Time to bench Mikel ...
Should Mikel be starting?
This is not just based on today’s game but recent matches in his new position. He is playing high but not bringing attacking threat or urgency.
If he can play DM beside Ndidi and tackle and retain possession and distribute then ok.
But what he’s doing now is not helping our team. Better to have Iwobi in AM and get either iheanacho or musa on the field. Ighalo is suffering from isolation.
If he can play DM beside Ndidi and tackle and retain possession and distribute then ok.
But what he’s doing now is not helping our team. Better to have Iwobi in AM and get either iheanacho or musa on the field. Ighalo is suffering from isolation.
Re: Should Mikel be starting?
He is our best midfielder and should be starting abeg we lost to a better team no need insulting players
Mikel has never been an "attacking threat" or a player with Urgency
In other words, Mikel is being Mikel
Time to bench Mikel ...
Replace him with Iwobi? The attack isn’t swift. enough.
Mikel shouldn't be starting 8 years ago...he is a disgrace to # 10 Jersey...We went from Okocha to this clown.
- airwolex
Re: Time to bench Mikel ...
It was funny watching him and fellow slow coach Modric run.

But no, he should not be benched. Now I hope we can stop all this nonsense of his offensive qualities being destroyed by Mourinho. The dude doesn't have the legs and skillset to play any kind of attacking football.

Last edited by airwolex on Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
No, just move him back to CM amd put Iwobi ahead of him. He’s too slow to play behind the striker.
Synopsis wrote:No, just move him back to CM amd put Iwobi ahead of him. He’s too slow to play behind the striker.
Who would he replace in CM?
I agree, mikel has passed his prime, but etebo should have played ahead of mikel or iwobi. This was a disgrace.
Dude is done like a steak! Nothing to offer whatsover
Dude is damn lazy. Just strolling while yelling instructions. Reason he played the water-carrier role in his prime at Chelsea.YUJAM wrote:Replace him with Iwobi? The attack isn’t swift. enough.
Iwobi should have played ahead of Mikel insteadosita wrote:I agree, mikel has passed his prime, but etebo should have played ahead of mikel or iwobi. This was a disgrace.
Etebo can be the super sub.YUJAM wrote:Synopsis wrote:No, just move him back to CM amd put Iwobi ahead of him. He’s too slow to play behind the striker.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
If he wasn't there they would have overrun us and did us worse than Saudi Arabia was done.
Stop hating Mikel. He did pretty well. But yes - I would put him in midfield next to Ndidi, play Iwobi as AM and put Etebo on the wing to torture with his pace.
Too late for that. Etebo has cemented his place as a starter.
Synopsis wrote:Etebo can be the super sub.YUJAM wrote:Synopsis wrote:No, just move him back to CM amd put Iwobi ahead of him. He’s too slow to play behind the striker.
No, Mikel should not be dropped. He should play deeper. Etebo was the one plus for me today. Let Iwobi play as AM. Nacho + Musa to start. But please let’s see some Naija spirit even if we lose.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
The team could have done with playing a formation that accommodates Iwobi. And also having another distributor of the ball playing CD.YUJAM wrote:Replace him with Iwobi? The attack isn’t swift. enough.
I didn't see what the vaunted Croatian midfield did to us.
- airwolex
I would start Mikel over Etebo. Apart from his leadership qualities, there are few better at receiving the ball from the defenders and creating a forward momentum. Etebo for now is a runner and when he can't run with the ball (which is dangerous) just passes back. He is a beast though...I have said this from day one.
There’s a reason why one graduates from Argos weights to a gym membership, 2 plates on both just ain’t the same. No matter how hard you train, if you’re using dogsh*t equipment, you get dogsh*t results. What Obi and Ighalo did today was play to a standard that has been acceptable all season. They loaded up the Argos bench and banged out 6 reps, clean.
Mikel should be starting, but as a DM.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Did you watch the same game I didYUJAM wrote:Too late for that. Etebo has cemented his place as a starter.
Synopsis wrote:Etebo can be the super sub.YUJAM wrote:Synopsis wrote:No, just move him back to CM amd put Iwobi ahead of him. He’s too slow to play behind the striker.

Or he should play deeper.
We have to make changes.