Sack Rohr and return to SQUARE 1.
For the first time in a while, SE players were picked on MERIT. Infact, rohr inherited a disjointed and failed team that couldn’t QUALIFY for back to back ANC. He then qualified us for World Cup in a group of death that includes the likes of Algeria, Cameroon, Zambia (all ANC winners) As much as I am angered by the biased referees I still realized that we lost to teams that included Messi, Aguero, demaria, modric, rakitic etc teams that our 1994 team wouldn’t BEAT. If we terminate Rohr just be prepared for multiple DUBIOUS SELECTIONS. Be prepared for situations like no name PAUL ONOBI, benching mikel and be prepared for another failure to QUALIFY for the next World Cup.
Re: Sack Rohr and return to SQUARE 1.
didnt read your comment, your topic is stupid
it’s not stupid Issa fact. Every time I say something here people always question it at first, then ends up embracing it in the future.
dude he has the wrong mentality. He is a good coach but his approach is not a good fit for SEjohn12 wrote:it’s not stupid Issa fact. Every time I say something here people always question it at first, then ends up embracing it in the future.
He must go and it will be good for Nigeria. The SE went to the WC and won 1 and lost two same as Saudi Arabia and worse than Senegal. If there was a glimmer of hope as it were with Bonfere in 1998 I will say keep him but none. His strategizes are timid, head scratching player selection (I read the guy said in the post match interview that Idowu was selected to start because he was born in the city the game was played in), and slow in game adjustment with substitution. Those are things that likely won't change with the guy and seems to be getting worse or maybe he is revealing himself. Anyway this SE team needs a younger more energized coach not a coach with outdated footballing style with no real winning track record in last 10 - 15 yrs. He is a slightly better version of Berti Vogt but still below average coach. I suspect he might resign himself when the pressure reaches him and they will.
When did u move from square 1?
Personally don’t care whether he goes or stays. I can’t bring myself to support cowardly football, it’s just not the way we play.
Stori.oscar52 wrote:He must go and it will be good for Nigeria. The SE went to the WC and won 1 and lost two same as Saudi Arabia and worse than Senegal. If there was a glimmer of hope as it were with Bonfere in 1998 I will say keep him but none. His strategizes are timid, head scratching player selection (I read the guy said in the post match interview that Idowu was selected to start because he was born in the city the game was played in), and slow in game adjustment with substitution. Those are things that likely won't change with the guy and seems to be getting worse or maybe he is revealing himself. Anyway this SE team needs a younger more energized coach not a coach with outdated footballing style with no real winning track record in last 10 - 15 yrs. He is a slightly better version of Berti Vogt but still below average coach. I suspect he might resign himself when the pressure reaches him and they will.
Make some informed and practical suggestions if you're that knowledgeable, make we discuss.
'Sack' is easier to spell and pronounce than 'employ'.
Yes - sack Rohr.
No - not back to Square 1.
We need to trust in African coaches, else our game will not develop. African / Nigerian coaches understand the player mentality and if they are given a chance they can really develop the team.
The backbone for the team is there:
These players stay:
Uzoho, Balogun, Omeruo, Ndidi, Etebo, Ebeuhi, Iwobi, Iheanacho, Musa, Shehu.
The rest is either too old or not good enough, but can do as temporary solutions.
FEW THINGS:
1. We really need to look into Awaziem more. There is a reason why he is barely in his 20s, but start in top European teams. He needs to start games ahead of Troost Ekong and Omeruo. Balogun remains our best defender.
2. Mikel should stay, but we need to start looking at life post-Mikel. And to do that we need to integrate Iwobi and Kelechi Nwakali into the AM role. Both are at Arsenal, at least one of them should make the big time.
3. Belgium must be tested. Our top breeding ground for players is arguably Belgium. We need to give all our players there a propor look into: Peter Olayinka, Samuel Kalu, Henry Onyekuru, Dennis Bonaventure. The Belgium league has become a very good breeding ground for top players, so we really need to check them out.
4. The hunt is on for the centre forward position. Sadiq Umar looks like our best bet, but we can't give up on Isaac Success, Olanrewaju Kayode, Simy, Victor Osimhen, Taiwo Awoniyi, Fred Friday, Paul Onuachu, Cyril Dessers, Junior Lokosa, Dennis Bonaventure.
5. Left back. We need a left back. Or at worst lets stick Aina or Ebeuhi there until we find a solution.
We need to trust in African coaches, else our game will not develop. African / Nigerian coaches understand the player mentality and if they are given a chance they can really develop the team.
These players stay:
The rest is either too old or not good enough, but can do as temporary solutions.
FEW THINGS:
1. We really need to look into Awaziem more. There is a reason why he is barely in his 20s, but start in top European teams. He needs to start games ahead of Troost Ekong and Omeruo. Balogun remains our best defender.
2. Mikel should stay, but we need to start looking at life post-Mikel. And to do that we need to integrate Iwobi and Kelechi Nwakali into the AM role. Both are at Arsenal, at least one of them should make the big time.
3. Belgium must be tested. Our top breeding ground for players is arguably Belgium. We need to give all our players there a propor look into: Peter Olayinka, Samuel Kalu, Henry Onyekuru, Dennis Bonaventure. The Belgium league has become a very good breeding ground for top players, so we really need to check them out.
4. The hunt is on for the centre forward position. Sadiq Umar looks like our best bet, but we can't give up on Isaac Success, Olanrewaju Kayode, Simy, Victor Osimhen, Taiwo Awoniyi, Fred Friday, Paul Onuachu, Cyril Dessers, Junior Lokosa, Dennis Bonaventure.
5. Left back. We need a left back. Or at worst lets stick Aina or Ebeuhi there until we find a solution.
marutimon wrote:Yes - sack Rohr.
These players stay:
FEW THINGS:

