often driven by sundry news reports and neboulous other sources.

Under the subsisting circumstances, therefore, a national call-up may effectively turn on the (essentially philosophical) question of whether in the absence of systemic scouting, the coach is inclined to grant opportunities to a narrow or a wide ambit of prospects. And my position thereto is that if 1000 Nigerian players are ARGUABLY international prospects, they should be granted EQUAL opportunities (so long as there are enough friendlies to so accommodate).

Numbers are only a god to be worshipped by accountants, statisticians and such other sundry bean-counters. To the rest of civilization, numbers are merely a tool towards a more comprehensive picture. Accordingly, to derogate substance while reveling in the shadows of numbers is akin to the proverbial chasing of rats while one's abode is afire!
Last edited by Gotti on Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Prince wrote: But Gotti we cannot be trying out more unkowns at this stage
PRINCE:
Without prejudice, "unknown" is merely a relative term (albeit one often used perjoratively on this forum).

Afterall, Chidi Odiah was quite "unknown" when he was invited to the Eagles and today folks are tracking his every circumstance. George Abbey was virtually the king of the "unknowns" and while he will probably never set the world afire, he has nonetheless held his own in a traditionally-weak position for the Eagles.

Atanda Yussuf (aka Ayinla or Ayila or Yussuf, depending on who is spelling it) was "unknown" to even some of the most knowledgable Nigerian pundits until they chanced upon him in a televised Champions League's game. Even John Utaka was relatively "unknown" to almost all but the likes of GT and Egyptians.

Exactly how many Nigerians presently "know" the likes of Michael Nnaji, Bobsam Elejiko, Kingsley Ekeh, Tunde Olalekan, ifeanyi Emeghara, Patrick Ogunsoto (whom reportedly recently earned the admiration of Greece's Otto Rehhagel), Segun Omolade, etc, and/or their international prospects (or lack thereof of)?!

Even ex-Eaglets Emmanuel Baba, Richard Eromoigbe, Cyril Gona, Ominogho Temile have all joined the brigade of Nigerian "unknowns" scattered across the globe, because instead of the NFA investing in systemic scouting, it is pre-occupied with foreign messiahs in the misguided notion of camouflaging the systemic problems that ultimately undermine Nigeria's fortunes.
Last edited by Gotti on Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

1naija wrote:I want to see the result of the 1000 players we tried in the past 2 years first.
1NAIJA:
Some of you CEs are truly a funny lot. When a Nigerian coach tries only well-established players (or players in well-established clubs), he is accused of "waiting" for others to "groom" his players for him (and of course it does not matter that that i the established norm with all national team coaches worldwide). And when he tests lesser-known and/or lesser-established players, he is equally harangued.

What exactly is the OPTIMUM number of players to be granted an opportunity for a place in the Eagles squad?! And exactly who established the bona fides of such number?! Should Nigeria with about several times the population of professional players (at home and abroad) test the same number of prospects as Zimbabwe, Malawi or even Gambia?!

Ultimately, whether 100 or 1000 players are given a shot at earning an Eagles' shirt is substantively IRRELEVANT, so long as (1) there are enough friendly games to afford the coach the luxury to so do (and the reports clearly indicates that Chukwu is seeking more friendlies to so do) and (2) those players evince a potential deserving of such an opportunity.

Unfortunately, it is the latter aspect that the shortcoming of practically every Nigerian coach compelled to function under an often spectacularly-inept football federation is aptly illustrated, because the absence of an institutionalized scouting system means that deciphering players' realistic prospects is often reduce to the prevailing hit-or-miss process.

Under the subsisting circumstances, it boils down to the (essentially philosophical) question of whether in the absence of systemic scouting, the coach should grant opportunities to a narrow or a wide ambit of prospects. And my position is that if 1000 Nigerian players are ARGUABLY international prospects, they should be granted EQUAL opportunities (so long as there are enough friendlies to so accommodate).

Numbers are only a god to be worshipped by accountants, statisticians and such other sundry bean-counters. To the rest of civilization, numbers are merely a tool towards a more comprehensive picture. To derogate substance while reveling in the shadows of numbers is akin to the proverbial chasing of rats while one's abode is afire!
GOTTI, even you would agree that it makes no sense to try over 1000 players and yet could not find 11 players to field whenever the so-called "well established" players refuse to show up for games, as was the case against Gabon and South Africa. What's the point in the trials if they won't yield results?
SSTAR

Post by SSTAR »

Gotti, well put.
People merely love criticizing for the sake of it. In the absence of any planned friendly before our next WC qualifier, only a foolish coach would want to gamble with the team makeup, and deviate from the known.
Personally, I believe the blame for our not qualifying for Germany 2006 will be placed on the NFA board. All those who think CCC is not doing a good job in the current disorganisational situation with our FA are definitely dillusional. Come to think of if, with the unending demand for an FC, only a 419 FC would like working under our presently incompetent FA.
The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!

Cyber Saint or Cyber Evil formerly known as Serial Killer..Wow it's amazing when you remember things that somehow you cannot seem forget... :) :) :)

It's funny how you try to be a fake saint overnight and i wondered who changed you? :shock: :oops: :shock:

This is coming from the same lunatic ethnic, racist, tribalist bigot, hate monger who when Amodu and Baba Oni were coaches of the SE you bashed and berated them to the point of no return because the only crime they ever committed in your eyes was they didn't come from where you came from in Nigeria. I remember your selective bashing on the same Amodu you now claim to support now after things started going sour in Mali 2002 ANC... What a pity coming from an evil demon who calls himself a saint in the day and demon at night...wow :shock: :shock:

After Amodu was removed and Baba Oni was apppointed you took your bashing to a whole new level which you still do till today when Baba Oni's name comes up..Wow only from a demon who calls himself saint...Someone must be deceiving you... :P :shock: :lol:

You claim to support and like LC's/IC's no matter who is there but when this two coaches were in charge you quickly seperated yourself from it and even went as far as to claim you are not a Nigerian anymore until this guys are removed just because they don't come from where you come from wow... Is that what saints are taught, to be bias to their fellow countrymen because they come from your hometown? :shock: :oops: :twisted:

Now that your CARETAKER MASTER CCC is caretaking the team i see all of a sudden you are proud to come from Naija again oh my what a turnaround from a demon to a fake saint who pretends he is a saint..wow... :shock: :shock:

Nice one and i am enjoying this. It doesn't matter what you call me because this is not the first time i'll be called names on CE.. I guess it comes with being a vocal member who views will always differ on issues... It doesn't bother me one bit... But as for you no matter how try to disguise youself on CE as a fake saint, you will always remain an ethnic, tribalist, racist and bigot in the eyes of many in here who knows what you are about... I hope one day you can wake up and see beyond your racist, bigotry hide and seek on CE...

At least i am honest when i say i don't like LC's or IC's because they are not good enough and i don't care where they come from any part of Nigeria, but you i see your trademark ways of selective criticisms when it comes to who is in charge... Ride on evil saint... The sky is watching you...

1naija wrote:GOTTI, even you would agree that it makes no sense to try over 1000 players and yet could not find 11 players to field whenever the so-called "well established" players refuse to show up for games, as was the case against Gabon and South Africa. What's the point in the trials if they won't yield results?
Are you saying that if 0 players were tried, 11 would then show up?! :shock: