Simple 4-4-2 solution to the imbalance we saw today

omonoba
Simple 4-4-2 solution to the imbalance we saw today

Post by omonoba »

Since chukwu will insist on 4-4-2 anyway, here goes:
Today, our best midfielder was Babayaro. which is shocking when u think he was playing at left full back. But he had zero protection from aiyegbini who never tracked back , and only put in about 6 tackles the whole match! As a result babayaro had to push up to midfield and did a very good job. This of course left the defence skewed, but relieved some of the pressure on the back line in the 2nd half.

A simple way to bring balance to our team is to play Babayaro on the left wing; he can tackle, he can pass , he can cross. Udeze should be back from suspension in the next game. Let him handle the left back position. Give okocha the roaming role he wants and drop kanu and let garba lawal/ifeanyi ekwueme support olofinjana in midfield. I would prefer lawal as his experience will balance olofinjana's lack of nations cup experience. Push Utaka from the right wing to support JAG up front and let ikedia do the job. At least he brings some good running down the right . yes he can't cross, but our game is not built on crosses as we don't really have anyone to take advantage(unless agali starts). However , he is so fast and is good at cutting inside dragging a couple of defenders with him. This will give Aghahowa even more room to run at the defence onto a through ball.
Staff Sgt Cota VI

Post by Staff Sgt Cota VI »

If u decide to play Baba on the left, then what da F is Lawal doing on the team....?
Eclipse

Post by Eclipse »

Its no use telling us, somebody , anybody, get through to CCC!!!! This is 2004 and not 1980!!! Haba, na wetin, we know sey he bad but this bobo own pass me sef!!! :shock: :shock:
only the super eagles of nigeria are capable of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory-total football magazine circa june 02'

The line-up was scandalous man.

------------------------------------Enyeama----------------------------------------------

-George--------------Isaac---------------Yobo------------------------------Baba

---Uttaka-------------JJ--------------------Seyi------------------------

----------------------------Kanu------------------------------------------Aiyegbini-----

-----------------------------------Aghahowa----------------------------------------------

This makes 5 attackers, 1 midfield players and 4 defenders! Stupendous! :blink::