Rhor has to go! If we allow him to continue then something is wrong with our society. This guy was busy listing the names of clubs our opponents play, champions league, saying how great and unbeatable they are. Our players are at the World Cup to learn.. Really? Is this Nigeria’s World Cup debute? We clearly can’t win anything with a guy like this at the helm of our team. We need an ex-international to take over the team. Rhor doesn’t belong. His lack of confidence in the team shows and and translates to very timid performance by the players.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
We need change in all aspects of our lives. If Rohr was Nigerian would you want him to stay on? We have to objectively review his performance, ask him what are his future plans. Then make a decision. I am troubled by his 90th minute sub out of Musa. I also didn't like how passive Nigerian played against Croatia. Afcon 2019 is not important to me. I am more interested in finding the coach that will coach Nigeria for the next 4 plus years. Before we sack himwe must have a suitable replacement in place.
What are you talking about?ohenhen1 wrote:We need change in all aspects of our lives. If Rohr was Nigerian would you want him to stay on? We have to objectively review his performance, ask him what are his future plans. Then make a decision. I am troubled by his 90th minute sub out of Musa. I also didn't like how passive Nigerian played against Croatia. Afcon 2019 is not important to me. I am more interested in finding the coach that will coach Nigeria for the next 4 plus years. Before we sack him we must have a suitable replacement in place.
There are many of us that warned against sacking Keshi and even Oliseh despite their shortcomings.
Why?
Because we need to have some continuity for once!
This sacking frenzy we have been cursed with is not working and is simply a reflection of a society that is impulsive and can't plan medium and long term.
Do you even remember how many calls there were for the sacking of Pinnick up to barely 9 months ago?
Was it when we failed to qualify for AFCON?
Or when we failed to qualify for the U20 WC?
Or was it when he signed the Nike deal?
Those are just three occasions I can recall off the top of my head.
Dem swear for us?
1. We need more creative players in the team. Strikers and midfielders that can deliver a good final ball. I know it is not popular but I will drop Ahmed Musa, Ighalo, Omeruo, and Etebo from the team. Move Shehu to his natural position, defensive midfield. We need players that are clinical, do the little things right, good technical ability.
2. We also need to find faster defenders. Balogun and Omeruo were not quick enough. That is why it is a good idea to drop Omeruo.
3. Etebo didn't deliver one single through ball to the strikers. Integrate creative players like Nwakili into the team.
2. We also need to find faster defenders. Balogun and Omeruo were not quick enough. That is why it is a good idea to drop Omeruo.
3. Etebo didn't deliver one single through ball to the strikers. Integrate creative players like Nwakili into the team.
Damunk wrote:What are you talking about?ohenhen1 wrote:We need change in all aspects of our lives. If Rohr was Nigerian would you want him to stay on? We have to objectively review his performance, ask him what are his future plans. Then make a decision. I am troubled by his 90th minute sub out of Musa. I also didn't like how passive Nigerian played against Croatia. Afcon 2019 is not important to me. I am more interested in finding the coach that will coach Nigeria for the next 4 plus years. Before we sack him we must have a suitable replacement in place.
There are many of us that warned against sacking Keshi and even Oliseh despite their shortcomings.
Why?
This sacking frenzy we have been cursed with is not working and is simply a reflection of a society that is impulsive and can't plan medium and long term.
Do you even remember how many calls there were for the sacking of Pinnick up to barely 9 months ago?
Dem swear for us?
I agree.we need continuity.. But is Rohr the right manager for Nigeria?
Oiiseh resigned
I agree it was wrong to sack keshi.
Continuity of rubbish is not progress. I am ashamed of how Nigeria played against Croatia.
Last edited by ohenhen1 on Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- cchinukw
Anyone suggesting the inclusion of Nwakali in the Super Eagles based on current performance is an agent of woe.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

- achuzia-the-air-raid
john12 wrote:For the first time in a while, SE players were picked on MERIT. Infact, rohr inherited a disjointed and failed team that couldn’t QUALIFY for back to back ANC. He then qualified us for World Cup in a group of death that includes the likes of Algeria, Cameroon, Zambia (all ANC winners) As much as I am angered by the biased referees I still realized that we lost to teams that included Messi, Aguero, demaria, modric, rakitic etc teams that our 1994 team wouldn’t BEAT. If we terminate Rohr just be prepared for multiple DUBIOUS SELECTIONS. Be prepared for situations like no name PAUL ONOBI, benching mikel and be prepared for another failure to QUALIFY for the next World Cup.
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21
“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
on current form he should be included.cchinukw wrote:Anyone suggesting the inclusion of Nwakali in the Super Eagles based on current performance is an agent of woe.
Granted.Goalgetter wrote:Rhor has to go! If we allow him to continue then something is wrong with our society.
Now kindly tell us whether you think there is something wrong with a country that engages 20 national team coaches in 20 years.
Please, just a simple answer to a simple question is what I request from you.
For 17 of our 23 man squad, not only was it a WC debut, it was a tournament debut.This guy was busy listing the names of clubs our opponents play, champions league, saying how great and unbeatable they are. Our players are at the World Cup to learn.. Really? Is this Nigeria’s World Cup debute? .
Where you dey?
You think experience na beans? You don't think you are being unrealistic in your expectations?
Ahmed Musa was arguably our best player of the whole tournament, but guys like you that have no respect for experience would have left him behind in Lagos.
Musa was in the squad for his experience and what the coach knew he could do. In short, Rohr believed in him.
You can address that point too, thanks.
We tried Keshi. We sacked him. We tried Oliseh, he sacked himself.We clearly can’t win anything with a guy like this at the helm of our team. We need an ex-international to take over the team. Rhor doesn’t belong. His lack of confidence in the team shows and and translates to very timid performance by the players
Aside from Finidi George, who hasn't got much on his coaching TV aside from sentiment, who exactly are you suggesting?
It is easy to make empty pronouncements about what we need, but when it comes to 'who' we need, y'all fall silent.
So if you can give us some practical solutions including real names of real 'ex-internationals', we will appreciate it.
Thanks in advance.

Goalgetter wrote:Rhor has to go! If we allow him to continue then something is wrong with our society. This guy was busy listing the names of clubs our opponents play, champions league, saying how great and unbeatable they are. Our players are at the World Cup to learn.. Really? Is this Nigeria’s World Cup debute? We clearly can’t win anything with a guy like this at the helm of our team. We need an ex-international to take over the team. Rhor doesn’t belong. His lack of confidence in the team shows and and translates to very timid performance by the players.

Yes, but every sacked coach has been described as RUBBISH at the time of sack.ohenhen1 wrote:Damunk wrote:What are you talking about?ohenhen1 wrote:We need change in all aspects of our lives. If Rohr was Nigerian would you want him to stay on? We have to objectively review his performance, ask him what are his future plans. Then make a decision. I am troubled by his 90th minute sub out of Musa. I also didn't like how passive Nigerian played against Croatia. Afcon 2019 is not important to me. I am more interested in finding the coach that will coach Nigeria for the next 4 plus years. Before we sack him we must have a suitable replacement in place.
Why?
Dem swear for us?
Oiiseh resigned
Continuity of rubbish is not progress. I am ashamed of how Nigeria played against Croatia.
So who decides who is rubbish?
Our emotional fans?

Damunk wrote:Yes, but every sacked coach has been described as RUBBISH at the time of sack.ohenhen1 wrote:Damunk wrote:What are you talking about?ohenhen1 wrote:We need change in all aspects of our lives. If Rohr was Nigerian would you want him to stay on? We have to objectively review his performance, ask him what are his future plans. Then make a decision. I am troubled by his 90th minute sub out of Musa. I also didn't like how passive Nigerian played against Croatia. Afcon 2019 is not important to me. I am more interested in finding the coach that will coach Nigeria for the next 4 plus years. Before we sack him we must have a suitable replacement in place.
Why?
Dem swear for us?
Oiiseh resigned
So who decides who is rubbish?
Our emotional fans?![]()
We need an objective non emotional review of his performance. Ask him to tell us his future plans. Then make a decision. We need a coach for the next 4 years, not untill 2020. All I know is the facts, he lost 2 games, won 1, crashed out in the first round. Keshi also had a young squad. Didn't get the same amount of support. He made it to the 2nd round.
He hasn't done anything to prove that he is not an average manager , Keshi took SE to the last 16 in 2014.
BTW, Rohr will be 70 yrs old in 2022,